Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

this was probably the worst hotel I've stayed at some of the staff were just extremely unhelpful. The gentleman checking us in was very nice and accommodating they held our luggage while we waited for our room. (We paid for a queen room) to be fair we arrived at 11 and check in at 3 I think) he told us out room wasn't ready maybe in another hour it will be, we can come back or take a smaller room. We choose to come back to get the room we paid for. When we got back the room we got was insanely small. It was roughly 15x10 ft If there was a room smaller than ours, you'd be bumping into things everywhere. The door to the bathroom would only open very little bevause the carpet was too raised and couldn't be pushed open so we had to squeeze ourselves into the bathroom. We complained the next day and the girl behind the front desk took our number and said they'd call us with another option in an hour while we went out. No one ever called and she avoided eye contact with us later. That same night at around 230 am the safety alarm went off. There was panic, we were told to take the stairs so we grabbed our valuables and rushed out in the middle of the night. Only to have the staircase FULL of people with no one giving an explanation of guiding us. A fellow customer said they were told it was a false alarm so we went back to call and realized WE DONT HAVE A PHONE. I had to call from my cellphone to know what's going on. No apology. Nothing. Avoid this place!

Checked into the HIE on Christmas Eve. Conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue. Room was a bit smaller than I anticipated (One bed). But it was comfortable. Too bad the statue of General Lee is NOT in Lee Circle, as it should be.

Very friendly staff Property in good condition the room were nice and clean and they serve breakfast

We have stayed here before so I new what to expect.

Great location if you plan to visit the WWII museum. Only a three minute walk to the museum. There are not a lot of restaurant choices nearby. Paid parking is located just behind the hotel and there is an entrance to the hotel from the parking lot. Convenient, but pricey $33/day The only real issue we had was that the water never got real hot for showering. We read other posts with 5he same complaint

No parking... And I haven’t received my deposit back...

I liked the location of the property but that was it. The water did not get hot and the drainage wasn't properly functioning. There were stains on the carpet that appeared to be food and shoe stains on the walls. I put trash outside my door for pick-up, given rooms weren't being cleaned because of COVID and that bag sat out there for a whole day and night before picked up.

Very clean and nice place! Staff was very helpful with anything needed. Location was great!

4 dollars for extra lotion and toothpaste is bad... we stayed for 8 days and was charged for asking for lotion and toothpaste

Close to everything! Clean and decently priced. We went to the Back Street Boys concert.

Terrible Experience. Room ready 2 hours after I arrived. Ended up with smaller room than I booked and paid for.

There is no parkng. You have to park at a lot two blocks away.

When the hotel was the former Hotel Modern, it had such character & it was a fun place to stay. Sadly, it’s now just another chain hotel The uniqueness & character that went with the City is now gone.

Great rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast was great too. Street cars run right by the hotel so thats very convenient

Saint Charles Avenue New Orleans LA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to National World War II Museum and Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Fitness center

Located in Arts/Warehouse District, Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles, an IHG Hotel is within a 5-minute walk of National World War II Museum and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. This 135-room, 3-star hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a gym.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

All 135 individually decorated rooms feature iPod docks, refrigerators, and coffee makers. LCD TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include free long-distance calls, free local calls, and safes.


Property features

At Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles, an IHG Hotel, guests have access to a gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with concierge services, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include a microwave in a common area, a meeting room, and an ATM.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible (Mobility, Roll-In Shower)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (8) Couples (4) Family (8)
2
Family

this was probably the worst hotel I've stayed at some of the staff were just extremely unhelpful. The gentleman checking us in was very nice and accommodating they held our luggage while we waited for our room. (We paid for a queen room) to be fair we arrived at 11 and check in at 3 I think) he told us out room wasn't ready maybe in another hour it will be, we can come back or take a smaller room. We choose to come back to get the room we paid for. When we got back the room we got was insanely small. It was roughly 15x10 ft If there was a room smaller than ours, you'd be bumping into things everywhere. The door to the bathroom would only open very little bevause the carpet was too raised and couldn't be pushed open so we had to squeeze ourselves into the bathroom. We complained the next day and the girl behind the front desk took our number and said they'd call us with another option in an hour while we went out. No one ever called and she avoided eye contact with us later. That same night at around 230 am the safety alarm went off. There was panic, we were told to take the stairs so we grabbed our valuables and rushed out in the middle of the night. Only to have the staircase FULL of people with no one giving an explanation of guiding us. A fellow customer said they were told it was a false alarm so we went back to call and realized WE DONT HAVE A PHONE. I had to call from my cellphone to know what's going on. No apology. Nothing. Avoid this place!

By on Jan 5, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 7, 2022

Thank you for letting us know about your stay.

4
Everyone

Checked into the HIE on Christmas Eve. Conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue. Room was a bit smaller than I anticipated (One bed). But it was comfortable. Too bad the statue of General Lee is NOT in Lee Circle, as it should be.

By on Jan 4, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2022

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite not seeing the statue.

5
Family Family

Very friendly staff Property in good condition the room were nice and clean and they serve breakfast

By on Mar 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 28, 2021

What an incredible guest you were! Our staff enjoyed your company as much as you did! Next time you're in town we'll make sure to have that breakfast hot and ready as always!

5
Partner Couples Family

We have stayed here before so I new what to expect.

By on Mar 1, 2021

4
Partner Couples

Great location if you plan to visit the WWII museum. Only a three minute walk to the museum. There are not a lot of restaurant choices nearby. Paid parking is located just behind the hotel and there is an entrance to the hotel from the parking lot. Convenient, but pricey $33/day The only real issue we had was that the water never got real hot for showering. We read other posts with 5he same complaint

By on Feb 10, 2021

4
Business Business

No parking... And I haven’t received my deposit back...

By on Jan 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2021

Dear Anonymous, Please reach out to me directly and I will be happy to assist.

2
Everyone

I liked the location of the property but that was it. The water did not get hot and the drainage wasn't properly functioning. There were stains on the carpet that appeared to be food and shoe stains on the walls. I put trash outside my door for pick-up, given rooms weren't being cleaned because of COVID and that bag sat out there for a whole day and night before picked up.

By , from Cleveland on Dec 6, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2021

Dear Kayla, I am sorry to hear that you did not catch us at our best on your recent stay. We will use your feedback as a way to improve our services.

5
Everyone

By on Dec 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2021

Dear Anonymous We thank you for your review and for your business. Safe travels!

3
Everyone

By on Nov 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 24, 2020

Dear Guest, We are sorry that we missed the mark on your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our services.

5
Family Partner Couples

Very clean and nice place! Staff was very helpful with anything needed. Location was great!

By on Nov 3, 2019

Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles, an IHG Hotel

936 Saint Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/New-Orleans-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-New-Orleans---St-Charles,-an-IHG-Hotel.h792974-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /New-Orleans-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-New-Orleans---St-Charles,-an-IHG-Hotel.h792974-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/New-Orleans-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-New-Orleans---St-Charles,-an-IHG-Hotel.h792974-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions