Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Front desk staff was very curtious and helpful. Checkin at 2:00 AM was very smooth and easy. I left my room at 12:30 PM on Saturday and put the maid room service tag on the door but somehow when I came back at 2:00 PM, room was still not done. The front desk person took it very seriously. She came to my room with new towels and took the old towels out. There was fridge and microwave in the room too. I was overall satisfied with my stay . It was a good value for the bucks.

the continental breakfast is a coffee fake oj an frozen muffins don't offer continrntal breakfast

I loved the entrance decor..I didn’t like the dirty/stained carpeting in room, torn bath towel, and low beds.

Hotel was just ok. The only reason we stayed is because cancellation had to be 3 days prior to arrival. Beds and pillows were lumpy. Next door neighbors kept me awake until 3am with their ruckus! Saw hair on bathroom floor that should not be there. Will not recommend.

Great staff but rooms were old and gross. Bed matresses had stains, sheets were dirty, bed was old and you could feel the springs, you can hear everytime anyone near u flushed the toilet or used the shower or sink it kept us up at night

Hotel name is no where near an ocean. Price to high for the area but I guess the name sells it and when you see it, it is to late to cancel. The ocean is 15 miles out. I was trying to save money on a cheaper rate because we initially was suppose to be in Ventura for a race, so that is my fault. Hotel itself was dirty, needs new carpet in hallway. There were paint spills and dirt in the back entry way, no ice machine- that area had an old dirty fake plant, water smelled like rotten eggs but might just be the town. Carpets are filthy, bathroom had paint peeling off and needs a paint job, toilet paper is paper thin. It was loud music playing but we drowned it out with the a/c and tv on. Trash cans on outside were over filling.

It was fine. I requested and got a room near the lobby. At the north end of the building WiFi is sketchy.

Rooms are descent size, but everything needs to be updated. The mattresses and pillows are hard. The famous continental breakfast is beyond a joke. The amenities shouldn't even offer such thing. Is like getting a sunny d-light and muffin from the vending machine.

Our room was too far from the WiFi router, so we had no access to internet.

Mishandled reservation, uninformed staff, broken clock, missing lampshade, no ice, no iron, no hair dryer, pitiful "breakfast" (a plate of stale muffins a single pot of bad coffee, and a jug of "Tang" - that was cleared out half an hour BEFORE the posted time), spotty Wi-Fi, horrendous, ancient decor.

HOTEL OWNER IS RUDE AND PROFILES BY LOOKS. HOTEL ALWAYS THE GYEST TO HAVE VISTERS til 10pm but it hadmy sister come and me and my daughtersister were in the pool my sister was sitting by tables owner came and kicked her out but not ne1 else visters.

The motel staff were all very helpful during the 4th of July weekend. The rooms were very comfortable.

It smelled musty. Needed renovations. Needed new beds

Ok stuff, but not throughtly cleaned, spider in the restroom.

This hotel was literally coming apart. The bathroom walls were in very poor condition. Could even have asbestos. The rooms smelled horrible. I had to leave the windows open all day with the fan running so the stench could leave. And even though it helped, it still smelled horrible. It is in such poor condition that I didn't even want to sleep inside the sheets. The curtains were ripped as if a cat had a great time ruining them. Other than that the employees were very helpful and kind. That is the only good thing I can think about this stay.

Dirty and old nothing like the photos on the web it smells dirty.muffins and fake orange juice is not a continental breakfast just bad deal

The hotel on the website looked really nice, a place we thought we would accomidate us well. Our first room we got had stains all over the carpet, the room smelled like smoke and dirty, we were afraid to put anything down because something might crawl on it. My husband pulled out the ac filter out of the mini ac and it was so caked with dirt, it was falling off the filter, it was completely disgusting. I asked to be moved to another room and they gave us a cleaner room than the other one, didn't smell as bad, the carpets were not as stained but the mini fridge didn't work and everything was just old, dingy, outdated, and the beds were very uncomfortable, they were sunken in and had old, ugly, uninviting comforters. Overall the place was disgusting, not at all what the website portrayed.

I love the place. I enjoy the convenience. And its comfort. Great value.

Adequit space but really old and outdated! Has the basics but nothing more.

continental breakfast big negative with fake orange juice, pool needed brushing, be careful washing machine only hooked up to hot water. could have gotten the same type of room elsewhere for $20 less, double beds were very comfortable though.

S Peck Rd Santa Paula CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Ocean Gateway Inn places you within 2 miles (3 km) of Santa Paula Theatre Center and Santa Paula City Hall. This 51-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like an outdoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay.


Rooms

Ocean Gateway Inn's 51 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and free local calls. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch LCD TVs with digital channels. Pillowtop beds grant a restful night's sleep, and bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Desks are also included.


Property features

Guests of Ocean Gateway Inn enjoy features like an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and free newspapers. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. This smoke-free hotel also has a vending machine.

Room options

Double Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Ocean Gateway Inn

Everyone (10) Couples (5) Business (1) Family (8) Friends (2)
5
Family

Front desk staff was very curtious and helpful. Checkin at 2:00 AM was very smooth and easy. I left my room at 12:30 PM on Saturday and put the maid room service tag on the door but somehow when I came back at 2:00 PM, room was still not done. The front desk person took it very seriously. She came to my room with new towels and took the old towels out. There was fridge and microwave in the room too. I was overall satisfied with my stay . It was a good value for the bucks.

By on Oct 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 7, 2019

We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

4
Partner Couples Business Business

the continental breakfast is a coffee fake oj an frozen muffins don't offer continrntal breakfast

By on Jul 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 28, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

3
Family Family

I loved the entrance decor..I didn’t like the dirty/stained carpeting in room, torn bath towel, and low beds.

By on May 5, 2019

Review comment responded on May 7, 2019

I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We'll work on fixing the issues you mentioned. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

2
Everyone

Hotel was just ok. The only reason we stayed is because cancellation had to be 3 days prior to arrival. Beds and pillows were lumpy. Next door neighbors kept me awake until 3am with their ruckus! Saw hair on bathroom floor that should not be there. Will not recommend.

By , from Tracy, CA on Nov 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 10, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We're sorry that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us. We will take steps to correct the issues. Thanks again.

1
Everyone

Great staff but rooms were old and gross. Bed matresses had stains, sheets were dirty, bed was old and you could feel the springs, you can hear everytime anyone near u flushed the toilet or used the shower or sink it kept us up at night

By , from Porterville on Sep 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 15, 2018

Terribly sorry for the inconvenience. We appreciate your feedback and will work on resolving the issues.

1
Everyone

Hotel name is no where near an ocean. Price to high for the area but I guess the name sells it and when you see it, it is to late to cancel. The ocean is 15 miles out. I was trying to save money on a cheaper rate because we initially was suppose to be in Ventura for a race, so that is my fault. Hotel itself was dirty, needs new carpet in hallway. There were paint spills and dirt in the back entry way, no ice machine- that area had an old dirty fake plant, water smelled like rotten eggs but might just be the town. Carpets are filthy, bathroom had paint peeling off and needs a paint job, toilet paper is paper thin. It was loud music playing but we drowned it out with the a/c and tv on. Trash cans on outside were over filling.

By on May 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2018

We're sorry you did enjoy your experience while staying with us. We'll make sure to take action remedy the matter.

4
Everyone

It was fine. I requested and got a room near the lobby. At the north end of the building WiFi is sketchy.

By on Jan 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 7, 2018

Thank You for letting us know how we did. We hope to welcome you back soon.

2

hotel need major upgrading.

Everyone

Rooms are descent size, but everything needs to be updated. The mattresses and pillows are hard. The famous continental breakfast is beyond a joke. The amenities shouldn't even offer such thing. Is like getting a sunny d-light and muffin from the vending machine.

By , from brea on Nov 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 10, 2017

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

3

eh

Business

Our room was too far from the WiFi router, so we had no access to internet.

By , from Madera, CA on Jul 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 28, 2017

I'm sorry that you didn't have the best experience while staying with us. We will correct the issues right away.

2

a roof over your head and no more

Everyone

Mishandled reservation, uninformed staff, broken clock, missing lampshade, no ice, no iron, no hair dryer, pitiful "breakfast" (a plate of stale muffins a single pot of bad coffee, and a jug of "Tang" - that was cleared out half an hour BEFORE the posted time), spotty Wi-Fi, horrendous, ancient decor.

By , from Danbury, CT on May 18, 2017

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Santa-Paula-Hotels-Ocean-Gateway-Inn.h10514-p2.Hotel-Reviews