Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Solmar Resort

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Cleaning personal was not as thorough as in the past. Restaurant and front desk people were helpful as always. Overall very good time in a beautiful area.

Very nice hotel. Enjoyed the open area where yhe pool and common area is. Great staff, very velpful and courteous.

This was my first stay at The Solmar and I WILL stay there again . The location is excellent being right on the Pacfic for whale watching and close walk to the Marina and to all town has to offer. The whole staff was the friendliest I have ever experienced in Cabo, they spoke even when encountered on a sidewalk after they were off work. My room was quite comfortable and with a small kitchen. My only complaint was the website had fitness room as an amenity located at Playa Grande but there is an $11 charge to use the facility. To me amenity is something that is something offered to guests to use at no charge. Like the pool, toiletries, and etc.

Visitors should be prepared for on site Time Share sales staff pushing presentations.

When we checked in, we got upgraded to Playa Grande due to Solmar being over-booked. The restaurants and food were delicious, the service was top notch, and the hotel was spacious and comfortable. It's spread out, so it requires a lot of walking, but it's beautiful. This would be my top choice. I couldn't have asked for a better stay.

Solmar is the best. It still has the "old Mexico" flavor which is why we like it so much. Rooms are large and clean, not very modern but that is why we like it. Beds are the best ever. The grounds are meticulously maintained. What keeps us coming back year after year is the Staff. It is the same staff each year and they are so kind and fun and they really make our stay enjoyable. They are attentive to our every need and remember us and welcome us back each year. The location is in walkable distance from the downtown marina activities, yet Solmar feels private and secluded, even though it is surrounded by its huge sister properties - the very modern Grand Solmar and Playa Granda. Breakfasts and lunches are very good, dinners are okay - they are doing three buffet night and one fajita night per week so that limits nights you can dine off the menu. Included drinks are okay, obviously not "top shelf" liquor, but that is okay with us. The one draw back that some might see is that you cannot swim in the ocean, as the resort is on the very dangerous Pacific Ocean side of the Baja. But we are not water people so that is okay with us. The whole experience is what we are looking for in a vacation, somewhere easy to stay, that is clean with attentive staff, that is close to downtown Cabo with pretty much guaranteed warm dry weather. We have been going for two weeks each year, next year we are going for three!!

Beautiful view and comfortable. Low key especially for adults

Pros: Nice staff very friendly. Nice surroundings and easy access to the night life if you don't mind a 10 minute walk around the Marina. If not there are taxis everywhere. The bars are easy to access and they make your drinks how you like. Loved the sushi cart I'm glad it was included and not extra. Cons: I purchased the ALL Inclusive along with this trip. I feel the name should be changed to just "Inclusive" because the "ALL" was not available. Everything else that would be included with "ALL" was being offered for extra fees. The Inclusive program was limited only from 7am till 10pm. Wifi was offered for an additional fee. Room food service was for additional fees. My fridge was never stocked with beverages. They did offer water bottles in the room on the dining table for.. yep you guessed it extra fees. When you sit down to eat during the daytime, beee ready for flying visitors. I didn't nor did I see anyone get stung but beee ready. There were like 10 bees near the poolbar but they didn't bother the bartenders. I was served a Mojito with a side of 2 bees in it. No biggie they just made me another. Some drinks you have to pay extra fees for, so make sure you ask if its with the inclusive program. Some food on the menu you have to pay extra for so again ask if its included. Its a hassle to have to keep asking whats included and whats cost extra fees. I stayed at a different resort last time and didn't have all inclusive issues. All Inclusive meant no questions needed.

The Hotel was nice. It is right on the beach with very nice views. The only negative was taking the tour of the Grand Solmar and wishing I had stayed at their newer property. The staff was attentive to our needs and helped with everything possible. The complimentary breakfast that came with the room hit the spot in the morning after heavy drinking and partying. Housekeeping made sure my room was attended to everyday with no complaints. Just make sure you don't leave any food open on the counters because the ants come out of nowhere.

We had a great week at the Solmar Resort. It's small but not too small. Definitely not a mega resort. This is an older facility but we loved the style and decor in the rooms. Very clean in every aspect. Grounds were well taken care of. Staff was very friendly and attentive. The all-inclusive package included all meals, snacks, and drinks. You order from a menu when dining, not a buffet.There was a pool bar and the bar tenders and wait staff were very fun and friendly. This all-inclusive package did not include "top-shelf" liquor. Also wanted to say that the check-in/out was quick and very efficient, thanks Gina! Concierge staff were also helpful. This resort also sells time shares but we were not asked by anyone to participate. Note that this resort is located on a beach but you cannot enter the water because of large waves that break on the shore but you can still walk on the beach and the views and sunsets are beautiful.

Nice staff. Room was nice and we got upgraded when we checked in. The only thing I would say needs improvement is either better food or more variety. But very close to down town which has great food!

I was there for 8 day Food and drinks plus service it's terrible the waiters take for ever to get back to you or forget what you order

I'm also an owner at their sister resort just down the beach; but, I enjoyed my stay at Solmar Beach Club much better

Good location,close to the beach you can swim, to Marina, to downtown. I would recommend to stay there, although sales stuff is so pushing and annoying

Can not say enough good things about the staff. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. The room was more than spacious, had a beautiful view of the ocean and the staff kept it very clean. We would go back in a heartbeat.

I am in love with this hotel. They upgraded our rooms when we got there, which were huge and really comfortable. The hotel itself was small, which was perfect. With not too many people there, we got a lot of attention from the staff. The staff were wonderful - super nice, attentive, good, hard-working people. The food was a lot better than I expected for an all-inclusive place, and the drinks were good too! I loved everything about our experience there except the waves were too strong to even stick our feet in the ocean. Since that was expected (the hotel is on the Pacific side), that didn't break our hearts too much. Would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cabo!

They are currently doing a lot of construction and add ons to the Grand Solmar so the front entrance is very crammed and chaotic. I think they need to do some more renovations and updating at this resort. The lobby was small and shabby and not what you would expect. With all of the construction going on, I was very worried that the sound would be noticeable as we were on the outer edge of the resort however, it wasn't very loud and obnoxious so that was nice. The resort is quaint and small but has a nice feel. The staff at the main restaurant were so friendly and helpful. If you're looking to hang out at a bar and have a few drinks, there isn't really anywhere to do that. They also say that the pool and the bar close at a certain time but they were closing everything down an hour before the said time. It was 8:30p one night and everything was shutting down and we were told we had to leave the pool/hot tub. The ONE pool bar and restaurant close very early so if you're wanting to hang out at your resort and have a few drinks or some food later in the night, you have to hang in your room or go downtown Cabo. I found this to be slightly annoying, since we did pay extra for all inclusive. Our friends were not as lucky to get the all inclusive deal that my husband and I got, so they opted not to do all inclusive and the drinks and food were terribly expensive. I will say that the location of the beach was great. Even though you can't swim in the ocean, it's still really nice to sit and watch the waves or to walk along the beach. The resort is not too far of a walk to the marina however, I think they do make it sound as if the resort is just a few minutes from the marina when in fact, it's probably a good 20 minutes to get the the restaurants. All in all, we had a good time but would have liked to see the restaurant and bar open later. Also, the rooms were quite old and could use some updating but this really didn't bother us too much. We were upgraded to a larger suite which was nice. I don't think housekeeping does a very good job cleaning though. There was dirt on the floor and hair in the sink when we arrived.

Hotel was nice walking distance to everything you might want to do. The only things not good is no free wi-fi. ($60.00 per week) also if you stay ground level construction is pretty loud at this time (Nov.26,2015) thank God its only during the day. most of the day we were out of our room.

The staff is great. The location is ideal for a walk to the marina. Relaxing poolside listening to the ocean waves, or a romantic walk down the private beach. We will be back.

Beautiful Cabo San Lucas, Pacific Ocean side of the peninsula, at the Solmar provides a quaint, relaxing vacation. The staff was Very accommodating, friendly, and personable. The pool with the swim up bar is a great gathering place. The food was delish! Rooms are old style tiles that give it a feel of the days from the past, comfortable and quaint. A Wonderful experience. Wish we could have spent more time there.

Avenida Solmar #1 Cabo San Lucas BCS

Located in Marina, Solmar Resort is next to popular attractions like Land's End and The Arch. This 100-room, 3.5-star hotel has 2 outdoor pools along with a private beach and a full-service spa. Lover's Beach and Cabo Dolphins are a short walk away.


Dining

There are multiple options for onsite dining with 3 restaurants, including El Tejaban, which specializes in Mexican cuisine. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 100 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchenettes and balconies or patios. LED TVs come with satellite channels, and WiFi keeps guests connected. Sofa beds, coffee makers, and safes are also standard.


Property features

Solmar Resort features a private beach, a full-service spa, and 2 outdoor pools. You can take advantage of free valet parking, along with an airport shuttle at scheduled times for USD 42.00 per person roundtrip. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a fitness center, a spa tub, and an outdoor tennis court.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Solmar Resort

Everyone (13) Couples (87) Business (1) Family (29) Friends (15) Other (14)
3

close to shopping and hiking

Everyone

Cleaning personal was not as thorough as in the past. Restaurant and front desk people were helpful as always. Overall very good time in a beautiful area.

By on Feb 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 14, 2017

Dear Sir. / Madam; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I have shared your comments with our housekeeper since our goal is always to exceed our customer’s expectations. By the other side, it is rewarding to know you have enjoyed your visit and the service from the rest of the team. It will be our honor to greet you here again and provide you an even better experience. Best regards!

5

nice hotel. quiet but easy walk into town.

Everyone

Very nice hotel. Enjoyed the open area where yhe pool and common area is. Great staff, very velpful and courteous.

By on Feb 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 11, 2017

Dear Sir. / Madam; Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It is rewarding for us to know that you have enjoyed your vacations and our location. It will be our pleasure to greet you here again as our guest in the near future. Warm greetings!

5

great view of the pacfic

Everyone
Beautiful sunset A view of the Pacfic a whale

This was my first stay at The Solmar and I WILL stay there again . The location is excellent being right on the Pacfic for whale watching and close walk to the Marina and to all town has to offer. The whole staff was the friendliest I have ever experienced in Cabo, they spoke even when encountered on a sidewalk after they were off work. My room was quite comfortable and with a small kitchen. My only complaint was the website had fitness room as an amenity located at Playa Grande but there is an $11 charge to use the facility. To me amenity is something that is something offered to guests to use at no charge. Like the pool, toiletries, and etc.

By , from Williamsburg, Va on Feb 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 11, 2017

Dear Phil; Thank you for sharing your comments I am following up in order to avoid any misunderstanding or inconvenience in the future. By the other side, it is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your accommodation and the breathtaking views from your suite. Once again, we appreciate your visit and hope to have the honor of your visit one more time, you can be sure we’ll do our best to accommodate your needs in the future. Warm greetings!

4

great view.nice staff. comfortable beds!

Everyone

Visitors should be prepared for on site Time Share sales staff pushing presentations.

By , from Brooklyn Park MN on Jan 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 2, 2017

Dear Ms. Linda; Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. Your suggestions are very welcome. By the other side, we are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay and the customer service from our team. All of us will be so happy to greet you here once again as our guest. Best regards!

5

got upgraded

Everyone

When we checked in, we got upgraded to Playa Grande due to Solmar being over-booked. The restaurants and food were delicious, the service was top notch, and the hotel was spacious and comfortable. It's spread out, so it requires a lot of walking, but it's beautiful. This would be my top choice. I couldn't have asked for a better stay.

By , from Orange County, CA on Jan 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 1, 2017

Dear Mr. Kevin; Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your holidays and the facilities in our sister Resort. Please do not take long time to come back and allow us to continue pampering you as you deserve. Warm greetings!

5

love it!!

Families

Solmar is the best. It still has the "old Mexico" flavor which is why we like it so much. Rooms are large and clean, not very modern but that is why we like it. Beds are the best ever. The grounds are meticulously maintained. What keeps us coming back year after year is the Staff. It is the same staff each year and they are so kind and fun and they really make our stay enjoyable. They are attentive to our every need and remember us and welcome us back each year. The location is in walkable distance from the downtown marina activities, yet Solmar feels private and secluded, even though it is surrounded by its huge sister properties - the very modern Grand Solmar and Playa Granda. Breakfasts and lunches are very good, dinners are okay - they are doing three buffet night and one fajita night per week so that limits nights you can dine off the menu. Included drinks are okay, obviously not "top shelf" liquor, but that is okay with us. The one draw back that some might see is that you cannot swim in the ocean, as the resort is on the very dangerous Pacific Ocean side of the Baja. But we are not water people so that is okay with us. The whole experience is what we are looking for in a vacation, somewhere easy to stay, that is clean with attentive staff, that is close to downtown Cabo with pretty much guaranteed warm dry weather. We have been going for two weeks each year, next year we are going for three!!

By , from Nine Mile Falls, WA on Jan 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 31, 2017

Dear Ms./Mr. Downs; Thank you very much for your preference along all this years, we appreciate very much your patronage. It is rewarding for us to read that you have enjoyed your vacations and the friendly service from our team, this motivate us to continue working to exceed your expectations. It will be our pleasure to greet you here again for your upcoming three weeks of vacations. Warm greetings from Cabo!

4

great location

Everyone

Beautiful view and comfortable. Low key especially for adults

By on Jan 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2017

Dear Sir. / Madam; Thank you very much for posting your review, it is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your view and the comfort of our Resort. We hope to see you here once again as our guest in the short future. Best regards!

3

nice, relaxing but it wasn't "all" inclusive

Everyone

Pros: Nice staff very friendly. Nice surroundings and easy access to the night life if you don't mind a 10 minute walk around the Marina. If not there are taxis everywhere. The bars are easy to access and they make your drinks how you like. Loved the sushi cart I'm glad it was included and not extra. Cons: I purchased the ALL Inclusive along with this trip. I feel the name should be changed to just "Inclusive" because the "ALL" was not available. Everything else that would be included with "ALL" was being offered for extra fees. The Inclusive program was limited only from 7am till 10pm. Wifi was offered for an additional fee. Room food service was for additional fees. My fridge was never stocked with beverages. They did offer water bottles in the room on the dining table for.. yep you guessed it extra fees. When you sit down to eat during the daytime, beee ready for flying visitors. I didn't nor did I see anyone get stung but beee ready. There were like 10 bees near the poolbar but they didn't bother the bartenders. I was served a Mojito with a side of 2 bees in it. No biggie they just made me another. Some drinks you have to pay extra fees for, so make sure you ask if its with the inclusive program. Some food on the menu you have to pay extra for so again ask if its included. Its a hassle to have to keep asking whats included and whats cost extra fees. I stayed at a different resort last time and didn't have all inclusive issues. All Inclusive meant no questions needed.

By , from Arizona on Nov 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Feb 1, 2017

Dear Sir. / Madam; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sincerely sorry to read you had issues with your meal package, as a standard at your check in our clerks must to provide you with the list of amenities your package includes and answer any question you might have. By the other side, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed the friendly service from our team and our secluded location; private but at the same time at just a few steps to Downtown Cabo. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to host you again and provide you an even better experience. Sincerely.

4
Everyone

The Hotel was nice. It is right on the beach with very nice views. The only negative was taking the tour of the Grand Solmar and wishing I had stayed at their newer property. The staff was attentive to our needs and helped with everything possible. The complimentary breakfast that came with the room hit the spot in the morning after heavy drinking and partying. Housekeeping made sure my room was attended to everyday with no complaints. Just make sure you don't leave any food open on the counters because the ants come out of nowhere.

By on Oct 1, 2016

Review comment responded on Feb 1, 2017

Dear Sir. / Madam; We appreciate very much your comments, they help us to improve and meet your expectations. It is rewarding for us to know that you have enjoyed your visit and the amenities from the Resort, please do not take too long to comeback and allow us to provide you an even better experience. Best regards!

5

great cabo all-inclusive

Everyone

We had a great week at the Solmar Resort. It's small but not too small. Definitely not a mega resort. This is an older facility but we loved the style and decor in the rooms. Very clean in every aspect. Grounds were well taken care of. Staff was very friendly and attentive. The all-inclusive package included all meals, snacks, and drinks. You order from a menu when dining, not a buffet.There was a pool bar and the bar tenders and wait staff were very fun and friendly. This all-inclusive package did not include "top-shelf" liquor. Also wanted to say that the check-in/out was quick and very efficient, thanks Gina! Concierge staff were also helpful. This resort also sells time shares but we were not asked by anyone to participate. Note that this resort is located on a beach but you cannot enter the water because of large waves that break on the shore but you can still walk on the beach and the views and sunsets are beautiful.

By , from Galveston, Tx on Aug 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Feb 1, 2017

Dear Mr. Michael; We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your holidays and the amenities from your All Inclusive program. It will be our honor to greet you here again as our guest to continue pampering you as you deserve. Warm regards!