Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The only thing I didn't like was the rule about one pool/ beach towel per day. I would have followed it though had someone mentioned it to me. If I go to the beach I really did not want to use the same sandy/ wet towel for the pool later. There was one man who would not bend.I had already thrown my wet towel in the bin and he would not give me another. I explained, had I known, I would have just continued to use it despite my opinion. I then got the manager and he helped me get another towel. The front desk staff are great! They were VERY helpful. The staff working around the pool and the bar were so much fun and great. Property was always being taken care of and was nice and clean.

The real treasure of this resort is people, they trying so hard to keep guest happy. If you beach person, that's not your place to stay, there is no beach access,15-20 min bus drive,( provided by resort).Lupita Beach Club sad looking place with old,dirty beach chairs, sales people can be very disturbing, even aggressive(we been attracted by one of them).

Poor customer service. They are not friendly at all. Very poor quality of my mattress. I couldn’t sleep well any day of my staying there. Same food every day, poor quality of hard liquors and not even weren’t good. The bartenders were always in a bad mood with the guests.

The drinks in the bar are so low quality . I think you no useGood and original alcohol drinks

We checked out after 3hours! Not COVID-19 compliant. Hotel is run down. Pictures of rooms are inaccurate. Room liquor dispenser not used due to COVID.Food was not good,looked old.Drinks are watery. pool area was packed, pool looked dirty. We paid to move to another Riu Playacar.great place. Very COVID compliant. They were constantly cleaning.Food and drinks were great. Liquord dispenser wasused and both were Riu??? Pay the extra, stay someplace else. This resort is not the typical Riu resort and should be removed from their list.

La comida era estilo buffet, podria haber estado mucho mejor. El menú era casi siempre el mismo

very nice resort, it is one of the smaller resorts we have been to but the small environment was very nice and quiet. Very relaxing location.

I would give the food a 3/5, pool 3/5. It not on the beach, it's a 15 min bus ride away but the beach house and beach is very nice.

While not horrible, definitely not a worthwhile venue even with the savings in cost. The rooms are fine and kept clean, the wait and bar staff are wonderful - as are the activity staff. The pools are kept clean. It is a small resort, which has its upside, but there is NO air conditioning in any venue there- so in August, it's can be rough - sweating thru your meals and the shows. Because it is not ocean side - there is no ocean breeze to make it more tolerable. The bus service to the beach club was efficient and timely. The beach club itself is wonderful - lots of shaded areas to sit and the only pool that stays cool (due to shade) in Playa in August (hotel pool is like a hot bath by early afternoon this time of year) The food is ok, we certainly didn't starve, less selection (of course) than better Riu hotels, but presented well - again, downside is the oppressive heat this time of year bearing down on you while eating. The specialty restaurants still use the reservation system, we did not try any of them but I am sure they were fine - the menus for them were exactly the same as at the Riu Playacar -where I stayed a few weeks back. Hanna at the front desk lacks professionalism and any interest-even faux. She started our trip out on a very down note. Other than that -it's a budget experience - and for many that's enough. I just feel a few extra $$ spent elsewhere is money well spent.

Rooms were dirty. Stained sheets. Would not recommend.

Stay was wonderful, staff was unbelievable! Great value for price!

First of all I just wanted to make it known that the RIU Lupita no longer has exchange privileges with the other local RIU properties, such as the RIU Tequilla, Playacar or Yucatan properties. If staying at the RIU Lupita you can only use their facilities (Lupita guests even wear a different colored wrist band than the other properties so security, etc. know not to serve you). Other than that as has been already said the Riu Lupita has food and sevices similar to the other properties but they are much more scaled down because it is a smaller property (i.e. no swimup pool bar only one bar on site for guests, etc.). "Free Wi-Fi" is one time per day (up to 90 minutes), if you only used 10 minutes then that is all the Wi-Fi you get that day!!

We did not like our experience at this hotel, just by you having to take a bus to go to the beach is a minus, also the front lobby does not cater to your request, i called to ask for an iron and they told me come later to see if we have one, then i called to ask for someone to come help with our luggage the day we were checking out and they never came. The mini club pool for the kids is never clean, the pool is full of leaves and sand. The food menu at the buffett was the same everyday. Overall i don't think we would stay at another RIU

We stayed 3 nights. Cleanliness is average or below. Service average. You had to pay extra for WiFi Water in the pool was very cloudy. Great that it's all inclusive. That's about it. 3.0 out of 5.0

The hotel was lovely. The staff was great and friendly. The only complain would be that my bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable.

Good location. Relaxing place. Nice people. Great beach !

Never stayed in an All Inclusive hotel and the experience was great, food was good, drinks every time you need, service was excellent, always a smile, people is so kind. I think the only thing missing was a gym but you have plenty of activities all day to keep you busy. Definilty I will come back to paradise!

The hotel is very nice and the staff is very friendly. I was impressed by their food at the buffet and at the specialty restaurant. Bus transportation every 1/2 hour to Play or the beach was also a plus.

Lote Hotelero 1, Manzana 20 Playa del Carmen QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in Playacar within a short walk of Playacar Golf Club, Riu Lupita All Inclusive is within a mile (2 km) of Mahi Golf Course. This 300-room, 3.5-star property has 3 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and 4 restaurants.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 7 AM to 10:30 AM. Enjoy the pool views at Adelita, one of 4 onsite restaurants. Quench your thirst with a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

Flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include balconies, minibars, and ceiling fans.


Property features

Guests of Riu Lupita All Inclusive have access to a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a nightclub. You can take advantage of free parking, along with limo/town car service. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with luggage storage, tours or tickets, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this all-inclusive property include a children's pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Standard Double Room, Balcony (L)

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Family Room, Balcony (U)

1 King Bed and 1 Twin Bunk Bed | Sleeps 4

Family Room, Balcony (M)

1 King Bed and 1 Twin Bunk Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Double Room, Balcony (E)

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Riu Lupita All Inclusive

Everyone (4) Couples (17) Family (6) Other (4) Friends (2)
4
Family with small children Friends

The only thing I didn't like was the rule about one pool/ beach towel per day. I would have followed it though had someone mentioned it to me. If I go to the beach I really did not want to use the same sandy/ wet towel for the pool later. There was one man who would not bend.I had already thrown my wet towel in the bin and he would not give me another. I explained, had I known, I would have just continued to use it despite my opinion. I then got the manager and he helped me get another towel. The front desk staff are great! They were VERY helpful. The staff working around the pool and the bar were so much fun and great. Property was always being taken care of and was nice and clean.

By on Oct 17, 2022

3
Partner Couples

The real treasure of this resort is people, they trying so hard to keep guest happy. If you beach person, that's not your place to stay, there is no beach access,15-20 min bus drive,( provided by resort).Lupita Beach Club sad looking place with old,dirty beach chairs, sales people can be very disturbing, even aggressive(we been attracted by one of them).

By , from San Diego on Jun 4, 2022

1
Partner Couples

Poor customer service. They are not friendly at all. Very poor quality of my mattress. I couldn’t sleep well any day of my staying there. Same food every day, poor quality of hard liquors and not even weren’t good. The bartenders were always in a bad mood with the guests.

By on Jun 1, 2022

3
Partner Couples

The drinks in the bar are so low quality . I think you no useGood and original alcohol drinks

By on Dec 4, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2021

Dear María Lucía, Thank you for your review. We regret that we did not meet your expectations with our beverage offer, as we always try to offer a wide variety of national and international brands to satisfy the taste of all our guests. However, we will forward your comments to our Food & Beverage team to further improve our offer. We hope there were also positive aspects of your stay which will bring you back to visit us again in the future. Best regards, Hotel Riu Lupita Online Reputation Manager

1
Everyone

By on Oct 30, 2021

1
Friends

We checked out after 3hours! Not COVID-19 compliant. Hotel is run down. Pictures of rooms are inaccurate. Room liquor dispenser not used due to COVID.Food was not good,looked old.Drinks are watery. pool area was packed, pool looked dirty. We paid to move to another Riu Playacar.great place. Very COVID compliant. They were constantly cleaning.Food and drinks were great. Liquord dispenser wasused and both were Riu??? Pay the extra, stay someplace else. This resort is not the typical Riu resort and should be removed from their list.

By on Oct 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 18, 2021

Dear Teresa, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your most recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry that you had such a negative experience with us, and that you left us after 3 hours thinking that we clearly missed the mark on multiple aspects of your stay. At the same time, we are surprised to read your comments. With the many challenges that Covid-19 has brought, we have taken measures by applying strict protocols which we have developed in collaboration with the prestigious Preverisk Group that ensures a safe and clean environment for our guests and employees. There is nothing more important these days. Please accept our sincere apologies for not all aspects of your stay being acceptable, as we certainly never want to give a bad impression of our services. Your comments mean a lot to us, and we do care that we perform better. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will be discussing these issues with our entire staff to make enhancements whenever possible, ensuring that this does not happen to you or any other guest in the future. We hope that you will give our hotel another chance so we can impress you. Kind regards Hotel Riu Lupita Online Reputation Manager

4
Everyone

By on Jul 15, 2021

3
Partner Couples

La comida era estilo buffet, podria haber estado mucho mejor. El menú era casi siempre el mismo

By on Jan 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2021

Estimado cliente, Gracias por elegir uno de nuestros RIU Hotels & Resorts. Sentimos mucho que su reciente experiencia general con nosotros no fuera como esperaba. Ahora, más que nunca, priorizamos la salud de todos nuestros huéspedes y empleados y, para ello, estamos aplicando los protocolos de seguridad adecuados, tales como la reducción en la oferta gastronómica. Sentimos mucho que esta situación haya afectado a su estancia de una manera poco satisfactoria. Su opinión es muy importante para nosotros y la tendremos en cuenta para realizar un seguimiento, así como para continuar mejorando la calidad de nuestra oferta. Esperamos tener otra oportunidad de alojarlo en el futuro, para brindarle mejores sensaciones. Reciba un cordial saludo, Hotel Riu Lupita Online Reputation Manager

5
Family with small children

very nice resort, it is one of the smaller resorts we have been to but the small environment was very nice and quiet. Very relaxing location.

By on Apr 1, 2019

4
Everyone

I would give the food a 3/5, pool 3/5. It not on the beach, it's a 15 min bus ride away but the beach house and beach is very nice.

By on Jul 14, 2017

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Riu-Lupita-All-Inclusive.h470878-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Riu-Lupita-All-Inclusive.h470878-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Riu-Lupita-All-Inclusive.h470878-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions