Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Plaza Resort & Spa

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I arrived very lat at night. Was tired from a long day of traveling. The check in was nice. Once I got to my room I tired to open my balcony door so I could hear the ocean. It was wouldn't open. I called the front desk and they explains that the hurricane had damaged it so it was locked for my safety. I wouldn't have pair the extra money for ocean front of I would have known this. When I went to go to bed I pulled the sheet back and there was some dirty spots and crumbs all over the sheets. So I just slept in top of the covers. In the morning when I went to take my shower there was used bars of soap in it. I'm overall disappointed. I wish I would have been so tired i would have complained then.

The hotel and staff were great. Our room had a nice patio with access to the pool and the beach. Unfortunately the weather was too cold and windy to enjoy it... The room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom could use some updating.

Still fixing up around the property after the hurricane damage but they're getting there .Stayed there several times it's always a pleasure the staff is very friendly and willing to help will stay there again .

Very beautiful resort with very friendly and help ful staff

Went to the car show at the speedway and needed a Hotel on the beach. Good price for the location. Still under renovation but accomodating.

Staff very friendly a great place to stay will definitely come back

It was my birthday, Cora and Marie went the extra mile to make it a very special experience. I thank the wonderful staff for the special birthday amenity!!! The room was clean, big and the oceanfront view was breathtaking! I cant wait to see the finish product once they finish renovations. I would truly recommend this Resort and Spa.

We booked this hotel for BikeToberFest 2017. It was not your typical "Beach Hotel" so we expected it to be clean and quiet. For the most part it was. There were also many other bikers staying there, so this is just my take on our stay. We pulled in at about 7:30pm on Saturday. We were told by the Valet that we could not park our bikes (Three bikes) under the overhang while we checked in, nor could we park in an open Valet Spot at the bottom of the steep hill while we checked in. We had to park in the basement and then come up the elevator to check in. By the way, the basement entry door is "Key Coded" so normally we would not have been able to get in through the access door and would have had to walk all the way around to the main entrance .. Just to check in. At the check in briefing we were told of the "Resort Fee" which was anticipated, however we were immediately charged $50 for incidentals. Like the "Snack Fridge" which upon arrival in the room was EMPTY. Our overall impression of this hotel, was that they didn't really want our or other bikers' business so they would be less than accommodating in hopes that we wouldn't come back. They were right - we won't return to this hotel..during any bike event or ever. Kind of a shame really, because we live in Jacksonville and ride down to Daytona for several events a year and normally with 5 or more couples when we do it. We also normally go ourselves as a single couple once or twice a year..just to get away.

Website and customer reviews did not match with the actual experience at this hotel. Facility was in poor condition. I understand they were renovating as a result of hurricane damage but it does not excuse the condition of the room, interior of the hotel, slow check-in/check-out, and terrible customer service. I had 3 rooms and all were in poor condition. I attempted to split the cost of rooms at checkout and was told they already charged my card for all 3 rooms. They didn't care to correct and the line was so long that I didn't want to inconvenience any of the other customers whom also seemed unhappy. Will never stay here again. Total rip off!

We had a great time at the Plaza Resort and Spa. We have no complaints about any of the staff. They were all incredible. The lady outside that took care of the towels and pool games was exceptionally nice. Her personality is great for that job. Also, we didn't use the valet services (we flew) but the guys out there were also so friendly. One of the guys saw us waiting on a cab one evening and came over to check on us. He was so helpful and friendly. He even called the cab service a 2nd and 3rd time to check on them because we had to wait a while on them.

I love this hotel. It's location is perfect. Yes there is construction going on but we was on the opposite side and couldn't hear any of it. Cora and Patrick at the front desk were awesome!

Only problem was elevator took to long and 2nd floor close cause repairs

The room was very quiet. I never heard a noise from the people around us. The only issue I had, was when I checked in they told me my room would be ready in 30 minutes and it was 3 hours later. Check in time was stated as 4pm and I got there at 12:30. So they were actually early. I only wish they hadn't given me the 30 min expectation. Other than that I can't complain. Great place to stay.

Hotel undergoing construction was a bit loud! "It was necessary work due to hurricane damage. But, you would think they would hold off until winter months when not as busy" The breakfast was not As good as previous years & very expensive! Coffee was Bad ! The pool bar/snack concession was great & staff were ALL very nice! LONG WAIT elevators! We booked months in advance & was only notified days ahead that our Ocean front room balcony was closed off due to construction! This was a big disappointment! Over all this is a beautiful hotel & will stay again !

Under construction but the staff more than made up for it

The rooms are to loud, you can hear everything going on on the floor. Got woke up at 4:30 am on Sunday by a young woman screaming in the hall that a man with a knife was going to hurt her! Opened my door to see two men and one women yelling about taking to much money for prostitution! Very disturbing and unprofessional! Call front desk, they said," we're on it!" Cops came, I went back to sleep. I was told when I purchased this room from Orbitz, It came with a $12.00 a day drink tab. When I got to the hotel I confirmed this and asked the front desk clerk if I could use it for breakfast because I'm not a drinker. He said no, it was a drink only credit. The day before checking out I asked to review my bill, after noticing I only had been credited $12.00 for the 4 nights I was informed,"the drink credit is only for the FIRST night sir." You might want to get this straight?!

Every one was very friendly food was great late checkout was awesome

I was told that I would have a Cityview I looked at a wall

Could use more valet during peak times, otherwise not a bad thing to say about this awesome resort!

We stayed at the Plaza Resort and Spa over spring break with family. The resort is still recouping from a hurricane that hit during the fall and is under new management which means they had a lot of turnover from employees. Early in the week I experienced some bitter employees who were not happy with the current management and slow service in their restaurant. The service improved as the week went on and the hotel seemed busier. I think they had short staffed the hotel earlier in the week when it was less busy. I also saw more of a management presence later in the week which seemed to help the service. The building still has a lot of outside visible damage due to the hurricane that hit last October. We were told that the hotel had just received notice that their insurance was on it's way so they could soon start making repairs. The pool was great. We spent the majority of our time there. We had a great view of the beach and the room was clean and spacious. The bathrooms were quite small though. We had free valet parking which was a perk and appreciated two free drinks on the hotel when we arrived. The city of Daytona Beach leaves a little to be desired. It still looks like it caters primarily to college kids. There were strip clubs one block from the hotel and tattoo joints. Most restaurants in the area were chains like Bubba Gumps, Applebees, Chilies, etc. Not a lot of charm.

600 N Atlantic Ave Daytona Beach FL

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Ocean Walk Village and Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Ocean Walk Village is within a 5-minute walk of Plaza Resort & Spa while other popular sites like Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier are within a 15-minute stroll. This 323-room, 3.5-star hotel has a restaurant, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool. It's on the beach and also a short walk from Daytona Lagoon Waterpark and Daytona Beach Bandshell.


Dining

In addition to a meal at the onsite restaurant, you can also enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start your day off with full breakfast, available for a fee.


Rooms

Plaza Resort & Spa's 323 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 42-inch plasma TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes, phones, and ironing boards are also available.


Property features

Guests of Plaza Resort & Spa enjoy a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. Free parking is available if you drive. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, 14 meeting rooms, and conference space.

Room options

Coastal View, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Ocean Front 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Coastal View 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Ocean Front 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Plaza Resort & Spa

Everyone (33) Couples (106) Business (15) Students (1) Family (110) Other (10) Friends (34)
2
Everyone

I arrived very lat at night. Was tired from a long day of traveling. The check in was nice. Once I got to my room I tired to open my balcony door so I could hear the ocean. It was wouldn't open. I called the front desk and they explains that the hurricane had damaged it so it was locked for my safety. I wouldn't have pair the extra money for ocean front of I would have known this. When I went to go to bed I pulled the sheet back and there was some dirty spots and crumbs all over the sheets. So I just slept in top of the covers. In the morning when I went to take my shower there was used bars of soap in it. I'm overall disappointed. I wish I would have been so tired i would have complained then.

By , from ohio on Jan 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 8, 2018

Jason, thank you for staying at the Plaza and sharing your experience. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations and for any inconveniences these may have caused. We do have an announcement on our website and other booking channels about our hotel balcony closure and apologize if you did not see these. I have passed on your comments to the management team. We hope to have another opportunity to wow you in the future.

4

nice historic hotel right on the beach

Everyone

The hotel and staff were great. Our room had a nice patio with access to the pool and the beach. Unfortunately the weather was too cold and windy to enjoy it... The room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom could use some updating.

By on Dec 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 2, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments about our staff and hotel. We hope to see you again so you can enjoy better weather and our completed renovations.

4

good bang for the buck

Everyone

Still fixing up around the property after the hurricane damage but they're getting there .Stayed there several times it's always a pleasure the staff is very friendly and willing to help will stay there again .

By , from Stuart Fl. on Dec 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 8, 2017

Barry, Thanks for the 4 rating. 2018 we should be completed with our renovations from the hurricane. We can't wait to show her off to you when you come back.

5
Everyone

Very beautiful resort with very friendly and help ful staff

By , from elkins,wv on Dec 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 6, 2017

Dave, Thanks so much for rating us a 5 and the kind words! We hope you'll come visit us again in the future.

4

nice hotel

Everyone

Went to the car show at the speedway and needed a Hotel on the beach. Good price for the location. Still under renovation but accomodating.

By , from Miami on Dec 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 6, 2017

Rocky, Thanks for the 4 rating. We are happy to hear you had a nice time for the Turkey Rod Run and hope that we will see you next year!

5
Everyone

Staff very friendly a great place to stay will definitely come back

By , from indiana on Nov 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 5, 2017

Jeff, Thanks so much for the 5 out of 5. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences. We also thank you for taking from your valuable time to fill this survey. We hope to serve you once again in the near future.

5

very nice resort and spa on the beach

Everyone

It was my birthday, Cora and Marie went the extra mile to make it a very special experience. I thank the wonderful staff for the special birthday amenity!!! The room was clean, big and the oceanfront view was breathtaking! I cant wait to see the finish product once they finish renovations. I would truly recommend this Resort and Spa.

By , from Florida on Oct 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2017

Ann, first happy birthday! Thank you for the 5 stars and the great review. We should have all renovations completed by the end of 2018. We look forward to seeing you then!

3

new gm - no longer "biker friendly"

Everyone

We booked this hotel for BikeToberFest 2017. It was not your typical "Beach Hotel" so we expected it to be clean and quiet. For the most part it was. There were also many other bikers staying there, so this is just my take on our stay. We pulled in at about 7:30pm on Saturday. We were told by the Valet that we could not park our bikes (Three bikes) under the overhang while we checked in, nor could we park in an open Valet Spot at the bottom of the steep hill while we checked in. We had to park in the basement and then come up the elevator to check in. By the way, the basement entry door is "Key Coded" so normally we would not have been able to get in through the access door and would have had to walk all the way around to the main entrance .. Just to check in. At the check in briefing we were told of the "Resort Fee" which was anticipated, however we were immediately charged $50 for incidentals. Like the "Snack Fridge" which upon arrival in the room was EMPTY. Our overall impression of this hotel, was that they didn't really want our or other bikers' business so they would be less than accommodating in hopes that we wouldn't come back. They were right - we won't return to this hotel..during any bike event or ever. Kind of a shame really, because we live in Jacksonville and ride down to Daytona for several events a year and normally with 5 or more couples when we do it. We also normally go ourselves as a single couple once or twice a year..just to get away.

By , from Jacksonville on Oct 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2017

Thank you for sharing your opinion of our hotel and we are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered. Many of our staff ride bikes and the whole resort gets exited when its time for the bike events. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We wish you safe travels in the future.

1

poor condition, poor customer service

Everyone

Website and customer reviews did not match with the actual experience at this hotel. Facility was in poor condition. I understand they were renovating as a result of hurricane damage but it does not excuse the condition of the room, interior of the hotel, slow check-in/check-out, and terrible customer service. I had 3 rooms and all were in poor condition. I attempted to split the cost of rooms at checkout and was told they already charged my card for all 3 rooms. They didn't care to correct and the line was so long that I didn't want to inconvenience any of the other customers whom also seemed unhappy. Will never stay here again. Total rip off!

By , from Florida on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. The cleanliness and service issues you mentioned are unacceptable. We set a high standard and we would have liked to provide an immediate response to these issues while you were still present. We sincerely wish you had brought all of your concerns to the attention of our resort management team during your stay. Our resort management team is available 24/7 to address concerns and ensure all of our guests are enjoying their stay. We are passionate about our commitment to provide value and excellent service to our guests who visit us. What you described is not the typical experience out guests have staying with us, as most of our reviews can attest to. We wish you the best of luck in the future travels!

4

r & r at the plaza

Everyone

We had a great time at the Plaza Resort and Spa. We have no complaints about any of the staff. They were all incredible. The lady outside that took care of the towels and pool games was exceptionally nice. Her personality is great for that job. Also, we didn't use the valet services (we flew) but the guys out there were also so friendly. One of the guys saw us waiting on a cab one evening and came over to check on us. He was so helpful and friendly. He even called the cab service a 2nd and 3rd time to check on them because we had to wait a while on them.

By , from Kentucky on Aug 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

Thank you for giving us 4 stars and posting comments. We are very happy to hear you had a great time. Our team members work very hard to elevate your stay with us and we will be sure to pass along your kind words.