Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

the bathroom doors were dirty and the bathroom could have used a better cleaning. I did not like the fact that one day they did not clean the bathroom at all just dumped the trash. I had to call them to come back to clean. There was also a roach crawling in the bathroom. Not good at all

Interior was little dated and worn. Cleaning service missed one day and shorted items on two other days. A/C unit extremely loud

Great hotel, friendly staff and nice bar and restaurant

Poor lift service involved major waiting. Had to use service lifts. Outside bar area not open on Sundays - inconvenient. Decent room. Staff helpful where possible.

The pool area was really nice and even though we didn't use it, the patio restaurant looked really nice.

Lighted Mirror in bathroom. Beds were very comfortable. Multiple pillows were helpful. The room had hardwood floors!!!! - A Big Plus. I've never seen hardwood floors in a hotel room before. Great Idea! Staff at front desk, staff at Edgar's Restaurant, parking staff, maids, etc. were all friendly, and helpful. Great Staff!

The wait staff was very helpful. They let us ride the service elevator. : )

Usual hotel,Great staff good restaurant only problem was passenger elevator was broken had to use the freight elevator the entire stay

Had a great time at whitehall. Staff was attentive, room was comfortable, location was within walking distance of lots of bars, restaurants, & shopping.

Welcoming staff, quick checkin Requested rollaway bed at booking, was not given at checkin. Great city view, close to very thing Bad house keeping. Spacious room

Excellent staff. The room was clean. Would definitely recommend.

Lobby and outside space were nice. It's not within walking distance to anything. Rooms were outdated. It was fine, but we most likely will not return.

Smith St Houston TX

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to House of Blues Houston
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Downtown Houston within a short walk of House of Blues Houston, The Whitehall Houston is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Toyota Center. This 259-room, 4-star hotel has an outdoor pool along with a 24-hour fitness center and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including Edgar's Hermano, which specializes in Tex-Mex cuisine. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with full breakfast, available for a fee from 6 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

The 259 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and free bottled water. Guests can expect TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Tempur-Pedic beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include safes, phones, and ironing boards.


Property features

At The Whitehall Houston, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Valet parking is available for USD 35 per night, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with luggage storage, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a conference center, a 24-hour business center, and a computer station.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Executive Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for The Whitehall Houston

Everyone (29) Couples (1) Business (2) Family (8)
5
Everyone

By on Feb 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 4, 2020

Thank you for the perfect rating! We are overjoyed to learn that from start to finish, your stay was nothing short of exceptional. It was a pleasure having you at The Whitehall Houston, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Sal Khatri General Manager

3
Everyone

By on Jan 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 21, 2020

Thank you for being our guest. We are pleased overall you enjoyed your stay and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon for a flawless experience. Best Regards, Sal Khatri, General Manager

4
Family Family

the bathroom doors were dirty and the bathroom could have used a better cleaning. I did not like the fact that one day they did not clean the bathroom at all just dumped the trash. I had to call them to come back to clean. There was also a roach crawling in the bathroom. Not good at all

By on Jan 9, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2020

Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry for the housekeeping service issues you encountered during your visit and regret the inconvenience it caused. Your feedback has been discussed with the appropriate team to make sure we are consistent with our service delivery. We have also alerted our pest control provider to address the problem immediately. We hope you will give us a chance to provide you with the hospitality you deserve. Best Regards, Sal Khatri, General Manager

3
Family

Interior was little dated and worn. Cleaning service missed one day and shorted items on two other days. A/C unit extremely loud

By on Oct 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 15, 2019

Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry for the housekeeping service issues and the disturbance caused by the air conditioning unit. We wish we had the opportunity to address the problems while you were here as we would have done our best to ensure you were comfortable. We will share your comments with the appropriate teams and make sure this does not happen again. We value your feedback and appreciate your observations. We are currently redesigning our hotel, and we hope you will allow us to show you our modern, updated accommodations on your next visit. Best Regards, Sal Khatri, General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Oct 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 13, 2019

Thank you for the perfect rating! We are overjoyed to learn that from start to finish, your stay was nothing short of exceptional. It was a pleasure having you at The Whitehall Houston, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Sal Khatri, General Manager

5
Family Business Business Family

Great hotel, friendly staff and nice bar and restaurant

By on Jun 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 26, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Whitehall Houston. We are delighted to know our service and accommodations were above and beyond your greatest expectations. Thank you also for mentioning our hotel restaurant in your feedback. We appreciate you choosing us over other hotels in the area, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit. Best Regards, Sal Khatri, General Manager

3
Partner Couples

Poor lift service involved major waiting. Had to use service lifts. Outside bar area not open on Sundays - inconvenient. Decent room. Staff helpful where possible.

By on May 21, 2019

Review comment responded on May 22, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to evaluate your stay at our hotel. We strive to deliver the absolute best lodging experience in the area, and we apologize for your experience. We regret the inconvenience caused by the poor elevator service as well as the bar not being open on Sundays. On a positive note, we are glad you were impressed with our accommodations and staff. We hope you will choose us again as we are confident you will leave with a better impression. Best Regards, Sal Khatri General Manager

5
Everyone

By on May 10, 2019

Review comment responded on May 10, 2019

Thank you for your fabulous rating and letting us know your stay at The Whitehall Houston was exceptional. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards, Sal Khatri, General Manager

5
Everyone

By on May 2, 2019

Review comment responded on May 5, 2019

Thank you so much for the perfect rating of The Whitehall Houston. It is great to learn everything we have to offer left you with a remarkable impression of our hotel. We look forward to having you as our guest again whenever you return to the area. Best Regards, Sal Khatri, General Manager

3
Family Family with small children

The pool area was really nice and even though we didn't use it, the patio restaurant looked really nice.

By on Mar 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 30, 2019

Ashley, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. We are happy you had a comfortable visit with us, and we are especially pleased to know that you loved our rooftop pool area. Thank you again, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay. Best Regards, Sal Khatri, General Manager

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Houston-Hotels-The-Whitehall-Houston.h693655-p2.Hotel-Reviews