Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This is a beautiful place! Lots of walking it's so large. But they do charge an arm and a leg for everything! The biggest frustration though is they want all your money on their account to spend since they are a cash free resort. Which means you can not spend your money else where in Cabo. They require a minimum of $500 to be put on hold for them to charge when you leave. Drinks are 12-15 dollars but 2 will get you drunk.

Near the Marina and Cabo nightlife. The pools are a lot of fun with many activities. Only complaint is that the WiFi and gym cost money.

Beautiful hotel inside and out. Rooms are large suites that all have some form of an ocean view. Very clean hotel. Service from everyone from the bell hops, front desk and pool servers was A+. First time to Cabo, but we frequent Cancun and Playa Del Carmen, and we were blown away by the overall service. Didn't have one bad experience at all. Everyone employee spoke English even if it was just enough to communicate. Breakfast buffet was the best and worth the $20 per person. Pool side drinks averaged about $12 per, but they had 2 for 1 during happy hours of 12-1 and 3-4 daily. We traveled 6/27-7/4, with our 3 kids aged 19-16-10 and everyone had a great time. Only critique I can note is the beach is not for swimming (but almost all of Cabo is like this) due to the huge waves and under currents. Waves are huge hear and you can constantly hear them crashing against the beach, which was kind of a comforting sound.

Our stay in Playa Grande was nice overall. The resort if beautiful, our room was very clean and classy with a good view of the pool/ocean. The pool is nice (not big), and they have pool games scheduled for socializing with other guests. The ocean on this side is quite rough and swimming is prohibited, but its still quite beautiful. They have a small coffee shop for quick grab-n-go snacks and coffee. They also have free on demand shuttles that take you back and forth to the other Solmar resorts in that stretch. The marina is just a 5-10 minute walk, and the downtown is just 20 mins walk away. You can even walk all they way to the restaurants on the Medano beach in just 30 mins. Now for the bad stuff - we were a very disappointed that they charge $11 per day per person for access to the fitness center, charge you for water and do not have some of the basic toiletries/health items needed by guests (we were asked to buy them from the onsite gift shop instead). It just feels cheap and petty to be charged for the small things when we are paying a high price for the hotel already!

Hotel and amenities were great. Although the hotel is next to the beach it is not swimmable due to strong rip tides coming in. The hotel has enough pools to cover your swimming needs though. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The amenities were more than enough.

Very clean rooms. Nice well maintained pools. Easy walk to the marina. Poolside food is OK. First room we had smelled musty (ground floor) & they promptly moved us. Only glitch was an erroneous charge of $150 on our bill from housekeeping. This was rectified.

Beautiful hotel helpful staff. Could not swim in ocean. Emphasis on selling you condo and pay-for activities. Expensive breakfast. Terrible "Sports Bar". Pay for wifi that doesn't work. No shuttle 4-5 block downhill walk to marina. Must pay for water taxi to local swim beach. All water-related activities are off premises.

Everything here was exceptionally great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only negative I would say is beds/pillows aren't very comfortable (for my soft pillow liking) and there didn't seem to be many onsite places to eat. Very close to everything downtown walking distance and very close to marina! Definitely going back soon!

The property is nice enough, if dated in some areas. The hotel is near the marina, which you can reach on foot in about 10 minutes... taxis are readily available. Food service is basic and a little pricey. Drinks are reasonably priced, and there are happy-hour prices available at times. The room was a bit dated, but overall, not bad. No bottled water in the room, but there is a market near the lobby that has water, beer, food, etc. The pool area is nice. No swimming is allowed on this stretch of the beach area. We were able to hike over to Divorce and Lovers Beach, but this does require some considerable climbing over rocks and may not be recommended for everyone.

We only stayed for 4 nights and we loved every minute of it. We celebrated my husbands birthday that weekend and had dinner in Puerto San Lucas, the best restaurant of the Playa Grande Resort. Chef Leonardo went above and beyond and gave us an extraordinary dining experience we will always remember. We joined a Tequila Tasting in Puerto San Lucas and we recommend this event to everybody. It is a great, entertaining and interesting tasting. Chef Leonardo is absolute a connoisseur of Tequila. We have learned, tasted and laughed a lot.

Excellent stay at Playa Grande. No swimming on the beach but not uncommon for this area. Absolutely beautiful Resort with super accommodating staff. Ocean view room is the best. Super short walk to downtown Cabo so you are not stuck in the resort the whole time. Plenty of activities but spread out so it won't bother you if you just want to relax without all the noise. We will absolutely be returning and would definitely recommend.

Staff are like family. The food is delicious. Groups or couple getaway. Nothing but good things to say

Excellent in all areas. We were upgraded to penthouse suite. All good experiences. Staff, room, excursions, transport....

Upon checking in the Front Desk staff is extremely slow. Our room was not available for check-in until 4:30. We learned that the resort is actually a time share based resort and they try to direct you through one of their time share consultants. The room was clean and the shower was great, but you are standing in a tub that is 2ft deep and does not drain very well, so after 5 minutes in the shower you are up to your knees in bath water. Even though the resort is located on the Pacific Ocean, you cannot swim in front of the resort, which was a huge let down. The breakfast buffet was extremely over priced $24-$36/person depending upon time of day. The overall feeling was that this was a member based time share and guests were not looked on as favorably as the members. The exception was the pool area, where the staff was personable and upbeat.

Great spot for families. Close to town. Restaurants were just ok. Room service was just ok.

Great stay at a 1st class hotel. Hotel is located within walking distance of beach, local Marina, restaurants, and entertainment. Hotel staff is attentive and ready to assist with any needs. Pools are clean and well maintained. Beautiful setting for the resort. Taxis are readily available if walking is not an option.

Awesome resort. Not really an all inclusive place. Only thing, walking to town is a challenge due to the elevation. It is basically all up hill.

Our whole girls trip was amazing. We had a full kitchen, gorgeous view, plenty of space for four ladies and two full bathrooms. It was perfect. Room service brings anything you need.

Great staff, and good quality buffets. But, mediocre food at the pool and the entertainment program at the resort is pretty minimal, compared to premium all-inclusive 5-star resorts.

Playa Grande was excellent for the exception of a few things. Location was great but you can't swim on that side of the ocean. Public beach not too far where all the action is anyway. Short cab ride. The resort rooms and overall appearance is awesome. Sofa beds are the cheapest pull out I've ever seen. So negate points there. The restaurants on site were ok but you can eat much cheaper and just as good at many places on the marina or in town. Lobby bar restaurant service is terribly slow. Food was good but service horrible. Other then that the resort was very pleasant and enjoyable.

1 Playa Solmar Cabo San Lucas BCS

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to The Arch and Land's End
  • Free valet and self parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Marina, Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as The Arch and Land's End. This 260-room, 4-star resort has 4 outdoor pools along with a private beach and a full-service spa. It's in the mountains and also a short walk from Lover's Beach and Cabo Dolphins.


Dining

There are ample dining options with 3 onsite restaurants, including Calima, which has pool views. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, breakfast is available for a fee.


Rooms

The 260 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens and balconies or patios. Guests can expect WiFi and TVs with satellite channels. Coffee makers, ceiling fans, and phones are other standard amenities.


Property features

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa features a private beach, a full-service spa, and 4 outdoor pools. Free valet and self parking are available—or if you're not driving, take the airport shuttle during limited hours for USD 42 per person roundtrip. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach resort include a fitness center, a sauna, and an outdoor tennis court.

Room options

Luxury Suite, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Presidential Room, 2 Bedrooms

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 8

4 Bedroom Penthouse

King 2 | Sleeps 12

Guest reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Everyone (27) Couples (62) Business (1) Family (44) Friends (15) Other (9)
3

nickel and dime.

Everyone

This is a beautiful place! Lots of walking it's so large. But they do charge an arm and a leg for everything! The biggest frustration though is they want all your money on their account to spend since they are a cash free resort. Which means you can not spend your money else where in Cabo. They require a minimum of $500 to be put on hold for them to charge when you leave. Drinks are 12-15 dollars but 2 will get you drunk.

By on Jul 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 18, 2017

Dear Chantz, We appreciate your feedback and comments. We do ask for a security deposit like most hotels worldwide. Many gusts use that against the services, food and beverages that they use during their stay, We certainly hope to have you back again soon. Saludos,

4

beautiful hotel on the pacific side

Everyone

Near the Marina and Cabo nightlife. The pools are a lot of fun with many activities. Only complaint is that the WiFi and gym cost money.

By on Jul 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2017

Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our staff and service as well as the facilities and layout. We do have a nominal surcharge for those services. We do look forward to having you back again soon.

5

great stay

Everyone
View just outside our room View up the coast from the hotel beach

Beautiful hotel inside and out. Rooms are large suites that all have some form of an ocean view. Very clean hotel. Service from everyone from the bell hops, front desk and pool servers was A+. First time to Cabo, but we frequent Cancun and Playa Del Carmen, and we were blown away by the overall service. Didn't have one bad experience at all. Everyone employee spoke English even if it was just enough to communicate. Breakfast buffet was the best and worth the $20 per person. Pool side drinks averaged about $12 per, but they had 2 for 1 during happy hours of 12-1 and 3-4 daily. We traveled 6/27-7/4, with our 3 kids aged 19-16-10 and everyone had a great time. Only critique I can note is the beach is not for swimming (but almost all of Cabo is like this) due to the huge waves and under currents. Waves are huge hear and you can constantly hear them crashing against the beach, which was kind of a comforting sound.

By , from San Antonio, TX on Jul 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2017

Dear Rick, We are delighted that you took the time to share your family experience. We are confident that this will help other families that are planning their stay in Cabo and hopefully give us a try. Our dedicated staff and facility layout with our ample rooms are the perfect frame for a memorable vacation for all. Regards,

3

nice resort, but charges for every amenity!

Everyone

Our stay in Playa Grande was nice overall. The resort if beautiful, our room was very clean and classy with a good view of the pool/ocean. The pool is nice (not big), and they have pool games scheduled for socializing with other guests. The ocean on this side is quite rough and swimming is prohibited, but its still quite beautiful. They have a small coffee shop for quick grab-n-go snacks and coffee. They also have free on demand shuttles that take you back and forth to the other Solmar resorts in that stretch. The marina is just a 5-10 minute walk, and the downtown is just 20 mins walk away. You can even walk all they way to the restaurants on the Medano beach in just 30 mins. Now for the bad stuff - we were a very disappointed that they charge $11 per day per person for access to the fitness center, charge you for water and do not have some of the basic toiletries/health items needed by guests (we were asked to buy them from the onsite gift shop instead). It just feels cheap and petty to be charged for the small things when we are paying a high price for the hotel already!

By on Jul 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2017

Dear PK, Muchas gracias for your review. We appreciate your comments and we are glad to see that you enjoyed our resort and service. We do have nominal fees and most certainly we will be attentive to continue to supply the proper toiletries. We do hope that you consider us for a return trip. Best personal regards,

4

nice hotel close to the beach

Everyone

Hotel and amenities were great. Although the hotel is next to the beach it is not swimmable due to strong rip tides coming in. The hotel has enough pools to cover your swimming needs though. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The amenities were more than enough.

By , from Bay Area, CA on May 4, 2017

Review comment responded on May 8, 2017

Dear Jake, Thakns for your review. We appreceiate that you enjoyed our facilities and had a great time. Our location, pools and layout sets for a perfect vacation. Our team loos forward to welcoming you again

4

beautiful property

Everyone

Very clean rooms. Nice well maintained pools. Easy walk to the marina. Poolside food is OK. First room we had smelled musty (ground floor) & they promptly moved us. Only glitch was an erroneous charge of $150 on our bill from housekeeping. This was rectified.

By on May 3, 2017

Review comment responded on May 5, 2017

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our facility and service. We are taking note of your comments regarding the room and the bill in order to make sure it does not happen again. Best regards,

2

no swim beach.

Everyone

Beautiful hotel helpful staff. Could not swim in ocean. Emphasis on selling you condo and pay-for activities. Expensive breakfast. Terrible "Sports Bar". Pay for wifi that doesn't work. No shuttle 4-5 block downhill walk to marina. Must pay for water taxi to local swim beach. All water-related activities are off premises.

By , from SC on Apr 16, 2017

Review comment responded on May 5, 2017

Dear Peter, We are sorry that you did not like your stay with us. We have finished our free WiFi service, we cannot offer shuttles into town in order to respect the taxis. And here in Cabo there is a fee for water taxis. Hope you find something more suitable to your needs. With all due respect,

4

very nice hotel with extremely friendly staff

Everyone

Everything here was exceptionally great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only negative I would say is beds/pillows aren't very comfortable (for my soft pillow liking) and there didn't seem to be many onsite places to eat. Very close to everything downtown walking distance and very close to marina! Definitely going back soon!

By on Mar 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2017

Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our service and our staff. We will consider expanding our pillow menu. We offer 6 restaurants and 6 bars, Hope that in your next visit you give us a chance to show you our options. As many other guests mention, our location is a great asset for them to choose to stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit.

3

nice property, somewhat dated

Couples
Lobby entrance Pool area

The property is nice enough, if dated in some areas. The hotel is near the marina, which you can reach on foot in about 10 minutes... taxis are readily available. Food service is basic and a little pricey. Drinks are reasonably priced, and there are happy-hour prices available at times. The room was a bit dated, but overall, not bad. No bottled water in the room, but there is a market near the lobby that has water, beer, food, etc. The pool area is nice. No swimming is allowed on this stretch of the beach area. We were able to hike over to Divorce and Lovers Beach, but this does require some considerable climbing over rocks and may not be recommended for everyone.

By , from Chicago, IL on Feb 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 4, 2017

Dear Jason, We value your review. We are a 15+ year old property that has maintained a great level of service and client loyalty due to our friendly staff and unmatched location. We will continue to work on improving our menus and options and we hope to have the chance to have you back again in the near future. Best regards, Ramon A. GM

4

beautiful hotel & fabulous 'tequilatasting'

Everyone
Puerto San Lucas with Chef Leonardo is the Best Restaurant and Chef of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

We only stayed for 4 nights and we loved every minute of it. We celebrated my husbands birthday that weekend and had dinner in Puerto San Lucas, the best restaurant of the Playa Grande Resort. Chef Leonardo went above and beyond and gave us an extraordinary dining experience we will always remember. We joined a Tequila Tasting in Puerto San Lucas and we recommend this event to everybody. It is a great, entertaining and interesting tasting. Chef Leonardo is absolute a connoisseur of Tequila. We have learned, tasted and laughed a lot.

By , from Houston, Texas on Jan 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2017

Dear E&N, Thanks for your review. We value your input and we will keep a close eye on our timing at the Lobby Bar Restaurant. We are in the process of making some adjustments in order to improve our service. Puerto San Lucas is a great experience and our Tequila Tasting is becoming a MUST DO in Cabo. We are delighted that you had a great moment for your husbands Birth day celebration. Leonardo and the team along with our staff at the resort look forward to having you back again soon!