Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Westin Minneapolis

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We choose the Westin because it was close to the Minnesota Twins ballpark. Although the Twins lost, we won by staying here. Thank you!

Great hotel! Cetrally located and a great restaurant in the hotel.

Overall this is a very nice hotel. The lobby, restaurant and general common areas are rather good, owing to the building history. It is a former downtown bank, with a prominent and luxurious decor. The front desk staff, valets and the maintenance person we interacted with were very friendly and helpful. I found the waitstaff in the lobby bar-restaurant to be a bit aloof on two separate occasions. The room was typical of a current hotel. Decoration and furnishings were in good condition. Two issues existed in our room, neither enough to complain, just annoying. First, the shower handle was difficult to turn, thus resulting in a lot of under- and over-shooting of the water temperature. Not dangerously so, just annoying. Also, 1 of the beds was rather well used with pretty notable depression in the mattress. Comfort was so-so. The other bed was fine.

Not sure the staff knew we’d checked in. Room didn’t have enough towels and was not cleaned during our stay. Got a text the day after we’d checked in saying how the hotel was looking forward to our arrival. I used Orbucks to ooo the room, and that normally results in a bad room and experience, so I guess I should have expected this.

Great staff and rooms. Dining facility was excellent.

Great hotel, lovely staff. Word of advice though, if you have a car just park it yourself in the parking garage right across the street and save a lot of money. There are so many great places within a walkable distance you will never even need your car until you leave again. Have fun! :)

The hotel feels quite upscale, clean, and retro-modern. I enjoyed my stay there.

Nothing but the best, staff was very attentive, will stay there any time.

Hotel and the room were great. The knock on the hotel condition is simply due to the bathroom door in our room having an issue with the hinge that prevented closing the door without manually pushing the hinge in place. The room comfort issue was due to the bed being made improperly. There was no fitted sheet on the mattress and the bottom sheet failed to cover the mattress pad at the foot of the bed. The mattress cover was not soft and smooth like a sheet and may or may not be washed regularly so it made for less than desirable sleeping. I would assume this to be an error by the cleaning staff and not the norm so did not change my overall rating based on this issue.

Hotel was nice and clean. Good location. Pool is filthy and chlorine smell is so strong your eyes water from walking into pool room. DO NOT ORDER ROOM SERVICE! They charge a 20% gratuity, dont tell you about it, and then when you sign the receipt, ask you for gratuity again. Please mention on the receipt that gratuity is already included before asking for an additional gratuity, not to mention the hidden "room delivery fee". PAID $45 total to have 1 salad delivered to the room.

Easy access year round. Hotel lobby with bar and restaurant is very quiet because of two story high ceiling. Staff was very accommodating. Would definitely stay here again

Clean comfortable room Check in staff friendly and informative Easy to get to from airport on light rail system Easy walk to Target Field Good breakfast buffet and Walleye sandwich

Very reasonable & convenient downtown hotel. Close to concert & sports venue's.

I appreciated the professional service of the hotel staff. Greatly appreciated.

Very close to downtown, excellent facilities in a historic building. Room hallways are laid out in a way that promotes quiet and privacy. They have a security guard in the area between reception and elevators. The guards while we were there were inattentive and allowed a troublesome, drunk non-guest to get access to the elevators. Staff responded quickly to our call; thus I still would recommend this hotel highly.

A very nice hotel in a great location for walking to the Target Center. Staff was friendly and rooms were clean. Make sure to valet park if you plan on leaving the location while staying.

Relaxation suite was awesome!! Only downside is off site parking. Recommend using valet, guaranteed $40 overnight. Self park could be as much as $70!! All around shower was amazing!! We'll be back very soon.

We were celebrating our anniversary and received a free upgrade and complimentary beverages.

Hotel was perfect. I needed a place that was easy to get to from the airport and had options for food within walking distance. The Westin offer this and more. The room was beautiful and the bed was comfortable.

The Westin is a beautiful hotel right in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. We enjoyed walking through the skyways where there are a lot of shops and restaurants. The hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast and lunch in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. We were in a king room facing the city view and the room was very clean and updated. We will stay here again and highly recommend.

88 South 6th Street Minneapolis MN

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Target Center and Target Field
  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Indoor pool

The Westin Minneapolis places you in Downtown Minneapolis, within a leisurely stroll of popular sights such as Target Center and Target Field. This 214-room, 4-star hotel has conveniences like an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a spa tub. Located in central Minneapolis, the hotel is also near Basilica of Saint Mary and Mill Ruins Park.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service. Start each morning off right with buffet breakfast served for a fee.


Rooms

All 214 air-conditioned rooms provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and free newspapers. Guests can expect WiFi, wired Internet, and 42-inch LED TVs with digital channels and first-run movies. Pillowtop beds sport Egyptian cotton sheets and pillow menus, and bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Free bottled water, laptop-compatible safes, and phones are other standard amenities.


Property features

At The Westin Minneapolis, guests enjoy features like an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a spa tub. Valet parking is available for USD 45 per night, and there's also limo/town car service. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, 15 meeting rooms, and a conference center.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Executive Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Executive Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Westin Minneapolis

Everyone (20) Couples (125) Business (31) Family (32) Friends (30) Other (26)
5
Everyone

We choose the Westin because it was close to the Minnesota Twins ballpark. Although the Twins lost, we won by staying here. Thank you!

By on May 20, 2018

5
Everyone

Great hotel! Cetrally located and a great restaurant in the hotel.

By on May 10, 2018

4
Everyone

Overall this is a very nice hotel. The lobby, restaurant and general common areas are rather good, owing to the building history. It is a former downtown bank, with a prominent and luxurious decor. The front desk staff, valets and the maintenance person we interacted with were very friendly and helpful. I found the waitstaff in the lobby bar-restaurant to be a bit aloof on two separate occasions. The room was typical of a current hotel. Decoration and furnishings were in good condition. Two issues existed in our room, neither enough to complain, just annoying. First, the shower handle was difficult to turn, thus resulting in a lot of under- and over-shooting of the water temperature. Not dangerously so, just annoying. Also, 1 of the beds was rather well used with pretty notable depression in the mattress. Comfort was so-so. The other bed was fine.

By , from Iowa on Apr 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2018

Thank you so much for your recent stay and the wonderful review of your experience at the Westin Minneapolis, Scott! We really appreciate guest feedback and you mentioned all the aspects that we focus on for a great stay. It's all due to a great staff that provides such well-maintained guest rooms and common areas, along with excellent guest service. We strive to have every guest leave as satisfied as you did. Once again, thank you for making us your home away from home and we hope to see you soon!

3

did they know i was there?

Everyone

Not sure the staff knew we’d checked in. Room didn’t have enough towels and was not cleaned during our stay. Got a text the day after we’d checked in saying how the hotel was looking forward to our arrival. I used Orbucks to ooo the room, and that normally results in a bad room and experience, so I guess I should have expected this.

By on Feb 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2018

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback! We appreciate the time it took to let us know how we may improve in our hotel. I would like to begin by sincerely apologizing for the experience you faced. Please note that we have listened to the points you listed, and have made the necessary changes in order to ensure a true Westin-leveled experience for our next guest. We hope this stay will not be your last, and that we can be your chosen hotel for your next Minneapolis getaway.

5

one of the best westins'

Everyone

Great staff and rooms. Dining facility was excellent.

By , from NY on Nov 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 19, 2017

Thank you so much for your recent stay and 5 star review of your experience at the Westin Minneapolis! We really appreciate guest feedback and you mentioned some aspects that we focus on for a great stay. We strive to have every guest leave as satisfied as you did. Once again, thank you for making us your home away from home and we hope to see you soon!

4

great hotel, just park your own car for much less

Everyone

Great hotel, lovely staff. Word of advice though, if you have a car just park it yourself in the parking garage right across the street and save a lot of money. There are so many great places within a walkable distance you will never even need your car until you leave again. Have fun! :)

By on Jun 5, 2017

5

nice hotel right in the heart of the city

Everyone

The hotel feels quite upscale, clean, and retro-modern. I enjoyed my stay there.

By on Apr 7, 2017

5

nice hotel in down town minneapolis

Everyone

Nothing but the best, staff was very attentive, will stay there any time.

By on Mar 28, 2017

5

great hotel

Everyone

Hotel and the room were great. The knock on the hotel condition is simply due to the bathroom door in our room having an issue with the hinge that prevented closing the door without manually pushing the hinge in place. The room comfort issue was due to the bed being made improperly. There was no fitted sheet on the mattress and the bottom sheet failed to cover the mattress pad at the foot of the bed. The mattress cover was not soft and smooth like a sheet and may or may not be washed regularly so it made for less than desirable sleeping. I would assume this to be an error by the cleaning staff and not the norm so did not change my overall rating based on this issue.

By , from Chicago on Sep 11, 2016

3

nice hotel - hidden fees!

Everyone

Hotel was nice and clean. Good location. Pool is filthy and chlorine smell is so strong your eyes water from walking into pool room. DO NOT ORDER ROOM SERVICE! They charge a 20% gratuity, dont tell you about it, and then when you sign the receipt, ask you for gratuity again. Please mention on the receipt that gratuity is already included before asking for an additional gratuity, not to mention the hidden "room delivery fee". PAID $45 total to have 1 salad delivered to the room.

By , from Washington, DC on Sep 1, 2016