Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The door to my room was open upon my arrival. The remote control for the TV was broken. There was a holder attached to the bathroom wall for a blow dryer. But there was no blow dryer. There was no coffee maker. There were no hangers in the closet. There was an iron but no ironing board. The only toiletries provided were two small bars of soap and a small tube of low-grade shampoo. No conditioner, no body lotion. The desk phone did not work. The line was not plugged in. The outlet was apparently behind the bed, which was far too heavy for me to move. I was given replacements for the blow dryer and the TV remote. But the staff should have been on top of this. Someone should have been in charge of a checklist for the room's most basic amenities. It was not my responsibility, as a customer, to prompt the staff. I paid enough that this should not have even been an issue. Last November I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites by Radisson in nearby Santa Ana. The nightly rate was comparable. But the quality of service was far superior. The room was nicely planned out. The items that were missing from my room at Extended Stay, were present and plentiful at County Inn & Suites by Radisson. Please know that I will NEVER stay at Extended Stay America/Orange County again. My experience was unpleasant. I certainly did not get what I paid for.

Was great place but due to Covid 19 no breakfast which I was looking forward to. Great place for pets

Dirty and old. Don’t expect to get q clean kitchen and bedroom

friendliest staff!friendliest staff!friendliest staff!

I like the no daily clean up but wished the entrance ways were cleaner.

Free breakfast advertised on Orbitz site was misleading. All they had was coffee, granola bars and muffins. Never in my life have I have seen breakfast offered at a hotel like this. Overall the hotel has worn down and needs immediate work.

I’m Very pleased the place is well kept and secured

Location close to university and airport is convenient.

We were unable to check in for our 1st night because of a power outage at the hotel. I spoke with the desk staff & decided we would go to another hotel for the night, but be back for our 2nd night stay. When I called to confirm this the next day, I was told because we didn’t check in the 1st night, our reservation was canceled altogether. I had to re-book the 2nd night, & was only given a comparable rate by joining the hotel loyalty program.

This is a very reasonably priced hotel for the area. The room is large and very adequate for a single person to stay in for much longer than my 5-day stay. Amenities available in room were adequate, although TV reception is very slow for the channel guide. There are no gym or other common-area amenities available, and the room didn't have an easy-to-use, printed description of what is offered - everything must be accessed on the TV. Breakfast is very limited - coffee, snack bars, oatmeal. Not even cold filtered water or juice. A/C did not function to effectively drop the room temperature in a reasonable amount of time. I did not see any issues with cleanliness at all in the room, the hotel, or hotel lot.

I liked the hard wood flooring which is much cleaner than carpet. I liked the location too. I didn’t like the the response from the receptionist when I asked for a bath towel. She said “again you “ She said I had to take the used towels first!

Good location for weekend events but it's a bad location for someone who needs a clean sleep without any bad smells on the third level. Overall it's good, but is better if you find a cleaner hotel.

Great Staff! Poor breakfast. Advertisement should not say "Breakfast". Also, I found a cheaper rate on a third party website.

No towels. Room phone didnt work. Staff was disengaged if not lazy. Went through motions.

Birch St Newport Beach CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Airport Area within a 5-minute walk of Irvine Museum, Extended Stay America Orange County - John Wayne Airport is within 2 miles (3 km) of Bren Events Center. Each of the 164 rooms at this hotel includes a kitchen, a refrigerator, and a microwave.


Rooms

The 164 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards are also standard. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Extended Stay America Orange County - John Wayne Airport features free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. Friendly staff can provide front-desk service during limited hours, and also offer advice about sightseeing.

Room options

Studio, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Everyone (32) Couples (5) Business (2) Family (10) Other (1)
1
Family

The door to my room was open upon my arrival. The remote control for the TV was broken. There was a holder attached to the bathroom wall for a blow dryer. But there was no blow dryer. There was no coffee maker. There were no hangers in the closet. There was an iron but no ironing board. The only toiletries provided were two small bars of soap and a small tube of low-grade shampoo. No conditioner, no body lotion. The desk phone did not work. The line was not plugged in. The outlet was apparently behind the bed, which was far too heavy for me to move. I was given replacements for the blow dryer and the TV remote. But the staff should have been on top of this. Someone should have been in charge of a checklist for the room's most basic amenities. It was not my responsibility, as a customer, to prompt the staff. I paid enough that this should not have even been an issue. Last November I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites by Radisson in nearby Santa Ana. The nightly rate was comparable. But the quality of service was far superior. The room was nicely planned out. The items that were missing from my room at Extended Stay, were present and plentiful at County Inn & Suites by Radisson. Please know that I will NEVER stay at Extended Stay America/Orange County again. My experience was unpleasant. I certainly did not get what I paid for.

By on Sep 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay. We regret if we did not provide our customary attention to detail in preparing your room before your arrival, and we sincerely apologize for the oversight. Please know we are committed to providing the highest level of service and quality for every guest, and we will address the concerns with our team to take appropriate actions. We hope we have the future opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

By on May 19, 2020

Review comment responded on May 19, 2020

Thank you for your fabulous rating and letting us know your stay at Extended Stay America was exceptional. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Family Family

Was great place but due to Covid 19 no breakfast which I was looking forward to. Great place for pets

By on May 19, 2020

Review comment responded on May 19, 2020

Thank you for staying at Extended Stay America. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant time with us. However, we regret that some of our amenities were not available during your stay. We hope you will choose us again on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

By on Mar 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Apr 21, 2020

Thank you for being our guest. Our top priority is for you to have an enjoyable stay, and from your five-star rating, we are pleased to have exceeded your expectations. It was a pleasure hosting you at Extended Stay America, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

By on Mar 16, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 20, 2020

Thank you for staying with us and for your gracious rating. On behalf of all of us at Extended Stay America, we would like to invite you for another outstanding visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Partner Couples Business Business

Dirty and old. Don’t expect to get q clean kitchen and bedroom

By on Feb 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 9, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had a few housekeeping issues with your room and that we fell short of our usual service delivery. We have discussed these issues with our staff to see where steps were missed in our room inspection process. We will also share your valuable comments regarding the condition of our property with our Brand Leaders so that they can take the necessary steps to make our future guests experience a better one. Please consider staying with us again in the future. We would love for you to experience our hotel at its best. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Business Business

friendliest staff!friendliest staff!friendliest staff!

By on Dec 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2019

Thank you for your recent stay at Extended Stay America. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are also glad you liked our courteous associates. Reviews like yours encourage the team to keep up the good work. Thank you also for your feedback, and we hope you will revisit us. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Family Business Business

I like the no daily clean up but wished the entrance ways were cleaner.

By on Dec 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 2, 2019

Thank you for leaving us a review about your stay at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to know you had a great stay and that you liked the concept of our housekeeping policy. Your feedback regarding cleanliness is shared with the housekeeping team for review and action. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest, and we look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Family Family

Free breakfast advertised on Orbitz site was misleading. All they had was coffee, granola bars and muffins. Never in my life have I have seen breakfast offered at a hotel like this. Overall the hotel has worn down and needs immediate work.

By , from Pleasanton, CA on Sep 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 23, 2019

Jackie, thank you for being our guest and providing your feedback. We apologize that our facility fell short of your expectations and have shared your comments with our team as we work on updating and refreshing our hotel. We are also sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast offerings. We will be sure to review our third-party websites in addition to our official site to ensure everything is up-to-date. Thank you once again, and we hope you will consider to revisit us. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Everyone

I’m Very pleased the place is well kept and secured

By on Sep 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 2, 2019

Thank you for the fantastic feedback about your stay at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to know you were impressed with our well-kept property and that you had a nice time with. We appreciate your review and look forward to your future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Extended Stay America Orange County - John Wayne Airport

4881 Birch St, Newport Beach, CA 92660
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Newport-Beach-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Orange-County---John-Wayne-Airport.h569190-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Newport-Beach-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Orange-County---John-Wayne-Airport.h569190-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Newport-Beach-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Orange-County---John-Wayne-Airport.h569190-p2.Hotel-Reviews