Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Beautiful property. Very nice bungalow room with patio out to vineyard. Close proximity yo other vineyards & Old Town. Highly recommend!

This place is 5 stars!!!

PROS: we had a nice big casita style room facing the vineyards. The tasting room was nice, and they had the best wines of all those we tasted in Temecula. CONS: 1) As a frequent user of Orbitz, I was to receive a free room upgrade if available. When I checked in I was told there were no upgraded casita rooms available with a private entrance. I showed the person at the front desk the availability of this room type on their own web site, and she just kept saying “not available” and shoved the keys at me with no explanation. She was very rude. 2) I had called the day before to make sure the sofa bed would be made up as there were 3 of us. Not only was it not done, there were no extra sheets or pillows in the room. When I called the desk they brought them to the room but we had to make the bed ourselves. 3) the “free” breakfast consisted of coffee, drinks, sweet pastries, yogurt and fruit. We ordered boiled eggs off the menu items that had to be paid for. When they arrived they were frozen and covered with frost. 4) the closet doors were off the track and we had to fix them ourself. 5) there was no housekeeping, 6) upon checkout we were not given a folio of charges and had to ask for it. Several charges were incorrect and it took about 20 minutes to get it resolved. We stayed at Carter Estate about 4-5 years ago and had a wonderful, 5 star experience. This time was different. I hope they improve their management as it is a wonderful property and has the potential.

Nice, clean room. Beautiful vineyard views.

Excellent rooms and patio overlooking the vineyard

Very clean,quiet and kept up.

The Carter Estate has so much potential. Rooms are clean and we had a great view. The breakfast was great and delivery on time by very friendly staff! That said, our overall experience was disappointing for the price. I’ve gone to 2 star hotels in 3rd world countries and have had better service. It was my girlfriend bday and she were excited for a 4 star experience. We checked in at a little after 4p after waiting in-line 20 min outside reception building in the sun. No shade. No offer a water or any refreshment. Finally got inside and was told our room was not available. When I asked why it wasn’t ready the desk manager replied that “check-in only starts at 4p” as if our expectations that a room would be available at that time was stupid. She told us we could wait at the pool and they would call us. Not only did the not comp a drink for this inconvenience - but when I ordered a bottle of wine from the pool waitress - she returned with the bottle placed it on the table and walked away. No offer to uncork it!? Also, no personality & not friendly. At 5:30 I went back to reception and was finally able to secure a room. By the time we dropped our luggage in our room we effectively lost the day and changed for dinner. Same waitress Saturday at pool, still unfriendly, pool bar last call at 3p? Way to empty the pool!! Finally asked for late checkout. Was told they would confirm. Called morning of checkout & no one picked up! Hard pass on this “resort” next time we’re in the area!

Very nice hotel! Room was clean, breakfast provided was fine and on time as promised. The pool is heated and you can actually tell it is unlike other “heated pools.” No daily room cleaning due to covid but front desk answers right away in case you need anything from housekeeping. Heating system worked well and fairly quiet. Bathroom is huge and the room itself has plenty of space. Heard lots of coyotes one evening as well as saw one crossing the driveway one night so drive slowly around the property and surrounding areas.

The resort is very nice. The room was clean even smelled clean. But the day staff were snobby and just plan rude.

One of my bad experiences I had during my all traveling life. Room is horrible. No comment!!! For that price they charging for the night it should more comfortable, clean and new, even in more cheaper places they can provide more good rooms.

Our stay at Carter Estate Winery happened to coincide with the implementation of restrictions due to Covid-19, so the winery was closed for tours, etc, but the staff did a great job of trying to maintain services during our stay. They deserve big compliments. Carter Estate seemed like a little island of calm in the middle of craziness!! well done.

Nice hotel. Due to the virus and closing of wineries we were stuck in room. The hotel did not express anything due to this. They did not iffer a future stay at discount or wine at discount either.

A beautiful property and friendly staff. The bathroom is huge. Toiletries are fantastic. Great stay so peaceful and quiet. Location is smack in the wine trail.

Room was in great condition and you cannot beat the views.

a great place to enjoy nature and breathe clean air

Rancho California Rd Temecula CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Ponte Winery
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining

Ponte Winery is a short stroll from Carter Estate Winery and Resort, and other popular attractions like Wilson Creek Winery are within a couple of miles (3 km). This 4-star resort has 60 guestrooms and offers a winery, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 AM to 11 AM. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

The 60 soundproofed accommodations feature balconies or patios and afford space to spread out with sitting areas. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with satellite channels and pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Fireplaces, refrigerators, and coffee makers are also standard.


Property features

Guests staying at Carter Estate Winery and Resort enjoy access to a winery, an outdoor pool, and free WiFi in public areas. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry, securing valuables, and luggage storage. If you like to take your furry friend along on your adventures, this pet-friendly property offers food and water bowls. Additional amenities include express check-out, free newspapers, and a terrace.

Room options

Vineyard Murphy Bed Bungalow

1 King Murphy Bed | Sleeps 2

Vineyard Estate Bungalow with sofa bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Vineyard Bungalow with sofa bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Accessible Vineyard Murphy Bed Bungalow

1 King Murphy Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Carter Estate Winery and Resort

Everyone (22) Couples (15) Family (4)
5
Partner Couples

Beautiful property. Very nice bungalow room with patio out to vineyard. Close proximity yo other vineyards & Old Town. Highly recommend!

By on May 4, 2022

Review comment responded on May 6, 2022

Hi Dawn, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Carter Estate Winery and Resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to continue creating more memorable moments! Cheers!

5
Family

This place is 5 stars!!!

By on Dec 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 28, 2021

Hi Francisco! Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your visit to Carter Estate Winery and Resort. We are overjoyed to receive your positive rating! We would love to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Happy New Year!

3
Partner Couples Friends

PROS: we had a nice big casita style room facing the vineyards. The tasting room was nice, and they had the best wines of all those we tasted in Temecula. CONS: 1) As a frequent user of Orbitz, I was to receive a free room upgrade if available. When I checked in I was told there were no upgraded casita rooms available with a private entrance. I showed the person at the front desk the availability of this room type on their own web site, and she just kept saying “not available” and shoved the keys at me with no explanation. She was very rude. 2) I had called the day before to make sure the sofa bed would be made up as there were 3 of us. Not only was it not done, there were no extra sheets or pillows in the room. When I called the desk they brought them to the room but we had to make the bed ourselves. 3) the “free” breakfast consisted of coffee, drinks, sweet pastries, yogurt and fruit. We ordered boiled eggs off the menu items that had to be paid for. When they arrived they were frozen and covered with frost. 4) the closet doors were off the track and we had to fix them ourself. 5) there was no housekeeping, 6) upon checkout we were not given a folio of charges and had to ask for it. Several charges were incorrect and it took about 20 minutes to get it resolved. We stayed at Carter Estate about 4-5 years ago and had a wonderful, 5 star experience. This time was different. I hope they improve their management as it is a wonderful property and has the potential.

By on Dec 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 28, 2021

Dear Karen, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Carter Estate Winery and Resort. We’re sorry to hear of your less than satisfactory experience and hope you will accept our sincerest apologies. It is never our intention for any guest to not feel welcomed, and we regret that your experience did not reflect the lovely visit you had in the past. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and show you a more memorable experience. We hope you have a lovely New Year's holiday.

5
Everyone

By on Aug 27, 2021

5
Partner Couples

Nice, clean room. Beautiful vineyard views.

By on Aug 26, 2021

5
Partner Couples

Excellent rooms and patio overlooking the vineyard

By on Aug 9, 2021

5
Everyone

By on Jul 20, 2021

3
Everyone

By on Jun 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 22, 2021

Thank you for rating your trip to Carter Estate Winery and Resort. We take pride in our ability to create memorable experiences for each of our guests, however it appears that we left you less than satisfied. We hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest for an exceptional future experience. Take care!

5
Partner Couples

Very clean,quiet and kept up.

By on May 27, 2021

2
Partner Couples

The Carter Estate has so much potential. Rooms are clean and we had a great view. The breakfast was great and delivery on time by very friendly staff! That said, our overall experience was disappointing for the price. I’ve gone to 2 star hotels in 3rd world countries and have had better service. It was my girlfriend bday and she were excited for a 4 star experience. We checked in at a little after 4p after waiting in-line 20 min outside reception building in the sun. No shade. No offer a water or any refreshment. Finally got inside and was told our room was not available. When I asked why it wasn’t ready the desk manager replied that “check-in only starts at 4p” as if our expectations that a room would be available at that time was stupid. She told us we could wait at the pool and they would call us. Not only did the not comp a drink for this inconvenience - but when I ordered a bottle of wine from the pool waitress - she returned with the bottle placed it on the table and walked away. No offer to uncork it!? Also, no personality & not friendly. At 5:30 I went back to reception and was finally able to secure a room. By the time we dropped our luggage in our room we effectively lost the day and changed for dinner. Same waitress Saturday at pool, still unfriendly, pool bar last call at 3p? Way to empty the pool!! Finally asked for late checkout. Was told they would confirm. Called morning of checkout & no one picked up! Hard pass on this “resort” next time we’re in the area!

By on Apr 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 26, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent visit to Carter Estate Winery & Resort. We strive to provide each guest with a wonderful experience and first-rate customer service during their visit. We know how important special occasions are, and we are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and for that we apologize. It is through reviews such as yours that allow us to better serve our guests. Please know we value all feedback received from our guests, as this provides us with direction for continued improvement in an effort to enhance each guests' experience even more. We trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest for a more memorable experience. Thank you for your feedback.

Carter Estate Winery and Resort

34450 Rancho California Rd, Temecula, CA 92591
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Temecula-Hotels-Carter-Estate-Winery-and-Resort.h9679100-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Temecula-Hotels-Carter-Estate-Winery-and-Resort.h9679100-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Temecula-Hotels-Carter-Estate-Winery-and-Resort.h9679100-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions