Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Plaza Resort & Spa

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Website and customer reviews did not match with the actual experience at this hotel. Facility was in poor condition. I understand they were renovating as a result of hurricane damage but it does not excuse the condition of the room, interior of the hotel, slow check-in/check-out, and terrible customer service. I had 3 rooms and all were in poor condition. I attempted to split the cost of rooms at checkout and was told they already charged my card for all 3 rooms. They didn't care to correct and the line was so long that I didn't want to inconvenience any of the other customers whom also seemed unhappy. Will never stay here again. Total rip off!

We had a great time at the Plaza Resort and Spa. We have no complaints about any of the staff. They were all incredible. The lady outside that took care of the towels and pool games was exceptionally nice. Her personality is great for that job. Also, we didn't use the valet services (we flew) but the guys out there were also so friendly. One of the guys saw us waiting on a cab one evening and came over to check on us. He was so helpful and friendly. He even called the cab service a 2nd and 3rd time to check on them because we had to wait a while on them.

I love this hotel. It's location is perfect. Yes there is construction going on but we was on the opposite side and couldn't hear any of it. Cora and Patrick at the front desk were awesome!

Only problem was elevator took to long and 2nd floor close cause repairs

The room was very quiet. I never heard a noise from the people around us. The only issue I had, was when I checked in they told me my room would be ready in 30 minutes and it was 3 hours later. Check in time was stated as 4pm and I got there at 12:30. So they were actually early. I only wish they hadn't given me the 30 min expectation. Other than that I can't complain. Great place to stay.

Hotel undergoing construction was a bit loud! "It was necessary work due to hurricane damage. But, you would think they would hold off until winter months when not as busy" The breakfast was not As good as previous years & very expensive! Coffee was Bad ! The pool bar/snack concession was great & staff were ALL very nice! LONG WAIT elevators! We booked months in advance & was only notified days ahead that our Ocean front room balcony was closed off due to construction! This was a big disappointment! Over all this is a beautiful hotel & will stay again !

Under construction but the staff more than made up for it

The rooms are to loud, you can hear everything going on on the floor. Got woke up at 4:30 am on Sunday by a young woman screaming in the hall that a man with a knife was going to hurt her! Opened my door to see two men and one women yelling about taking to much money for prostitution! Very disturbing and unprofessional! Call front desk, they said," we're on it!" Cops came, I went back to sleep. I was told when I purchased this room from Orbitz, It came with a $12.00 a day drink tab. When I got to the hotel I confirmed this and asked the front desk clerk if I could use it for breakfast because I'm not a drinker. He said no, it was a drink only credit. The day before checking out I asked to review my bill, after noticing I only had been credited $12.00 for the 4 nights I was informed,"the drink credit is only for the FIRST night sir." You might want to get this straight?!

Every one was very friendly food was great late checkout was awesome

I was told that I would have a Cityview I looked at a wall

Could use more valet during peak times, otherwise not a bad thing to say about this awesome resort!

We stayed at the Plaza Resort and Spa over spring break with family. The resort is still recouping from a hurricane that hit during the fall and is under new management which means they had a lot of turnover from employees. Early in the week I experienced some bitter employees who were not happy with the current management and slow service in their restaurant. The service improved as the week went on and the hotel seemed busier. I think they had short staffed the hotel earlier in the week when it was less busy. I also saw more of a management presence later in the week which seemed to help the service. The building still has a lot of outside visible damage due to the hurricane that hit last October. We were told that the hotel had just received notice that their insurance was on it's way so they could soon start making repairs. The pool was great. We spent the majority of our time there. We had a great view of the beach and the room was clean and spacious. The bathrooms were quite small though. We had free valet parking which was a perk and appreciated two free drinks on the hotel when we arrived. The city of Daytona Beach leaves a little to be desired. It still looks like it caters primarily to college kids. There were strip clubs one block from the hotel and tattoo joints. Most restaurants in the area were chains like Bubba Gumps, Applebees, Chilies, etc. Not a lot of charm.

it was obvious the photos on web site were not recent

Patrick was great rearranging our room We paid $359 Sunday night. Girl at desk said she upgraded us gave us a handicapped bathroom,queen bed we paid for king and put us above the bar that kept us up until 1230 am! Robin and Cynthia are the best bartenders! Lisa in spa is wonderful and Claudine is best deep tissue masseuse

My daughter got an ear infection there not happy about that

It was cold when we went but the pool was warm they had fire pits outside also and they let us hang out in the area way later than expected. Also they let us check in early which was awesome and a late check out I don't see why anyone would have a problem with this resort. And no traffic in front of the hotel on the beach that is a plus. Next to the hotel there is a drive way to the beach and u can drive north on the beach. No rocks on the beach also

Staff was helpful and cheerful when I had to change stay dates.

Ball room was great, food was great, staff was great, suite was great.

Let me first say that I had a unforgettable stay. Despite the recent hurricane, my stay was amazing!!! I only was supposed to stay for 2 nights, after hanging out at the pool and amazing drinks and food and conversation with "Lil Bit" (and she was the driving reason for me to cancel other reservation and pay more just to stay there) and staff at the bar. I decided to cancel my other reservation with a different hotel just to stay at the Plaza for my entire trip. All the staff checking me in and out were 5 star, Quick easy and painless... Heather at the pool side area was awesome, even the room service staff was great. The only issues I had were getting stuck in the elevator a couple times even happened with a hotel employee, but it's was very brief and was easy to laugh about it. The other issue I had was how management treats there staff, I completely understand that the hotel has to maintain a image of excellence BUT more importantly management needs to keep there employees happy all the time regardless!!! Management needs to focus on other issue that the hotel has rather than if there employees wear a sweatshirt while working outside in windy weather... I will finish by saying, I will DEFINITELY stay there again and plan to very soon. Thank you for a amazing stay and great time... see you soon.

I travel frequently and my experience at this hotel was second to none. The property was clean, staff was friendly and the view was AMAZING!!

Room options

Coastal View, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Ocean Front 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Coastal View 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Ocean Front 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Plaza Resort & Spa

Everyone (25) Couples (106) Business (15) Students (1) Family (110) Other (10) Friends (34)
1

poor condition, poor customer service

Everyone

Website and customer reviews did not match with the actual experience at this hotel. Facility was in poor condition. I understand they were renovating as a result of hurricane damage but it does not excuse the condition of the room, interior of the hotel, slow check-in/check-out, and terrible customer service. I had 3 rooms and all were in poor condition. I attempted to split the cost of rooms at checkout and was told they already charged my card for all 3 rooms. They didn't care to correct and the line was so long that I didn't want to inconvenience any of the other customers whom also seemed unhappy. Will never stay here again. Total rip off!

By , from Florida on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. The cleanliness and service issues you mentioned are unacceptable. We set a high standard and we would have liked to provide an immediate response to these issues while you were still present. We sincerely wish you had brought all of your concerns to the attention of our resort management team during your stay. Our resort management team is available 24/7 to address concerns and ensure all of our guests are enjoying their stay. We are passionate about our commitment to provide value and excellent service to our guests who visit us. What you described is not the typical experience out guests have staying with us, as most of our reviews can attest to. We wish you the best of luck in the future travels!

4

r & r at the plaza

Everyone

We had a great time at the Plaza Resort and Spa. We have no complaints about any of the staff. They were all incredible. The lady outside that took care of the towels and pool games was exceptionally nice. Her personality is great for that job. Also, we didn't use the valet services (we flew) but the guys out there were also so friendly. One of the guys saw us waiting on a cab one evening and came over to check on us. He was so helpful and friendly. He even called the cab service a 2nd and 3rd time to check on them because we had to wait a while on them.

By , from Kentucky on Aug 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

Thank you for giving us 4 stars and posting comments. We are very happy to hear you had a great time. Our team members work very hard to elevate your stay with us and we will be sure to pass along your kind words.

5

excellent!

Everyone

I love this hotel. It's location is perfect. Yes there is construction going on but we was on the opposite side and couldn't hear any of it. Cora and Patrick at the front desk were awesome!

By , from Tennessee on Aug 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2017

Thank you Tiffany for giving us 5 out of 5 and posting such a great comment about our front desk! I will pass your comments on to our team. We hope to have you visit us again in the near future.

5

everything was in walking distance

Everyone

Only problem was elevator took to long and 2nd floor close cause repairs

By , from Dover nj on Jul 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 27, 2017

Thanks for the 5 stars

5

comfortable and quiet

Everyone

The room was very quiet. I never heard a noise from the people around us. The only issue I had, was when I checked in they told me my room would be ready in 30 minutes and it was 3 hours later. Check in time was stated as 4pm and I got there at 12:30. So they were actually early. I only wish they hadn't given me the 30 min expectation. Other than that I can't complain. Great place to stay.

By on Jul 19, 2017

4
Everyone
Beach View Sunrise Beachside view Pier from hotel view

Hotel undergoing construction was a bit loud! "It was necessary work due to hurricane damage. But, you would think they would hold off until winter months when not as busy" The breakfast was not As good as previous years & very expensive! Coffee was Bad ! The pool bar/snack concession was great & staff were ALL very nice! LONG WAIT elevators! We booked months in advance & was only notified days ahead that our Ocean front room balcony was closed off due to construction! This was a big disappointment! Over all this is a beautiful hotel & will stay again !

By , from Pa on Jul 4, 2017

4

nice

Everyone

Under construction but the staff more than made up for it

By on Jun 7, 2017

2

something shady is going on here!

Everyone

The rooms are to loud, you can hear everything going on on the floor. Got woke up at 4:30 am on Sunday by a young woman screaming in the hall that a man with a knife was going to hurt her! Opened my door to see two men and one women yelling about taking to much money for prostitution! Very disturbing and unprofessional! Call front desk, they said," we're on it!" Cops came, I went back to sleep. I was told when I purchased this room from Orbitz, It came with a $12.00 a day drink tab. When I got to the hotel I confirmed this and asked the front desk clerk if I could use it for breakfast because I'm not a drinker. He said no, it was a drink only credit. The day before checking out I asked to review my bill, after noticing I only had been credited $12.00 for the 4 nights I was informed,"the drink credit is only for the FIRST night sir." You might want to get this straight?!

By , from baltimore, MD on May 17, 2017

Review comment responded on May 19, 2017

Thank you for writing a review. The person at the front desk informed you correctly that the $12 drink credit is per stay not per night. We also would be concerned if I read this differently somewhere. If you would be so kind as to let us know where you saw this we would be happy to have it corrected. Thanks again for your review.

5

awesome location

Everyone

Every one was very friendly food was great late checkout was awesome

By , from ny on Apr 19, 2017

Review comment responded on May 8, 2017

Thank you for an awesome review! Love the photo you posted too.

4

no blankets no view

Everyone

I was told that I would have a Cityview I looked at a wall

By on Apr 13, 2017