Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Very clean really close to the World War II museum which was our main visit. Breakfast quite the variety. Front desk staff was very helpful

What can I say more about this Holiday Inn Express? The hotel is a Gold-Plated example of extraordinary efficiency. The night we check-in we were delightfully delayed with a 25 min wait outside the front of the hotel as the front desk clerk was folding towels in the laundry room for 25 minutes. The front desk clerk would not let us into the hotel until she finished. We enjoyed this long wait and were honored to be the center of attention for a group of homeless people that badly needed funding to support their street drug addictions. These outgoing homeless people extracted quite a bit of money from us and allowed us to experience the city culture, thank you Holiday Inn. The front desk clerk performed excellent multitasking and at the same time, high level hotel security. The hotel staff appear to be cross trained with this ability. An exciting part of the hotel experience is the incredible size of the rooms. I was able to sit on the toilet and almost open the front door and turn on the TV, very convenient for time savings… don’t you think. The rooms are so small there’s no need to walk. I also appreciated the total lack of housekeeping at this Holiday Inn. When I took the elevator to my room someone must have had a festive party and smashed a watermelon on the elevator floor. It looked like a crime scene, very slippery. Sometimes you need to pay a little extra for attractions like this but not here.

I need to start this review stating how kind and helpful the staff was. With all of these issues the staff was attentive and prompt. However, customer service alone cannot make up for the disgusting and disappointing room I stayed in. There was feces on the shower curtain! A huge spot that was hidden due to the strange way the curtain was knotted. Promptly remedied but …. Water trickled out of the sink, some thing that would have been noticed if the sink had been cleaned. Promptly remedied. The toilet lid was not fully attached, something that would have been noticed if it had been cleaned. Promptly remedied. The door was difficult to unlock. Promptly remedied by changing the batteries. As kind, attentive, and appalled as as the staff was I simply cannot recommend staying at this hotel

Not the greatest place but it was a place to sleep during Mardi Gras.

this was probably the worst hotel I've stayed at some of the staff were just extremely unhelpful. The gentleman checking us in was very nice and accommodating they held our luggage while we waited for our room. (We paid for a queen room) to be fair we arrived at 11 and check in at 3 I think) he told us out room wasn't ready maybe in another hour it will be, we can come back or take a smaller room. We choose to come back to get the room we paid for. When we got back the room we got was insanely small. It was roughly 15x10 ft If there was a room smaller than ours, you'd be bumping into things everywhere. The door to the bathroom would only open very little bevause the carpet was too raised and couldn't be pushed open so we had to squeeze ourselves into the bathroom. We complained the next day and the girl behind the front desk took our number and said they'd call us with another option in an hour while we went out. No one ever called and she avoided eye contact with us later. That same night at around 230 am the safety alarm went off. There was panic, we were told to take the stairs so we grabbed our valuables and rushed out in the middle of the night. Only to have the staircase FULL of people with no one giving an explanation of guiding us. A fellow customer said they were told it was a false alarm so we went back to call and realized WE DONT HAVE A PHONE. I had to call from my cellphone to know what's going on. No apology. Nothing. Avoid this place!

Checked into the HIE on Christmas Eve. Conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue. Room was a bit smaller than I anticipated (One bed). But it was comfortable. Too bad the statue of General Lee is NOT in Lee Circle, as it should be.

Very friendly staff Property in good condition the room were nice and clean and they serve breakfast

We have stayed here before so I new what to expect.

Great location if you plan to visit the WWII museum. Only a three minute walk to the museum. There are not a lot of restaurant choices nearby. Paid parking is located just behind the hotel and there is an entrance to the hotel from the parking lot. Convenient, but pricey $33/day The only real issue we had was that the water never got real hot for showering. We read other posts with 5he same complaint

No parking... And I haven’t received my deposit back...

I liked the location of the property but that was it. The water did not get hot and the drainage wasn't properly functioning. There were stains on the carpet that appeared to be food and shoe stains on the walls. I put trash outside my door for pick-up, given rooms weren't being cleaned because of COVID and that bag sat out there for a whole day and night before picked up.

Very clean and nice place! Staff was very helpful with anything needed. Location was great!

4 dollars for extra lotion and toothpaste is bad... we stayed for 8 days and was charged for asking for lotion and toothpaste

Close to everything! Clean and decently priced. We went to the Back Street Boys concert.

Terrible Experience. Room ready 2 hours after I arrived. Ended up with smaller room than I booked and paid for.

There is no parkng. You have to park at a lot two blocks away.

Saint Charles Avenue New Orleans LA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Canal Street and Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Fitness center

Located in Arts/Warehouse District, Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles, an IHG Hotel is adjacent to National World War II Museum and within a 15-minute walk of popular sights like Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. This 135-room, 3-star hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a gym.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and LCD TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. IPod docks, refrigerators, and coffee makers are also standard.


Property features

At Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles, an IHG Hotel, guests have access to a gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include a microwave in a common area, a meeting room, and an ATM.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible (Mobil, Roll Shwr)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed (Extra Floor Space)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (10) Couples (4) Family (10)
5
Family

Very clean really close to the World War II museum which was our main visit. Breakfast quite the variety. Front desk staff was very helpful

By on Jun 9, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2022

Glad you enjoyed your stay.

5
Everyone

By on May 9, 2022

2
Friends Business Business

What can I say more about this Holiday Inn Express? The hotel is a Gold-Plated example of extraordinary efficiency. The night we check-in we were delightfully delayed with a 25 min wait outside the front of the hotel as the front desk clerk was folding towels in the laundry room for 25 minutes. The front desk clerk would not let us into the hotel until she finished. We enjoyed this long wait and were honored to be the center of attention for a group of homeless people that badly needed funding to support their street drug addictions. These outgoing homeless people extracted quite a bit of money from us and allowed us to experience the city culture, thank you Holiday Inn. The front desk clerk performed excellent multitasking and at the same time, high level hotel security. The hotel staff appear to be cross trained with this ability. An exciting part of the hotel experience is the incredible size of the rooms. I was able to sit on the toilet and almost open the front door and turn on the TV, very convenient for time savings… don’t you think. The rooms are so small there’s no need to walk. I also appreciated the total lack of housekeeping at this Holiday Inn. When I took the elevator to my room someone must have had a festive party and smashed a watermelon on the elevator floor. It looked like a crime scene, very slippery. Sometimes you need to pay a little extra for attractions like this but not here.

By on May 1, 2022

Review comment responded on May 2, 2022

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am truly sorry that you had this experience. We will work with our staff on these issues. Our staff is cross trained however just in case another department needs assistance.

1
Family

I need to start this review stating how kind and helpful the staff was. With all of these issues the staff was attentive and prompt. However, customer service alone cannot make up for the disgusting and disappointing room I stayed in. There was feces on the shower curtain! A huge spot that was hidden due to the strange way the curtain was knotted. Promptly remedied but …. Water trickled out of the sink, some thing that would have been noticed if the sink had been cleaned. Promptly remedied. The toilet lid was not fully attached, something that would have been noticed if it had been cleaned. Promptly remedied. The door was difficult to unlock. Promptly remedied by changing the batteries. As kind, attentive, and appalled as as the staff was I simply cannot recommend staying at this hotel

By on Mar 29, 2022

Review comment responded on Mar 29, 2022

I am so sorry that you had this experience. This is not how we strive to treat our guests. We will look into the housekeeping team member who was assigned to clean the room that you stayed in as cleanliness is a main are that we try to tackle so that our guests are in a great environment.

4
Everyone

Not the greatest place but it was a place to sleep during Mardi Gras.

By , from Baton Rouge on Mar 6, 2022

Review comment responded on Mar 8, 2022

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are addressing some issues currently at the hotel.

2
Family

this was probably the worst hotel I've stayed at some of the staff were just extremely unhelpful. The gentleman checking us in was very nice and accommodating they held our luggage while we waited for our room. (We paid for a queen room) to be fair we arrived at 11 and check in at 3 I think) he told us out room wasn't ready maybe in another hour it will be, we can come back or take a smaller room. We choose to come back to get the room we paid for. When we got back the room we got was insanely small. It was roughly 15x10 ft If there was a room smaller than ours, you'd be bumping into things everywhere. The door to the bathroom would only open very little bevause the carpet was too raised and couldn't be pushed open so we had to squeeze ourselves into the bathroom. We complained the next day and the girl behind the front desk took our number and said they'd call us with another option in an hour while we went out. No one ever called and she avoided eye contact with us later. That same night at around 230 am the safety alarm went off. There was panic, we were told to take the stairs so we grabbed our valuables and rushed out in the middle of the night. Only to have the staircase FULL of people with no one giving an explanation of guiding us. A fellow customer said they were told it was a false alarm so we went back to call and realized WE DONT HAVE A PHONE. I had to call from my cellphone to know what's going on. No apology. Nothing. Avoid this place!

By on Jan 5, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 7, 2022

Thank you for letting us know about your stay.

4
Everyone

Checked into the HIE on Christmas Eve. Conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue. Room was a bit smaller than I anticipated (One bed). But it was comfortable. Too bad the statue of General Lee is NOT in Lee Circle, as it should be.

By on Jan 4, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2022

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite not seeing the statue.

5
Family Family

Very friendly staff Property in good condition the room were nice and clean and they serve breakfast

By on Mar 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 28, 2021

What an incredible guest you were! Our staff enjoyed your company as much as you did! Next time you're in town we'll make sure to have that breakfast hot and ready as always!

5
Partner Couples Family

We have stayed here before so I new what to expect.

By on Mar 1, 2021

4
Partner Couples

Great location if you plan to visit the WWII museum. Only a three minute walk to the museum. There are not a lot of restaurant choices nearby. Paid parking is located just behind the hotel and there is an entrance to the hotel from the parking lot. Convenient, but pricey $33/day The only real issue we had was that the water never got real hot for showering. We read other posts with 5he same complaint

By on Feb 10, 2021

Holiday Inn Express New Orleans - St Charles, an IHG Hotel

936 Saint Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/New-Orleans-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-New-Orleans---St-Charles,-an-IHG-Hotel.h792974-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /New-Orleans-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-New-Orleans---St-Charles,-an-IHG-Hotel.h792974-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/New-Orleans-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-New-Orleans---St-Charles,-an-IHG-Hotel.h792974-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions