Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Great location and activities for children. Nice rooms but elevators were unreliable.

Decent location, many issues with The property. Elevators out of service, lack of breakfast options, and housekeeping never came to our room until an hour before checkout.

The only good thing was the beach and dining was nearby. This property in it's current state deserves negative stars. It was not nearly worth the $1,000 spent for a 3 night stay. I am very upset about the facility and the rudeness of the staff. I really want to be refunded.

I did not like the fact that the reception desk was two blocks away. Breakfast was delicious

Property needs update. Furniture was faded and stained. Overall it’s a decent place to stay and is right next to a kid friendly park. Not far from public beach access.

Way Overpriced at over 400. Definitely paying for location. Location of hotel doesn’t show up in map correctly. Instead of one block from ocean you have to travel what feels like through a neighborhood to get to room, you have to travel back up to front for the front desk and possible breakfast (which we didn’t try). All surrounding bars/restaurants all closed at 9 pm.

The location and accessibility to the beach was the best part.

Cleanliness was ok. General areas needed more particularly with covid concerns . Stairwell hand rails were like glue traps. Should have been warned regarding lack of elevator If like myself have broken leg issues. Receptionist was VERY pleasant and tried hard to smooth over issues with several guests, a real asset

Enjoyed to pool & fitness room.. close to beach; hotel was in process of elevator repair… caused waits…dark dim hallways… Needs some updating..

Property is being renovated. Elevator was not working, noisy and no way to contact the front desk.

Kyle and Sonya at the front desk provided excellent customer service.

Parking is tight. Didn’t like reqmnt to wear useless mask. Bathroom needed some maintenance but nothing major, just maintenance hasn’t corrected or know about Really good breakfast selection in morning USB ports for charging are convenient Good value for 1-2 nights.

When I made my reservation I had made it for a king bed but when I checked in they gave me a room with two double beds in it and never told me. When I went back to the office they said they over booked and thats all they have.

Convenient area

Everything good

Very nice hotel. Walking distance to beach.

The room was not completely clean.

it was near the water and walking distance from shops restaurants and bars

There was such a large crack under the door that light was showing through, and that’s probably the reason we had some bugs in the room. The parking lot was tight, WiFi was very poor, and front desk service was poor. Our shower handle was messed up and water flow was not good. The location is convenient to walk to the beach, but I cannot recommend this hotel.

Didn't like that the hotel put pending charges of a total of $ 1809.38 over 3 days on our credit card while they were shown printed receipt showing payment through orbitz at check in. Had to call front desk every morning for 3 days before it was figured out and resolved, but still had to wait several days even after our trip for all the pending charges to fall off. Kept blaming it on booking through a third party, like someone booking through orbitz was something new to them. Hotel needs updating, rooms were terrible for price paid. Lots of outside noise and doors slamming. It is convenient to Coligny Beach, which is in part why we booked. Apparently I overlooked the pet friendly part, as we stayed here several years ago and it was a different name and did not allow pets. Had I realized this, we would not have booked, but again that was oversight on my part. With 2 elevators and stairs being used by people walking dogs and pigs, you definitely don't get anywhere fast. Also I guess there was some women's biking event as a slew of bikers came in and took all the indoor (under building) parking, so that was also irritating.

Tanglewood Drive Hilton Head Island SC

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Outdoor pool
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center

Located in South Forest Beach, Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel is a short distance from Coligny Plaza and Coligny Theater. This 153-room hotel has round-the-clock conveniences like a business center, a gym, and a front desk. Centrally located in Hilton Head Island, the hotel is also a short walk from Coligny Beach and Sea Pines Forest Preserve.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and LCD TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Other amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Property features

Guests of Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel have access to an outdoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and free WiFi in public areas. There's RV, bus, and truck parking and a free beach shuttle. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. If you like to take your furry friend along on your adventures, this pet-friendly property offers an off-leash area, pet-sitting services, and pet grooming services. Additional amenities include conference space, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Mobility Roll-In Shower)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Pool View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, Multiple Beds

2 Queen Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

Standard Room, 1 King Bed (Walk-In Shower)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (23) Couples (10) Family (23)
4
Family

Great location and activities for children. Nice rooms but elevators were unreliable.

By on Aug 17, 2022

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2022

Hi William,Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

2
Partner Couples

Decent location, many issues with The property. Elevators out of service, lack of breakfast options, and housekeeping never came to our room until an hour before checkout.

By on Jul 9, 2022

1
Family Friends

The only good thing was the beach and dining was nearby. This property in it's current state deserves negative stars. It was not nearly worth the $1,000 spent for a 3 night stay. I am very upset about the facility and the rudeness of the staff. I really want to be refunded.

By on Jun 21, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2022

We are so sorry for any inconveniences you experienced while here with us. Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

4
Family

I did not like the fact that the reception desk was two blocks away. Breakfast was delicious

By on Jun 9, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2022

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

4
Everyone

Property needs update. Furniture was faded and stained. Overall it’s a decent place to stay and is right next to a kid friendly park. Not far from public beach access.

By on May 14, 2022

2
Family

Way Overpriced at over 400. Definitely paying for location. Location of hotel doesn’t show up in map correctly. Instead of one block from ocean you have to travel what feels like through a neighborhood to get to room, you have to travel back up to front for the front desk and possible breakfast (which we didn’t try). All surrounding bars/restaurants all closed at 9 pm.

By on Apr 18, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 28, 2022

Hi Travis Wayne, Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

3
Family

The location and accessibility to the beach was the best part.

By on Apr 12, 2022

4
Partner Couples Business Business

Cleanliness was ok. General areas needed more particularly with covid concerns . Stairwell hand rails were like glue traps. Should have been warned regarding lack of elevator If like myself have broken leg issues. Receptionist was VERY pleasant and tried hard to smooth over issues with several guests, a real asset

By on Apr 9, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 28, 2022

Hi William, Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

4
Everyone

Enjoyed to pool & fitness room.. close to beach; hotel was in process of elevator repair… caused waits…dark dim hallways… Needs some updating..

By on Apr 5, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 28, 2022

Hi Barbara, Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

3
Everyone

Property is being renovated. Elevator was not working, noisy and no way to contact the front desk.

By on Mar 20, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 28, 2022

Hi Lisa, Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel

2 Tanglewood Drive, Hilton Head Island, SC 29928-6244
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Hilton-Head-Island-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Hilton-Head-Island,-an-IHG-Hotel.h1341-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Hilton-Head-Island-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Hilton-Head-Island,-an-IHG-Hotel.h1341-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Hilton-Head-Island-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Hilton-Head-Island,-an-IHG-Hotel.h1341-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions