Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The building was older but was really nice

Neat older hotel.

It was very antique feel the room was really nice. WiFi sucked did not get any signal the whole stay. And when i asked why they had to keep a card on file when i checked in was because of any “damages”. When i checked out, i was surprised to have to pay for parking $31 for valet and you have no choice but to valet park. I was upset about the charge because they didn’t make it clear at check in or online

Shockingly bad. Room filthy floors/baseboards, caked on dust and hair in all the corners. Old sheets with thread-pills. Mgr Matt charged Visa twice for same room and didn’t catch the error, resulting in extensive wasted time. TV broken. Staff unresponsive by phone & rude. Entire 2nd floor reeks due to pot use by staff in one of the rooms. It stays open so they can come in and out when they smoke. Food took 1.5 hours - cold pizza, wilted lettuce w/forgotten dressing, burrata ruined because of delayed delivery, no cutlery to eat it. The property is charming but neglect & poor quality staff ruined the visit. This is sad because the hotel has potential with the right management because it is an historic property. The manager/concierge seemed checked out and unable to handle even a light Sunday night.

The queen beds are not queen beds. They are full beds. This may be a minor item for some folks, but it is a meaningful difference. Also, the air conditioner thermostat did not work in our room, so we either had to leave the A/C on all night (which we did) or leave it off all night.

It was a nice hotel built in early 1900s. I appreciate that San Antonio still has hotels like these instead of tearing them down. The location is on a quieter area of the riverwalk, which is perfect. It's next to La Villita which has cute shops. There's only valet parking. The rooms itself has older decorations. I think its like very, but some furniture the fabric is worn and I think should be reupholstered. Lighting is also dated. Rooms are dark, because they are only lit with lamps. You have to open the curtains for more light, but during the night it's hard to see. The staff was very friendly.

The hotel itself is very charming and the people were great. However, staying there 4 nights and not once getting the room cleaned was pretty gross. They left fresh towels every day...and that's it. The floors, sink, or bed was not cleaned once. That's not ok. Not to mention the day I got there, I went to open the curtains and they came crashing down on me, then I watched a cockroach climb into them. Yikes.

The employees steal from your room as well from the vallet personnel. Plus serious roach and mice problem.........The hotel is a big waste of money. STAY AWAY

We had a very nice view, and we were on the corner, which made our room very quiet. close to the tower of the Americas which was the reason for our stay.

Very quite hotel and close to Riverwalk. Enjoyed our stay.

First time to stay here but no the last. Nice boutique hotel close to the river walk and was very reasonably priced.

As I was searching for hotel rooms with 2 queen beds in each room- since there were 7 of us attending a conference at the convention center- I kept coming back to the Fairmont. It had everything we needed as far as beds and closeness to the convention center/ the Riverwalk and downtown. Yes- it is an older hotel but we didn't spend a lot of time in the rooms. No- there is not parking but the staff did park our rental vehicle that we had for a couple of days. No- there is not a pool but as I said- we didn't spend a lot of time in the rooms to even worry about a pool. The walk to the convention center would have been easier except there was construction happening right at the convention center so there was a little further to walk but not a problem. The staff were very helpful in answering our many questions- good places to eat/ to see. I'm sure they were glad when the 7 "school lunch ladies" left- lol!! I would certainly return and take advantage of their hospitality!!

We booked the Fairmount because it was an older hotel that was located near the Riverwalk and the Tower of the Americas.

This place is charming and unusual, but needs alot of TLC. Reminds me of New Orleans French Quarter. Might be a 2.5 or 3 star. A 4 star it is not !

Old heating system, did not work, it was a very cold night.

The ambience of the hotel was very classy and elegant almost as if going back to a different era, the location is perfect very convenient for shopping, food, and places to go for activities I would definitely stay again.

S Alamo Street San Antonio TX

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Concierge services

Located in Downtown San Antonio, The Fairmount Hotel is next to Mexican Cultural Institute and Magik Theater. This 37-room, 4-star hotel has 2 restaurants along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a rooftop terrace.


Dining

Enjoy dining at Nonna Osteria, one of 2 onsite restaurants.


Rooms

The Fairmount Hotel's 37 individually decorated rooms provide coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Beds sport Egyptian cotton sheets and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Desks are also included.


Property features

Guests of The Fairmount Hotel enjoy a rooftop terrace, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Valet parking is available for USD 29 per night, and there's also limo/town car service. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with concierge services, dry cleaning/laundry, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a gift shop, wedding services, and a porter/bellhop.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Double Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Lanai

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Suite, Lanai

1 King Bed | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Fairmount Hotel

Everyone (11) Couples (3) Family (1)
4
Partner Couples

The building was older but was really nice

By on Aug 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 31, 2021

Thank you for staying with us.

4
Everyone

Neat older hotel.

By on Jul 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2021

Thank you for staying with us.

4
Family

It was very antique feel the room was really nice. WiFi sucked did not get any signal the whole stay. And when i asked why they had to keep a card on file when i checked in was because of any “damages”. When i checked out, i was surprised to have to pay for parking $31 for valet and you have no choice but to valet park. I was upset about the charge because they didn’t make it clear at check in or online

By on Jul 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. The wi-fi issue is being addressed and will be corrected immediately. We will work with our front desk staff to make sure that they explain the the credit card on file is for incidentals such as dining, bar etc. and not damages. As well as explaining the parking and there is a charge and possible other options. Thank you for sharing these training opportunities.

1
Friends

Shockingly bad. Room filthy floors/baseboards, caked on dust and hair in all the corners. Old sheets with thread-pills. Mgr Matt charged Visa twice for same room and didn’t catch the error, resulting in extensive wasted time. TV broken. Staff unresponsive by phone & rude. Entire 2nd floor reeks due to pot use by staff in one of the rooms. It stays open so they can come in and out when they smoke. Food took 1.5 hours - cold pizza, wilted lettuce w/forgotten dressing, burrata ruined because of delayed delivery, no cutlery to eat it. The property is charming but neglect & poor quality staff ruined the visit. This is sad because the hotel has potential with the right management because it is an historic property. The manager/concierge seemed checked out and unable to handle even a light Sunday night.

By on Jun 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2021

Thank you for the feedback! I appreciate the opportunity to clarify a couple items you had mentioned. We 100% dropped the ball on your food order - I sincerely wish you had accepted my offer to have it remade; I take no pride in serving cold food. It was immediately comped right there and then as soon as I had identified the issue. To the other items you address, The Fairmount is a non-smoking property (marijuana or otherwise), and we take such a policy very seriously. I have identified that guests were smoking in one of the rooms, and I have responded to it accordingly, however the allegation that my staff was involved in any way is both patently false and quite frankly, rather distasteful. Again, I make no excuses for the misstep we had with your food service, as well as the status of your room (I do inspect every room prior to check-in. I'm always looking for opportunities to improve). I apologized then, and I apologize again now. I understand given everything that had occurred that you weren't feeling particularly amenable to the solutions I had presented you with. I hope in the future we have the opportunity to get everything 100% right with you.

2
Partner Couples

The queen beds are not queen beds. They are full beds. This may be a minor item for some folks, but it is a meaningful difference. Also, the air conditioner thermostat did not work in our room, so we either had to leave the A/C on all night (which we did) or leave it off all night.

By on Jun 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to respond, I will share with the appropriate staff members.

4

historic hotel close to riverwalk

Everyone

It was a nice hotel built in early 1900s. I appreciate that San Antonio still has hotels like these instead of tearing them down. The location is on a quieter area of the riverwalk, which is perfect. It's next to La Villita which has cute shops. There's only valet parking. The rooms itself has older decorations. I think its like very, but some furniture the fabric is worn and I think should be reupholstered. Lighting is also dated. Rooms are dark, because they are only lit with lamps. You have to open the curtains for more light, but during the night it's hard to see. The staff was very friendly.

By , from houston on Nov 20, 2017

2

maybe if someone ever cleaned the room...

Everyone

The hotel itself is very charming and the people were great. However, staying there 4 nights and not once getting the room cleaned was pretty gross. They left fresh towels every day...and that's it. The floors, sink, or bed was not cleaned once. That's not ok. Not to mention the day I got there, I went to open the curtains and they came crashing down on me, then I watched a cockroach climb into them. Yikes.

By on Jul 3, 2017

1

the worst hotel ever

Everyone

The employees steal from your room as well from the vallet personnel. Plus serious roach and mice problem.........The hotel is a big waste of money. STAY AWAY

By on May 18, 2017

3
Couples

We had a very nice view, and we were on the corner, which made our room very quiet. close to the tower of the Americas which was the reason for our stay.

By on Dec 12, 2016

5

great hotel near the riverwalk.

Everyone

Very quite hotel and close to Riverwalk. Enjoyed our stay.

By , from DFW on Nov 28, 2016

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Antonio-Hotels-The-Fairmount-Hotel.h15105-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Antonio-Hotels-The-Fairmount-Hotel.h15105-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Antonio-Hotels-The-Fairmount-Hotel.h15105-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions