Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I understand we were there during off-peak - the hotels in this area have limited amount of time to work on their properties; however when we went to check into our room our door was standing wide open with wet paint signs everywhere. The sundry shop was closed for the season and the only option for anything to drink (we checked in really late - after 10:00pm) was vending - for which they didn't accept cash and 2 of the 3 would not work. It was also just old, new paint, doesn't fix old. Maybe if it were a different time of year my experience would have been different

The Wyndham was the perfect location for what we wanted. We didn't want to be in the center of all of the main tourist attractions but we were still close enough to drive down there for a nice dinner and site see. The hotel overall was fine and suited our needs perfectly but there were a few things I didn't love. The room was not as clean as I would have hoped. The furniture was grimy and had drink splatters on them. Literally the side of the nightstand looked like someone dropped a can of soda down the side and no one, not even housekeeping bothered to clean it up. There were also dark drink splatters on the dresser and table. It appears as if these items in the room never get wiped AT ALL. The mattresses were also very old and sunken in and the bathroom needs to scrubbed. The floor and wall were barely cleaned between guests. The indoor pool had algae on the inside despite a very strong chlorine smell. I expected more from this company in these areas. But there were many positives. Every staff member we encountered was very nice and pleasant. The restaurant in the hotel was convenient and the food wasn't bad. Overall we did have a very nice family getaway and I would recommend this hotel to friends and we wouldn't mind coming back at all. The view is amazing and waking up to dolphins jumping out of the water was wonderful. We will come back again, just hope they do a better job of cleaning next time.

No parking for guests during events. Room smelled like dog urine. Not enough towels. Not enough toilet paper.

? ? ? ?

I was supposed to have 2 beds because there were 4 of us. It was dirty and outdated. I left in less than 5 hours and went to another hotel. I chose a Wyndham and didn't mind paying extra because I wanted a nice comfortable stay- this was not that and not worth the money

The hotel is located about a mile from the main boardwalk area. It felt very safe, and was nice and quiet. The beach is great, the outdoor pool is ok. The rooms are very dated, our air conditioning just ran all the time, and could not be adjusted. The Ac in the halls was broken for three days. Vending machines stole money but it was refunded. If you want a couple of days in an over priced beach town, this is a good option. You just need a place to stay, and enjoy the beach, this works.

Elevators are very old and small the bedsheeets were dirty and so was the floor. Next morning went to go eat at the buffet downstairs and the food was disgusting. Dont even waste your money at that place. Waitress gave us a dirty table and didnt bother to clean until we asked him. Flys were all over the food especially the bread and fruits that were not covered. There was a hair in my bacon. My hole family wasted 12 dollers each.

Nice hotel Farr enough away from middle of downtown to be peaceful great for families. Fantastic views you can see the Dolphins swimming. Has movies at certain nights for kids on patio.easy access to pools and beach. Pet friendly. Short drive to downtown. Friendly staff. Just make sure you don't eat at their restaurant. Order pizza or try to find a restaurant that you can eat at. Very overpriced and not family oriented. All in all good place if you want to have a peaceful experience. Highly recommend victory rover tours. Short drive. Well worth the boat tour, and nautilus museum. Best part go on the battleship Wisconsin. All in same place. Walk the pier. Just remember places are worth the money, if you want to see it however food will be overpriced and not always good. Be careful and look up reviews on phone before you go.

I was disappointed with the condition of the hotel room. Carpet was showing wear and was worn at the sliding doors. Bathroom was dated and small, toilet paper holder was falling off. Hall windows were streaked and dirty. We could everyone talking in the hall.

This is a nice hotel, on the beach, but far off the boardwalk. Skip the concierge, they are just there to try to get you to do time share presentations. If you want to be able to walk the Atlantic Avenue shops or the boardwalk without finding parking, this is not for you. The restaurant in the hotel has a wonderful view but is EXCEPTIONALLY EXPENSIVE even for the beach.

I arrived at this hotel on March 30th 2016 and checked in, when I opened my hotel room both of my beds had hair on the sheets and I needed to call house keeping for changing out both beds with clean sheets..I was awaken by Security at 230am that my car window was busted..My glass in my back door was shattered with no evidence on who did it..The front desk couldn't wait to say they have a policy that says they are not responsible for any damage done to your car!!!!!...Also the indoor pool is very small and the jacuzzi is too..very misleading from the pictures that are posted online..This hotel is overrated by the name Wyndham and I would not ever stay here again...PLEASE if you stay here protect your vechile from vandalism by parking either in the garage or close to the front registration office!!!!!Please check your sheets and pillow cases as well!!! I wish someone would have warned me like I am warning you!!!

The room is a nice size and I love the view of the water

My daughter and I spent 3 nights here in between family visits in MD and VA. It was very relaxing and right on the beach! The staff were very friendly and helpful and I enjoyed getting the USA Today each day.

The entire hotel smelled like mold. I sneezed nonstop. They charged a lot of money for a very low scaled smelly room that is 3 miles off the boardwalk. I would never stay there again.

The room was ready. It was oceanfront and it was an amazing view. The only issue we encountered was room service. The first day we did not get it and the second day we called and requested it and when we got back to our room it was taken care of. Other than that it was great.

the amenities were not good...WiFi was terrible. Kind of far from boardwalk and stores. Concierge was very unhelpful but shuttle service was good. Breakfast buffet was good.

It was ok. Even though the hotel was a little off the main strip. It was nice and quiet. Whoever, the bed was to hard, air conditioning was much to noisy. The coffee pot was broken. On my second day staff didn't leave coffee pods or cups. On the last day the electrical outlet for the microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot and TV broke. So I couldn't watch tv or make coffee in the broken pot or heat up anything in the microwave. However everyone was very nice and pleasant.

Website indicated continental breakfast. Breakfast was only available at cost in the restaurant. Found the room to be a little dingy. TV was only moderate size and the picture was slightly fuzzy. View was lovely but overall felt we paid too much for only a so-so experience.

Poor cleaning and maintenance. Cockroach and spider in room. Lights burned out, ceiling in shower peeling away. Pool area dirty and littered with cigar buts. Pool overflows dump trash right into parking lot where guests walk and it wasn't cleaned. Spotty wi-fi. I will not be back.

We liked it! Room did not get cleaned without asking.

5700 Atlantic Ave Virginia Beach VA

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront places you within a leisurely stroll of Atlantic University and Edgar Cayce's Association for Research and Enlightenment. This 244-room, 3-star hotel has conveniences like an outdoor pool, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. It's on the beach and also near First Landing State Park and Hillier Ignite Fitness Park.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Surf Club Ocean Grille, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


All 244 air-conditioned rooms feature balconies or patios, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Other standard amenities include hair dryers, safes, and ironing boards.

Rooms


Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront features an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. Free valet and self parking are available, and there's also a free area shuttle. Helpful staff can provide dry cleaning/laundry services, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, 10 meeting rooms, and a conference center.

Property features

Room options

Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 5

Room, 1 King Bed (Not Pet Friendly)

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed, Oceanfront (Pet Friendly)

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Oceanfront (Pet Friendly)

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Everyone (10) Couples (56) Business (4) Family (81) Other (12) Friends (19)
2

off the beaten path

Families

I understand we were there during off-peak - the hotels in this area have limited amount of time to work on their properties; however when we went to check into our room our door was standing wide open with wet paint signs everywhere. The sundry shop was closed for the season and the only option for anything to drink (we checked in really late - after 10:00pm) was vending - for which they didn't accept cash and 2 of the 3 would not work. It was also just old, new paint, doesn't fix old. Maybe if it were a different time of year my experience would have been different

By , from Missouri on Mar 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 7, 2017

We truly thank you for staying with us recently and especially for your feedback. It is a top priority for us to make sure our team always offers our guests the friendly and attentive service they deserve, and we're so glad you experienced this. We truly appreciate your patience during our upgrades as we replace all the furniture in the rooms with brand new furniture, too. Hearing what our customers have to say helps us prioritize our customers' needs, so we truly appreciate your feedback. We hope that you loved the Virginia Beach area during your visit. Thanks again for staying with us and for your feedback.

4

great, quieter location.

Families

The Wyndham was the perfect location for what we wanted. We didn't want to be in the center of all of the main tourist attractions but we were still close enough to drive down there for a nice dinner and site see. The hotel overall was fine and suited our needs perfectly but there were a few things I didn't love. The room was not as clean as I would have hoped. The furniture was grimy and had drink splatters on them. Literally the side of the nightstand looked like someone dropped a can of soda down the side and no one, not even housekeeping bothered to clean it up. There were also dark drink splatters on the dresser and table. It appears as if these items in the room never get wiped AT ALL. The mattresses were also very old and sunken in and the bathroom needs to scrubbed. The floor and wall were barely cleaned between guests. The indoor pool had algae on the inside despite a very strong chlorine smell. I expected more from this company in these areas. But there were many positives. Every staff member we encountered was very nice and pleasant. The restaurant in the hotel was convenient and the food wasn't bad. Overall we did have a very nice family getaway and I would recommend this hotel to friends and we wouldn't mind coming back at all. The view is amazing and waking up to dolphins jumping out of the water was wonderful. We will come back again, just hope they do a better job of cleaning next time.

By , from Northern VA on Sep 28, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2016

Thank you so much for your detailed and helpful review of your recent visit with us. We are so pleased to read that our beautiful beachfront location was convenient for you and also relaxing and peaceful since we are tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the boardwalk, but still close enough to enjoy the local attractions like the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center. We will certainly review your comments with our housekeeping team directly as well, since this is not the typical experience our guests receive and we expect cleanliness and comfort. We are getting brand new furniture for every single room of the hotel that will be installed this December. So please stay in touch with us. It would be an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us again in the near future so you can enjoy our upgrades and all the fun and relaxation that Virginia Beach area and our hotel have to offer.

2

expected more

Everyone

No parking for guests during events. Room smelled like dog urine. Not enough towels. Not enough toilet paper.

By , from Richmond,VA on Sep 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 27, 2016

We appreciate you staying at our oceanfront location and hope that you had a nice time while you were in the area. Thank you for choosing us in your hotel plans and we will definitely review your comments with our team directly to see what may have occurred during your visit as cleanliness and an attentive staff is a top priority for us.

4
Everyone

? ? ? ?

By on Sep 5, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 13, 2016

Thank you for staying with us recently and we are glad to see you rated your visit so highly with us. We hope you will accept our apologies about the dissatisfaction you may have experienced while you were here. It's important for us that every single guest receives the highest level of service and we will definitely review your comments with our team directly. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and for choosing us in your Virginia Beach hotel plans.

1

never again

Everyone

I was supposed to have 2 beds because there were 4 of us. It was dirty and outdated. I left in less than 5 hours and went to another hotel. I chose a Wyndham and didn't mind paying extra because I wanted a nice comfortable stay- this was not that and not worth the money

By , from virginia beach on Aug 23, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 30, 2016

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked. We pride ourselves in providing superior service to all of our guests and we are disappointed to read that we did not meet your satisfaction while you were here. We will address your comments with our team immediately. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

2

the hotel is ok

Everyone

The hotel is located about a mile from the main boardwalk area. It felt very safe, and was nice and quiet. The beach is great, the outdoor pool is ok. The rooms are very dated, our air conditioning just ran all the time, and could not be adjusted. The Ac in the halls was broken for three days. Vending machines stole money but it was refunded. If you want a couple of days in an over priced beach town, this is a good option. You just need a place to stay, and enjoy the beach, this works.

By on Aug 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2016

While we are glad you enjoyed the beach during your recent stay with us, we are sorry to hear some of our accommodations were not to your liking. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope that you did enjoy the Virginia Beach area during your stay. Thanks so much for leaving us your comments and for staying with us recently.

1

terrible

Everyone

Elevators are very old and small the bedsheeets were dirty and so was the floor. Next morning went to go eat at the buffet downstairs and the food was disgusting. Dont even waste your money at that place. Waitress gave us a dirty table and didnt bother to clean until we asked him. Flys were all over the food especially the bread and fruits that were not covered. There was a hair in my bacon. My hole family wasted 12 dollers each.

By , from maryland on Aug 17, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2016

Thank you for staying with us and also for the feedback you have posted. Cleanliness and guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we will immediately be looking into your comments with our team. We apologize that you didn't have a more enjoyable time at our oceanfront location.

3
Everyone

Nice hotel Farr enough away from middle of downtown to be peaceful great for families. Fantastic views you can see the Dolphins swimming. Has movies at certain nights for kids on patio.easy access to pools and beach. Pet friendly. Short drive to downtown. Friendly staff. Just make sure you don't eat at their restaurant. Order pizza or try to find a restaurant that you can eat at. Very overpriced and not family oriented. All in all good place if you want to have a peaceful experience. Highly recommend victory rover tours. Short drive. Well worth the boat tour, and nautilus museum. Best part go on the battleship Wisconsin. All in same place. Walk the pier. Just remember places are worth the money, if you want to see it however food will be overpriced and not always good. Be careful and look up reviews on phone before you go.

By on Jul 30, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback about our beachfront hotel! Watching dolphins swimming through the ocean is one of the amazing perks to enjoy while soaking up the sun on the beach, or just watching from one of our rooms with an ocean view. Even better that our close proximity to local area attractions made it easy for you to check out so much of what Virginia Beach has to offer! Your feedback is truly appreciated, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return to enjoy our hospitality again.

2

hotel is showing its age

Everyone

I was disappointed with the condition of the hotel room. Carpet was showing wear and was worn at the sliding doors. Bathroom was dated and small, toilet paper holder was falling off. Hall windows were streaked and dirty. We could everyone talking in the hall.

By , from western Virginia on Apr 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Apr 19, 2016

Thank you for staying with us recently however we are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and found some items unsatisfactory in your room. That is not the condition our rooms should be in and we will investigate what may have occurred to cause it to be that way. Thank you for your feedback and we will react promptly with our staff.

4

off the boardwalk

Everyone

This is a nice hotel, on the beach, but far off the boardwalk. Skip the concierge, they are just there to try to get you to do time share presentations. If you want to be able to walk the Atlantic Avenue shops or the boardwalk without finding parking, this is not for you. The restaurant in the hotel has a wonderful view but is EXCEPTIONALLY EXPENSIVE even for the beach.

By , from Richmond VA on Apr 8, 2016

Review comment responded on Apr 12, 2016

Thank you for staying with us recently and we are happy to see that you enjoyed our oceanfront location and your comfortable room accommodations. Being on the beach makes for a great vacation and combined with our other hotel amenities enables guests to enjoy themselves. Your feedback is useful to us and we thank you for posting comments so we can better understand the experience you had while with us. We hope to see you back again in the future.