Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Lighthouse Lodge And Cottages

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I'm not sure why it only has 3.6 stars it felt like a 5.0 service!! We loved this hotel

good location for beach walking and shopping. Enjoyed my stay in Pacific Grove.

Perfect location and so clean and quiet! On Mondays, there's a Farmers Market in Pacific Grove, just down the road. The free breakfast and coffee in the morning is definitely a good start to your day! Friendly and helpful hotel staff but ask for a top floor as you can hear the tenants above you stomping and walking around (the walls are thin, too!,) or simply book a cottage with a fireplace in a duplex setting. Open the wndows and breathe in the crisp fresh air and relax! Walk down to the Lighthouse or to the beach! I'll definitely stay here again on another vacation.

Not very responsive staff. Very stingy about basic toiletries for the room. Breakfast was horrible. Very close to the beach but many more hotels in the area to choose from ... so be cautious when you book for this one.

Location is great, other than that, nothing worth the expense. Next to a graveyard, which doesn't bother me, but still. And the rooms are filthy. We changed from one filthy room to another sort of less filthy room. Heaters only work so much, I was very cold. Staff are nice, but they can't work miracles. The breakfast staff handles the food with bare hands after he takes out the garbage. Location is great, aside from the graveyard.

We stayed at this hotel 3 years back we liked it so much, but now it's in too bad condition. Room has filthy curtains, blankets and bed. Bad smell. They don't provide enough towels when called at the front desk they asked us to come and get it at front desk. Poor service. Breakfast is too bad, sour milk, they don't have good breakfast.. just bread and cereal and old refrigerated eggs. Not kids friendly at all. I like to give zero star. Over priced hotel!!!

The room was very cozy and comfortable. It had a very nice fireplace and a back patio door. The sink wouldn't drain but was taken care of quickly.

Loved the decor, great location. Breakfast was delicious.

Busy Thanksgiving weekend, housekeeping was very understaffed. Room had been cleaned, but no towels. This is a pet-friendly hotel. I do not travel with pets, and I would be more diligent in searching for one that did not allow pets next time. The carpet had many stains, and there were dogs barking in adjacent rooms.

Stains on the carpet Shower was falling apart Paint on the windows Staff not helpful Would not stay here again I recommend picking another place to stay if your taking a trip to this area. If it was any worse we would have left. To the Owners take a little pride in your place. Get a better maintance person! Take the money from your overpriced rooms and put some of that money back into your property. It has potential. Bottom line this place is unacceptable for the price.

Great location, spacious room, nice bed, pleasant hot tub.

We rented the cottage with the suite because of the sofa sleeper for the kids. They never complain about anything...but this...was amazingly bad. nothing but springs. The blankets were a bit stained, the toilet clogged 2 times, the TV gets very Limited stations and is way too small. ...but the most annoying thing was waiting on hold or waiting for a call back from the front desk. up to an hour...they are crazily understaffed for an area this busy.

We went for one night over labor day weekend. The room was nice and clean. The lightbin the bathroom was a bit dim but not terrible. Breakfast was included in our stay and was not very good. But I don't go for the breakfast. Good location and pleasant.

Nice for a quick trip, good location but the staff could have been nicer. Rude at check in and seemed annoyed with questions.

We booked this room last minute and it was perfect. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was beautiful. The room was modern yet felt fresh, beachy and comfortable. The room had beautiful exposed rafters and all the modern amenities (jacuzzi, flat screen TV that was perfect for watching the Olympics, mini bar area, etc.) Our room had a backyard seating area which was the perfect place to enjoy the complimentary breakfast that we received. The neighborhood was quiet and safe. Because we checked in late, we were able to extend our check-out time to 12noon which was really nice. And best of all, the place is dog friendly. Overall it was a great experience and I would highly recommend the Lighthouse Cottages.

Positives: the bed was very comfortable, and the room was spacious with all the amenities you would need. The shower is nice and spacious as well (I'm pregnant, so the extra space is really helpful.) Negatives: Walls are pretty thin. Also we were disappointed with housekeeping. The first day, they came and took all our dirty towels while we were out, but never replaced them and never cleaned our room! Kind of annoying when we returned to our room that evening. Also the toilet was difficult to flush.

The room had large stains on the carpet and the comforter had a big rip in it. Our room backed up to a cemetery. It would have been nice to know this in the hotel information as some would find this uncomfortable. Breakfast was scanty and the toaster broke while using it. We slept OK but would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

The location of the cottages is ideal if you are looking for a relaxing spot away from the more crowded Monterey area. The wine happy hour and free full breakfast were very nice. The service staff in this area were very attentive and friendly. The front desk staff made us feel like we were bothering them when checking in or asking any questions at all. It really seemed like they just don't like their guests. As an example, they told us our room wasn't ready. We asked if they could get an ETA and they did this even though they objected at first. After many calls and sighs, they told us the room was ready (it was ready when we arrived earlier). I may stay at this Inn again due to the location.....but it sure would be nice if the hotel staff cared a little bit more about their guests' experience.

We loved our room. Super cute and clean. The outside could use a little work, though. We also loved the evening wine and appetizers. The made to order breakfast was also excellent! We would recommend this hotel.

1150 Lighthouse Ave Pacific Grove CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Point Pinos Lighthouse
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Point Pinos Lighthouse is within a 5-minute walk of Lighthouse Lodge And Cottages while other popular sites like Monterey Bay Aquarium are within a few miles (5 km). This 95-room, 3-star hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an outdoor pool and free in-room WiFi. Also close to this Pacific Grove hotel are Fisherman's Wharf and Maritime Museum.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast.


Rooms

Lighthouse Lodge And Cottages's 95 rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and phones. 32-inch TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include ironing boards and desks.


Property features

Renovated in 2015, Lighthouse Lodge And Cottages offers an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Free parking is available if you drive. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and express check-out.

Room options

Lodge Double Double

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Lodge King Fireplace

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Lodge King

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Room Type Selected at Check In

Twin 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Lighthouse Lodge And Cottages

Everyone (27) Couples (40) Business (4) Family (25) Other (5) Friends (4)
5

we thought this place was beautiful clean amazing!

Everyone

I'm not sure why it only has 3.6 stars it felt like a 5.0 service!! We loved this hotel

By , from N on Jun 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 5, 2017

Dear Guest, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Thank you

4

great location

Everyone

good location for beach walking and shopping. Enjoyed my stay in Pacific Grove.

By on May 22, 2017

Review comment responded on May 25, 2017

Dear Guest, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

5

quiet and romantic getaway

Everyone

Perfect location and so clean and quiet! On Mondays, there's a Farmers Market in Pacific Grove, just down the road. The free breakfast and coffee in the morning is definitely a good start to your day! Friendly and helpful hotel staff but ask for a top floor as you can hear the tenants above you stomping and walking around (the walls are thin, too!,) or simply book a cottage with a fireplace in a duplex setting. Open the wndows and breathe in the crisp fresh air and relax! Walk down to the Lighthouse or to the beach! I'll definitely stay here again on another vacation.

By , from Phoenix, AZ on May 2, 2017

Review comment responded on May 5, 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

2
Everyone

Not very responsive staff. Very stingy about basic toiletries for the room. Breakfast was horrible. Very close to the beach but many more hotels in the area to choose from ... so be cautious when you book for this one.

By on May 2, 2017

Review comment responded on May 5, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your guest experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies as your stay was not of our expectations or our standards. Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention as it is appreciated.

2

you pay for location.

Everyone

Location is great, other than that, nothing worth the expense. Next to a graveyard, which doesn't bother me, but still. And the rooms are filthy. We changed from one filthy room to another sort of less filthy room. Heaters only work so much, I was very cold. Staff are nice, but they can't work miracles. The breakfast staff handles the food with bare hands after he takes out the garbage. Location is great, aside from the graveyard.

By on Apr 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 11, 2017

I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you, Hotel Management Team

1

horrible, bad smell, poor breakfast

Everyone

We stayed at this hotel 3 years back we liked it so much, but now it's in too bad condition. Room has filthy curtains, blankets and bed. Bad smell. They don't provide enough towels when called at the front desk they asked us to come and get it at front desk. Poor service. Breakfast is too bad, sour milk, they don't have good breakfast.. just bread and cereal and old refrigerated eggs. Not kids friendly at all. I like to give zero star. Over priced hotel!!!

By on Apr 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2017

Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us. I understand that you were dissatisfied with the service and the quality of the room. Please contact me so we can discuss this issues. I would like to apologize to you for the horrible experience you had during your stay. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you,

4

cozy room.

Everyone

The room was very cozy and comfortable. It had a very nice fireplace and a back patio door. The sink wouldn't drain but was taken care of quickly.

By on Feb 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 22, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed some of the amenities we have to offer and to know that the sink issue was resolved in a timely matter. We're looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Front desk manager

5
Everyone

Loved the decor, great location. Breakfast was delicious.

By on Jan 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 26, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.

3

location is great, but hotel is just okay.

Everyone

Busy Thanksgiving weekend, housekeeping was very understaffed. Room had been cleaned, but no towels. This is a pet-friendly hotel. I do not travel with pets, and I would be more diligent in searching for one that did not allow pets next time. The carpet had many stains, and there were dogs barking in adjacent rooms.

By , from Utah on Nov 30, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy you enjoyed the location. We do offer pet free rooms on our cottage side (only rooms on lodge side are pet friendly). I hope that you will give our cottage rooms a try the next time you visit the area. Thank you, Hotel Management Team

2

pick another place to stay, your welcome!

Everyone

Stains on the carpet Shower was falling apart Paint on the windows Staff not helpful Would not stay here again I recommend picking another place to stay if your taking a trip to this area. If it was any worse we would have left. To the Owners take a little pride in your place. Get a better maintance person! Take the money from your overpriced rooms and put some of that money back into your property. It has potential. Bottom line this place is unacceptable for the price.

By on Oct 25, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 26, 2016

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback! Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met. I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a pleasant stay. We are working in getting this issues resolved. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.