Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This is my go to place to stay in the Tampa area. Small, quiet environment. The perfect way to remember how the beach used to be before all the high rise hotels went in. Love staying here!

Clean neat pool hot tub easy check in check out easy getting on beach

Decent place and friendly staff, but rooms need some work.

Loved the beautiful landscaping, the architecture of the pool, hot tub, and the patio area. The walkways were pretty and the path out to the ocean was amazing. Our room was nice and the deck area upstairs had a nice view as well! The doors had two locks which is good for us girls! The area was very nice and close to many places to eat.

Property is tight on the beach, small family owned. The whole property is dated. Furnishings look worn and metal pieces had “oxidation/ rust corrosion” that made the rooms feel dirty. We also killed multiple small cockroaches each time we opened the refrigerator. Fairly sure they are aware as the made sure to use a potent amount of peppermint oil in the room upon arrival. For a combined room with 5 adults we were only given 3 large bathroom towels and 4 pool towels. Staff was friendly and helpful. Walls/ windows were thin and there was constant noise from outside at night. Could use different window shutters/ blinds as the neon signs from the front lit up our rooms all night.

Jimmy & Tracy went above & beyond to make our stay fantastic.

The desk attendants were great!

Don’t stay here, very unsafe, not clean. Broken blinds, bugs and etc. Pool was dirty looking, 5 people on the beach.

Nice hotel

This place is awesome and right on the beach. People here were friendly

The Schooner Hotel is exactly what it says it is, a low frills on the beach property. We had challenges, some of which were on us. Check in starts at 3 pm. We received a phone call at 3:45 pm asking if we were checking in soon as they were getting ready to close the office. Odd, but understandable when many of the guests are long term and there is not a lot of day traffic. My biggest issue was getting assigned a second floor room even though our confirmation "guaranteed" a two bed main floor room. My wheelchair bound mother needed carried up and down the steps every time we came or left. No elevators obviously. Not a major challenge but severely inconvenient. The facility is typical for beachfront. It is hard to stay crisp and spotless with the beach and sand literally outside your door. The rooms had a clean and well stocked kitchen. The nearby restaurants are very nice and affordable. You are right on Gulf Blvd and if your room is on the East end of the building you will hear every truck and motorcycle all night long. Again, the hotel is exactly what it is, beachfront rooms without the frills. But if mobility is an issue, call ahead and make sure you have a main floor room. And I would request a room further away from the road if possible. I won't be back because it does not serve our particular needs, but it would be perfect for the person who wants quick beach access.

The Hotel is right on the water close enough that running back to your room to use bathroom or grab a drink was no problem . The pool and hot tub areas are very nice as well S the rocking chairs on the patio overlooking the ocean. We rented lounge chairs and an unbrella from the rentals right in front of the resort just sit down and the guy comes to take your $25 for the day The property is old but the room are renovated and the beds and linens were or good quality. I cant emphasize enough how close to the ocean we were and IMO this trumps a newer high rise that u have to take an elevator and walk a mile to get to the water

Hotel had perfect access to the beach. Nicely situated. Staff were pleasant. Restaurants nearby were amazing.

Very simple and right on the beach. The bed was awesome and the room had all the amenities. The hotel has definitely seen some wear. Updates missed the mark, but they would t prevent us staying again. The pool looked cute and outside areas were nice. We just slept there, but I wished we were able to relax on the beach.

Gulf Blvd Madeira Beach FL

Hotel highlights

  • Close to John's Pass Village & Boardwalk
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 2 outdoor pools

Schooner Hotel places you next to Belleair Beach and within a 10-minute walk of Archibald Beach Park. This 17-room hotel welcomes guests with 2 outdoor pools and conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find flat-screen TVs and stay connected with free WiFi. Other standard amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers. Housekeeping is available once per stay.


Property features

2 outdoor pools, free WiFi in public areas, and a spa tub are featured at Schooner Hotel. If you drive, put free parking to good use. Staff members can answer questions about accommodations, and also provide front-desk service during limited hours. Other amenities at this beach hotel include coffee/tea in a common area, laundry facilities, and barbecue grills.

Room options

Room, 1 Queen Bed and 1 Sofa Bed, Kitchen, Courtyard View, 1st Floor

1 Queen Bed and 1 Queen Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Kitchen, Courtyard view, 2nd Floor

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Double Beds and 1 Sofa bed, Kitchen, Courtyard view, 1st Floor

2 Double Beds and 1 Queen Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, 2 Double Beds, Kitchen, Courtyard View, 1st Floor

1 King Bed and 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Schooner Hotel

Everyone (12) Couples (4) Family (9)
5
Family

This is my go to place to stay in the Tampa area. Small, quiet environment. The perfect way to remember how the beach used to be before all the high rise hotels went in. Love staying here!

By on Jun 8, 2022

5
Family

Clean neat pool hot tub easy check in check out easy getting on beach

By on Mar 30, 2022

Review comment responded on May 4, 2022

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon - Chuck

3
Family with small children

Decent place and friendly staff, but rooms need some work.

By on Mar 19, 2022

Review comment responded on May 4, 2022

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon - Chuck

5
Friends

Loved the beautiful landscaping, the architecture of the pool, hot tub, and the patio area. The walkways were pretty and the path out to the ocean was amazing. Our room was nice and the deck area upstairs had a nice view as well! The doors had two locks which is good for us girls! The area was very nice and close to many places to eat.

By on Mar 10, 2022

Review comment responded on May 4, 2022

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon - Chuck

4
Family

Property is tight on the beach, small family owned. The whole property is dated. Furnishings look worn and metal pieces had “oxidation/ rust corrosion” that made the rooms feel dirty. We also killed multiple small cockroaches each time we opened the refrigerator. Fairly sure they are aware as the made sure to use a potent amount of peppermint oil in the room upon arrival. For a combined room with 5 adults we were only given 3 large bathroom towels and 4 pool towels. Staff was friendly and helpful. Walls/ windows were thin and there was constant noise from outside at night. Could use different window shutters/ blinds as the neon signs from the front lit up our rooms all night.

By on Feb 20, 2022

5
Partner Couples

Jimmy & Tracy went above & beyond to make our stay fantastic.

By on Dec 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 15, 2021

Thanks for your feedback! We are happy to hear our staff helped make your stay great!

5
Partner Couples

The desk attendants were great!

By on Oct 26, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 27, 2021

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Chuck

3
Everyone

By on Sep 24, 2021

1
Family Family with small children

Don’t stay here, very unsafe, not clean. Broken blinds, bugs and etc. Pool was dirty looking, 5 people on the beach.

By on Aug 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 3, 2021

Thank you for your review. Im sorry you did not enjoy our property. Im not sure what you mean by, "not safe". I live across the street and this area is extremely safe. Also, we have a professional pool company that comes twice a week. I have not noticed the pools being anything but clean. Again, Im sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

5
Family

Nice hotel

By on Jul 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2021

Thanks for your review !

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/St.-Petersburg---Clearwater-Hotels-Schooner-Hotel.h4981825-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /St.-Petersburg---Clearwater-Hotels-Schooner-Hotel.h4981825-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/St.-Petersburg---Clearwater-Hotels-Schooner-Hotel.h4981825-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions