Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Surrey

5.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Lacking in attention to detail wouldn’t stay at this hotel again.

Incredibly nice and helpful staff. Room was much larger than I expected, and with even more amenities than that. The water pressure in the shower was incredible, better than what I have at home. It was located close to the Met, no more than a six block walk. I would definitely stay here again.

Beautiful hotel with plenty of room and an attentive staff

The sleep condition was bad. I lot of noise from the streets, in the room a lot of night lines from the tv. The phone, the lite switch, they were a lot that I have to cover to be able to sleep Really bad pillows and blankets

Very attentive staff; room spotless; location perfect for museums and shopping

Valentine's Day stay. Very romantic, with fantastic bar and brunch/dinner by the one and only Daniel Bouloud. Great location near high end shopping and Central Park.

Staff is always so personable. Lovely hotel. Clean, comfortable, great showers. Pet friendly.

Lovely place to stay. Though in the reservation notes and with a follow up phone call a quite room with no down pillows were requested. Neither were assigned upon arrival.

Had a stop over in NY on the way back home, decided to stay at The Surrey after numerous positive recommendations from friends. It was fabulous. Very attentive staff, great location and beautifully appointed rooms.

For an upscale discreet encounter of the forbidden kind, the Surrey was expensive but delightful. Nothing about the accommodations disappointed...

An Excellent hotel. The staff are excellent. Great location. The room was clean, I was very happy with everything.

We arrived at the hotel around 6PM. They gave us a room which we did not like. They were sld out and un able to give us another room. aWe were on the third floor. They promised to give us another room the following day. They moved us to the 15th floor which was perfect and we had a partial view of the park, I have a suggestion that somehow they should include the use of internet

Anniversary weekend in NY. Couldn't have been nicer. Room was beautiful, perfectly appointed, staff was warm and extremely helpful.

When choosing a small upscale hotel not associated with the larger chains I expect wonderful things. The rooms were indeed comfortable, with delightful products in the bathroom, a very comfortable bed and room to move around. But when personal service is required this is where they should shine. A cup of tea was needed quickly at the end of the evening and although my husband was willing to get one himself downstairs, the bartender refused to provide him with one to take upstairs. They did finally have someone deliver one to us but it is the tone used by the waitstaff and the idea that coffee and tea was not easily available that was so frustrating without having to wait. Plenty of liquor for purchase in the room but no tea or coffee! That and having to wait in the lobby to have a room ready to be checked in when it was after 3 pm was a bit frustrating. However it is a lovely hotel and the location is wonderful if you are looking for something on the Upper East Side.

This was my first stay at Surrey and I could not have been more impressed. My room was on the small side but it was exceedingly comfy. Many amenities. Bathroom only had a shower but it was unquestionably the best shower I've ever enjoyed anywhere. Bed, pillows and linens were premium. Hotel bar was active and inviting. I did not dine at the Daniel Boloud restaurant but it was awarded Michelin star - must be excellent. All in all, I will certainly return.

a wonderful hotel to stay in whether alone or for a romantic get away.

The Surrey is a first rate hotel. My suite, (which I did not request but was delighted with) could not have been nicer. Staff was very responsive. Concierge really helpful. The rooftop penthouse bar was a pleasant surprise and a nice view. The only less than excellent experience was the overpriced and under whelming french restaurant "Boulud" connected to the hotel. I would not recommend it.

When I arrived at hotel @ 11 PM after 4 1/2 hr drive, I was told I had no reservation. I gave the clerk both the # and the Surrey confirmation # he said it wasn't in his computer.I said the room was prepaid for 2 nights. He told me I must have wrong hotel and he turned his back to me and just left me standing at the counter. There was no cell phone service in lobby of hotel so I had to go outside and call my daughter to send the email to my phone of the whole confirmation. I returned inside and told him that it should not be up to me to have to prove this to him and he told me that it "shouldn"t be up to me to prove anything.We don't have you in our system and we are sold out." I told him that I wanted to speak to a manager and that he was the rudest person that I have ever dealt with in the hospitality industry. I explained that I had just driven non-stop from Cape Cod because my daughter had gone into labor 3 weeks early.After I mentioned manager he found a room for one night, but did not apologize. He made me feel as though I was lucky to be staying at his hotel! I left for hospital. When I returned at 6 am he was still there and informed me that he found my reservation so that I could stay the second night. This man actually acted like he was doing me a favor. I had already showed him that when I first tried to check in, but obviously, at the Surrey, the guest is not treated as a guest but made to feel totally uncomfortable! I would never stay at the Surrey again.

Wonderful staff! Professional, pleasant, helpful, and personable!!!! Love them all! Wish we had more time to enjoy the spa as it looked fabulous! Our room was nice with a wonderful bed! The carpet in our room was in need of a more thorough vacumning as along the edges of the bed and furniture were not particulary clean. Ate in the hotel restaurant one morning for breakfast and it seemed understaffed as we waited quite a while for service and food. We only saw one waitress working. I enjoy diet soda rather than coffee in the morning and my soda was flat. I would go back to the Surrey for the customer service!

20 East 76th Street New York NY

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Central Park and Madison Avenue
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Uptown, The Surrey is next to popular attractions like Central Park and Madison Avenue. This 189-room, 5-star hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, a full-service spa, and a 24-hour fitness center.


Dining

This hotel serves as home to a cocktail bar, along with a restaurant that specializes in French cuisine. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room. For your convenience, a continental breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find 37-inch an LCD TV with cable channels and pay movies, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and pillow menus, and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include an iPod dock, a minibar, and free newspapers.


Property features

Guests staying at The Surrey enjoy access to a full-service spa, a 24-hour fitness center, and a rooftop terrace. Valet parking is available for USD 85 per night, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with luggage storage, dry cleaning/laundry, and concierge services. Other amenities at this luxury hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Mobile Only - Deluxe Salon 1 King

King 1 | Sleeps 2

City View Grand Deluxe Salon

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Ultra One Bedroom Suite

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for The Surrey

Everyone (5) Couples (23) Business (8) Family (4) Other (6) Friends (3)
2
Everyone

By on May 3, 2019

Review comment responded on May 8, 2019

I would be happy to help you with any future reservations or discuss your past stay in more detail.

3
Everyone

Lacking in attention to detail wouldn’t stay at this hotel again.

By on Oct 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 1, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Please allow me to personally extend my sincere apologies for the unfortunate experiences you have outlined during your stay with us. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Rest assured that we have followed up with our team and have discussed how we could ensure a more seamless experience going forward. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Should you consider returning, we would like to offer your a complimentary upgrade to one of our suites. Please reach out to me directly so that I may oversee your reservation.

5
Everyone

Incredibly nice and helpful staff. Room was much larger than I expected, and with even more amenities than that. The water pressure in the shower was incredible, better than what I have at home. It was located close to the Met, no more than a six block walk. I would definitely stay here again.

By on Jan 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2018

Dear L, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you joining us the next time your travels bring you to NY.

4

comfortable hotel in the upper east side

Everyone

Beautiful hotel with plenty of room and an attentive staff

By , from boston ma on Jan 29, 2017

2
Everyone

The sleep condition was bad. I lot of noise from the streets, in the room a lot of night lines from the tv. The phone, the lite switch, they were a lot that I have to cover to be able to sleep Really bad pillows and blankets

By on Oct 19, 2016

5
Couples

Very attentive staff; room spotless; location perfect for museums and shopping

By , from chicago on Apr 13, 2016

5

great location

Couples

Valentine's Day stay. Very romantic, with fantastic bar and brunch/dinner by the one and only Daniel Bouloud. Great location near high end shopping and Central Park.

By on Sep 12, 2015

5

love this hotel.

Couples

Staff is always so personable. Lovely hotel. Clean, comfortable, great showers. Pet friendly.

By on Aug 12, 2015

3

nice, but not attentive

BusinessTravelers

Lovely place to stay. Though in the reservation notes and with a follow up phone call a quite room with no down pillows were requested. Neither were assigned upon arrival.

By on Aug 4, 2015

5

awesome 1 night stay

Couples

Had a stop over in NY on the way back home, decided to stay at The Surrey after numerous positive recommendations from friends. It was fabulous. Very attentive staff, great location and beautifully appointed rooms.

By on Aug 3, 2015

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.