Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hotel Modera

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Stay was good. Bathtub needed to be replaced and they didn't stock soap before we got into the room

Great central location - friendly staff for sure - nice comfortable beds

We arrived two hours before check in but were able to take advantage of valet parking. The staff offered and stored our bags so we didn't have to go haul them later. From there we left on foot to downtown, just a 15 min walk. Staff warned us of chance of rain and lent us an umbrella which I'm still extremely thankful for, it saved us! Will be staying here next time.

Very nice but room a little stuffy - could use better circulation. Maybe our fault for not running the ac/heater properly.

Our room was a little loud due to street noise but otherwise fun hotel with good location.

The Modera is very comfortable, with rooms that go beyond the average hotel room in terms of decoration. Furnishings are like those of any normal room, however, and sometimes a bit worn.

This motel is a fully remodeled old Days Inn (or something like that).. beds are comfortable, decor is top notch, and staff are ready and willing to make your stay great. The only complaint we had was that the rooms were quite small.

So convenient for the business we were in town for. Clean, modern, boutique feel.

The hotel was very nice. They brought me a bottle of complimentary wine and left a personalized note for me. They helped with all needs.

It was good overall, but there is still room to improve the amenities. Front desk and guest service are excellent.

I was very pleased with my stay at Hotel Modera and even more thrilled with the city. The hotel was cozy, clean, central and accommodating. The staff was always so pleasant to interact with! The room was just what I needed for myself and a decent size. I felt at home and slept well (which rarely happens and is hard for me to do when it's not my own bed). The Nel Centro cafe inside of the hotel was pretty delicious and the service was good. I loved being downtown and having the luxury of being able to walk around everywhere. EVERYTHING is pretty much walking distance within this area. Overall a fantastic experience with my hotel stay AND the city!

We were there two weekends ago during a cold spell. Our room was freezing upon entering. We turned up the temperature and the fan but it felt like the AC was blowing. When we called the front desk, the hotel repair person came up and brought us a space heater. It appeared that all the guests had the heat on and the hotel vent/heating system was not able to handle the demand. The hotel staff ensure us the room will heat up soon by the space heater. We asked for a 2nd space heater. I could not walk barefeet as the carpeted floor was simply too cold. Both my husband (who normally runs hot) and I slept fully clothed (I kept my jacket on) and even used the robe out of the closet over me for more layer. I slept with the space heater as close as possible on the nightstand next to me. The room never warmed up even with 2 space heaters. The room was still cold in the morning. I have never experienced such a thing. How does a hotel stay in business without a functioning heating system? We had the room for 2 nights but checked out early in the morning. The only reason we stayed the first night was because we arrived at 10 pm after a full day on the road and we were too tired and it was too late to try to get another hotel at that time.

Decided to stay downtown after a Blazer game and glad I chose this hotel! Staff went above my expectations to make my stay a great one. Will choose Hotel Modera again when I have more time to explore the area.

Great location , outstanding staff and a terrific room for a fair price . Stayed here many times , my favorite place to stay in Portland ..

Great staff and location. Rooms were comfortable and clean

Great hotel, wonderful staff - I'd stay again and bring friends

Even we stayed only one night at the hotel, me and my husband really enjoyed this hotel. It's super conviniant and walkable to almost any place in Portland. The front desk people were super nice, like anyone else in Portland, and gave us bunch of recommendations for sightseeings in the city.

Pretty much like being at an upscale dormitory. Very expensive for what you get!

Weird split experience here. We (myself and one traveling partner) stayed twice within 1 week. We flew into Portland to travel around Oregon. Stayed 1st 2 nights and 1 day here. Location is fantastic. Downtown Portland is incredibly easy to navigate. Hotel: came in on a late flight, after the end of check-in. Staff was functional and welcoming there. Room was snug and quiet and easy to be comfortable in. Very easy come-and-go. Never checked out food and 'entertaining' options on first floor, looked pricey and aimed at pricier clientele than us. Very easy-on-eye interior. Nice to match up 'in the day' photos with actual Portland sites we took in. After hiking around Oregon, realized we needed a place for a last night stay. Also had a red-eye flying out. My spouse called from out-of-state while I was out hiking about and arranged a weekend night stay at a very fair price below the list price. They also agreed to a 1 hour later than usual checkout. All very cool and appreciated.When we needed to check out for the red-eye, they said they'd be happy to hold on to luggage while we waited for shuttle and checked out the town one last time. Again, very well handled, professional, and a very welcome way to help us manage our trip. Okay, so the one bad thing. When I showed up for the last night stay and signed in, I didn't read any fine print (idiocy of my own) but they charged me a different price than agreed. Spouse gets on phone and their claim 'Well, he signed. Too Bad.' Grrrrrr

515 Southwest Clay St Portland OR

Located in Downtown Portland, Hotel Modera is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Pioneer Courthouse Square and Portland State University. This 4-star hotel has 174 rooms and welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a 24-hour business center. Located in central Portland, the hotel is also near Moda Center and Tom McCall Waterfront Park.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Nel Centro, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning for a fee.


All of Hotel Modera's 174 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including iPod docks, refrigerators, and minibars. LCD TVs come with digital channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free newspapers, and free local calls.

Rooms


Hotel Modera features free WiFi in public areas, 5 meeting rooms, and conference space. Valet parking is available for USD 38.00 per night, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include a 24-hour business center, free use of bicycles, and a computer station.

Property features

Room options

Premier Room, 1 King Bed, City View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Premier Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Premier Room, King Bed with Garden View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Executive Room, 1 King Bed, City View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Hotel Modera

Everyone (31) Couples (99) Business (39) Family (22) Other (30) Friends (18)
4
Everyone

Stay was good. Bathtub needed to be replaced and they didn't stock soap before we got into the room

By on May 15, 2017

Review comment responded on May 17, 2017

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, our apologies for the issues with the room. We will make sure that the appropriate measures are taken to correct the problem. We hope to see you again next time you are in town.

5
Everyone

Great central location - friendly staff for sure - nice comfortable beds

By on Apr 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 21, 2017

Thank you for the kind words! Everyone on staff appreciates them and we hope to see you again soon. Have a great weekend!

5

very convenient and staff was so welcoming!

Everyone

We arrived two hours before check in but were able to take advantage of valet parking. The staff offered and stored our bags so we didn't have to go haul them later. From there we left on foot to downtown, just a 15 min walk. Staff warned us of chance of rain and lent us an umbrella which I'm still extremely thankful for, it saved us! Will be staying here next time.

By , from Yakima County on Apr 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 19, 2017

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to provide the best service to our guests, and it is our pleasure to do so. We've shared your detailed review with our staff, and it brought us great joy. If you are at all familiar with TripAdvisor.com we especially appreciate guest reviews! TripAdvisor is the foremost travel site in the world and if you have time, your voice would be invaluable. If there was anyone or anything that stood out, let us know! Please reach out to us next time you are in Portland. We are always here to serve you and are happy to get you the best possible room and rate. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future. Take care. Warm Regards, Guest Services - Hotel Modera

5
Everyone

Very nice but room a little stuffy - could use better circulation. Maybe our fault for not running the ac/heater properly.

By on Apr 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 24, 2017

Thank you for the review and sorry for the problems with the circulation. Next time please feel free to call down to the front desk 24 hours and we will have someone come take a look and get it working properly or get you into a new room. We're glad the small issue did not ruin the stay and appreciate the feedback. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

4
Everyone

Our room was a little loud due to street noise but otherwise fun hotel with good location.

By on Mar 28, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 26, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We will try to get you into a room facing our inner garden courtyard next time. They tend to be a bit more quiet. I hope we get to welcome you back soon.

4

good hotel, great restaurant

Everyone

The Modera is very comfortable, with rooms that go beyond the average hotel room in terms of decoration. Furnishings are like those of any normal room, however, and sometimes a bit worn.

By on Mar 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 25, 2017

Your response and rating is appreciated. Hotel Modera's central location is one of its biggest assets and one that will only be enhanced by the impending arrival of a fleet of bicycles which guests will be able to check out free of charge to explore the city. We hope to see you again and get another chance to earn all 5 stars.

4

small room with style

Everyone

This motel is a fully remodeled old Days Inn (or something like that).. beds are comfortable, decor is top notch, and staff are ready and willing to make your stay great. The only complaint we had was that the rooms were quite small.

By , from washington on Mar 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2017

Thank you for the very positive review. You are correct that we are a remodeled Days Inn and the building does have its limits but as a staff we do everything we can to minimize those problems and create great experiences which it sounds like you had. We hope to see you again next time you are in Portland!

5

so convenient

Everyone

So convenient for the business we were in town for. Clean, modern, boutique feel.

By on Mar 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2017

I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to make every guest experience comfortable and unique. I hope we see you again soon.

5

nice downtown area

Everyone

The hotel was very nice. They brought me a bottle of complimentary wine and left a personalized note for me. They helped with all needs.

By , from leesburg, fl on Feb 9, 2017

4

very nice staff!

Everyone

It was good overall, but there is still room to improve the amenities. Front desk and guest service are excellent.

By , from San Francisco on Feb 9, 2017