Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Young lady at front desk very rude.

Location. Location. Location. Good restaurant on site. Great beach bar.

I loved my time at Dolphin Beach Resort. The pool and gulf view with the ability to sit on the balcony after a long day in the sun was amazing! There are LOTS of unpleasant smells in this hotel, but that's to be somewhat expected in SW Florida. That said, if you want incredible beach access, friendly staff, and a clean pool area...pick DBR!

We had a great time at this resort. We booked last minute and thankfully they had an opening! Staff was helpful, nice to have laundry on our floor and perfect location on the beach. The breakfast was convenient and the resort was in a great location to a plaza for groceries

Overall stay was Ok, the room was not cleaned thoroughly and is run down.. the dining inside was not good at all… the outside bar area was not bad, pool was clean and the access to the beach was the best part of this whole vacation so that did make up for some of the other stuff I previously mentioned.. if they update or thoroughly clean we would stay again

The view! Ocean front was perfect!

Nice pool. On beach, good breakfasts😙

Great time at the Dolphin. Easy parking, elevator, microwave,refrigerator, nice beach bar, enjoyed the pool. It was great having a little kitchenette saved money but we had to buy dishes & utensils I guess because of COVID. Good size bathroom, great shower water pressure,beds were very comfortable, good WiFi connection all over the facility. Marcel, housekeeping, we met when we first arrived so friendly & helpful as was the front desk. When we were there it was mostly families. It is a good hotel for the price, nothing real fancy not like the picture but well worth the price. There is a Publix & Dollartree, liquor store, Chick-fil-A across the street very convient. The 16$ parking fee is extra but it’s cheaper than paying public parking. The call in service picks you up right in front of the hotel you just pay a tip which was great since you can’t find parking. Please try the restaurant Shells the clam chowder is to die for very good & economical. Yes I would recommend this hotel it really isn’t a resort.

Perfect location,great food and drinks.

Location makes this hotel worth the stay. While the hotel is in need of being updated, the rooms and property are clean. We did upgrade to an ocean front room after checking into the room we reserved which ended up overlooking the parking lot and was dark. The upgrade was so worth the money. The pool looked lovely but we did not use it due to the beautiful stretch of beach in front of us. There are beach chairs the can be rented from 10 to 5 from the hut on the beach. Double cabana lounge chairs were $30.00 per day. Strip mall across the street offers a Publix and dollar store along with a great Italian restaurant and a Cafe for breakfast or lunch. The hotel Tiki bar was fine for a quick lunch outside but drinks are expensive, I paid $11 for a small Pina Colada’s in a plastic cup, better bet is hit the liquor store in the strip mall and make your own drinks. The staff we encountered were all friendly, check in was easy. If you are looking to lay on the beach and have a clean place to shower and sleep this place is great, if you want amenities and all the bells and whistles a hotel can offer you will be disappointed. I would absolutely return.

I didn’t like that I had to pay for parking every night after paying so much money to stay there . Not happy to pay for parking

I love everything about the Dolphin, staff is very pleasant and helpful, ocean views and pool area was beautiful. Will return!

Location was 5 stars. But as a whole is just your average hotel. But for what they offer. its a 5 star for the 3 star hotel that it is. If that makes sense. :)

The room was emmuculately clean with the exception of sliding glass door needing windexing. Pool very clean!! Great housekeeping team and doing a fantastic job of keepung the hotel clean! If i ever ger the opportunity to come back for a visit, i will diffinantly stay here again. Parking was great too! Very convenient, didnt have to walk far to hotel

The hotel is out of date, the hallways are dark and smelly, and the reception staff is a nightmare to deal with - they were rude, impatient, condescending, and unhelpful. So our first impression was really bad and I was regretting spending our vacation there. But the beach is amazing, the location is great, and the pool is nice. The housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful. By the second day I was feeling better about the place, and by the end I felt happy with the stay. Would I stay there again? Yes, if after seeing if anything else in the area had room. But it wouldn't be my first choice. I can get over the out of date decor and dark smelly hallways, but the reception staff is pretty unbearable.

Convenient walking distance from restaurants, beach bars, grocery store and liquor store.

Gulf Blvd St. Pete Beach FL

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool
  • Laundry facilities

Dolphin Beach Resort places you next to Dolphin Landings Charter Boat Center and within a mile (2 km) of other popular attractions like Upham Beach. This 3-star resort has 173 guestrooms and offers conveniences like a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Explore the resort and meet new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge, or enjoy a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant. For your convenience, a full breakfast is served each morning for a fee.


Rooms

Dolphin Beach Resort's 173 rooms provide MP3 docks, microwaves, and refrigerators. Guests can expect to find free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in premium bedding. Other amenities include coffee makers, laptop-compatible safes, and phones. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests of Dolphin Beach Resort enjoy an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Self parking is offered for USD 16.05 per night. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with securing valuables and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach resort include a terrace, laundry facilities, and a banquet hall.

Room options

Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Pool View

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Double Room, 2 Queen Beds, Balcony, Beach View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Double Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Dolphin Beach Resort

Everyone (54) Couples (10) Family (27)
5
Everyone

By on Jul 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2021

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay with us. We are happy that you seem to have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will consider returning in the future!

2
Family

Young lady at front desk very rude.

By on Jul 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. I am sorry to hear that your check in experience was negative and that you encountered a rude staff member. Her supervisor has been made aware of your negative feedback so that any attitude issues can be addressed. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and would love to know more specifics about how we can improve. Thank you!

4
Everyone

Location. Location. Location. Good restaurant on site. Great beach bar.

By on Jul 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2021

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay with us! We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our location, on-site restaurant, and our beach bar. We would love to have you come back and stay with us again soon!

1
Everyone

By on Jul 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2021

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay with us. We are sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay, but wish you had provided us with some additional feedback so that we would know what went wrong. Please reach out to us if you are so inclined. Thank you!

4
Everyone

I loved my time at Dolphin Beach Resort. The pool and gulf view with the ability to sit on the balcony after a long day in the sun was amazing! There are LOTS of unpleasant smells in this hotel, but that's to be somewhat expected in SW Florida. That said, if you want incredible beach access, friendly staff, and a clean pool area...pick DBR!

By on Jun 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 30, 2021

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you loved your time with us, but wish that you hadn't encountered any unpleasant smells during your stay. You are correct that a damp or musty smell is pretty common in areas with high humidity and a lot of foot traffic from the pool, but we do our best to keep things smelling fresh and clean. We do hope the positives of your stay with us will still encourage a return trip in the near future!

5
Partner Couples

We had a great time at this resort. We booked last minute and thankfully they had an opening! Staff was helpful, nice to have laundry on our floor and perfect location on the beach. The breakfast was convenient and the resort was in a great location to a plaza for groceries

By on Jun 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 30, 2021

Thank you so much for your review and for your last minute stay with us! We are so happy to hear our staff was helpful and that you found our location to be perfect. We would love to have you come back and stay with us again soon!

3
Family with small children

Overall stay was Ok, the room was not cleaned thoroughly and is run down.. the dining inside was not good at all… the outside bar area was not bad, pool was clean and the access to the beach was the best part of this whole vacation so that did make up for some of the other stuff I previously mentioned.. if they update or thoroughly clean we would stay again

By on Jun 16, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 16, 2021

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear that your guest room was not as clean as it should have been and that you didn't enjoy our dining room. I am not able to track down your room since your review is anonymous, but please reach out to us with your room number or reservation name so that we can do so. I would like to be able to let our executive housekeeper know so that she can figure out who cleaned the room and released it for occupancy. Please reach out to us if you are so inclined. Thank you!

3
Everyone

The view! Ocean front was perfect!

By on Jun 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2021

Thank you so much for your review and recent stay with us! We are so happy to hear that you loved our view and Gulf front location. Since your review was only a 3/5, we would love to hear more about your experience with us so that we know what we can improve upon. Please reach out to us if you are so inclined. Thank you!

5
Family

Nice pool. On beach, good breakfasts😙

By on May 31, 2021

Review comment responded on May 31, 2021

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool, beachfront location, and tasty breakfast. We hope you will consider coming back and staying with us again soon!

5
Family

Great time at the Dolphin. Easy parking, elevator, microwave,refrigerator, nice beach bar, enjoyed the pool. It was great having a little kitchenette saved money but we had to buy dishes & utensils I guess because of COVID. Good size bathroom, great shower water pressure,beds were very comfortable, good WiFi connection all over the facility. Marcel, housekeeping, we met when we first arrived so friendly & helpful as was the front desk. When we were there it was mostly families. It is a good hotel for the price, nothing real fancy not like the picture but well worth the price. There is a Publix & Dollartree, liquor store, Chick-fil-A across the street very convient. The 16$ parking fee is extra but it’s cheaper than paying public parking. The call in service picks you up right in front of the hotel you just pay a tip which was great since you can’t find parking. Please try the restaurant Shells the clam chowder is to die for very good & economical. Yes I would recommend this hotel it really isn’t a resort.

By on May 24, 2021

Review comment responded on May 25, 2021

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review! I am sure that the information you have provided will help potential guests know what to expect in regards to the area and our property. We are very happy to hear that you liked the kitchenette in our guest rooms and our comfortable beds. We appreciate that you would recommend us to others and hope you will also consider returning in the near future!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/St.-Petersburg---Clearwater-Hotels-Dolphin-Beach-Resort.h2179320-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /St.-Petersburg---Clearwater-Hotels-Dolphin-Beach-Resort.h2179320-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/St.-Petersburg---Clearwater-Hotels-Dolphin-Beach-Resort.h2179320-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions