Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Parking garage for the hotel was not clearly defined.

My room was not clean. Bathroom shower was very disgusting, however staff was great in getting me a new room. However, new room had broken outlets.

Clean

The view Customer Service was great didn’t have many cable channels phone didn’t work room was small

Beautiful hotel. Great service. Would definitely stay again!

unsafe conditions during renovation, no signage directing guests, poor lighting, escalator from second floor broken. no access to 2nd floor by elevator , lounge on second floor closed, could hear construction noise on 12th floor

I booked this hotel mainly because of its location and because I'm a Marriott rewards member. The location is perfect. It overlooks the Elizabeth River, is within walking distance of so many restaurants, bars, and shops, and parking is easy. When I stayed, the hotel was undergoing some major renovations so it didn't look very inviting. I didn't mind this much because the room was upgraded and very nice. There were just other parts of the hotel that was under construction like some hallways, corridors, the walkway to the elevator, etc. The staff was very nice. Check in was fast. Had trouble contacting room service so I had to go downstairs to the restaurant for food; that was a little annoying. The bed was comfy. I'd recommend staying here, especially when the renovations are done.

I was VERY disappointed that the spa tub was not working! I would not have paid 300+ a night had I known it was not working.

Nice hotel with a good view of waterside in Norfolk

Good location. Property is old and in need of remodeling. Room seemed as if it was in the middle of construction.

Nice room working was cool would stay again ..................................................

After my flight was canceled, I booked (and paid for) a 2-double bed room. When I arrived, I was put in a hospitality suite with a Murphy bed and a pullout sofa. The room smelled and the bathroom was moldy. No discount or refund of the $310 room. The receptionist gave us free breakfast. This is my second bad experience in this hotel.

Walking distance to Waterside. Close proximity to the Expressway to get you to Virginia Beach and the airport.

While we were only spent one night in town, we accomplished a lot. We arrived to a welcoming hotel staff and were placed in a room overlooking the water. The room was spacious and very clean. We enjoyed appetizers in the bar and moved on to a great concert minutes away. Upon our return, we endulged with a few late night snacks across the street from the hotel. You will be completely satisfied staying at this property. Great location, wonderful rooms, excellent restaurant and caring staff.

No one. Lean the room at all and had to get tower and to refill the coffe and sugar.

This hotel was convenient for our purposes. We expected to find a working refrigerator and microwave, as we did there previously, but none were found. A staff member did bring a frig to our room but it didn't cool. Very frustrating.

It's a beautiful hotel. Front desk staff very professional and courteous

E Main St Norfolk VA

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Norfolk Scope
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Indoor pool

Located in Downtown Norfolk, Norfolk Waterside Marriott is adjacent to Waterside Festival Marketplace and within a 15-minute walk of popular sights like Harbor Park. This 407-room, 3.5-star hotel has a restaurant, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. It's connected to the convention center in central Norfolk and also close to Norfolk Scope and Chrysler Hall.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with buffet breakfast, available for a fee from 6:30 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

All 407 recently renovated rooms feature coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and free local calls. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 55-inch LCD TVs with cable channels and Netflix. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include ironing boards and desks.


Property features

Guests of Norfolk Waterside Marriott have access to an indoor pool, a gym, and a rooftop terrace. Self parking is offered for USD 20 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with securing valuables, dry cleaning/laundry, and concierge services. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, City View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, City View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, River View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, River View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Everyone (15) Business (4) Couples (10) Family (8) Friends (2)
5
Business Business

Parking garage for the hotel was not clearly defined.

By on Nov 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2021

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! In regarding for the parking garage we do have a valet that can help you to park and unload for your luggage and both of our garage is under City of Norfolk that connected in the hotel. We're hoping to host you again in the future

3
Family Family with small children

My room was not clean. Bathroom shower was very disgusting, however staff was great in getting me a new room. However, new room had broken outlets.

By on Sep 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 30, 2021

Hello, we are sorry to hear that you experienced this while with us in downtown Norfolk. We will address these concerns immediately. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future.

5
Family

Clean

By on Jun 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 20, 2021

Thank you for your feedback!

3
Everyone

The view Customer Service was great didn’t have many cable channels phone didn’t work room was small

By on Mar 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2021

Thank you for taking your time to commend us on our service! We appreciate your feedback and I will be reported the cable and phone issues with our team. We hope to see you in the future if you return to the area.

5
Partner Couples

Beautiful hotel. Great service. Would definitely stay again!

By on Jan 25, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 25, 2020

Dear Guest, it was our pleasure welcoming you to Norfolk Waterside Marriott. We are pleased to know you were impressed with our modern property as well as the excellent service provided by our associates. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Norfolk. Sam Parry, CRDE Front Office Manager

3
Everyone

By on Nov 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 4, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

5
Everyone

By on Aug 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for rating your stay at Norfolk Waterside Marriott. Nothing is more important than your satisfaction, so we are delighted you gave us a perfect score. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sam Parry, CRDE Front Office Manager

2
Everyone

unsafe conditions during renovation, no signage directing guests, poor lighting, escalator from second floor broken. no access to 2nd floor by elevator , lounge on second floor closed, could hear construction noise on 12th floor

By on Aug 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 24, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are currently redesigning our hotel, and we want to apologies for the challenges and inconveniences this caused. We hope you will choose to stay with us again so as to experience our refreshed and remodeled property. Sam Parry, CRDE Front Office Manager

4
Partner Couples Family

I booked this hotel mainly because of its location and because I'm a Marriott rewards member. The location is perfect. It overlooks the Elizabeth River, is within walking distance of so many restaurants, bars, and shops, and parking is easy. When I stayed, the hotel was undergoing some major renovations so it didn't look very inviting. I didn't mind this much because the room was upgraded and very nice. There were just other parts of the hotel that was under construction like some hallways, corridors, the walkway to the elevator, etc. The staff was very nice. Check in was fast. Had trouble contacting room service so I had to go downstairs to the restaurant for food; that was a little annoying. The bed was comfy. I'd recommend staying here, especially when the renovations are done.

By on Jul 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for recommending Norfolk Waterside Marriott to future travelers and for being loyal to our brand. We are glad you liked our attentive staff and comfortable beds. We are especially happy to read you enjoyed our ideal location and the energizing views of Elizabeth River from our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Norfolk. Sam Parry, CRDE Front Office Manager

3
Partner Couples

I was VERY disappointed that the spa tub was not working! I would not have paid 300+ a night had I known it was not working.

By on Jul 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 4, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry for the maintenance issues you described in your bathroom, which led to the disappointment while you were here. Your concerns have been shared with appropriate individuals to improve going forward. We hope to welcome you back soon for a much-improved experience. Sam Parry, CRDE Front Office Manager

Norfolk Waterside Marriott

235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Norfolk-Hotels-Norfolk-Waterside-Marriott.h14905-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Norfolk-Hotels-Norfolk-Waterside-Marriott.h14905-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Norfolk-Hotels-Norfolk-Waterside-Marriott.h14905-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions