Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4.5 out of 5.0

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Hotel on busy street that seems to party all night long. That part was not very restful

Bathroom needs update. Tub was rusty, exposed plumbing, older furniture.

Great location on Bourbon street. Staff were very helpful apart from not cleaning room in the morning rather than afternoon as we had requested. This happened twice. Other than that would recommend hotel.

Large hotel with cozy places, however for the place like New Orleans and during the short stay one hardly can make use of all of it. There were drunk noises in the hall ways. and there was no sign of someone to stop as it lasts 2 hours around 3 am-4 am. Overall, it was good.

Help friendly, but wouldn't take responsibility for my missing shirts set out to be laundered. If you want to be on Bourbon Street, location is good. The picture of room pictured on their website is a bit of puffery. I'm sure that room exists, but it wasn't our room and it isn't explained on website. Our room was more like a typical upper end motel room.

We had an amazing time. Yes, the bourbon street rooms are loud but that is part of the fun. If you want silence you can get it by picking a courtyard room. We loved having a terrace that opened out over music legends park.

Noise coming from broken toilet in room next door (flushing every 10 minutes with no one in the room) maid did not leave clean towels two of for days or bath rug. Glass door on shower had broken hinge with crack developing in glass unsafe condition.

The shower needed a washer, it would not turn off correctly. When we reported it, nothing changed. The housekeeping was inconsistent on what they performed each day.

Very nice hotel, right on Bourbon Street in the heart of the French Quarter

Excellent staff. Location was perfect. Darin the concierge was very helpful in scheduling various outings.

If you get a Bourbon street room, be prepared to be up until 4:30am with the bucket drummers and loud bars. It was our first time NOLA and I had NO IDEA what to expect. It was very loud for all 3 nights we stayed. Nice updated hotel, great location and nice VIP amenities.

Great location, we felt safe because when we came back at night security for the hotel was checking room keys so they didn’t let just anyone in. Everyone was very friendly and accomadating.

Upon entering the hotel, the surroundings were outstanding. A general feeling of a clean well maintained facility. The staff was focused on our comfort and needs. My wife and I did not meet any staff person who didn't acknowledge us with a smile and hello. Our stay was very comfortable and refreshing.

Great hotel/staff. Beds and pillows very comfortable for a hotel! Highly recommend if you want to stay on bourbon st!

300 Bourbon St New Orleans LA

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Bourbon Street
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Nightclub

Located in French Quarter, Royal Sonesta New Orleans is adjacent to Bourbon Street and within a 5-minute drive of other popular attractions like Jackson Square. This 483-room, 4.5-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center. In the historical district, it's also near French Market and Mercedes-Benz Superdome.


Dining

Enjoy dining at Desire Oyster Bar, one of 4 onsite restaurants. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with cooked-to-order breakfast, available for a fee from 6:30 AM to 11:30 AM.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include an iPod dock, a refrigerator, and a coffee maker.


Property features

Royal Sonesta New Orleans features a nightclub, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. Valet parking is available for USD 48.56 per day, and there's also limo/town car service. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with luggage storage, securing valuables, and concierge services. Other amenities at this luxury hotel include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Balcony (Interior)

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Balcony (Interior)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Everyone (93) Business (21) Couples (180) Family (37) Other (23) Friends (37)
5
Everyone

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Hotel on busy street that seems to party all night long. That part was not very restful

By on Feb 16, 2019

3
Everyone

Bathroom needs update. Tub was rusty, exposed plumbing, older furniture.

By on Feb 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 13, 2019

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you to the French Quarter and to see that you enjoyed your overall experience as our guest. Your helpful feedback will help us to further improve, and we hope you’ll join us again soon. Take care, Royal Sonesta New Orleans

3
Everyone

By on Jan 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2019

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to host your New Orleans getaway, and to see that we left you with a positive overall impression. We are confident we can further impress you, however, and we look forward to the opportunity to do just that! Warm regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5
Everyone

Great location on Bourbon street. Staff were very helpful apart from not cleaning room in the morning rather than afternoon as we had requested. This happened twice. Other than that would recommend hotel.

By on Jan 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 10, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our prime French Quarter location and friendly hospitality, and we thank you for letting us know about the issue you experienced with the housekeeping service of your room. We are continually working to improve and we’ll promptly address your concerns. Come back again soon! Take care, Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5
Everyone

Large hotel with cozy places, however for the place like New Orleans and during the short stay one hardly can make use of all of it. There were drunk noises in the hall ways. and there was no sign of someone to stop as it lasts 2 hours around 3 am-4 am. Overall, it was good.

By , from palisadespark new jersey on Jan 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2019

Dear Granpa, Thanks for making yourself at home with us while in New Orleans! As you’ve discovered, there is much to see and do here at our hotel, from nightly live music to delicious restaurants and drinks, and we would love to welcome you again to further explore all that our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! Best regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4
Everyone

Help friendly, but wouldn't take responsibility for my missing shirts set out to be laundered. If you want to be on Bourbon Street, location is good. The picture of room pictured on their website is a bit of puffery. I'm sure that room exists, but it wasn't our room and it isn't explained on website. Our room was more like a typical upper end motel room.

By , from des moines, us on Jan 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2019

Dear Mike, We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your review. While it is nice to see that we left you with a favorable impression overall, we thank you for letting us know how we can further improve, and we look forward to earning your 5-star rating on your next trip to town. Sincerely, Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4
Everyone

By on Dec 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2019

Dear Guest, We were delighted to welcome you to New Orleans and to our hotel! We hope you were able to join us for a bite to eat in one our restaurants and live music in The Jazz Playhouse before retiring for a good night’s sleep. If not, you have a great excuse to come back and visit us again! Sincerely, Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5
Everyone

We had an amazing time. Yes, the bourbon street rooms are loud but that is part of the fun. If you want silence you can get it by picking a courtyard room. We loved having a terrace that opened out over music legends park.

By on Dec 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 28, 2018

Dear Guest, Our visitors often rave about all there is to see and do here in the French Quarter, and we’re thrilled to see that you had a fun and memorable time! We know our future guests will appreciate your recommendations, as well. Thank you for sharing! Kind regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5
Everyone

By on Dec 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 19, 2018

Dear Guest, We can’t thank you enough for paying us a visit and awarding us your 5-star seal-of-approval. You know where to find us when you’re in the mood for an authentic and memorable New Orleans experience right in the heart of the French Quarter! Warmest regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans

3
Everyone

Noise coming from broken toilet in room next door (flushing every 10 minutes with no one in the room) maid did not leave clean towels two of for days or bath rug. Glass door on shower had broken hinge with crack developing in glass unsafe condition.

By , from Nola on Nov 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 17, 2018

Dear Gary, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback! We strive to ensure that our visitors enjoy the highest levels of comfort in well-maintained accommodations, and we thank you for letting us know the issues you encountered so that they may promptly be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back and are confident we can further impress you! All the best, Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

300 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70130