Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

there's room for improvement at all hotels especially when you allow pets and animals to extend their stay

I like the convenient location and smoking room availability. I did not however enjoy the elevators being broken.

First, it took 37 minutes to get checked into a room. I stood in the lobby for 10-15 minutes before I saw an employee. Second, it was filthy. The lobby floors, hallways, and even our room hadn’t been vacuumed, there was food crumbs all over our room, stains and sticky spots all over the counter in our room, beer bottle caps and dirty work gloves on the floor leftover from previous guests, and the toilet was filthy.. There was leftover food and drinks in the drawers/cabinet from God knows when in our room, just to name a few examples. Third, the room I reserved (smoking double bed suite, the smoking part was the only reason I booked the room in the first place) was given to a guest who checked in earlier according to the receptionist so my family and I were put into a non smoking double bed as a result. The carpet and baseboard trim in our room was peeling up/falling off. All in all, it was a disappointing experience. After getting our room and hauling all our bags up the stairs because the elevator had been broke for a few days according to other guests, we sat around talking about how disgusting this hotel was for about an hour and a half before deciding to put our bags back in the car and getting another room at a different hotel close by even though we wasted $100+ checking into this hotel, something we’ve never had to do. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for homeless person. I could go on much longer but I ran out of characters to type in the review box. Don’t come here.

The toilet was plugged and the staff gave us a plunger and towels to clean. Asked us to leave plunger and dirty towels in bathroom. We had to leave.

This was the worst nights sleep I ever got at a hotel. All night long there was doors and cabinets from adjoining rooms slamming, they finally stopped at 2:30 am. Meanwhile there was some type of alarm going off outside for 25 minutes. When all of the slamming finally stopped a garbage tuck came at about 4:30 am to run a dumpster with the back up beeper blaring. When I finally was leaving at 530 in the morning you couldn’t complain because there was some kind of metal bars pulled down across the front seat and nobody was there, just a drop box for your key. I’m a semi truck driver who now has to drive 600 miles today on about an hours sleep!!!! Think about that while your on the road

Nothing better than getting heating your wife scream from the bathroom that there is NO toilet paper! There was also hair in the sink. We checked in at 3:30, half hour after check in time. There was ONE employee at the front desk so check in took nearly 20 minutes. When we called the front desk, a roll of toilet paper was brought up and placed on the counter! I should mention that the front desk worker had to leave the front desk to bring up the TP. Is there no other staff? There is no TP holder, the bathtub handle is about to fall off (I wonder if there is water damage to the unit below). If you're going to have a clock in the room, it should at least work. There was also a sandal under one bed and what appeared to be the wrapper of a condom under the other bed!! Clearly, cleanliness is not prioritized here at Extended Stay. I will say that the check out personnel was very polite and as nice as possible. She seemed understanding and she did tell me that bigger repair items (such as the bathtub) are approved from upstairs corporate and it is out of their control. Regardless, I was happy to leave with my family. You might want to avoid this establishment. I know I will. I tried to add pictures to this review, but I am unable to; picture files are too large. I have uploaded pictures to my review of this establishment on Google.

We checked in by 10pm (May 4)after long day (at Bloomington) and 4 hrs drive (with family of wife and 2 kids including 5 months old kid). Room#404 was allocated to us by mrs. Diamond, we opened door and it to our surprise somebody’s luggage/belongings were inside and room was unclean and smoking smelled . We went down to reception to inform and get new room. First reaction was it seems all rooms are full, and after 5min+ wait with family we got new room (236). She didn’t even say sorry!!!No hangers for cloths, no extra pillows, no shampoo, terrible breakfast( we had to go out finally). We can get much better and cleaner room . with good service in less than half price.Totally waste of money. First and last visit extended stay America

Besides the toilet .. the stay was pretty smooth .. Room was clean and it was near by a few attractions

I do prefer hotel with kitchen. So ESA is best for me. Very nice, clean and friendly staff.

I went to extended stay after checking into a hotel in the area that was disappointing. I checked out and went next door to extended stay. The staff was nice. Room was clean and comfortable. I'd definitely stay there again. A little pricey but nice.

When I walked in through the side door it was broke and wide open and there was a weird suitcase sitting right next to my car. When I walked into my room ( #237 ) it was a horrible smell , no wash towels , cans under the bed , open sugar packets in the drawer , and the carpet was ripped behind the bathroom door , and the lights by the dresser did not work . I alerted the front desk she came to spray the room and she told me I needed to give her the old towels ( towels I didn't even get to begin with ) before I got the new ones. She was not in uniform ( printed leggings & a sweater ) so I didn't even know she worked there honestly and her attitude was not the best .

Clean, Quiet, professional. You couldn't ask for more than that from a hotel. At one point I wondered if I was the only one in the hotel. That's how quiet it was.

Very quiet and decent location. About 20 min drive from the casino.

Reservation was for non-smoking, they put me in a smoking room. Claimed the floor was smoking but not my room. Yellow stained drapes, counter and fridge told a different story.... Oh and there were ashtrays too. They insisted there were no other rooms available.Tried to check in an hour early, they said absolutely not.... Then checked in two groups of other races while we waited.The front desk staff was awful and when I showed them my reservation which clearly said [...] booked me a non-smoking room they said they have a smoking reservation for me. I requested a copy, they said there is no way to do that. I asked to see the screen, they refused. I am contacting corporate regarding this hotel and the staff.

My wife and I were there for a conference in the area. I have stayed in some of the other hotels in the area, and wanted to stay at something a bit nicer this trip, so I payed the asking price the hotel wanted. The tub was backed up, so you had to stand in ankle deep water trying to take a shower. We had to take our towels down to the front desk to get fresh ones, your room doesn't get cleaned everyday -in fact you have to request for it to be cleaned. I could have payed less for the same star rating in the area and though the other hotels may have had the same issues, it would have cost me less, and I would have gotten breakfast and clean towels for my trouble. Compared to my other trips to the area, this was nothing new, it just cost me more. Next time I will pay for a higher star rating.

Quite and reasonably clean, but worn around the edges. Rooms only cleaned after 7 days. A small kitchen with microwave & frig, but so poorly equipped that it would be hard to cook anything more complicated then boxed mac & cheese. If all you need is a quite place with a firm bed where you can fix your own breakfast at a reasonable price, this is your place.

I had a wonderful time. It was very quiet. It was a great location. The service was wonderful.

173rd St Lansing IL

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

Extended Stay America Chicago - Lansing places you within a short walk of Lansing Square Shopping Center and within a mile (2 km) of Lan-Oak Park. Each of the 121 rooms at this hotel includes a kitchen, a sitting area, and a refrigerator.


Rooms

All 121 air-conditioned accommodations feature kitchens and space to spread out with sitting areas. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs. Pillowtop beds grant a restful night's sleep and bathrooms offer free toiletries. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, phones, and ironing boards. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests of Extended Stay America Chicago - Lansing enjoy free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations.

Room options

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Studio, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America Chicago - Lansing

Everyone (9) Business (2) Couples (7) Family (4)
3
Business Business

there's room for improvement at all hotels especially when you allow pets and animals to extend their stay

By on Apr 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2021

Thank you for sparing some time to share your feedback. Although we are glad to see your rating for the overall stay, we apologize for any inconvenience you had. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Everyone

By on Feb 16, 2020

5
Everyone

By on Feb 12, 2020

4
Partner Couples

I like the convenient location and smoking room availability. I did not however enjoy the elevators being broken.

By on Dec 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 24, 2019

Nickkie, thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. It’s a pleasure to know you found our location ideal for your needs and enjoyed your accommodation. However, we regret any inconvenience you had due to the elevator. We have alerted our maintenance team about it, and they are fixing it. On behalf of everyone here, we invite you to revisit us on your next trip to the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Family

First, it took 37 minutes to get checked into a room. I stood in the lobby for 10-15 minutes before I saw an employee. Second, it was filthy. The lobby floors, hallways, and even our room hadn’t been vacuumed, there was food crumbs all over our room, stains and sticky spots all over the counter in our room, beer bottle caps and dirty work gloves on the floor leftover from previous guests, and the toilet was filthy.. There was leftover food and drinks in the drawers/cabinet from God knows when in our room, just to name a few examples. Third, the room I reserved (smoking double bed suite, the smoking part was the only reason I booked the room in the first place) was given to a guest who checked in earlier according to the receptionist so my family and I were put into a non smoking double bed as a result. The carpet and baseboard trim in our room was peeling up/falling off. All in all, it was a disappointing experience. After getting our room and hauling all our bags up the stairs because the elevator had been broke for a few days according to other guests, we sat around talking about how disgusting this hotel was for about an hour and a half before deciding to put our bags back in the car and getting another room at a different hotel close by even though we wasted $100+ checking into this hotel, something we’ve never had to do. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for homeless person. I could go on much longer but I ran out of characters to type in the review box. Don’t come here.

By on Nov 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 27, 2019

Please accept sincerest apologies for the cleanliness and service issues you encountered while here. We have shared your concerns with the housekeeping and front desk teams, and we have taken actions to ensure that we do not repeat these issues in the future. We are reviewing the situation as a training tool to improve our procedures and to ensure this does not happen again. We are also sorry there was a problem with your reservation and that the room you requested was unavailable. We know no amount of apologies will make up for the inconvenience. We understand the frustration and truly hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Everyone

By on Nov 12, 2019

1
Partner Couples

The toilet was plugged and the staff gave us a plunger and towels to clean. Asked us to leave plunger and dirty towels in bathroom. We had to leave.

By on Oct 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 25, 2019

We apologize for the inconvenience you had in your room and that we missed delivering a comfortable stay. We clearly understand the discomfort you had, so your feedback has been discussed with the appropriate team to ensure we inspect all our rooms thoroughly before allotting to our future guests. It was also disappointing to know our associates were no help to you regarding the issue in your room, and we will use your concern to improve our service levels moving ahead. Please consider a return visit to our hotel so that we can provide you with a better stay on a future date. Sincerely, Hotel Management`

1
Business Business

This was the worst nights sleep I ever got at a hotel. All night long there was doors and cabinets from adjoining rooms slamming, they finally stopped at 2:30 am. Meanwhile there was some type of alarm going off outside for 25 minutes. When all of the slamming finally stopped a garbage tuck came at about 4:30 am to run a dumpster with the back up beeper blaring. When I finally was leaving at 530 in the morning you couldn’t complain because there was some kind of metal bars pulled down across the front seat and nobody was there, just a drop box for your key. I’m a semi truck driver who now has to drive 600 miles today on about an hours sleep!!!! Think about that while your on the road

By on Oct 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 10, 2019

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We apologize for your unpleasant experience. We are sorry your sleep was disturbed by the noise and the inconvenience it caused. We wish we had the opportunity to address the issue while you were here as we would have done our best to ensure you were comfortable. Please visit us again so we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1

overpriced and under cleaned.

Everyone

Nothing better than getting heating your wife scream from the bathroom that there is NO toilet paper! There was also hair in the sink. We checked in at 3:30, half hour after check in time. There was ONE employee at the front desk so check in took nearly 20 minutes. When we called the front desk, a roll of toilet paper was brought up and placed on the counter! I should mention that the front desk worker had to leave the front desk to bring up the TP. Is there no other staff? There is no TP holder, the bathtub handle is about to fall off (I wonder if there is water damage to the unit below). If you're going to have a clock in the room, it should at least work. There was also a sandal under one bed and what appeared to be the wrapper of a condom under the other bed!! Clearly, cleanliness is not prioritized here at Extended Stay. I will say that the check out personnel was very polite and as nice as possible. She seemed understanding and she did tell me that bigger repair items (such as the bathtub) are approved from upstairs corporate and it is out of their control. Regardless, I was happy to leave with my family. You might want to avoid this establishment. I know I will. I tried to add pictures to this review, but I am unable to; picture files are too large. I have uploaded pictures to my review of this establishment on Google.

By on Jul 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. On behalf of our entire staff, we sincerely apologize for the service and cleanliness issues you experienced. We will be taking action to make sure we are more consistent in providing the level of service you expect and deserve. We hope you will consider giving us another chance so we can restore your confidence in our hotel. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Everyone

We checked in by 10pm (May 4)after long day (at Bloomington) and 4 hrs drive (with family of wife and 2 kids including 5 months old kid). Room#404 was allocated to us by mrs. Diamond, we opened door and it to our surprise somebody’s luggage/belongings were inside and room was unclean and smoking smelled . We went down to reception to inform and get new room. First reaction was it seems all rooms are full, and after 5min+ wait with family we got new room (236). She didn’t even say sorry!!!No hangers for cloths, no extra pillows, no shampoo, terrible breakfast( we had to go out finally). We can get much better and cleaner room . with good service in less than half price.Totally waste of money. First and last visit extended stay America

By on May 5, 2018

Review comment responded on May 6, 2018

Sojan, we sincerely apologize that you experienced so many difficulties during your stay with us. We are sorry, as we never mean to disappoint our guests in any way, and we definitely failed in this attempt. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate team members, so we can take action to prevent these issues from happening again. We hope you will afford us an opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Extended Stay America Chicago - Lansing

2520 173rd St, Lansing, IL 60438
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Chicago-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Chicago---Lansing.h120553-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Chicago-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Chicago---Lansing.h120553-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Chicago-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Chicago---Lansing.h120553-p2.Hotel-Reviews