Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Vagabond Inn Bishop

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Staff was very friendly and it’s great the motel is dog friendly regardless of size. There’s a great grassy area behind the motel for them to play and also fish cleaning stations. The WiFi is terrible and essentially non-functional. The walls are a bit thin so you can hear noises from others rooms. But the rooms are clean and updated and have a mini fridge and microwave.

Room was clean. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was very basic, surprised they don't even offer eggs.

In the middle of town, plenty of places to eat within walikin distance. Pool area looked nice and clean, didn’t make it to the breakfast area.

The room was ok for the price but the WiFi sucked. Also my room door didn’t latch properly and when I came back from breakfast I was lucky that I hadn’t been robbed.

Very clean which is all I’m looking for in a $100 a night hotel.

Very friendly staff, big comfortable room, perfect stay

Room was clean, newly remodeled, and very comfortable. Will definitely stay again.

The toilet seal at the bottom leaked so the floor was constantly wet. The floors were dirty. Glad it was only for one night.

We stayed 1 night before head to Lake Tahoe. The room was cleaned, the shampoo, lotion.. stuffs weren't too cheap. We were happy stayed there and will recommend for friends

The pool was closed and we weren't informed until we got there. We were offered to use the Motel 6 pool across the street because they are owned by the same group. That pool had it's light hanging out into the water with an electric wire sitting in the pool. It was also very dirty.

Newly remodeled room was a nice surprise. Bed was much improved compared to last stay 2 years ago.

We arrived quite late. The staff was friendly and accommodated our room request quickly. The room was clean, but had a slightly musty smell. Not a real issue though. The plumbing should be checked - the bathtub drained very slowly and the toilet did not shut off. I had to manually stop the water from running. The breakfast choices were limited, cereal, bread and other bakery items but no protein e.g. eggs, sausage or bacon.

Very nice rooms. Recently remodeled. Enjoyed the stay Breakfast could be improved. Limited choices & variety

I booked this hotel because it had bunk beds for the kids, and that is just awsome! We got there and everything was fine the staff at check in was efficient and nice. We got to the room and the kids saw their bunk beds and my son was super excited, my daughter (who is 11) said "it looks dirty..." as they got settled in they ran over and grabbed me to show me all the gum on the walls... yes chewing gum, several pieces... the next day we came back to the room and when we went to take showers, there was no hot water when you switched from the tub to the shower... not to mention that when I stood less than 12" from the shower head, there was so little pressure that it barely hit my feet... it was late and the hotel was full so there was no sense complaining since there was no where to move us to. At Check out the next day is when they just tanked the stay. I was checking out and the hotel clerk asked how the room was... I told him about the gum and broken shower and that this morning the hotel staff decided to have a party outside our room, loud talking laughing at 7am for over 30 mins even after I poked my head out our door and let them know there were kids sleeping... his verbatim respond was " oh shoot... I'm sorry...." then awkward silence.... I asked if there was anything he could do and said about what... I asked if the manager was in and he said uhhhh no

The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. It was the best shower ever. I would have liked two washcloths instead of one.

The room is big, new TV and good chairs, microwave and refrigerator very convenient

Within walking to just about everything you might need.

Stayed here one night, remodeled room, clean, free breakfast in the the morning. Nothing to complain about, staff was pleasant and bed was comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Good choice / friendly staff / little crowed parking / Denny's in parking lot

Brand new room. Room was spacious and comfortable except for the bed-extra firm would be an understatement. Wifi is useless-too slow. Always waiting, waiting. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Pool and hot tub were grossly over chlorinated. I had to take two showers to get the chlorine off. Price was reasonable

1030 N Main St Bishop CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Vagabond Inn Bishop places you within a 10-minute stroll of Bishop Chamber of Commerce and Visitor Center and Bishop City Park. This hotel has 80 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. Centrally located in Bishop, the hotel is also a short walk from Tri County Fairgrounds and Mountain Light Gallery.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay. Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at Dennys restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant.


Rooms

All 80 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include free weekday newspapers, free local calls, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests staying at Vagabond Inn Bishop enjoy an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and free WiFi in public areas. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a business center, laundry facilities, and a garden.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, Multiple Beds

King 1 | Sleeps 6

King w/Bunk Beds

King 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Vagabond Inn Bishop

Everyone (29) Couples (16) Family (13) Friends (9) Other (4)
4
Everyone

Staff was very friendly and it’s great the motel is dog friendly regardless of size. There’s a great grassy area behind the motel for them to play and also fish cleaning stations. The WiFi is terrible and essentially non-functional. The walls are a bit thin so you can hear noises from others rooms. But the rooms are clean and updated and have a mini fridge and microwave.

By on Jun 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 20, 2018

Dear Anonymous guest, Thank you for your great review of our property. We are very happy to hear your room was clean and comfortable for you and your pet. We are sorry for the slow Wifi. We are working on obtaining a better connection for our guests. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. Have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager

4
Everyone

Room was clean. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was very basic, surprised they don't even offer eggs.

By on Jun 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 22, 2018

Thank you for your review. We have just started to offer hard boiled eggs. So when you return they will be there for you.

4
Everyone

In the middle of town, plenty of places to eat within walikin distance. Pool area looked nice and clean, didn’t make it to the breakfast area.

By , from WA on May 22, 2018

Review comment responded on May 22, 2018

Dear Bill, Thank you very much for the review of our property. The staff is happy to hear your stay was nice and comfortable. We all look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager

3

a rough night

Everyone

The room was ok for the price but the WiFi sucked. Also my room door didn’t latch properly and when I came back from breakfast I was lucky that I hadn’t been robbed.

By , from SLC, ut on Apr 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2018

Dear Breanna, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear your stay was comfortable. We are sorry for the poor Wifi. We are working on obtaining a better connection for our guests. We hope we get another chance to serve you again on your next visit to beautiful Bishop, Ca. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager

3
Everyone

Very clean which is all I’m looking for in a $100 a night hotel.

By on Mar 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 4, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager

5

good feel stay

Everyone

Very friendly staff, big comfortable room, perfect stay

By on Feb 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 10, 2018

Dear Anonymous guest, Thank you so much for the 5 out of 5 star review! We are so pleased to hear your stay was nice and comfortable. We all look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager

4

nicely renovated

Everyone

Room was clean, newly remodeled, and very comfortable. Will definitely stay again.

By , from Susanville, CA on Sep 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 20, 2017

Dear Erin, Thank you for your review. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager

2
Everyone

The toilet seal at the bottom leaked so the floor was constantly wet. The floors were dirty. Glad it was only for one night.

By on Sep 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 26, 2017

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. Sorry you had a problem in your bathroom. Upon inspection however, nothing wrong could be found. We hope to get another chance to serve you again in the future. Have a great day!

5

good hotel for the price and location

Everyone

We stayed 1 night before head to Lake Tahoe. The room was cleaned, the shampoo, lotion.. stuffs weren't too cheap. We were happy stayed there and will recommend for friends

By on Jul 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 24, 2017

Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for your review. The staff is happy to hear you had a nice and comfortable stay with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager

1

disappointed

Everyone

The pool was closed and we weren't informed until we got there. We were offered to use the Motel 6 pool across the street because they are owned by the same group. That pool had it's light hanging out into the water with an electric wire sitting in the pool. It was also very dirty.

By on Jul 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our wonderful property. We are sorry Orbitz did not inform you of our pool being under renovation. We hope you will come back in the future and see the improvements we are working on. Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk manager