Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Clean rooms but beds not comfortable. No bedding for sleep sofa until requesting it. Breakfast was a joke. Pre packaged muffin high in sugar. Coffee was gone by 8 am. No cups even after requesting. Envelopes of sweetened oatmeal but no milk or bowls or cups. No juice. Place is run down.

Urine soaked Sofa bed, requests for cleaning and dishes directly to manager were never met. Was told on day 4 they couldn't clean because we had personal effects in room. Well ya, not going to keep my clothes in the car. Had police called because my husband was angry. After 4 days of nothing but excuses as to why they couldn't clean and me coming out of surgery, ya he was mad, manager blamed me because I couldn't take his call. I was going into the hospital for surgery when he called. They turned the AC off in the room and my dogs were in there. Overall horrible place, incompetent manager. Ended up leaving. My reservation was for 14 days left in day 4.

This hotel room (2 queen beds with sleeper sofa) was large and spacious. Good if you have limited choices. Overall cleanliness not impressive. Nonspecific light odor.

Hotel staff is great, room is very comfy, great water pressure in the shower,

Where to start - staff not friendly, smelly hallways - smokers in front of the building, no utensils in the room. Shower barely worked. Came back second day - bed not made and towels not picked up. When I mentioned this to the desk attendant upon checking out - was told they "don't provide this service" and "wasn't I told this upon checking In" The answer would be no I wasn't told and if I had been I wouldn't have stayed there.

Great weekend stay. Hotel was dog friendly. Staff was helpful.

Was fine for price! Bed wasn't that comfy but everything else was fine. Good location, good value for your money. They give you plates if you ask. Bathroom nice.

Overall, this hotel was ok. Ok, but not great. Nothing went wrong, the room was clean enough, etc. Location is fine if you're in the area on business at one of the many nearby offices. There is a shopping center about a mile away with a grocery store, coffee shop, print shop, and several cafes. Free wifi throughout the hotel - the connection is fine during the day when most guests are out, but in the evenings when everyone is online, it slows down considerably. I do have to complain about the mattress, though - that thing was awful. It's only redeeming quality was that it provided extra incentive to wake up early just so I could get out of that bed. The staff was polite but always seemed very distracted. There is a small breakfast setup in the lobby in the mornings - coffee, packaged muffins, oatmeal packets, and I think some fruit. My suggestions for the management would be to consider the needs of your guests more carefully. I repeatedly found myself looking around for items that are often provided by other similar hotel chains. Some ideas: - basic small set of kitchenware so that the kitchenette is useable (sorry, I didn't think I needed to pack my own frying pan so I could make an egg, or a knife to slice a bagel) - silverware in the kitchen - napkins - a pad and pen next to the phone - shampoo in the bathroom etc. Overall -- this place was acceptable for the price, but was functional only -- not especially comfortable or inviting.

It was clean and nice hotel. But, there are not many things to do around the hotel.

If your staying for a few days this is great. There is a kitchen with a fridge, stove, (no oven) and a microwave. The room had a king bed decent bathroom with a separate dressing area, sink, and closet. We had a couch that makes a double bed in an adjoining area to the bedroom with a TV. The kitchen is added making an L-shaped room. Don't expect daily cleanings though unless you want to pay extra. They only clean once a week for room price. Bring an extra bar of soap or pay for what you need during the week. Of course they start you out with all you need for one night. Some dishes are there but not much.

2621 Research Blvd Rockville MD

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities

Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville places you within a few miles (5 km) of Beall-Dawson Historic House Museum and Stone Street Medical Museum. This hotel has 134 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. It's also near Peerless Rockville Historic Preservation and Montgomery County Agricultural Fairgrounds.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

The 134 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards are other standard amenities. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Guests of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville enjoy free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. There's free parking if you drive. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests.

Room options

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 6

Deluxe Studio, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Washington

Everyone (5) Couples (3) Business (1) Family (1)
3

not a good hotel for families.

Everyone

Clean rooms but beds not comfortable. No bedding for sleep sofa until requesting it. Breakfast was a joke. Pre packaged muffin high in sugar. Coffee was gone by 8 am. No cups even after requesting. Envelopes of sweetened oatmeal but no milk or bowls or cups. No juice. Place is run down.

By on Jul 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 17, 2017

We're truly sorry your stay was less than satisfactory and that we were unable to meet all of your expectations. We have taken a note for your concerns to ensure a review of our procedures. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you better. Sincerely, General Manager

1

horrible experience

Everyone

Urine soaked Sofa bed, requests for cleaning and dishes directly to manager were never met. Was told on day 4 they couldn't clean because we had personal effects in room. Well ya, not going to keep my clothes in the car. Had police called because my husband was angry. After 4 days of nothing but excuses as to why they couldn't clean and me coming out of surgery, ya he was mad, manager blamed me because I couldn't take his call. I was going into the hospital for surgery when he called. They turned the AC off in the room and my dogs were in there. Overall horrible place, incompetent manager. Ended up leaving. My reservation was for 14 days left in day 4.

By on Jun 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We take these matters very seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future. General Manager

3
Everyone

This hotel room (2 queen beds with sleeper sofa) was large and spacious. Good if you have limited choices. Overall cleanliness not impressive. Nonspecific light odor.

By on Apr 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2017

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We are glad you had an overall pleasant stay and that you liked your room. That being said, I apologize for the smell you experienced during your stay. We work hard to provide a clean environment and I will follow up on your concerns to ensure we are more diligent in our efforts. Thank you for your candid feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, General Manager

5

nice, quiet, great place

Everyone

Hotel staff is great, room is very comfy, great water pressure in the shower,

By on Feb 16, 2017

1

worst stay ever

Everyone

Where to start - staff not friendly, smelly hallways - smokers in front of the building, no utensils in the room. Shower barely worked. Came back second day - bed not made and towels not picked up. When I mentioned this to the desk attendant upon checking out - was told they "don't provide this service" and "wasn't I told this upon checking In" The answer would be no I wasn't told and if I had been I wouldn't have stayed there.

By , from DC on Jun 10, 2016

5

great weekend stay.

Families

Great weekend stay. Hotel was dog friendly. Staff was helpful.

By on Oct 16, 2015

3

was fine

Couples

Was fine for price! Bed wasn't that comfy but everything else was fine. Good location, good value for your money. They give you plates if you ask. Bathroom nice.

By on Feb 4, 2015

3

not bad, but needs a little something

BusinessTravelers

Overall, this hotel was ok. Ok, but not great. Nothing went wrong, the room was clean enough, etc. Location is fine if you're in the area on business at one of the many nearby offices. There is a shopping center about a mile away with a grocery store, coffee shop, print shop, and several cafes. Free wifi throughout the hotel - the connection is fine during the day when most guests are out, but in the evenings when everyone is online, it slows down considerably. I do have to complain about the mattress, though - that thing was awful. It's only redeeming quality was that it provided extra incentive to wake up early just so I could get out of that bed. The staff was polite but always seemed very distracted. There is a small breakfast setup in the lobby in the mornings - coffee, packaged muffins, oatmeal packets, and I think some fruit. My suggestions for the management would be to consider the needs of your guests more carefully. I repeatedly found myself looking around for items that are often provided by other similar hotel chains. Some ideas: - basic small set of kitchenware so that the kitchenette is useable (sorry, I didn't think I needed to pack my own frying pan so I could make an egg, or a knife to slice a bagel) - silverware in the kitchen - napkins - a pad and pen next to the phone - shampoo in the bathroom etc. Overall -- this place was acceptable for the price, but was functional only -- not especially comfortable or inviting.

By on Jul 26, 2012

3

clean and nice hotel

Couples

It was clean and nice hotel. But, there are not many things to do around the hotel.

By on May 29, 2011

4

good value

Couples

If your staying for a few days this is great. There is a kitchen with a fridge, stove, (no oven) and a microwave. The room had a king bed decent bathroom with a separate dressing area, sink, and closet. We had a couch that makes a double bed in an adjoining area to the bedroom with a TV. The kitchen is added making an L-shaped room. Don't expect daily cleanings though unless you want to pay extra. They only clean once a week for room price. Bring an extra bar of soap or pay for what you need during the week. Of course they start you out with all you need for one night. Some dishes are there but not much.

By on Aug 29, 2010