Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Perfect location and optimal ratio of cost per person. Need to have some patience with the bathroom that was clean but the had an almost clogged sink. Some part of the building have a bad smell, but not the area were my apartment was located. Very useful the kitchen. very important were you are with children and would like to give them a proper food at least once a day.

This hotel/apartment was definitely adequate for our needs. The price was well below similar hotels in the area. The price was low because they do not offer the amenities that actual hotels offer. We definitely did not mind having someone clean the room everyday. It was nice having a separate bedroom and living area which is great for having kids try to sleep before the parents. I have to say the security on weekday evenings was very helpful and pleasant guy. I would recommend this property to someone who wants privacy and does not mind cleaning up after themselves. I would have to say the only problem we had was the neighboring apartment was smoking although we were staying in a non smoking apartment. The smell filled our bedroom. I reported it and they seemed concerned but the occupant continued to smoke. Past that, a great place to stay.

Great location, friendly staff. Great value for the price

check in staff not at all courteous. room smelled of some freshener so strongly that it gave a headache. no windows. the heating equipment kept making loud clanking sounds throughout the night. the only reason to stay here is proximity to manhattan sights.

booked for 6 people room, told as apartment but very small room and bath, very inconvenient for 4 adults and 2 kids. Old building with smell but really good location.

The apartment was small for 5 people but was in a good location.

There are renovations going on which make it very uncomfortable. But the bottom line is that it is outrageously overpriced even for new york. There is a $100 service fee tacked onto the rm charge making it nearly $500 per night with tax. Check out is 10 AM. They charge another $25 to keep it till noon. For a dirty cramped building with only one slow small working elevator. One of the beds was disfunctional and that should have been spotted and attended to before they tried to rent the room. Had I not been there before 5 pm there would have been no one on the premises to replace it till the next day without a big hassle. This was a $75 per night hostel type building.

The hotel room in the picture was much larger and nicer than the one we were given. The elevator was out and we had to walk up five flights of stairs on multiple occasions. The price was outrageous for what we got. I wouldn’t stay here again.

Itbwas a good hotel in a really good spot. Your close to everything. Shopping is around you, good food, if you like to walk time square is near.

The room that we booked had large windows with views of iconic buildings and streets. We took many pictures from the room, and enjoyed waking up, overlooking busy pedestrian traffic while making breakfast in the apartment. The location could not have been better for a young family who wanted to see as much of Manhattan as possible. A short walk to almost everything, and a metro station nearby to reach the financial district or Metropolitan Museum. We found the apartment surprisingly quiet, but we fortunately heard some sirens and urban sounds. The street in front of the entrance was not the best in the neighborhood, but we felt very safe. The building of the hotel looked historic, and gave some flavors of the past. Every time we entered the apartment, we were surprised by the beautiful room, and had the best time enjoying the views and impressions of the day. Wonderful experience.

The orbitz photos show a beautiful room with exposed brick and nice design - the actual room was a dump, with broken, old furniture, dilapidated appointments and general need of paint, maintenance, etc. There was a hidden $100 cleaning fee that did not show up on the orbitz website as I picked the hotel, but got added in after I booked it. When I arrived at the address, there was no sign indicating "Empire Macy" or where to check in. After wandering the halls for 10 minutes, I found someone to help. I was asked to pay the cleaning fee through email - and made to sit in a dingy office and wait for an email which never came. The idea was that the "manager" was away, so the person working at the desk couldn't charge the fee - the manager had to send me an email, and I was supposed to navigate through their email system to pay a fee that never should have existed. This is not a three star or even a two star property. I am surprised and disappointed that Orbitz would even have this available on their sight. I have stayed at hundreds of hotels in traveling for business and this is one of the two or three worst experiences I have had. A complete rip off.

Go past the first 25 pictures to see the room you will actually stay in. It was really clean, the staff was kind & helpful and the location is incredible. The pack and play they provided for our child was really new and had a fantastic mattress in it. However, the sink was broken, the windows look out to a dim & dingy courtyard, 2 of our 3 towels were dirty (replaced as soon as we asked though), the beds really uncomfortable, bathroom has mold (they put plexiglass over the vents!) and it is pretty small. I would not recommend to anyone, especially not groups bigger than 3!

The discription on a website was misleading. Therefore I would not chose this room if I have seen the real photo. Anyway, as for Manhattan we had enough space. Unfortunately, even though we didn't keep food in, we found some bugs...also, the elevator didn't work for two days (one of two, in a 12 stories building)

W 31st St New York NY

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from 5th Avenue and Empire State Building
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Concierge services
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Midtown, Macy Empire Apartments is next to popular attractions like 5th Avenue and Empire State Building. This 9-room, 3-star aparthotel welcomes guests with in-room amenities like kitchenettes, refrigerators, and microwaves.


Rooms

Each apartment is air-conditioned and features a kitchenette with a refrigerator, a microwave, and a stovetop. Guests can enjoy a flat-screen TV and stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include an espresso maker and an ironing board. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

At Macy Empire Apartments, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, express check-in, and express check-out. For transportation, you can make use of an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 80 per vehicle one-way, as well as limo/town car service. Front-desk staff can assist with concierge services and luggage storage. Additional amenities include laundry facilities, an ATM, and a reception hall.

Room options

One Bedroom Apartment #6

2 Double Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

One Bedroom Apartment #2

2 Double Beds, 1 Twin Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 7

One Bedroom Apartment #8

2 Double Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

One Bedroom Apartment #4

2 Double Beds and 1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Macy Empire Apartments

Everyone (7) Family (3)
5
Family

Perfect location and optimal ratio of cost per person. Need to have some patience with the bathroom that was clean but the had an almost clogged sink. Some part of the building have a bad smell, but not the area were my apartment was located. Very useful the kitchen. very important were you are with children and would like to give them a proper food at least once a day.

By on Jun 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 20, 2019

Thank you so much. It was a pleasure!

4
Family with small children

This hotel/apartment was definitely adequate for our needs. The price was well below similar hotels in the area. The price was low because they do not offer the amenities that actual hotels offer. We definitely did not mind having someone clean the room everyday. It was nice having a separate bedroom and living area which is great for having kids try to sleep before the parents. I have to say the security on weekday evenings was very helpful and pleasant guy. I would recommend this property to someone who wants privacy and does not mind cleaning up after themselves. I would have to say the only problem we had was the neighboring apartment was smoking although we were staying in a non smoking apartment. The smell filled our bedroom. I reported it and they seemed concerned but the occupant continued to smoke. Past that, a great place to stay.

By on May 5, 2019

Review comment responded on May 6, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your comment. About the issue with the smell of the room beside, we have reported already, so we hope it is fixed. Thanks for letting us know. Come back soon!!

4
Family with small children

Great location, friendly staff. Great value for the price

By on Feb 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2019

Thank you very much for your comment!! we are glad that you enjoy your stay with us.

2
Family

check in staff not at all courteous. room smelled of some freshener so strongly that it gave a headache. no windows. the heating equipment kept making loud clanking sounds throughout the night. the only reason to stay here is proximity to manhattan sights.

By on Dec 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2018

We are sorry for the inconvenience. All of our apartments have windows, some of them are interior but all have widows. We use cleaning products that are no harm to the health so is estrange to have a complain regarding the god cleaning. We hope that you enjoy your trip. Regards,

2
hotel.reviews.categoryFamilieswithsmallchildren

booked for 6 people room, told as apartment but very small room and bath, very inconvenient for 4 adults and 2 kids. Old building with smell but really good location.

By , from Chicago on Aug 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 22, 2018

Thank you for your comment, we are sorry that it was not completely satisfactory for you the apartment. The building is clean every day, so is wear that have smell. Just as a reminder we do have bigger apartments if you prefer.

3

we didn't get the room that was advertised.

Family

The apartment was small for 5 people but was in a good location.

By on Jun 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 9, 2018

Thank you for your comment. Regarding the room that was given to you, it was the same the was booked, you can check the our pictures have the watermark with the number of the apartment. Our guest is the one that choose the apartment ones they do the reservation. We regret that it didn't fulfil your expectations. We hope that you can thrust us again in a future. Kind regards,

2
Everyone

There are renovations going on which make it very uncomfortable. But the bottom line is that it is outrageously overpriced even for new york. There is a $100 service fee tacked onto the rm charge making it nearly $500 per night with tax. Check out is 10 AM. They charge another $25 to keep it till noon. For a dirty cramped building with only one slow small working elevator. One of the beds was disfunctional and that should have been spotted and attended to before they tried to rent the room. Had I not been there before 5 pm there would have been no one on the premises to replace it till the next day without a big hassle. This was a $75 per night hostel type building.

By on Mar 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 27, 2018

Dear Anonymous , We are really sorry you didnt enjoy your stay. Please , remind you that we are not a hotel , we have our office hours from 9:00am from 5:00pm as it is always notified to our guests. Regarding the elevators , we have FOUR working elevators in the building, it's a shame your didnt see them and that you dint get the chance to read all the conditions before booking your reservation , since the service fee , the check-out and all our other conditions are very clear stated so our guests can read them BEFORE booking. We hope you have a better experience next time.

1

not as advertised

Everyone

The hotel room in the picture was much larger and nicer than the one we were given. The elevator was out and we had to walk up five flights of stairs on multiple occasions. The price was outrageous for what we got. I wouldn’t stay here again.

By , from RI on Jan 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 13, 2018

Dear J, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience. I wish I had more information to see what might of happened with your apartment since the pictures from our apartments show as they are. About the elevators, the are two other elevators in the building , so its a shame you had to walk to the apartment. Thank you.

3

good hotel

Everyone

Itbwas a good hotel in a really good spot. Your close to everything. Shopping is around you, good food, if you like to walk time square is near.

By on Nov 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 20, 2017

Thank you. So lovely! Come back soon

5

great apartment on central location

Everyone

The room that we booked had large windows with views of iconic buildings and streets. We took many pictures from the room, and enjoyed waking up, overlooking busy pedestrian traffic while making breakfast in the apartment. The location could not have been better for a young family who wanted to see as much of Manhattan as possible. A short walk to almost everything, and a metro station nearby to reach the financial district or Metropolitan Museum. We found the apartment surprisingly quiet, but we fortunately heard some sirens and urban sounds. The street in front of the entrance was not the best in the neighborhood, but we felt very safe. The building of the hotel looked historic, and gave some flavors of the past. Every time we entered the apartment, we were surprised by the beautiful room, and had the best time enjoying the views and impressions of the day. Wonderful experience.

By , from Boston on Aug 5, 2017

Macy Empire Apartments

38 W 31st St, New York, NY 10001
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/New-York-Hotels-Macy-Empire-Apartments.h9526696-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /New-York-Hotels-Macy-Empire-Apartments.h9526696-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/New-York-Hotels-Macy-Empire-Apartments.h9526696-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions