Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Radisson Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Hotel was ok. I asked to use the xerox machine for business papers and I was told to go to Office Depot. Their "business center" has a printer but no copy machine. RE: Room service..... When I called down to find out how to pre-order breakfast room service, the girl at the front desk told me that they no longer leave breakfast menus in the room. She told me that guests call downstairs at 6:30am and ask what they are serving??? I found out this was 100% not true. Additionally, the hotel no longer has "room service breakfast door tags" so you cannot pre-order breakfast. When I called and ordered the breakfast, it arrived with no breakfast potatoes and cold wheat bread when I ordered "rye toast". They couldn't get breakfast correct!!! I have NEVER stayed in a hotel that is suppose to be for "business guests" that is so backwards. I wouldn't stay there again. Price was right for my night at $90. LASTLY - THE HOTEL IS NOT IN ROCKVILLE!! The hotel is in Gaithersburg!!! I was so far from where I thought I would be.

The positive- very good restaurant with attentive staff. Check in staff very welcoming. Bathroom was surprisingly disappointing- no water pressure at all - impossible for both of us to shower and that shampoo was impossible to rinse out. No hot water in shower. Beds were comfy. Room was clean but we left there feeling very uncomfortable & unshowered -and we had a college tour & interview. Unfortunately that put a damper on our overall experience so I was very disappointed.

I ordered a 2 bed suite and got WAY MORE than I expected.... it had a kitchen area with a 4 seat dinner table, living area w/ couch, tv, & chair, and the bedroom had double doors that opened up to 2 beds & an office area with tv & desk. They bathroom was average size for a hotel but for $107 I received an EXCELLENT VALUE. The fitness area was good too

Okay. Room had a stale smell but was spacious. Staff seemed preoccupied.

I've stayed here a few times now and it's a great hotel. Beds are nice and comfortable and it's convenient.

Why did I have to pay more for breakfast if I specifically searched Orbitz for hotel with breakfast? No mini fridge in room - not what I expected from a radisson

Recently renovated rooms, but plunbing is bad; stopped up sink and toilet has low pressure.

Very clean and comfortable close to metro areas. But, still quiet so you can relax and enjoy yourself. I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

The staff at the exit had hard time giving me the hardcopy printout that I owed no room charges and zero balance.

The corridors were too dark and there was no fresh air circulating in the corridors. The bed was exposed to the front door when you open the door. The ice machine was hidden behind louver doors and if I didn't hear the compressor I would have gone downstairs to the lobby to get ice.

We chose this hotel because it was quite a bit cheaper than staying in DC and they offer free shuttle to the Metro. That was a great perk, and the metro with some help from some friendly passengers was easy to navigate and so many drop off locations in DC.The hotel was a basic hotel, no extra amenities in the room. The little convenience store they have downstairs was quite overpriced. Room was clean and housekeeping came daily and did a great job. We didnt try the breakfast, the dinner was ok.

Room size and furniture good but unfortunately the bed was like if you're couch surfing ;( not like the Hampton Inns or other chains The room looked nice but being able to get a good nights sleep is key Also the room I was in had air conditioning up high when I entered When I turned it off it had a sort of damp smell The lobby is nice and location good but used another hotel for my 2nd night

Our room window didn't have outside view, only inside the building.

The Hotel was OK but there was a party at the hotel the first night & it there was too much noise to sleep. Second night was fine.

The hotel it self was great, what I did not like was the internet code they provided me was wrong. Therefore, I had to travel to another hotel to use their service, furthermore, when they corrected the problem no one informed when the staff told me the will.

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Quality customer service, and clean comfortable room. I will visit again!

Easy access.Clean friendly up to date. Went for a high school reunion and would use again. Up to date,convenient to other activities and the highway.

Staff was very professional and organized. Easy Checkin and out.

The lobby was nice. Breakfast was expensive. There was clothing in our room left from the previous guest.

Room options

Suite, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 5

Suite, 1 King Bed (Parlor)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Executive Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room (Guest)

King 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Radisson Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Everyone (14) Couples (15) Business (17) Family (15) Other (10) Friends (2)
3

hotel is not located in rockville, maryland!!

Everyone

Hotel was ok. I asked to use the xerox machine for business papers and I was told to go to Office Depot. Their "business center" has a printer but no copy machine. RE: Room service..... When I called down to find out how to pre-order breakfast room service, the girl at the front desk told me that they no longer leave breakfast menus in the room. She told me that guests call downstairs at 6:30am and ask what they are serving??? I found out this was 100% not true. Additionally, the hotel no longer has "room service breakfast door tags" so you cannot pre-order breakfast. When I called and ordered the breakfast, it arrived with no breakfast potatoes and cold wheat bread when I ordered "rye toast". They couldn't get breakfast correct!!! I have NEVER stayed in a hotel that is suppose to be for "business guests" that is so backwards. I wouldn't stay there again. Price was right for my night at $90. LASTLY - THE HOTEL IS NOT IN ROCKVILLE!! The hotel is in Gaithersburg!!! I was so far from where I thought I would be.

By on Nov 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 20, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are very sorry to read that your stay with us was not what you expected. We appreciate you highlighting areas of improvement in our front desk service and breakfast. You are right to expect more knowledgeable, helpful service and we sincerely apologize. We are also sorry to read that our location was not ideal for you. From our Rockville address, we are less than a 10-minute drive from the Rockville Metro and are happy to help our guests get to where they need to go with our complimentary shuttle. Please consider us for a future stay on your return to the area so that we can work to provide you with the experience you deserve. Radisson Management

3

plumbing issues

Everyone

The positive- very good restaurant with attentive staff. Check in staff very welcoming. Bathroom was surprisingly disappointing- no water pressure at all - impossible for both of us to shower and that shampoo was impossible to rinse out. No hot water in shower. Beds were comfy. Room was clean but we left there feeling very uncomfortable & unshowered -and we had a college tour & interview. Unfortunately that put a damper on our overall experience so I was very disappointed.

By , from toms river, nj on Nov 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 15, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We sincerely apologize for the negative experience and assure you that the issue you've mentioned here in the review will be immediately taken care of. Once again that you for the business and we look forward to serving you in the not too distance future.

4

a great room for the price

Everyone

I ordered a 2 bed suite and got WAY MORE than I expected.... it had a kitchen area with a 4 seat dinner table, living area w/ couch, tv, & chair, and the bedroom had double doors that opened up to 2 beds & an office area with tv & desk. They bathroom was average size for a hotel but for $107 I received an EXCELLENT VALUE. The fitness area was good too

By , from springfield, NJ on Oct 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 19, 2017

Dear Ronnie, It's sensational to hear that we not only met your expectations but exceeded them during your stay at the Radisson Washington DC Rockville, providing you with a spacious, well-appointed room and at a great value! It really makes our day to hear that our guests leave happy, and we look forward to your next visit with us if you travel back to the area. Radisson Management

3
Everyone

Okay. Room had a stale smell but was spacious. Staff seemed preoccupied.

By on Oct 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2017

Dear Carl, Our team is overjoyed that you had a splendid stay here at Radisson Washington DC Rockville. Providing our guests with everything they expect during their visit is our goal. Our breakfast team is disappointed that you were not happy with the eggs on our breakfast buffet. Your constructive criticism is appreciated. Should your travels bring you back to the Rockville and Washington D.C. area, we hope you will consider staying with us again. Radisson Management

4

perfect for business trip

Everyone

I've stayed here a few times now and it's a great hotel. Beds are nice and comfortable and it's convenient.

By , from nc on Sep 7, 2017

2

not what i expected

Everyone

Why did I have to pay more for breakfast if I specifically searched Orbitz for hotel with breakfast? No mini fridge in room - not what I expected from a radisson

By on Aug 28, 2017

4
Everyone

Recently renovated rooms, but plunbing is bad; stopped up sink and toilet has low pressure.

By on Nov 30, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2016

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review us. We hope your travel plans bring you back to visit us soon! Happy Holidays!

4

nice stay.

Everyone

Very clean and comfortable close to metro areas. But, still quiet so you can relax and enjoy yourself. I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

By , from AZ on Nov 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2016

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We hope your travel plans bring you back to visit us soon! Happy Holidays!

3

old noisy hvac

Everyone

The staff at the exit had hard time giving me the hardcopy printout that I owed no room charges and zero balance.

By on Nov 6, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2016

Dear Guest, We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay, as orbitz is a third party reservation, guests are required to acquire a receipt from the third party as they have your payment information with them. We are sorry if it caused you any inconvenience and we hope you were able to acquire a receipt from orbitz. Thank you!

4

not all rooms have a refrigerator or microwave...

Everyone

By on Nov 2, 2016