Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Free breakfast advertised on Orbitz site was misleading. All they had was coffee, granola bars and muffins. Never in my life have I have seen breakfast offered at a hotel like this. Overall the hotel has worn down and needs immediate work.

I’m Very pleased the place is well kept and secured

Location close to university and airport is convenient.

This is a very reasonably priced hotel for the area. The room is large and very adequate for a single person to stay in for much longer than my 5-day stay. Amenities available in room were adequate, although TV reception is very slow for the channel guide. There are no gym or other common-area amenities available, and the room didn't have an easy-to-use, printed description of what is offered - everything must be accessed on the TV. Breakfast is very limited - coffee, snack bars, oatmeal. Not even cold filtered water or juice. A/C did not function to effectively drop the room temperature in a reasonable amount of time. I did not see any issues with cleanliness at all in the room, the hotel, or hotel lot.

I liked the hard wood flooring which is much cleaner than carpet. I liked the location too. I didn’t like the the response from the receptionist when I asked for a bath towel. She said “again you “ She said I had to take the used towels first!

Good location for weekend events but it's a bad location for someone who needs a clean sleep without any bad smells on the third level. Overall it's good, but is better if you find a cleaner hotel.

Great Staff! Poor breakfast. Advertisement should not say "Breakfast". Also, I found a cheaper rate on a third party website.

No towels. Room phone didnt work. Staff was disengaged if not lazy. Went through motions.

Absolutely terrible for the price paid, this isn’t a hotel and shouldn’t be presented as one. Uncomfortable stay on all levels.

Location is great for a nearby weekend event. The amenities are minimal and television channels kept losing signal. The room itself did not have enough mirrors or adequate lighting when needing to get dressed/ready.

Room was great for the price and area that it is in

Room was spacious, clean and in close proximity to Newport Beach and other attractions.

The hotel is nice for its price but this is my second time staying here where there was an “issue” my first stay two if the lamps had blown out bulbs. This stay my tv kept losing signal the entire time. They sent someone up but it didn’t fix the issue. He stated he’d advise front desk it wasn’t fixed and compensate but in the morning the tv still did the same thing and the front desk brushed it off as if it was happening in a few rooms..no compensation. I wouldn’t have expected it had he not said it so that kinda annoyed me. The “breakfast” is nutrivalley bars and coffee...

Good hotel. Fair for the price. A little noise overnight/early morning.

Nice hotel, good price, safe area...just some things could’ve been cleaned better.

Birch St Newport Beach CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Airport Area within a 5-minute walk of Irvine Museum, Extended Stay America Orange County - John Wayne Airport is within 2 miles (3 km) of Bren Events Center. This 164-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free on-the-go breakfast, served each morning from 6:00 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 32-inch a flat-screen TV with cable channels. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a kitchen, a refrigerator, and a microwave. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

At Extended Stay America Orange County - John Wayne Airport, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. If you drive, put free parking to good use. Friendly staff can provide front-desk service during limited hours, and also offer advice about sightseeing.

Room options

Studio, 2 Full Beds, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Studio, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Everyone (29) Couples (8) Business (14) Family (11) Other (9) Friends (2)
3
Families Families

Free breakfast advertised on Orbitz site was misleading. All they had was coffee, granola bars and muffins. Never in my life have I have seen breakfast offered at a hotel like this. Overall the hotel has worn down and needs immediate work.

By , from Pleasanton, CA on Sep 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 23, 2019

Jackie, thank you for being our guest and providing your feedback. We apologize that our facility fell short of your expectations and have shared your comments with our team as we work on updating and refreshing our hotel. We are also sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast offerings. We will be sure to review our third-party websites in addition to our official site to ensure everything is up-to-date. Thank you once again, and we hope you will consider to revisit us. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Everyone

I’m Very pleased the place is well kept and secured

By on Sep 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 2, 2019

Thank you for the fantastic feedback about your stay at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to know you were impressed with our well-kept property and that you had a nice time with. We appreciate your review and look forward to your future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Everyone

By on Sep 1, 2019

3
Business Business Travelers

Location close to university and airport is convenient.

By on Aug 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 11, 2019

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay and our convenient location close to the airport and university was perfect for your needs. We are sorry there were few issues which kept you from giving us a higher rating. We regret the inconvenience caused and hope you will return for a perfect stay.  Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

By on May 29, 2019

4
Business Business Travelers

This is a very reasonably priced hotel for the area. The room is large and very adequate for a single person to stay in for much longer than my 5-day stay. Amenities available in room were adequate, although TV reception is very slow for the channel guide. There are no gym or other common-area amenities available, and the room didn't have an easy-to-use, printed description of what is offered - everything must be accessed on the TV. Breakfast is very limited - coffee, snack bars, oatmeal. Not even cold filtered water or juice. A/C did not function to effectively drop the room temperature in a reasonable amount of time. I did not see any issues with cleanliness at all in the room, the hotel, or hotel lot.

By , from Tx on Apr 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2019

Thank you for selecting us for your needs. We are delighted to read you liked the spaciousness of your room and that you found the value we offer to be affordable. However, we are sorry for the inconvenience you had. Your feedback for the functioning of the HVAC unit and our breakfast offerings will help us deliver better future guest’s experiences going ahead. It was a pleasure serving you, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Everyone

By on Mar 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2019

All of us at Extended Stay America appreciates your wonderful rating. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay, and we would love to see you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Families Business Business Travelers

I liked the hard wood flooring which is much cleaner than carpet. I liked the location too. I didn’t like the the response from the receptionist when I asked for a bath towel. She said “again you “ She said I had to take the used towels first!

By on Mar 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 11, 2019

Susan, thank you for taking the time to post a review. Although you liked our location, we are sorry for the front desk service issue you encountered. We provide thorough training for all associates, and we will redouble our efforts so that no future guests encounter a similar issue. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so we can demonstrate the superb hospitality that you should have received on this visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Families Families

Good location for weekend events but it's a bad location for someone who needs a clean sleep without any bad smells on the third level. Overall it's good, but is better if you find a cleaner hotel.

By on Feb 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 24, 2019

Sal, thank you for being our guest. We apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered while you were here. Please be assured that we have discussed your feedback with our housekeeping team, and we're working on our procedures so that such problems are not repeated. We wish you will stay with us again so we can have another chance to impress you in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Business Business Travelers

Great Staff! Poor breakfast. Advertisement should not say "Breakfast". Also, I found a cheaper rate on a third party website.

By on Feb 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 23, 2019

Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. We're glad to know you were pleased with the service provided by our associates, but we’re sorry our grab-and-go breakfast was not to your liking. We assure you that we will share your feedback with our Brand Leaders so they can use it while planning the new offerings. We hope this did not overshadow your otherwise positive stay with us and look forward to hosting you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Extended Stay America Orange County - John Wayne Airport

4881 Birch St, Newport Beach, CA 92660
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Newport-Beach-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Orange-County---John-Wayne-Airport.h569190-p2.Hotel-Reviews