Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Best Western Plus Placerville Inn

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The bed was comfortable enough but the hide a bed mattress was terrible, even by hide a bed standards.

Great breakfast, helpful staff, lotsa perks (newspapers, popcorn, wine for purchase, etc. )

Very noisy all night long fight next to a very busy street and the room was next to a stairwell so I could here every footstep

Black mold in tub area, bed old and worn out.would not let my dog stay here again

Pretty good breakfast, more than I expected. Nice facility.

No one told me the checkout time was 11 am, and at 11:03 am a very aggressive woman was knocking on our door, say that we needed to leave. Definitely the low point of the stay. Breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. Small in-room heating/cooling system is very loud. We couldn't use it.

Upon checking in, the general manager stated I booked three rooms although on my orbitz confirmation it only showed one room booked as it was supposed to. The manager then lets me know he cannot to anything to modify that since I booked through orbitz. I called orbitz and they spoke with the hotel manager and had that taken care of for me. The morning after my stay, I noticed a live insect on the pillow and found another when I pulled the sheets back. Upon checkout, I let the hotel front desk staff know and he stated he couldn't do anything for me regarding price adjustment or full refund since I booked through orbitz. I contacted orbitz that evening and they helped with communicating to the hotel but unfortunately could not do anything since the general manager had gone home for the day. They let me know they would call me back the next day but I did not get a call. I am very unhappy and has only been a hassle just to get a problem sorted out.

Stayed for one night to visit Red Hawk casino. The hotel is just 5 minutes away and there is a shuttle that runs 24-7 through the casino. Hotel is right off the freeway and there's a lot of retail shops nearby. Everyone was very nice and the free breakfast was good too. Rooms were very spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet. Having a fridge and microwave in the room was a huge plus too. Would have given a 4 rating, but the absence of elevators was a little odd and inconvenient, and the decor was a little outdated. These were minor issues that won't deter us from staying again next time we want to go to the casino for an overnight trip.

Very comfortable Nice pool area Excellent breakfast

Good location.. Pleasant desk staff. However, room needed new mattress and entire building needs carpets replaced.

The motel is in a great location, close to everything. Comfortable beds, bathroom could use some updating. Grounds area clean and most of all, a free shuttle ride to the casino.

We were on the first floor and had to drag our bags down a flight of stairs to our room. Also the pool was out of commission for the overnight we were there. That's hard to blame on the hotel, but we were profoundly disappointed.

I was only scheduled for one night before moving on to stay with friends however I enjoyed the place so much that I requested to stay in the same room another night. Although the hotel was fully booked the gentleman (Dave) at the front desk was able to make it happen. It allowed me to invite my friend's 5 year old to spend the afternoon in the pool and gave me another night to relax on my own before moving on to my visit with them. I had a refrigerator and microwave in the room along with many other amenities. The room temperature was good. There is pop corn & cold water with orange slices available in the lobby. The hotel is tucked back off the highway with landscaping that makes you feel like you are in more of a garden setting as well as insolates you from the traffic. It has a great mexican restaurant (Casa Ramos) next door. The price, pool, staff & convenient location made it perfect!

Staff was pleasant and one person in particular, was unusally helpful. Hotel was well located yet quiet. Room was large and well appointed with two sinks which is a nice touch for a couple. A/C was unusually quiet which is greatly appreciated. Breakfast was unusually good for a Best Western - all in all - a very good, well run Best Western

Need an elevator, other than that, I would stay again if passing through

Very clean. Would be nice if they had an elevator since it is a larger hotel.

6850 Green Leaf Dr Placerville CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Best Western Plus Placerville Inn places you within a few miles (5 km) of El Dorado County Historical Museum and El Dorado County Fairgrounds. This hotel has 106 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

A 27-inch LED TV comes with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a sofa bed, a sitting area, and a refrigerator.


Property features

At Best Western Plus Placerville Inn, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. There's free parking and a free casino shuttle. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this ski hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Refrigerator & Microwave, Pool View

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Fireplace

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Business Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Placerville Inn

Everyone (22) Couples (8) Business (3) Family (7) Other (4) Friends (1)
4
Family with small children

The bed was comfortable enough but the hide a bed mattress was terrible, even by hide a bed standards.

By , from Idaho on Aug 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 17, 2019

Megan, Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you again soon. We will be sure to look into other options to get these hide a beds more comfortable for our guests to utilize and thank you for bringing this to our attention! Sincerely, Charlie Gaspar General Manager

3
Everyone

By on Jul 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 24, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Charlie Gaspar General Manager

3
Everyone

By on Jul 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We are sad to see you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and hope to improve ourselves to better fit your needs in the future. On behalf of our entire property, please accept my sincerest apology for your recent experience. Sincerely, Charlie Gaspar General Manager

5
Everyone

Great breakfast, helpful staff, lotsa perks (newspapers, popcorn, wine for purchase, etc. )

By on Apr 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Charlie Gaspar General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Apr 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Charlie Gaspar General Manager

3
Everyone

Very noisy all night long fight next to a very busy street and the room was next to a stairwell so I could here every footstep

By on Apr 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We are sad to see you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Part of the downside of being in an easily accessible area for people driving through is that the rooms can be effected by noise unfortunately. We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms to our guests and are sorry you did not have such an experience. On behalf of our entire property, please accept my sincerest apology for not exceeding your expectations. We hope to improve ourselves to better fit your needs in the future! Sincerely, Charlie Gaspar General Manager

2
Everyone

Black mold in tub area, bed old and worn out.would not let my dog stay here again

By on Jan 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 8, 2019

Riley, Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear about your experience with us. We will make sure to hold our maintenance staff accountable for the problem you have stated, as we do not condone this. We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms to our guests, and I do apologize sincerely that your experience was not as such. Sincerely, Charlie Gaspar General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Oct 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 2, 2018

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Charlie Gaspar General Manager

5
Everyone

Pretty good breakfast, more than I expected. Nice facility.

By on Jun 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 12, 2018

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Charlie Gaspar General Manager

3
Everyone

No one told me the checkout time was 11 am, and at 11:03 am a very aggressive woman was knocking on our door, say that we needed to leave. Definitely the low point of the stay. Breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. Small in-room heating/cooling system is very loud. We couldn't use it.

By on May 21, 2018

Review comment responded on May 30, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. WE are sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay, and hope to improve ourselves to meet your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies. Sincerely, Charlie Gaspar General Manager

Best Western Plus Placerville Inn

6850 Green Leaf Dr, Placerville, CA 95667
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Placerville-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Placerville-Inn.h27075-p2.Hotel-Reviews
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.