ADVERTISING SPONSORED LISTING
A great, clean hotel in an awesome little resort town. Very friendly staff. Walking distance to town, restaurants, shopping. Swimming pool, continental breakfast. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate. Nice outdoor patio.
I had 2 rooms and everything was good. The hotel location is great, and the people were friendly. I loved the suite I was in. The cleaning staff was always smiling, greeted us, and did a great job cleaning the rooms. One day I asked for a large garbage bag, and the next day they supplied another one without another request. One of the days during my stay, the area experienced TV cable outage and the manager was able to adjust my bill, willingly and in a timely manner. The manager always greeted us and was friendly, making it nice to come and go from the hotel. I will definitely be back. Thanks!
Worst rudest manager ever. DON'T EVER STAY HERE My non-stay was for my Wedding on Feb. 9th, 2019. We had reserved 6 rooms for guest from out of town. The website showed a $53.00 price, when I called the hotel I was told for Wedding parties they charge $80. Unfortunately our guest decided to not stay over so we canceled the reservation on the Wed the 6th as we were told that was the deadline to not get charged non cancellation fees. So much happened with the manager who it seeems is the only one allowed to do any work as she said she is the only one who checks people in and answers the phone. She insisted she never talked to my husband even after we showed is phone call log, that a call was indead made to the hotel number on the 6th. So, someone talked to him and if she was the only one who answered the phone it must have been her. My husband said he had talked to a man, to which she replied no men work here. (even though there was a man sitting next to her doing paperwork. Not to mention when my son who stayed there both the 8th and 9th, got locked out of the hotel and his room that night was assisted by a gentleman. I asked several times if I could pay for my room for the night and Than in the morning we could figureout the confusion and figure away to make evryone happy (I asked for this because she was making us late for our wedding reception). She just kept insisting we had reserved 8 rooms and we would be carged a cancellation fee for each of them. Remeber we only reserved 6 rooms and my son was using 1 and we were going to use one. Anyway after trying to deal with this extremely rude manager we left saying we wouldn't be staying there. Firgured she would try to charge me something, and she did. $72 for a one night room stay. Than when my husband Bruce Greene posted a review the manager responded that she was sorry but they were able to find us a room but we never returned and stayed?????? This manager is crazy. If they couldn't find us a room when we were there, why were we charged for one? And we did not stay there. If you have a choice of staying at this hotel or your car even in the middle of a Wisconsin winter, chooose the car!!!
I stayed at the Chetek "America's Best Value Inn" for one night. My room, the common areas, and the pool area were all very clean. The only negative was the chair in my room was very rickety, so I was afraid to sit on it. For the price, I got great value.
Don’t stay here. Go to Rice Lake Hotels! We had to have our room keys recharged three times in three days. Continental breakfast SUCKED! We got there early to eat and all there was out there were two pieces of bread and a few donuts. Nobody hardly ever at the front desk they are to busy smoking outside. There is a bell to ring but nobody comes when you ring it. Workers park in front of the doors 24-7. We asked for towels for the pool since there were none in the pool area. We were given only 1 to share. Room appeared clean. That’s the only bright spot of out 4 day stay. They severely need workers with experience in the hotel business.
We reserved two rooms for multiple nights. When we arrived, there were 3 people in leisure attire smoking outside the front door. As the hotel is billed as a smoke free facility, we assumed they were guests. They did not acknowledge us or say hello. We entered a completely empty lobby with no one at the front desk. It turned out one of the three smokers was the manager. He was wearing sweats and a torn t shirt, no name tag or anything to identify him as a hotel employee. We had to pay for our entire stay upfront which we found unusual. We went to the first of our rooms and found that someone had obviously used one of the beds before we got there because the bedding was rumpled. The room appeared somewhat worn and in need of minor repairs. The bathroom however had not been properly cleaned. There were dried urine spots all over the floor in front of the toilet. The shower drain didn't work very well either as we later found out. The second room was not in good repair. The room smelled damp and musty. Some outlets didn't work - the upper plugin didn't work, but the lower one did. The toilet seat was broken. A light in the bathroom was burned out. I notified housekeeping and was told they would let someone know ,but the burned out bulb was never replaced during our stay. The carpet is a dark burgundy but it was obvious no one had vacuumed along the edges of the room in a long time. There were some sort of dried splatters on the window curtains that looked like dried milk. When I looked under one of the beds, I found the entire bottom of the box spring was hanging down to the floor. The walls were pretty scraped up and in need of paint. Our key cards quit working after half a day. Overall the hotel seemed dirty. The continental breakfast was disappointing. There were bagels and English muffins and pancake batter and two kinds of dry cereal. There was no fruit or yogurt. The microwave in the breakfast area didn't work so we went back to our room to use the room microwave. Our rooms were never cleaned during our stay. I asked for clean towels once. There were three of us in the room, but we were only give two sets of towels. There was only one other car at the hotel so they weren't exactly booked solid. I think the people running the hotel live on site, but they don't seem very friendly for someone in the hospitality business. I had stayed at this hotel several years ago when it was a Super 8 and was disappointed to see how run down it has become. I have also stayed at other America's Best Value Inns in other cities and have had a much better experience. Also, I noted that I was charged a higher room rate ($81 per night before fees) than what is currently advertised online. I can put up with a little wear and tear. Even a budget hotel should be clean. This one was not. I won't be back.
I highly recommend driving 8 miles up the road to the hotel in Barron. Go anywhere but this hotel in Chetek. I booked a room at this hotel the day of my stay. The manager was standing outside at the front entrance smoking when I walked in. He took a great deal of time to book my room because he was so busy checking his cell phone text messages and texting responses on it. He said he couldn’t give me an itemized receipt until I checked out. When I got to my room it was very apparent that the beds had been slept in by someone else. The sheets had body hair and dirt stuck in them. The mirror dirty. The door handle to the room was broken and was difficult to get the door open. I immediately went to the front desk, where there were open Mountain Dew cans, pizza, and an open bottle of cough syrup sitting on the counter. I respectfully requested a refund because my room was dirty. The woman at the desk called her husband over (manager), who immediately told me that he wouldn’t be refunding my payment for the room under any circumstances. He told his wife to go check my room out and take pictures. She left and came back stating that the beds were dirty and slept in. He continued to deny my refund. He stated several “policies” that he had at the hotel, such as “you have 5 minutes after checking in to inspect your room for cleanliness,” but refused to show me the policies. His story about why he wouldn’t refund my money kept changing. He told me that I agreed to his policies when I signed for the room. I brought out the contract that I signed and read it word for word to him. Nothing in the contract had any of his made up policies in it. When this happened, his mother and sister became involved. They told me that I was annoying to them, and that I needed to leave the property. They had cell phones in my face, so-as to be recording me as an intimidation tactic. I attempted to call local law enforcement to document the fact that I was being forced to pay for services not rendered. Ultimately I just left the hotel without getting my refund. I feared for my safety at this hotel. It was filthy all around, and the hotel manager was extremely unkept, very disrespectful, and it’s not surprising that they (the family managing it and apparently living there), are letting the hotel get so run down. When I left for my car, the manager followed me outside to scare me. I will never be staying at this hotel again.
We had rooms. One was clean and nice. Roomy and appearance good overall However the other room had the previous peoples clothes left in it. Pool nice, breakfast less than average. The staff was nice, and friendly.
The location is great! The pool is great! The staff is great! What else do you need in a hotel? I wish the best of luck to the new management team that just recently started. They make a tough job look pretty easy. Thank you!!
This place was a good place to sleep for the night. That’s all we needed since we were visiting family. The pool was clean also, although we did not use it. Easy to find off US53 and close to downtown.
Americas Best Value Inn Chetek places you 11.5 mi (18.4 km) from Barron County Historical Society Pioneer Village Museum. This 38-room motel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.
Free continental breakfast is served each morning from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.
A TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee maker.
At Americas Best Value Inn Chetek, guests have access to an indoor pool, a spa tub, and free WiFi in public areas. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. Additional amenities include a meeting room, coffee/tea in a common area, and laundry facilities.