Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We booked two rooms. On the night we booked, we called ahead and requested rooms to be near each other or adjoining. We even put this info on the Orbitz reservation. On the phone call, we also inquired about the required deposit per room. I asked if, since we were booking the rooms together, if we could just do one deposit fee. We were told yes. I also asked if we could do cash so that we would not have to wait days and days for our bank to release it back to us. I was told that would be fine. Fast forward to our visit, three weeks after booking and making the phone call. Upon arrival, we were told that we were wrong about the deposit and that there was no way to just do one and absolutely no way to do cash. Both of the rooms, while on the same floor, were not near each other at all. When we asked if there were any other rooms available that were near each other - we were told that the hotel was fully booked. However, tell that to the only partially filled parking lot. Also, remember- we made a reservation request THREE WEEKS ahead of time for the rooms to be beside each other. Also, we reserved two bay view rooms. Yet, one room was bay side and one room was not. Upon entering the room, you enter a hot, muggy room. It was 80 degrees and took hours to cool down enough to be comfortable to sleep. Scratched up toilets, rusted bathtubs, brown stains on mattresses.

The hotel whole building AC was broken for 2 days

A/C for s broken all the time we stay in and always saying just got done fixing few hours will be be there but never happen. Breakfast just little amount of it host and server same person so the service it take longer and not helping at all worse place receptionist not even helping on problems.

Everything was fine. I mostly just slept there. Didn’t take advantage of the amenities.

Everything was kind of dirty room didn’t look like it had been cleaned very well also the temperature outside was not very warm relatively but it would not get below 75 in the room

In the room that we stayed in, they didnt changed the sheets from when the previous customer stayed. There was a bottle cap under the sheets and there was stains on the sheets. One of the drawers woudnt stay closed. The curtain was falling from one side. The faucets weren't cleaned thoroughly. The floors were dirty.

Understaff. Almost always a slow moving line at front desk. Phone didn’t work. Toilet does not refill. Long line for breakfast; food was good but buffet would be more efficient.

Stayed for two days and enjoyed our stay.

N/A

The only thing that was decent about this place was the food. For the price they charge for your stay is no where near what I was expecting to see. Shower floor stained and clogged. Towels were dingy, bed was hard, and not to mention the hotel itself is in the ghetto. If your going to charge 5 star prices then maybe some upgrade would make customers feel that it was worth the stay.

Really nice staff 👍

Place is bad. AC didnt work. Rooms are outside so lots of noise and people walking around. Smelled of weed as soon as you walk into the building.

The service

The greeting at Ramada was pleasant. However, I was told the AC was not working and was asked if I want to check in or find another location. Like really who can find a quick last minute hotel for a good price? Therefore, I chose to check in. It was extremely hot at night and because I had to open the windows it was very loud. The room had cockroaches, that is gross and no visitors should experience that. The few good things about the hotel is that a good hot breakfast is included and the parking. However, I asked to check out a day sooner and asked for some money back bc of AC, but was told I was notified when I checked it. However, what they forgot to express was that they knew in advance that the AC will not be fixed until June and when I asked when I checked when was the AC going to get fixed I was only told that they are working on it. Therefore which made me understand that possibly it was going to get fixed soon. Therefore they cannot do a reimbursement. As far as the cockroaches they did ask me if I wanted another room. However, no one should experience that.

This property is in a great location. Staff was pretty awesome. The breakfast was delicious. Rooms were nice and mostly clean but when we first entered we were greeted by numerous roaches, both dead and alive. We asked them to come spray it and once they did, it helped alot. Will stay here again.

The only thing good about this property was its proximity to the San diego zoo. When I arrived at the property I was informed the A/C wasn't working and hadnt been working for about 3 weeks. The person at the desk mentioned they were suprised Orbitz didnt mention it on its website and that they would give me a discount but they are unable to as I have a booking through a 3rd party. It was a miserable experience

There were roaches in the room, shower had very low to no pressure, no towels and it to over 1.5 hrs to receive after several requests. The A/C was not not working and was not given any compensation…just basically take it or leave it. Thank goodness it was just for a night!!!! The staff was at least cordial and the elevators worked.

The breakfast was good. The customer service was awful and the A/C didn’t work at all

Wonderful location. Everything we needed to see was minutes away from our hotel.

National City Blvd National City CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free cooked-to-order breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located within a leisurely stroll of San Diego Bay, Ramada by Wyndham San Diego National City is within a 5-minute drive of Chula Vista Center. This 180-room, 3-star hotel has an outdoor pool along with free in-room WiFi and a gym.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free cooked-to-order breakfast, served each morning from 6:30 AM to 11:00 AM. Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Property features

Guests of Ramada by Wyndham San Diego National City have access to an outdoor pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking is available for USD 10.00 per night. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include a spa tub, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Bay View (Mid Floor)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Bay View (Lower Floor)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Mobility/Hearing)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Ramada by Wyndham San Diego National City

Everyone (15) Couples (7) Family (22)
1
Family Family with small children Friends

We booked two rooms. On the night we booked, we called ahead and requested rooms to be near each other or adjoining. We even put this info on the Orbitz reservation. On the phone call, we also inquired about the required deposit per room. I asked if, since we were booking the rooms together, if we could just do one deposit fee. We were told yes. I also asked if we could do cash so that we would not have to wait days and days for our bank to release it back to us. I was told that would be fine. Fast forward to our visit, three weeks after booking and making the phone call. Upon arrival, we were told that we were wrong about the deposit and that there was no way to just do one and absolutely no way to do cash. Both of the rooms, while on the same floor, were not near each other at all. When we asked if there were any other rooms available that were near each other - we were told that the hotel was fully booked. However, tell that to the only partially filled parking lot. Also, remember- we made a reservation request THREE WEEKS ahead of time for the rooms to be beside each other. Also, we reserved two bay view rooms. Yet, one room was bay side and one room was not. Upon entering the room, you enter a hot, muggy room. It was 80 degrees and took hours to cool down enough to be comfortable to sleep. Scratched up toilets, rusted bathtubs, brown stains on mattresses.

By on Oct 11, 2022

Review comment responded on Oct 14, 2022

Hi Jessica,I think the problem is you went through Orbitz a 3rd party.We do not accept cash. All accommodation requests are noted and we try to accommodate if possibleWhen its sold out not a whole lot we can do to maneuver

2
Family

The hotel whole building AC was broken for 2 days

By on Oct 8, 2022

Review comment responded on Oct 25, 2022

Dear Margaret,First, I want to thank you for your feedback. While I wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in this case, we fell short. At the time, you were staying with us, our AC went down and was out of service for maintenance. For the inconvenience, it caused, I am sorry. Please rest assured that the AC has been repaired. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that your breakfast will be on time and your towels will be plentiful. I would be happy to make your reservation personally and see to it that you enjoy the experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

1
Family

A/C for s broken all the time we stay in and always saying just got done fixing few hours will be be there but never happen. Breakfast just little amount of it host and server same person so the service it take longer and not helping at all worse place receptionist not even helping on problems.

By on Oct 7, 2022

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2022

Ms Joan,I do apologize, unfortunately a compressor went out.Was replaced as soon as we could

4
Family Business Business

Everything was fine. I mostly just slept there. Didn’t take advantage of the amenities.

By on Aug 29, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 29, 2022

Mr Michael,Thank you and happy you could get your rest

3
Family with small children

Everything was kind of dirty room didn’t look like it had been cleaned very well also the temperature outside was not very warm relatively but it would not get below 75 in the room

By on Aug 28, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 29, 2022

Mr Matthew,Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations.We have installed a new central air conditioning unitin the propertyI will show your comments to the head housekeeperto use in her training

2
Family with small children

In the room that we stayed in, they didnt changed the sheets from when the previous customer stayed. There was a bottle cap under the sheets and there was stains on the sheets. One of the drawers woudnt stay closed. The curtain was falling from one side. The faucets weren't cleaned thoroughly. The floors were dirty.

By on Aug 15, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 18, 2022

Ms Jovan, Thank you for taking the time to give us constructive criticism. All our rooms are cleaned at c/o before arriving guests check in.

2
Partner Couples

Understaff. Almost always a slow moving line at front desk. Phone didn’t work. Toilet does not refill. Long line for breakfast; food was good but buffet would be more efficient.

By , from San Francisco on Aug 1, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 5, 2022

Mr Edmund, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for the incontinences you encountered

4
Family with small children

Stayed for two days and enjoyed our stay.

By on Jul 19, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 28, 2022

Mr Victor, Thank you for your review

3
Everyone

N/A

By on Jul 18, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 5, 2022

Thank you

3
Partner Couples

The only thing that was decent about this place was the food. For the price they charge for your stay is no where near what I was expecting to see. Shower floor stained and clogged. Towels were dingy, bed was hard, and not to mention the hotel itself is in the ghetto. If your going to charge 5 star prices then maybe some upgrade would make customers feel that it was worth the stay.

By on Jun 14, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 5, 2022

Ms Aina, I am really glad you enjoyed our complimentary off the menu fresh cooked breakfast

Ramada by Wyndham San Diego National City

700 National City Blvd, National City, CA 91950
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/National-City-Hotels-Ramada-by-Wyndham-San-Diego-National-City.h19676-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /National-City-Hotels-Ramada-by-Wyndham-San-Diego-National-City.h19676-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/National-City-Hotels-Ramada-by-Wyndham-San-Diego-National-City.h19676-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions