Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This property was beyond terrible. There are 2 basic needs every hotel room should offer: a clean, sanitary sleeping space and a working shower. This property failed at both. I was traveling with my 16 year old daughter. We rented a room with a double bed and a pull out sofa bed. The pull out mattress had several large blood stains and rat droppings on it. I took several pictures to show the front desk staff. My daughter had to sleep with me in the double bed. I complained about the bed to the front desk staff and they changed us to a new room. It was late when we checked in. I just wanted to go to bed so I did not even think to check the bathroom to make sure there was a properly functioning shower. BECAUSE all hotels should offer you a working shower. When I woke up the next morning at 5am to shower, I realized there was no shower. ONLY a tub. There was shower head but no way to turn it on. The place where you would pull the lever to turn the shower head was gone and replaced by tape. So obviously someone there knew it was broken and choose not to fix it. I complained again to the front desk staff about the conditions of the room. I asked for a refund. They refused to give me a refund because I booked through Orbitz. When I called Orbitz to inform them about the conditions of the room, Orbitz stated they could not refund my money because the hotel had to refund my money. UNBELIEVABLE It was like watching 2 divorced parents argue.

I spent around $150 for a room expecting to find at a minimum a clean no frills hotel. I do not have ocd cleanliness issues, but the room conditions were repulsive. The floor was sticky, one of the lamp shades had blood smeared across the bottom of it. I could have written in the dust that was accumulated on top of the refrigerator. Although it was a no smoking room, it wreaked of stale cigarettes. The room was supposed to have a pull out couch for my kids to sleep on and the night clerk said it was all ready and set up. When I pulled out the couch it was a bare mattress covered in stains. I drove 14 hours with two young kids to get there and arrived after 11 PM. With no energy to pack up and find another hotel to stay in we all crammed into the king bed. The mattress was horrible and the sheets were cheap. Once the lights were out and we were all in bed, I checked my emails on my phone only to have what I believe to be fruit fly's start landing on my screen. I had reservations for two nights and the following morning was able to get the charges reversed for the second night without much trouble. However I was unable to find anyone on two different trips to the front desk. I had to call the hotel number and ask to meet someone at the front desk. If you want to spend $150 for a $50 hotel room this is your place.

it was dirty and smelled like smoke - the staff was hard to find - but they were nice when you could find them. not the end of the world but i would not go back

Waited 30 minutes to get someone to check us in at 9 pm. Had to go to an adjoining facility to get someone to find the person on duty. The person was called and said he was on break off grounds and could be back in 15 min. Was initially told to go somewhere else and call customer service in the am. Trrrible

Had to bring towels and utensils to front desk every day to get new ones. Toilet was stopped up. Staff member brought me a plunger and told me to plunge toilet myself to unstop it.

Brief stay in Richmond for business. Good location to where I needed to be. Safe area with plenty of free parking. Room was nice with fridge and mini kitchen. Very Clean. Free wifi. Breakfast was basics. Overall very good value for your money. Would stay there again.

The microwave smells bad and the stove was not clean. The breakfast was not great. Other than that was good overall.

Way to much noise coming from the person above me. I called the front desk about it and they did nothing!! For two hours the person was jumping and running in place at 10 pm !!!!

The location was excellent for I had several meetings in various parts of the city and it was nice to be able to check back at the hotel in between meetings. One of my favorite seafood restaurants is right across the street.

it was good i can even bring my dog

i come down to richmond everyweekend to stay with my girlfriend. these rooms have everything you need

great place to stay for richmond race weekend

This hotel was great for location for the NASCAR race and it was quiet. The staff was friendly and the rooms were nice. We stayed two nights and the only criticism I have is that they didn't come in and clean our room or even refresh our towels or coffee supplies. Other than that it was great and would definitely stay there again next year. Great price too!!

For the money, you can get MUCH better at another location. It was just barely OK; so if that's what you are looking for, then OK. I will NEVER stay there again, nor recommend for anyone.

The staff at the Expended Stay Deluxe were exceptional --- very friendly, helpful, welcoming.

Paragon Pl Richmond VA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Dumbarton within 2 miles (3 km) of Henrico Doctors' Hospital, Extended Stay America - Richmond - W Broad St-Glenside-North is within a few miles (5 km) of Markel Building. Each of the 82 rooms at this hotel includes a kitchen, a dining area, and a sitting area.


Rooms

All 82 accommodations feature kitchens and space to spread out with dining areas and sitting areas. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels and DVD players, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, phones, and ironing boards. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Renovated in 2017, Extended Stay America - Richmond - W Broad St-Glenside-North offers a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a seasonal outdoor pool. Extended parking is available. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, laundry facilities, and a picnic area.

Room options

Standard Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Kitchen

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Studio, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Kitchen

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Studio, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Kitchen

1 Queen Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Studio, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Richmond - W Broad St-Glenside-North

Everyone (2) Business (4) Couples (3) Family (2) Other (3)
1
Family Business Business

This property was beyond terrible. There are 2 basic needs every hotel room should offer: a clean, sanitary sleeping space and a working shower. This property failed at both. I was traveling with my 16 year old daughter. We rented a room with a double bed and a pull out sofa bed. The pull out mattress had several large blood stains and rat droppings on it. I took several pictures to show the front desk staff. My daughter had to sleep with me in the double bed. I complained about the bed to the front desk staff and they changed us to a new room. It was late when we checked in. I just wanted to go to bed so I did not even think to check the bathroom to make sure there was a properly functioning shower. BECAUSE all hotels should offer you a working shower. When I woke up the next morning at 5am to shower, I realized there was no shower. ONLY a tub. There was shower head but no way to turn it on. The place where you would pull the lever to turn the shower head was gone and replaced by tape. So obviously someone there knew it was broken and choose not to fix it. I complained again to the front desk staff about the conditions of the room. I asked for a refund. They refused to give me a refund because I booked through Orbitz. When I called Orbitz to inform them about the conditions of the room, Orbitz stated they could not refund my money because the hotel had to refund my money. UNBELIEVABLE It was like watching 2 divorced parents argue.

By , from Virginia Beach, Va on Apr 15, 2019

Review comment responded on May 1, 2019

Dear Julie, thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and for being our valued guest. We are so very sorry for the poor room conditions. We are glad you were moved to a more comfortable suite after speaking with our team, but clearly, some details were also missed regarding your guest bathroom. We have since had our engineering team address the shower issues. Unfortunately, since you booked through a third party site, they are the ones responsible for issuing the refund. We encourage you to reach back out to them as we are confident they can assist you further with your billing concerns. It is our hope to welcome you back soon and show you the seamless experience you deserve and expect from the brand. Travel well. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Family with small children

I spent around $150 for a room expecting to find at a minimum a clean no frills hotel. I do not have ocd cleanliness issues, but the room conditions were repulsive. The floor was sticky, one of the lamp shades had blood smeared across the bottom of it. I could have written in the dust that was accumulated on top of the refrigerator. Although it was a no smoking room, it wreaked of stale cigarettes. The room was supposed to have a pull out couch for my kids to sleep on and the night clerk said it was all ready and set up. When I pulled out the couch it was a bare mattress covered in stains. I drove 14 hours with two young kids to get there and arrived after 11 PM. With no energy to pack up and find another hotel to stay in we all crammed into the king bed. The mattress was horrible and the sheets were cheap. Once the lights were out and we were all in bed, I checked my emails on my phone only to have what I believe to be fruit fly's start landing on my screen. I had reservations for two nights and the following morning was able to get the charges reversed for the second night without much trouble. However I was unable to find anyone on two different trips to the front desk. I had to call the hotel number and ask to meet someone at the front desk. If you want to spend $150 for a $50 hotel room this is your place.

By on Apr 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 7, 2019

We are extremely sorry for the service and cleanliness issues you encountered while being here. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in what they do daily and we also have processes in place to double check each room prior to occupancy by the next guest. We fell short in our processes and are reviewing them so that this does not happen again. Also, your feedback will be shared as a training tool so that we can improve our service and facilities moving forward. Please visit us again so we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2

not the best

Everyone

it was dirty and smelled like smoke - the staff was hard to find - but they were nice when you could find them. not the end of the world but i would not go back

By on Aug 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 7, 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. It is good to know you liked our affordable rates and convenient location. However, we are sorry for not being able to meet all of your expectations and for the inconvenience caused. Please come stay with us again as we would love to provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Everyone

Waited 30 minutes to get someone to check us in at 9 pm. Had to go to an adjoining facility to get someone to find the person on duty. The person was called and said he was on break off grounds and could be back in 15 min. Was initially told to go somewhere else and call customer service in the am. Trrrible

By on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

Please accept our apologies as well every assurance we will be working to address the concerns outlined in your review. Normally our staff does a terrific job of responding to our guests’ needs, and in your case, that did not happen. We value your feedback and will use it to ensure we are more consistent in our service levels. We hope you will give us the chance to make it up to you at a future date. Sincerely, General Manager

1

terrible hotel

Other

Had to bring towels and utensils to front desk every day to get new ones. Toilet was stopped up. Staff member brought me a plunger and told me to plunge toilet myself to unstop it.

By on Sep 9, 2016

4

business trip

Other

Brief stay in Richmond for business. Good location to where I needed to be. Safe area with plenty of free parking. Room was nice with fridge and mini kitchen. Very Clean. Free wifi. Breakfast was basics. Overall very good value for your money. Would stay there again.

By on May 12, 2015

4

smelly microwave.

Family

The microwave smells bad and the stove was not clean. The breakfast was not great. Other than that was good overall.

By on Mar 13, 2014

1

noise

Business

Way to much noise coming from the person above me. I called the front desk about it and they did nothing!! For two hours the person was jumping and running in place at 10 pm !!!!

By on Dec 18, 2013

4

very convenient, comfortable location

Business

The location was excellent for I had several meetings in various parts of the city and it was nice to be able to check back at the hotel in between meetings. One of my favorite seafood restaurants is right across the street.

By on Oct 28, 2009

4

very nice

Couples

it was good i can even bring my dog

By on Oct 6, 2009

Extended Stay America - Richmond - W Broad St-Glenside-North

6807 Paragon Pl, Richmond, VA 23230
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Richmond-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Richmond---W-Broad-St-Glenside-North.h282269-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Richmond-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Richmond---W-Broad-St-Glenside-North.h282269-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Richmond-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Richmond---W-Broad-St-Glenside-North.h282269-p2.Hotel-Reviews