Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Royalton Park Avenue

5.0 out of 5.0

Royalton Park Avenue

5.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Time for a remodel. This once glamorous property has sure seen its share of wear and tear. It looks old and sad. Paint is chipping off most of the furniture, design selections look very early 2010, and there are very few decent amenities. You have to pay for coffee in your room and when I did order some coffee - it took 30 minutes to get to me. There was a private party in the pool area in the evening so the $45 resort fee I was paying was worthless since I wasn't able to have an outdoor cocktail by the pool. The pool is great - but it closes at 6 and the outdoor spaces close at 11 because of a city noise ordinance. Be aware of these things before you book. You can get a newly remodeled hotel in NYC for the same price or cheaper. Until the Royalton remodels - I would stay away.

Tried to bill us for minibar charger which we didn't use. Did not give minibar credit. Resort fee excessive. Just meh.

Broken elevator, closed penthouse level bar/restaurant, room temperature refrigerators in rooms that they pass off as a minibar (who wants room temperature soda, juice or white wine?), ice not easily available. Thought I was booking Royalton. My bad. Property used to be Gansvoort hotel. As Royalton Park Avenue it has gone down considerably.

The pool was full of screaming children the entire time we were there. Do not expect the pool area to be adults. It was the opposite of relaxing. I had also prepaid the hotel and was charged a pretty pricy charge for miscellaneous fees of around 140 dollars for 3 nights. I’m not sure what I got for that but this should be disclosed before the property is booked.

We stayed in a very large room with private balcony on park ave, rooms are huge! You pay almost double for a room that big anywhere else in nyc, we got a free bottle of champagne for our wedding anniversary. Beautiful rooftop pool, filled with a lot of kids but still nice.

Loved my stay here including the 2 hour early and late checkin.

This is not a luxury hotel by any means. The pool was tiny and overcrowded. The room was junky and worn. There was even a power strip next to the bed because the outlets on the nightstands didn't work. The worst part of our stay was being woken up four times throughout the night. We complained to security, but they didn't do anything about the party that was going on down the hall. I will never make the mistake of staying at a Ganesvoort property again.

One of my favorite hotels. Really nice room, amenities, and the staff was super friendly and helpful. Would love to stay here again.

My father came in to the city and I wanted him to have a comfortable space, instead of craving him in our apt down the street. Although the sq footage of the room was nice and the furnishings were nice, the room had a dank odor to it, similar to motels I have visited in Florida where the humidity is abundant. It wasn't a super strong odor, or he would have requested a different room, but I think he was trying to be east to please and knew he only had to put up with it for three nights. The bathroom was way spacious and nicely kept up. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. All in all, I would recommend this hotel. Maybe I just have a strong sense of smell. :-)

I had a good experience. The staff was very friendly. I would recommend this hotel. The hotel features all comforts of home. You will feel like you are really getting pampered.

Staff members were pleasant, helpful and worked with me when I arrived earlier than normal check-in to get into a room.

When I booked this hotel, I was expecting so much more WOW factor, especially since it was 535 per night. I had stayed at the G in Meatpacking district and it was much more of the WOW experience. The staff here was good. Especially the gentlemen helping us get cabs.

We just stayed at the Park Ave Gans for the long Thanksgiving weekend. Everything about the hotel was perfect!!! The room was large and so clean with a huge bathroom and great internet. The lobby was so comfy and cosy-we had our children(grown) over for a glass of wine before dinner and sat by the lovely long fireplace wall. The staff was the best I've experienced at any hotel(5 star included). The got us wineglasses, extra ice-anything I wanted, they couldn't be more accommodating. We even brought out little wheaten terrier-won't stay anywhere else now-loved it!!!!!

The ambience at this hotel is beautiful. It is located close to the Empire State building and about a 30 minute walk to times square. The staff are very nice and helpful.

We had a enjoyable stay , the staff was friendly and helpful. For most part this hotel met our expectations, however i find that more detail should be placed on bathroom clealiness, there we moulds in the shower areas at the entrance door need to be cleaned.

The staff was very friendly and the room was beautiful. They had a great bar to hang out at night.

Location amazing . Decore was amazing. However I do belive personal staffwas not up to par on standard of sevice for the level of hotel on park Avenue. Their were couple incidents that I was not please with. But I will come back again.

The staff were courteous and the location was ideal for my trip

420 Park Avenue South New York NY

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to 5th Avenue and Madison Square Garden
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Midtown, Royalton Park Avenue is adjacent to 5th Avenue and within a 5-minute walk of other popular sights like Madison Square Garden. This 5-star hotel welcomes guests with 249 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at Royalton Rooftop, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room. Cooked-to-order breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

An LCD TV comes with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers free toiletries and slippers. Other standard amenities include an iPod dock, a minibar, and a coffee maker.


Property features

At Royalton Park Avenue, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a spa tub. Valet parking is offered for USD 65 per day. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with luggage storage, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this luxury hotel include a sauna, a rooftop terrace, and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Deluxe King

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Superior Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Grand Deluxe King

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Royal Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Royalton Park Avenue

Everyone (11) Couples (63) Business (23) Family (28) Friends (18) Other (12)
5
Everyone

By on May 29, 2019

Review comment responded on May 30, 2019

Thank you for the great 5 out of 5 rating! We are so glad that we were able to make you "feel royal" throughout your stay.

2
Friends

Time for a remodel. This once glamorous property has sure seen its share of wear and tear. It looks old and sad. Paint is chipping off most of the furniture, design selections look very early 2010, and there are very few decent amenities. You have to pay for coffee in your room and when I did order some coffee - it took 30 minutes to get to me. There was a private party in the pool area in the evening so the $45 resort fee I was paying was worthless since I wasn't able to have an outdoor cocktail by the pool. The pool is great - but it closes at 6 and the outdoor spaces close at 11 because of a city noise ordinance. Be aware of these things before you book. You can get a newly remodeled hotel in NYC for the same price or cheaper. Until the Royalton remodels - I would stay away.

By on May 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 4, 2019

Thank you for your feedback on the Royalton Park Avenue. Although we always strive for a perfect 5 out of 5 rating, we will take your feedback as a learning experience and try our best to recover from the issues that you experienced. We would love the opportunity to host you again to show you just how "royal" we can make one feel.

3
Families Families

Tried to bill us for minibar charger which we didn't use. Did not give minibar credit. Resort fee excessive. Just meh.

By on May 13, 2019

Review comment responded on May 30, 2019

Dear Yoyoma, Thank you for your feedback on the Royalton Park Avenue Hotel. Although we always strive for a perfect rating, we take every review, negative or positive, and turn it into to learning experience for our team. I apologize about the mini bar charges but glad our staff was able to adjust them for you. We would love to have the opportunity to host you again to show you just how "royal" we can make one feel.

2
Everyone

Broken elevator, closed penthouse level bar/restaurant, room temperature refrigerators in rooms that they pass off as a minibar (who wants room temperature soda, juice or white wine?), ice not easily available. Thought I was booking Royalton. My bad. Property used to be Gansvoort hotel. As Royalton Park Avenue it has gone down considerably.

By on Jan 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 4, 2019

Hi L, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so sorry that you experienced these hurdles during your visit and that you felt that our service did not meet the standards you have come to expect from our property. Rest assured I will be following up with our operations team regarding your visit. We would love the opportunity to make this up to you should you return to Royalton Park Avenue in the future. Thank you again for your time. We hope to see you again soon!

4
Everyone

The pool was full of screaming children the entire time we were there. Do not expect the pool area to be adults. It was the opposite of relaxing. I had also prepaid the hotel and was charged a pretty pricy charge for miscellaneous fees of around 140 dollars for 3 nights. I’m not sure what I got for that but this should be disclosed before the property is booked.

By on Jul 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2018

Greetings! We appreciate you taking time sharing your feedback. We do have a facility fee here on property which includes but not limited to rooftop bar and swimming pool, gym and business center, $10 mini bar credit, etc. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, SIETSE NABBEN MANAGING DIRECTOR Royalton Park Avenue

5
Everyone

We stayed in a very large room with private balcony on park ave, rooms are huge! You pay almost double for a room that big anywhere else in nyc, we got a free bottle of champagne for our wedding anniversary. Beautiful rooftop pool, filled with a lot of kids but still nice.

By on Jul 21, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 24, 2018

Hello Rich, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Royalton Park Ave for you wedding anniversary celebration - we are truly honored! Our team is dedicated to making you feel royal when you stay with and I am thrilled we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, SIETSE NABBEN MANAGING DIRECTOR Royalton Park Avenue

5

luxe

Everyone

Loved my stay here including the 2 hour early and late checkin.

By , from palm springs, ca on Mar 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2018

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you had a great time and we hope to see you again.

1

very disappointing stay.

Everyone

This is not a luxury hotel by any means. The pool was tiny and overcrowded. The room was junky and worn. There was even a power strip next to the bed because the outlets on the nightstands didn't work. The worst part of our stay was being woken up four times throughout the night. We complained to security, but they didn't do anything about the party that was going on down the hall. I will never make the mistake of staying at a Ganesvoort property again.

By , from New York, NY on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

Hi Stephen, thanks for your review. To provide more details, please find our contact info on our website and reach out to us with your Orbitz username + preferred contact method, and a manager will get back to you within 48 hours. Regards, Gansevoort Park

5
Everyone

One of my favorite hotels. Really nice room, amenities, and the staff was super friendly and helpful. Would love to stay here again.

By on Aug 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 21, 2017

Thanks for your generous review of Gansevoort Park. Happy to hear you had a seamless stay. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Regards, Gansevoort Park

4

parents visiting

Everyone

My father came in to the city and I wanted him to have a comfortable space, instead of craving him in our apt down the street. Although the sq footage of the room was nice and the furnishings were nice, the room had a dank odor to it, similar to motels I have visited in Florida where the humidity is abundant. It wasn't a super strong odor, or he would have requested a different room, but I think he was trying to be east to please and knew he only had to put up with it for three nights. The bathroom was way spacious and nicely kept up. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. All in all, I would recommend this hotel. Maybe I just have a strong sense of smell. :-)

By , from New York, NY on Apr 26, 2017

Review comment responded on May 10, 2017

Hello CitySlicker! We are glad your Father enjoyed his stay at Gansevoort Park Avenue. I have passed along your comment about the odor in the room to management to look into. Please think of us next time your Father is planning on visiting - we would love to show him a seamless stay! Regards, Gansevoort Park Avenue