Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Vagabond Inn Bishop

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Room was clean, newly remodeled, and very comfortable. Will definitely stay again.

The toilet seal at the bottom leaked so the floor was constantly wet. The floors were dirty. Glad it was only for one night.

We stayed 1 night before head to Lake Tahoe. The room was cleaned, the shampoo, lotion.. stuffs weren't too cheap. We were happy stayed there and will recommend for friends

The pool was closed and we weren't informed until we got there. We were offered to use the Motel 6 pool across the street because they are owned by the same group. That pool had it's light hanging out into the water with an electric wire sitting in the pool. It was also very dirty.

Newly remodeled room was a nice surprise. Bed was much improved compared to last stay 2 years ago.

We arrived quite late. The staff was friendly and accommodated our room request quickly. The room was clean, but had a slightly musty smell. Not a real issue though. The plumbing should be checked - the bathtub drained very slowly and the toilet did not shut off. I had to manually stop the water from running. The breakfast choices were limited, cereal, bread and other bakery items but no protein e.g. eggs, sausage or bacon.

Very nice rooms. Recently remodeled. Enjoyed the stay Breakfast could be improved. Limited choices & variety

I booked this hotel because it had bunk beds for the kids, and that is just awsome! We got there and everything was fine the staff at check in was efficient and nice. We got to the room and the kids saw their bunk beds and my son was super excited, my daughter (who is 11) said "it looks dirty..." as they got settled in they ran over and grabbed me to show me all the gum on the walls... yes chewing gum, several pieces... the next day we came back to the room and when we went to take showers, there was no hot water when you switched from the tub to the shower... not to mention that when I stood less than 12" from the shower head, there was so little pressure that it barely hit my feet... it was late and the hotel was full so there was no sense complaining since there was no where to move us to. At Check out the next day is when they just tanked the stay. I was checking out and the hotel clerk asked how the room was... I told him about the gum and broken shower and that this morning the hotel staff decided to have a party outside our room, loud talking laughing at 7am for over 30 mins even after I poked my head out our door and let them know there were kids sleeping... his verbatim respond was " oh shoot... I'm sorry...." then awkward silence.... I asked if there was anything he could do and said about what... I asked if the manager was in and he said uhhhh no

The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. It was the best shower ever. I would have liked two washcloths instead of one.

The room is big, new TV and good chairs, microwave and refrigerator very convenient

Within walking to just about everything you might need.

Stayed here one night, remodeled room, clean, free breakfast in the the morning. Nothing to complain about, staff was pleasant and bed was comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Good choice / friendly staff / little crowed parking / Denny's in parking lot

Brand new room. Room was spacious and comfortable except for the bed-extra firm would be an understatement. Wifi is useless-too slow. Always waiting, waiting. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Pool and hot tub were grossly over chlorinated. I had to take two showers to get the chlorine off. Price was reasonable

very cramped room with a bed that was like sleeping on a board. Poor internet and tv did not work but they changed the cable 2nd night, very poor internet connection. Had 2 stay 1 extra night and @100 I have got much better rooms , will not recommend even thou front desk had friendly people.

Watch out when eating at the Denny's on the same property. They had a computer problem when we tried to pay and finally overcharged us when I looked at my bank account. This has nothing to do with the hotel, just a 'head's up'.

Nice hotel for the price. I like having a bathroom sink outside of toilet /shower area. Bed was comfortable, but had too much movement. When your partner moves the whole bed moves. Denny's was next door and they honor a 10% discount for hotel guests. Hotel Breakfast was simple with fresh fruit, bagels, toast & juice. We just needed a place for the nite while on our way to San Diego. hotel served that purpose.

The front desk clerk wasn't very friendly. Seemed bothered to help, although we did arrive late in the evening. The rooms look very nice. Clean, updated furnishings. The bed is very hard.

Clean room, Quiet, Very Nice and Helpful Staff, we have stayed there twice and will again.

Very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

1030 N Main St Bishop CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Vagabond Inn Bishop places you within a 10-minute stroll of Bishop Chamber of Commerce and Visitor Center and Bishop City Park. This hotel has 80 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. Centrally located in Bishop, the hotel is also a short walk from Tri County Fairgrounds and Mountain Light Gallery.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay. Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at Dennys restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant.


Rooms

All 80 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include free weekday newspapers, free local calls, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests staying at Vagabond Inn Bishop enjoy an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and free WiFi in public areas. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a business center, a seasonal outdoor pool, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, Multiple Beds

King 1 | Sleeps 6

King w/Bunk Beds

King 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Vagabond Inn Bishop

Everyone (23) Couples (16) Family (13) Friends (9) Other (4)
4

nicely renovated

Everyone

Room was clean, newly remodeled, and very comfortable. Will definitely stay again.

By , from Susanville, CA on Sep 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 20, 2017

Dear Erin, Thank you for your review. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager

2
Everyone

The toilet seal at the bottom leaked so the floor was constantly wet. The floors were dirty. Glad it was only for one night.

By on Sep 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 26, 2017

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. Sorry you had a problem in your bathroom. Upon inspection however, nothing wrong could be found. We hope to get another chance to serve you again in the future. Have a great day!

5

good hotel for the price and location

Everyone

We stayed 1 night before head to Lake Tahoe. The room was cleaned, the shampoo, lotion.. stuffs weren't too cheap. We were happy stayed there and will recommend for friends

By on Jul 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 24, 2017

Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for your review. The staff is happy to hear you had a nice and comfortable stay with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager

1

disappointed

Everyone

The pool was closed and we weren't informed until we got there. We were offered to use the Motel 6 pool across the street because they are owned by the same group. That pool had it's light hanging out into the water with an electric wire sitting in the pool. It was also very dirty.

By on Jul 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our wonderful property. We are sorry Orbitz did not inform you of our pool being under renovation. We hope you will come back in the future and see the improvements we are working on. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk manager

4

great stay for mule days

Everyone

Newly remodeled room was a nice surprise. Bed was much improved compared to last stay 2 years ago.

By , from Texas on May 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2017

Dear Mule Fans, Thank you for your review and your continued patronage! The staff looks forward to our valued guests feed back and they are all happy to hear you had a nice and comfortable stay with us. We all look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk manager

3

adequate for a stopover

Everyone

We arrived quite late. The staff was friendly and accommodated our room request quickly. The room was clean, but had a slightly musty smell. Not a real issue though. The plumbing should be checked - the bathtub drained very slowly and the toilet did not shut off. I had to manually stop the water from running. The breakfast choices were limited, cereal, bread and other bakery items but no protein e.g. eggs, sausage or bacon.

By on May 19, 2017

Review comment responded on May 26, 2017

Dear Al, Thank you for reviewing our property. We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us. We are sorry for the plumbing issues you experienced. And thank you for bringing it to our attention so we can fix it immediately. We hope we get another chance to serve you better in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk Manager

4

nice remodeled hotel

Everyone

Very nice rooms. Recently remodeled. Enjoyed the stay Breakfast could be improved. Limited choices & variety

By , from Hermosa Beach Ca on Mar 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2017

Dear Linda, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear you liked our newly remodeled rooms and that we are situated in a convenient location for you. Sorry you did not care for our delicious waffles and french toast. We will be adding new items to our complimentary breakfast in the future. We hope you will come back and see our improvements. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk manager

1

gum on walls, broken shower and a clueless clerk

Everyone

I booked this hotel because it had bunk beds for the kids, and that is just awsome! We got there and everything was fine the staff at check in was efficient and nice. We got to the room and the kids saw their bunk beds and my son was super excited, my daughter (who is 11) said "it looks dirty..." as they got settled in they ran over and grabbed me to show me all the gum on the walls... yes chewing gum, several pieces... the next day we came back to the room and when we went to take showers, there was no hot water when you switched from the tub to the shower... not to mention that when I stood less than 12" from the shower head, there was so little pressure that it barely hit my feet... it was late and the hotel was full so there was no sense complaining since there was no where to move us to. At Check out the next day is when they just tanked the stay. I was checking out and the hotel clerk asked how the room was... I told him about the gum and broken shower and that this morning the hotel staff decided to have a party outside our room, loud talking laughing at 7am for over 30 mins even after I poked my head out our door and let them know there were kids sleeping... his verbatim respond was " oh shoot... I'm sorry...." then awkward silence.... I asked if there was anything he could do and said about what... I asked if the manager was in and he said uhhhh no

By , from valencia, CA on Mar 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 16, 2017

Dear John, Thank you for leaving us such a candid review. We really appreciate our guests feedback. I am very sorry for the condition your children found the bunkroom in. I have passed on this information to our housekeeping department and they have begun taking immediate steps to fix the issues you experienced. I am also sorry for the weak response you received from the front desk staff. I would really appreciate it if you could call me directly at the hotel to discuss this further. We truly hope you give us another chance to serve you better in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk manager

4

nice eating area and clean grounds

Everyone

The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. It was the best shower ever. I would have liked two washcloths instead of one.

By , from B on Mar 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 11, 2017

Dear Patricia, Thank you for your review. We appreciate our guests feedback. We are all happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time ask the front desk for any extra linens you may desire and we will be happy to provide them for you. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk manager

5

nice hotel, clean and good breakfast

Everyone

The room is big, new TV and good chairs, microwave and refrigerator very convenient

By on Mar 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 11, 2017

Dear Anonymous, We appreciate your great review of our property. The staff looks forward to our valued guests feedback. We are very happy to hear you had a nice and comfortable stay with us. We look forward to serving you again. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk Manager