Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Black Forest Lodge And Cabins

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The good thing first, the motel staff was excellent and very helpful. This is a very old motel in need of a lot of work. The hotel smells like a very old house, nothing bad, just that old house smell. The main problem with my room was the matress, it was the worst matress I've ever tried to sleep on. The area where my butt was had a major indent like the mattress had the padding cut out (on both sides). I could get by with everything else but not being able to sleep on the matress was too much. I don't want to pay $125 a night to sleep on the floor. If the matress was acceptable, I would rate the room ok and the staff as great, which they definitely were! I would probably spend a little more money next time and try a different motel.

A few notches above sleeping in your car unless you have a motorhome. There is a very rustic feel to the entire hotel, from the bounce in the steps to the lobby to the overall dated appearance of the exterior and rooms. The walls are thin but nothing compared to the noise when the public works department decided to dig up the road in front of the hotel utilizing very loud hammer/guillotines and huge floodlights pointed at the room window from about 12AM to all day! A full refund or credit voucher for a future nights day would've been nice but did not happen.

The staff was genuinely kind and very helpful. Rooms where a good size with plenty of room for our kids to play and sleep

My wife and I were very pleased; floral and cute decor, huge room with fireplace and nice spa, friendly and helpful management. It was an excellent value.. definitely a do-over!

Good i did not see a lot of workers but it was nice friendly but old place but excellent i will come back for sure only that i expected a cabin like the pictures not a room and i saw cabins there but inside the parking lot all cabin suppose to be around trees and give some space from people, too close from cabin to cabin anyways overall good

Wonderful front desk staff. Upgraded us to a darling cabin tucked away in the back. Would definitely come back!

It was just alright. Nothing special. Enjoyed it with my wife. They offered a way better price to someone for better room infront of me.

I thought we had reserved a cabin so when we got there we had to upgrade of course with more money, the front counter lady was not friendly, actually made us wait for her to finish her personal conversation with someone before she helped us check in. The rooms were smaller than they looked and needed MAJOR redecorating.

I took my girlfriend here for her 50th birthday! I must say it was a bit surreal as this property is a hotel, motel and spa cabins to rent all nestled in the pines! We were greeted by the owner who is a very lovely lady who upgraded us when she found out it was a birthday trip! The room we got was very nice, but we were hoping for one of the cabins! We asked to switch and NO PROBLEM! While its a 2-3 star property which needs some TLC, my girlfriend LOVED the whole experience, and that's what I wanted, to make her happy!

This is nice experience thanks!! I'm going recommend

My family and I were looking forward to a wonderful Fall weekend of relaxation and photography. We checked in with no problems and the young lady at the front desk was beyond pleasant. We got to our room (which was outdated) but clean and we were looking forward to unpacking and head to the lake. We noticed that we could hear the tv in the next room but were not too bothered with it. We made it a point to make sure that in the evening our tv would not be loud due to the thin walls. We were pleasantly tired after a full day and looked forward to rest as we were getting up early in the morning to photograph. By midnight we were all asleep. That is when the 7 hour party started in the next room. This included smoking (cigarettes and weed), which we could smell. We thought it would end soon because we figured the people were just winding down after a long night; but after 2am it was horrible. At least 10 people were in and out if that room and now you could tell the party included drugs by the increased hyperactivity. There was banging against the walls from them doing things I didn't want to hear and unfortunately our kids heard. There is no one in the office to complain to after 2am. By 7am I had maybe got an hour of sleep and not even full sleep. I had to drive that day and also had to get up to go photograph. I went to the front desk to complain and was told that these things happen -its Octoberfest and that I could have some coffee and we could have an extra 2 hours so we could sleep. We didnt want to have to sleep -we were suppose to be up and ready for our day. There was no sympathy for my family. And the people were not told anything even that morning when I went in. Our day was ruined. We ended up with a load of coffee and just went home as soon as we could. I called back the next week to talk to someone but was told to call back and speak with a certain manager (I was told that the people next door ruined the room). It took about a week and a half. When I got a hold of her She seemed very apologetic. We asked if there was anything they could do for us seeing that our night was ruined and we couldn't go to the front desk in the middle of the night. She said she would have to ask the owner. I had to call back several days later just to be told the only thing they would do is give a 10% discount. This was not a cheap room >$120. I was told this is a party town by one staff member. That is unacceptable that an owner would not care about the well being of their patrons. Or to just be told "you can have some coffee". The manager was nice but when you have an owner who doesn't care about the people who are paying to keep their business running then there is a problem. We will never stay there again and anyone should think twice about it as well. This owner does not care about taking your money and then not caring when you have a legitimate complaint. We found that there are other reviews similar to ours about the owner not caring.

Disapointed in the rm for what I pd. No coffeee maker or v.c.r. NO wood for fireplace inless you buy it at $7.00 for 6 pieces. Broke out in hives and had to cx rm for the next night. Did not get my money back. Waste of money and time. Fan was exstreamly lound bath rm fan. Duld light bubls you could not see. Refrigator was frzen and sm with out dated T.V.s. Mirc wave sm not plug in. I could go on and on.

After reading the other reviews we were concerned about staying there and reduced our trip by one night. The hotel clerk was friendly. We were given a room on the main street which was a bit noisy. I'd bring ear plugs. We had a cute lil balcony and could see glimpses of the lake. The location is great but a bit to far to walk to the village. It's about a mile away . The jacuzzi tub and fireplace were AMAZING!!!! I want one at home. We brought candles which added even more ambience!!! The room was very clean and had a small refrigerator and microvave. No utinsels. The bathroom was clean, dated but had a bath and shower. Everything you need. The bed and linen was old but comfortable. If this hotel invested in some pillow top mattresses with quality linens they could charge double and get it. I would definitely stay here again!!! Thank You!!!

The first thing you notice is the weird musty smell in the lobby and again in the room. Once you get inside the room...the carpet is worn out and stained - only wear socks. The TV sucks. The bathroom is gross and ugly with inadequate lighting. Not to mention the peeping tom at our door at 1am. You couldn't pay me to stay here again.

The room was smelling like smoke. Walls were thin.

the hotel was very quaint and romantic. me and my boyfriend spent 2 nights here although we wish we could live here! its a beautiful location and conviently located near everything from shops to restaurants to the gorgeous lake! the staff here is wonderful and tended to our every need....room had a fire place and spa in room and for such a good price....we both work in the hotel business and were very happy once we left!!

From the moment we arrived we knew we would have a great time. the room was clean and very comfortable. this was a great value and a great experience up in the mountains.

This hotel was a disappointment from the beginning to the end. The hotel staff was sleeping and very brusque when we arrived. She took approximately 10 minutes to answer the front desk and then left to use the bathroom as soon as I was out of the bathroom. She was undoing her pants before she even closed the door. The lobby bathroom was disgusting. It had smears on the outside of the toilet and personal effects around the sink. If it was for personal use, it should have been posted. Moving on to the rooms. They were small. Very small. The beds were very firm to the point of being uncomfortable. In room one, there was a bug in the bed. There was NO heat provided, I'm assuming b/c there was a fireplace. However, we didn't notice that until it was too late, so we had no firewood. The BBQ provided was old and not clean. The kitchenette was a table and chairs on the patio that was shared with another room and another table and chairs in the room. Overall - skip this place. The price I got just wasn't worth it. Even though it was the cheapest place I could find, I wish I would have spent more to have a more comfortable night. The signs posted outside said $45 / night and $75 for cabins I think even this would have been too much and I paid twice that for the room.

Its a great hotel. Close to everything and the staff is very friendly. Very comfy rooms. The only issue is that the beds are alittle hard but nothing you cant adjust to. This is our 2nd time stayin there and its def been worth it.

We had made a reservation for a cabin for two adults with pets. When we arrived the receptionist informed us that the reservation was for a motel room with no pets. They then offered a "pet friendly room" at a substantially increased price. [...]We checked out the facility and found to be unacceptable. The rooms were in disrepair and did not smell clean. We did not stay. We found another location in town that was excellent.

Room options

Spa Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Fireplace (Gas)

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Family Studio Suite, 1 Bedroom, Fireplace

Queen 3 | Sleeps 6

Family Chalet, Resort View

Queen 3 | Sleeps 6

Traditional Cabin, Resort View

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Black Forest Lodge And Cabins

Everyone (3) Couples (49) Family (16) Other (7) Friends (1)
2

great staff at a very old motel....

Everyone

The good thing first, the motel staff was excellent and very helpful. This is a very old motel in need of a lot of work. The hotel smells like a very old house, nothing bad, just that old house smell. The main problem with my room was the matress, it was the worst matress I've ever tried to sleep on. The area where my butt was had a major indent like the mattress had the padding cut out (on both sides). I could get by with everything else but not being able to sleep on the matress was too much. I don't want to pay $125 a night to sleep on the floor. If the matress was acceptable, I would rate the room ok and the staff as great, which they definitely were! I would probably spend a little more money next time and try a different motel.

By , from So-Cal on Aug 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 26, 2017

Thank you for your honest review Scottie , truly sorry you didn't feel satisfied with your bed , we are working on many of our rooms , we hope to maybe see you back in one of our other rooms for a better experience .

2

close to everything but nothing special

Everyone

A few notches above sleeping in your car unless you have a motorhome. There is a very rustic feel to the entire hotel, from the bounce in the steps to the lobby to the overall dated appearance of the exterior and rooms. The walls are thin but nothing compared to the noise when the public works department decided to dig up the road in front of the hotel utilizing very loud hammer/guillotines and huge floodlights pointed at the room window from about 12AM to all day! A full refund or credit voucher for a future nights day would've been nice but did not happen.

By on Apr 11, 2017

Review comment responded on May 26, 2017

We are terribly sorry that you were unhappy with the road construction. We have no control over their time frame and when guest are staying at the hotel. As a local lodge in the heart of Big Bear Lake we try to make our customers happy and are very sad that you didnt like our lodge.

5

close to town

Everyone

The staff was genuinely kind and very helpful. Rooms where a good size with plenty of room for our kids to play and sleep

By on Jan 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2017

Thank you for your nice review. Please come back and stay with us again.

5

spacious room, cute decor, nice spa tub; romantic

Couples

My wife and I were very pleased; floral and cute decor, huge room with fireplace and nice spa, friendly and helpful management. It was an excellent value.. definitely a do-over!

By , from Orange County, Ca on Dec 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2017

Thank you for your kind review, please come back again!

5

excellent

Couples

Good i did not see a lot of workers but it was nice friendly but old place but excellent i will come back for sure only that i expected a cabin like the pictures not a room and i saw cabins there but inside the parking lot all cabin suppose to be around trees and give some space from people, too close from cabin to cabin anyways overall good

By on Jul 16, 2015

5

family trip

Families

Wonderful front desk staff. Upgraded us to a darling cabin tucked away in the back. Would definitely come back!

By on Feb 24, 2015

3

family trip

Couples

It was just alright. Nothing special. Enjoyed it with my wife. They offered a way better price to someone for better room infront of me.

By on Dec 29, 2014

2

expected more

Couples

I thought we had reserved a cabin so when we got there we had to upgrade of course with more money, the front counter lady was not friendly, actually made us wait for her to finish her personal conversation with someone before she helped us check in. The rooms were smaller than they looked and needed MAJOR redecorating.

By on Oct 6, 2014

4

birthday getaway

Couples

I took my girlfriend here for her 50th birthday! I must say it was a bit surreal as this property is a hotel, motel and spa cabins to rent all nestled in the pines! We were greeted by the owner who is a very lovely lady who upgraded us when she found out it was a birthday trip! The room we got was very nice, but we were hoping for one of the cabins! We asked to switch and NO PROBLEM! While its a 2-3 star property which needs some TLC, my girlfriend LOVED the whole experience, and that's what I wanted, to make her happy!

By on Jul 24, 2014

4

good!

Families

This is nice experience thanks!! I'm going recommend

By on Jun 16, 2014