Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Reasonable price for an older motel-like property that’s walkable to broadway. Been a while since I stayed where all the room doors open to the exterior. Staff was nice & the room had been renovated & beds & pillow were good. Just a bit underwhelming-maybe I didn’t look close enough at the pics lol.

The staff is so so great! Caring and attentive. The only downfall was the noise during the middle of the night. Noise from the road or buildings close by. Trucks backing in and out with beeping at all hours. Omg…. Hard to sleep thru that.

This property was ok. Bed was rough, rooms were clean, check in process was fine. The morning staff were spectacular, but you could tell as shift changes happened, the attention, care and professionalism dropped significantly. On the last day, the elevator broke and basically the response when asked about eta for getting it fixed was enjoy bringing your suitcase down four flights in the morning and enjoy hauling your drunk selves up the stairs tonight. Overall it was a ok budget option and a good walk to broadway, but staffing left much ti be desired.

While the staff was great, friendly and helpful- the hotel itself was a dump! It was an old Motel 6.

Great bang for the buck relative surrounding options. Staff was over the top friendly/clean!! Facilities were clean.

Pleasant staff. Angel at front desk was very friendly. Rose the bartender at the lounge located inside made you feel at home. Parking overnight was much less than any other option.

Didn’t tell us we were going to have a room without toilet paper or tv. Trash everywhere and not from the construction. Worst hotel ever.

This felt like a motel, great location, okay room, really nice staff.

Great location. Walking distance to Broadway. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We arrived early in the morning, well before check in, but they allowed us to access our room immediately and even told us we are still in time for breakfast.

I received 3 phone calls from the property, all while in an Uber and on my way to the hotel to check in at 2:30pm on Sunday the 20th. The first call simply stated that they were confirming my reservation. The 2nd call was to inform me that my card on file was not working. Because I booked through Orbitz, I was never given the option to review or put a card on file at all which I explained to them. They then called me a 3rd time to inform me that if I did not give them a card number over the phone right that moment, that my room may be given away. The stay itself was uneventful, however the property is old, dirty and not well maintained (towel racks and pictures falling off the walls, broken railing etc etc), and the staff could not have been more rude and unaccommodating. The front door was broken and only one side worked, and several times I struggled to get my luggage in or out while several staff members stood around and watched.

Older building and very small evelator but rooms and bed comfortable.

Room decor was shabby. The carpet had holes in it. Musty odor.

Union Street Nashville TN

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Nashville Broadway and Ryman Auditorium
  • Free cooked-to-order breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining

Located in Downtown Nashville, The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection is within a 5-minute walk of Tennessee State Capitol and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Ryman Auditorium. This 3-star hotel has 100 rooms and welcomes guests with free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and a gym.


Dining

Free cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/cafe.


Rooms

All 100 rooms feature refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Other amenities include safes, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

At The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection, guests have access to a gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. Valet parking is available for USD 21.00 per day, and there's also limo/town car service. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with securing valuables, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, a microwave in a common area, and a computer station.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection

Everyone (16) Couples (4) Students (1) Family (5)
2
Friends

Reasonable price for an older motel-like property that’s walkable to broadway. Been a while since I stayed where all the room doors open to the exterior. Staff was nice & the room had been renovated & beds & pillow were good. Just a bit underwhelming-maybe I didn’t look close enough at the pics lol.

By on Mar 4, 2022

Review comment responded on Mar 5, 2022

Michael, thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad you were satisfied with your updated room and the friendly service provided by our associate. However, it was disappointing to read that we did not meet all your expectations. We are truly sorry your stay was anything other than perfect. Your feedback has been shared with our team, and we hope you will stay with us again for a much-improved experience the next time your travels bring you this way. General Manager

4
Partner Couples

The staff is so so great! Caring and attentive. The only downfall was the noise during the middle of the night. Noise from the road or buildings close by. Trucks backing in and out with beeping at all hours. Omg…. Hard to sleep thru that.

By on Dec 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2021

Barbara, thank you for dedicating the time to share your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise issues during your stay. We are devoted to giving each guest a brilliant travel experience; therefore, we are disappointed if we did not meet these expectations. We appreciate you mentioning how much you liked the service provided by our courteous associates. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the future at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. General Manager

2
Family Friends

This property was ok. Bed was rough, rooms were clean, check in process was fine. The morning staff were spectacular, but you could tell as shift changes happened, the attention, care and professionalism dropped significantly. On the last day, the elevator broke and basically the response when asked about eta for getting it fixed was enjoy bringing your suitcase down four flights in the morning and enjoy hauling your drunk selves up the stairs tonight. Overall it was a ok budget option and a good walk to broadway, but staffing left much ti be desired.

By on Nov 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 9, 2021

Issac, thank you for providing a review of your experience at our hotel. We were sorry to read your stay was compromised by some of our staff. We pride ourselves on treating guests with respect and hospitality, and we are disappointed this was not your experience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please accept our apology and know that we will use your feedback to improve. We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to show you the hospitality you deserve. General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Oct 22, 2021

2
Friends

While the staff was great, friendly and helpful- the hotel itself was a dump! It was an old Motel 6.

By on Oct 4, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 5, 2021

Danielle, thank you for your review. Although you were pleased with the service provided by our team, we are sorry for the disappointment you had with the condition of our hotel. We have made a note of your feedback to improve our future guests’ experiences. Thank you once more, and we hope you will reconsider and stay with us again. General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Jul 27, 2021

5
Partner Couples

Great bang for the buck relative surrounding options. Staff was over the top friendly/clean!! Facilities were clean.

By on Jun 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2021

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We were thrilled to learn you loved our hotel so much. With our excellent location, friendly staff, and well-appointed rooms, we believe our boutique hotel is a perfect choice for anyone visiting the area, and we are glad you agree. Please keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you back to Nashville. Hope to see you again soon! General Manager

2
Everyone

By on Jun 4, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 16, 2021

We appreciate your comments about your stay. Our goal is to provide each guest with comfortable accommodations and outstanding service, so we apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We appreciate your business and hope you will consider giving us an opportunity to welcome you again. General Manager

5
Everyone

Pleasant staff. Angel at front desk was very friendly. Rose the bartender at the lounge located inside made you feel at home. Parking overnight was much less than any other option.

By on Apr 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 18, 2021

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. It is great to know that our associates made your stay more comfortable. Making our guests feel at home is what we love to do, and we will enjoy passing along your kind compliments to Angel and Rose. We hope we will be your hotel of choice every time you visit Nashville. Thank you again! General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Mar 25, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 9, 2021

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We strive to deliver an exceptional experience to each of our guests in all areas of our hotel and your feedback tells us we are meeting our goals. Thank you for taking the time to share your perfect rating. We look forward to hosting you again soon. General Manager

The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection

711 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37219
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Nashville-Hotels-The-Capitol-Hotel-Downtown,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h4351-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Nashville-Hotels-The-Capitol-Hotel-Downtown,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h4351-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Nashville-Hotels-The-Capitol-Hotel-Downtown,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h4351-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions