Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I’ve had better amenities on camping trips. The light fixture cover was missing, no Wi-Fi, there were only two towels, NO HOT WATER (really, cold water only) I called to report. The front desk said he’d get someone up. No one showed. The next morning, I reported this to the front desk. No apology, just a surly “Nothing I can do.” We then packed up and went to load the car. About half of the parking lot lighting was burned out. AVOID THIS PROPERTY LIKE THE PLAGUE.

Location is very nice and convenient. But it is not maintained inside and outside. Filthy dirty floors everywhere except it is much better in the room. bathroom are outdates that rust and dirt is 50 years old. Stinks like trash on the first floor. Pees in the garage.

just 4 words !! dirty - roach - disrepair - expensive

This is an OK hotel. TV is small and the remotes work very slowly. No tissues in bathroom, no shampoo or conditioner. Had to ask for towels since they provided only one bath towel. Carper in hallway was molded and smelly. Only one blanket on one of the beds. the other bed had only sheets. Pool is small and loaded with chlorine, so much so its was dark green! Beautiful ocean front scenery though ..........

Run away!!! $400 /night for this?!? We should have known better when you first walk into lobby to go towards room the locks are busted out on front doors. Good luck getting service at restaurant-we had to leave and go elsewhere-yet the people in front of us was allowed to get the buffet and we were told we couldn’t when seated and no one came after that. The maintenance staff was spraying blue paint on tables and chairs outside next to my car when I checked in and when I came out my husband had to ask them for a towel and he was trying to wipe the paint off-no one helped us-I had to tell them to stop painting! We spent 2 hours, a car wash, 2nd hand wipe down, $94 at auto zone for chemicals and rags, 3rd wipe down in goo gone in the hot sun, 2nd car wash, and 4th wipe down (got most but not all paint off). We went back to hotel and Mgr Zach from maintenance didn’t wait around for us, Mgr of front desk Nikki only wanted to give me $100 credit on stay and I told her that just covered what I spent on materials-not including our time and labor and ruining our vacay…she said well I can do $165 but that’s it and the GM isn’t in until Monday. What a joke. We were so tired by this point we went out to eat dinner and we finally went to our room. Omg!!! Black mold in sink and shower, stains in hallways, in our room carpet, our bed base was broken, it stunk of mildew and dog and something else…, cigarettes and trash left on balcony, stains on sheets, cockroaches….don’t stay here!!!

The place is a dump. Really dirty, not just the room but the hallways and elevators. We asked for clean towels on both days of our stay( we made 3 attempts) we never got them. My husband had to go get them himself. They don’t care about the guests. Bring your own bottle of bleach to spray the molded bathroom and disgusting toilet. Everything was horrible, never again…

We stayed for 3days. There was no maid service. The water ran all the time in the bathroom. The elevator broke once. There was a leak in the ceiling above the window. The beds were full of sand. It smelled moldy. And like dog pee! We had to ask for clean towels . They were supposed to bring them to the room and did. It was overall awful . Would not recommend. Would like to have partial refund or something. It was truly awful!

Garage

Is ok

Buyer Beware! For the cost of your stay, you'll get a dirty room and stained sheets, no towels, dirty hallways and elevators, and a pixelated, almost unwatchable TV. Any complaint will be met by an indifferent, hostile staff. I understand there are staffing shortages, but maybe they should only sell only enough rooms that they can properly service.

Room was very dirty, bathrooms only had 3 towels (reserved for 4 adults), dated, poor communication in case of emergency with guests. There is a restaurant in the lower level, unfortunately due to condition the hotel is we didn't feel like restaurant would be any better, but if we stayed longer we may have give it a chance. Free parking, has pool, ocean view.

More cleaner

Even though it seemed like we would have a bad experience when checking in

I paid nearly $300 for an Oceanview room on a weekday in the summer, and was very disappointed in the conditions at the hotel. The common areas were dirty and not well taken care of. The elevators were dirty and gross. There was trash in the hallways and they smelled! The room itself was unexpectedly nice compared to the common areas - except for the bathroom. The tub had black mold and drained super slowly, so as I showered, I was standing in a puddle of water up to my ankles. The atmosphere was disappointing as well. Guests were constantly letting doors slam loudly throughout the day, morning, and night. People were either smoking in their rooms or on the balcony and the smoke drafted into my room, so my room smelled like cigarette smoke. The people in the next room were loud, arguing, and had a screaming baby, which obviously isn't the hotel's fault - but the door connecting our rooms allowed the noise to come into my room; it was as if we were in the same room. The only thing that helped somewhat was turning on the fan. I had a horrible night's sleep due to the noise and smoke. To top it off, the hotel charged me for the full price of the room when I had already paid for the room in full through Orbitz. They said there was something wrong with their new system and that I would be refunded, but in the meantime, the $300 was debited from my bank account. I would not recommend staying here unless you are comfortable with discomfort.

Do not stay here! I arrived at 4:30 to check in and I waited 50 minutes in line. There was only 1 person working at the desk. Patrons in front and behind me talked about how their rooms weren’t ready and were in line for the second time. The elevators were dirty and the halls needed cleaning too. The room was spacious and what I booked, so thank goodness for that. However we did not have any towels. We tried to call down to the office and the phone in the room was broken. I called from my cell and they said they’d send them up. Never showed. My husband went down and got the same thing. The next morning, he tried again and we finally got towels and wash cloths at 11:30 am the next day after check out. We never got anything from housekeeping after that. No cleaning no fresh towel, etc. We also learning all the ice machines in the hotel were broken. Thankfully the restaurant gave us some! The restaurant was the only bright spot- staff hustled and the food was great. We told the waitress and she was thankful but also said they were a different company.

Dont waste time and money. Not clean, roaches, staff unresponsive.

I absolutely hated the property. The bed was broken, the room had ants everywhere. And above all we had NO HOT WATER

2 hour delay to check in, no towels in room, no trash can, coffee maker didn’t work, hotel was old and dated

Atlantic Ave Virginia Beach VA

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Virginia Beach Boardwalk
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free valet and self parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in Northeast Virginia Beach within a mile (2 km) of Virginia Beach Boardwalk, Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as First Landing State Park. This 3-star hotel has 244 guestrooms and offers conveniences like a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and free valet parking.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. Start each morning with cooked-to-order breakfast, available for a fee from 6:30 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

All 244 rooms feature balconies or patios, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Hair dryers, safes, and ironing boards are also standard.


Property features

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront features free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a business center. Free valet and self parking are available, and there's also a free area shuttle. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with luggage storage, concierge services, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a seasonal outdoor pool, a microwave in a common area, and a computer station.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Mobility)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Oceanfront

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Oceanfront (Mobility)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed (Non-Oceanfront)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Everyone (27) Couples (15) Family (34)
1
Family

I’ve had better amenities on camping trips. The light fixture cover was missing, no Wi-Fi, there were only two towels, NO HOT WATER (really, cold water only) I called to report. The front desk said he’d get someone up. No one showed. The next morning, I reported this to the front desk. No apology, just a surly “Nothing I can do.” We then packed up and went to load the car. About half of the parking lot lighting was burned out. AVOID THIS PROPERTY LIKE THE PLAGUE.

By on Oct 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 13, 2021

While we are grateful that you chose our hotel in your travel plans, we hope you will accept our sincere apology regarding your recent experience and the unexpected lacking warm water in your room. This is not the standard level of service and attention we expect our guests to receive and will be following up with our staff immediately to discuss this. Guest feedback is important to us as we want all our visitors to have a relaxing, enjoyable time on the beach and while in the Virginia Beach area. Thank you for sharing your review and we appreciate your business.

1
Family

Location is very nice and convenient. But it is not maintained inside and outside. Filthy dirty floors everywhere except it is much better in the room. bathroom are outdates that rust and dirt is 50 years old. Stinks like trash on the first floor. Pees in the garage.

By on Sep 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2021

Olga, while we are pleased you enjoyed our convenient location here in Virginia Beach, we are sorry to see that you and your family did not have a more pleasant stay during your time at the beach with us. We appreciate and review all guest feedback, so thank you for taking the time to let us know about your overall experience. We will do our best to improve in the future as guest satisfaction is important to us. We do hope the rest of your time in Virginia Beach was well spent and you enjoyed our quiet north end at the oceanfront.

1
Everyone

By on Aug 25, 2021

1
Family with small children

just 4 words !! dirty - roach - disrepair - expensive

By on Aug 24, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2021

Thank you for staying with us recently, Gerardo, however we do sincerely apologize that your trip to the beach was not what you were expecting. Guests occasionally leave balcony doors open to listen to the ocean, which unfortunately allows in some unwanted insects. Please rest assured that we do monitor the hotel and work with a pest control company year-round and will most certainly contact them to research your comments. Guest satisfaction is a priority for us, so your concerns will be shared and addressed with our team quickly.

3
Family with small children

This is an OK hotel. TV is small and the remotes work very slowly. No tissues in bathroom, no shampoo or conditioner. Had to ask for towels since they provided only one bath towel. Carper in hallway was molded and smelly. Only one blanket on one of the beds. the other bed had only sheets. Pool is small and loaded with chlorine, so much so its was dark green! Beautiful ocean front scenery though ..........

By on Aug 23, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2021

Having the beach at your doorstep makes for a nice relaxing time in our secluded section of the beach, Richard. We hope you loved waking to the beautiful ocean views and found our back patio area a comfortable place to sit with a good book or cocktail. We do apologize you did not find our property in the optimal condition we strive for each day and are glad you found some value in our location. Please come back and visit with us again. Thank you.

3
Family

By on Aug 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 17, 2021

Thank you and we appreciate your taking the time to review our oceanfront property here in Virginia Beach. Guests enjoy our semi-private beach away from the hustle and bustle of the oceanfront and we provide free parking for our guests. We hope you and your family had a nice vacation and took part in many great beach activities such as dolphin tours and parasailing. We do hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Thank you for your business.

1
Family with small children

Run away!!! $400 /night for this?!? We should have known better when you first walk into lobby to go towards room the locks are busted out on front doors. Good luck getting service at restaurant-we had to leave and go elsewhere-yet the people in front of us was allowed to get the buffet and we were told we couldn’t when seated and no one came after that. The maintenance staff was spraying blue paint on tables and chairs outside next to my car when I checked in and when I came out my husband had to ask them for a towel and he was trying to wipe the paint off-no one helped us-I had to tell them to stop painting! We spent 2 hours, a car wash, 2nd hand wipe down, $94 at auto zone for chemicals and rags, 3rd wipe down in goo gone in the hot sun, 2nd car wash, and 4th wipe down (got most but not all paint off). We went back to hotel and Mgr Zach from maintenance didn’t wait around for us, Mgr of front desk Nikki only wanted to give me $100 credit on stay and I told her that just covered what I spent on materials-not including our time and labor and ruining our vacay…she said well I can do $165 but that’s it and the GM isn’t in until Monday. What a joke. We were so tired by this point we went out to eat dinner and we finally went to our room. Omg!!! Black mold in sink and shower, stains in hallways, in our room carpet, our bed base was broken, it stunk of mildew and dog and something else…, cigarettes and trash left on balcony, stains on sheets, cockroaches….don’t stay here!!!

By on Aug 9, 2021

1
Family

The place is a dump. Really dirty, not just the room but the hallways and elevators. We asked for clean towels on both days of our stay( we made 3 attempts) we never got them. My husband had to go get them himself. They don’t care about the guests. Bring your own bottle of bleach to spray the molded bathroom and disgusting toilet. Everything was horrible, never again…

By on Aug 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 4, 2021

We are sorry that your visit did not reflect the quality and level of service we hoped to provide you during your recent oceanfront stay. Our staff has been working hard to offer guests with comfortable accommodations and friendly hospitality during this high occupancy summer timeframe. Proper staffing for us, along with many other hotels and businesses, has been a challenge. We do apologize that you didn’t have a better experience with us but hope you did enjoy the Virginia Beach area and all it has to offer.

1
Family

We stayed for 3days. There was no maid service. The water ran all the time in the bathroom. The elevator broke once. There was a leak in the ceiling above the window. The beds were full of sand. It smelled moldy. And like dog pee! We had to ask for clean towels . They were supposed to bring them to the room and did. It was overall awful . Would not recommend. Would like to have partial refund or something. It was truly awful!

By on Jul 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2021

Thank you for your helpful comments as we strive to provide our guests optimal levels of service and quality accommodations. It is truly disheartening to read that your recent experience was anything less than satisfactory. We are sorry for any inconvenience with the level of quality in our hotel and in your room accommodations and that it interfered with you having a better time here at the beach. Despite some setbacks, we do hope that you were still able to enjoy our quiet stretch of sand on the north-end and had fun while exploring the oceanfront area.

1
Family

Garage

By on Jul 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2021

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Virginia Beach in your travel plans. We are sorry to see that your experience was not better enjoyed as we hoped it would have been. If there was anything, we could have done to make your stay better, we do hope you gave our staff the opportunity to make it right while you were here on property. Hopefully, your time visiting the Virginia Beach area and nearby attractions was pleasant for you.

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

5700 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h8175-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h8175-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h8175-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions