Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Compass Cove Resort

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Everyone was friendly and hospitable- When needed help- Came very quickly! Beds were very comfortable ! Great experience !

Parking was a nightmare. People in charge of the of it were jerks.

I loved my stay. The only thing I had a problem with was the tub drain drained very slow. By the end of my shower the tub was 1/3 of the way full. Just fix that and the rest of my stay was perfect. Love this resort and will defiantly go back.

I was worried based off of previous reviews. But this room was nice! I will definitely stay here again! The view was amazing! The staff was friendly and helpful! You could tell they are upgrading so the little things that I could fuss about are justified due to renovations. You won’t find a better deal in Myrtle Beach!

great stay, very relaxing will revisit recommend to family and friends

The room was not ready at 3 which is check in time. We had to wait over an hour tok get into our room. The hotel is very dated and dirty

We only had 2 nights, check-in was easy -- accommodations / room /supplies were fine .. It was a busy crowded weekend -- water facilities too crowded to relax & enjoy .. Many very noisy & inconsiderate guests -- not your fault -- but we chose not to extend our stay ... our trip for R & R was a disappointment ...

Everyone was very helpful and courteous. The oceanfront view from the 3rd floor room was perfect and the room was very quiet. It was very comfortable.

Staff at check in and out was flustered, and bathroom was not the best but the room was huge, clean and comfortable. It was close to the beach and had nice amenities

Clean place, very friendly staff! Only issue I had was that perhaps some security in the parking garage may be in order. I traveled alone, and there were people all over the parking garage day and night who weren’t hotel guests. i was approached several times, and while I have much compassion for people in need, it was a little alarming. Room was decently clean, and I’m ocd, so that says a lot. Overall good experience. Good bang for the buck.

I went for Valentines weekend. Paid extra 50 for romance special.. Room was beautiful. Fake rose petals on floor . I went to turn on Tv- doesnt work. I went to take a showet- no hot water! Called front desk- maintenance to come fix it. They come another phone call, an 2 hours later. It is now almost midnight! He runs water fir 10 mins and gets water somewhat warm. Halfway through shower goes cold!!! Lunch time next day still not fixed. They get me another room. It is an upgrade but we had to move to a different building! This is not a cheap hotel! Asking for tv that works and hot water is not much! probably should have asked for money back and gotten new hotel!

Beautiful oceanfront view. Clean room, but a little dated. Hot water takes a while to warm up. Great kitchenette, but bring your own coffee. Very comfortable bed.

It was a bit difficult getting our luggage to our room. We were parked on the third floor, had to walk down stairs to the second floor, and then take elevator to the 5th floor. Only had one set of elevators working due to water issue after the snow. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay and the staff were friendly and room was clean.

My first experience was with a desk clerk who was not helpful or welcoming at all. Once we got past the filthy hallways and rusted doors (I'm assuming they are repainting them), the room seemed OK except for dirty, stained carpet until I went in to the bathroom. There was built up dust and dirt around tub and the drain had no covering and was DISGUSTING! There was painting and other equipment everywhere and it seemed everywhere you looked things were dirty. This is not a place I will stay again and would not recommend it to a friend.

This was our second time staying at this result and we enjoyed our stay. Although there was maintenance going on and one of the elevators wasn’t working we still enjoyed.

My husband and I stayed during New Year's Eve weekend. We had a great time. Everyone was friendly. Room was clean and warm (coldest time ever that I have visited the beach). The hotel had a great New Year's Eve party at the Crow's Nest in the Pinnacle Building with an appetizer buffet that was ok. Overall, we had a fantastic time during our stay. The only negative I know of is we would several bugs in our room. We did tell the staff and they said that they would check into it and have it taken care of. My husband discreetly told the lady at the desk all about it because there was a line of people waiting to check-in and/or check-out and he didn't want to show any disrespect. The lady was very grateful of how my husband telling her about it.

Go stay further north. I discovered that’s where the nicer hotels are. We didn’t stay one night because we knew we wouldn’t be comfortable. I wasn’t there for a vacation so it was fine that wee didn’t stay near the beach. My brother lives in Myrtle beach and he recommended I leave compass cove so we did.

Would not book through orbits for this hotel didn’t get room I was told to get had to pay a lot more money.. very disappointed. But loved location.. but wasn’t expecting the charges

This is a good place to stay a day we've been here multiple times. We had a great view, however it was hampered by construction. They are painting and sanding. The noise of the sander and the people outside the window made the balcony impossible to use. I know this work will soon be done (and that there is no good time to do it), but it was disappointing.

I travel a lot & have stayed in resorts all over the east coast plus the west coast. This was the most disappointing place I have ever been! I followed all of the reviews & requested the Pinnacle building as there is multiple buildings with this resort. Apparently it is the best, however this resort is NOT meant for anyone with babies/toddlers if anyone in general. It is absolutely disgusting!!! Staff was never helpful (if you could find them), pools for kids were closed including lazy river, elevator was terrifying and I had cockroaches in my first room, yes cockroaches. I ended up checking out early leaving an emotional ball of stress because of this place. I should have moved to a different hotel the first day, but I could not pay for a completely new reservation. I gave them a 2 because the restaurant is actually pretty good with the nicest ladies who made me feel a bit at home despite everything I had dealt with. I will NOT return to this place and I do not recommend!

2311 S. Ocean Blvd Myrtle Beach SC

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Free airport shuttle

Within a short walk of Midway Park, Compass Cove Resort is within a mile (2 km) of Art Museum of Myrtle Beach. This 531-room, 3-star hotel has 3 restaurants, an outdoor pool, and an indoor pool. It's on the beach and also near Warbird Park and Family Kingdom Amusement Park.


Dining

This hotel is home to 3 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Entertain your taste buds with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café. Buffet breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 6 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

All 531 air-conditioned rooms feature balconies or patios, microwaves, and coffee makers. Guests can enjoy free WiFi and cable TV. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls, safes, and ironing boards are also available. Limited housekeeping is available.


Property features

Compass Cove Resort features an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and a lazy river. There's free parking, as well as a free airport shuttle (available 24 hours). The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with concierge services and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a children's pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub.

Room options

Condo, 3 Bedrooms, Oceanfront (Mariner)

King 1 | Sleeps 8

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Kitchenette, Oceanfront

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Ocean View (Schooner)

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Kitchenette, Ocean View

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Compass Cove Resort

Everyone (44) Couples (60) Business (3) Family (112) Other (8) Friends (16)
5

great hotel

Everyone

Everyone was friendly and hospitable- When needed help- Came very quickly! Beds were very comfortable ! Great experience !

By on May 19, 2018

4
Everyone

Parking was a nightmare. People in charge of the of it were jerks.

By on May 18, 2018

3
Everyone

I loved my stay. The only thing I had a problem with was the tub drain drained very slow. By the end of my shower the tub was 1/3 of the way full. Just fix that and the rest of my stay was perfect. Love this resort and will defiantly go back.

By on May 14, 2018

5
Everyone

I was worried based off of previous reviews. But this room was nice! I will definitely stay here again! The view was amazing! The staff was friendly and helpful! You could tell they are upgrading so the little things that I could fuss about are justified due to renovations. You won’t find a better deal in Myrtle Beach!

By , from Sumter, SC on May 9, 2018

Review comment responded on May 10, 2018

Hello Carissa, Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that although you read some not so pleasant reviews, you were willing to give us a shot. At Compass Cove, we strive to ensure that our guests have nothing less than a 5 star stay with us and I am glad that we met our goal with you! We are currently undergoing minor renovations and upgrades throughout the property, in order to further enhance our guests experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the near future. Best Regards, Shanikwa Fordham Guest Services Manager

4
Everyone

great stay, very relaxing will revisit recommend to family and friends

By on May 8, 2018

Review comment responded on May 13, 2018

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We love recommendations! We hope to see you soon.

1
Everyone

The room was not ready at 3 which is check in time. We had to wait over an hour tok get into our room. The hotel is very dated and dirty

By on Mar 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 6, 2018

Thank you for the recent review of the Compass Cove. We apologize that your room was not ready promptly at 3 pm. We do appreciate the feedback that you have provided. Thank you for helping to make our resort better.

3
Everyone

We only had 2 nights, check-in was easy -- accommodations / room /supplies were fine .. It was a busy crowded weekend -- water facilities too crowded to relax & enjoy .. Many very noisy & inconsiderate guests -- not your fault -- but we chose not to extend our stay ... our trip for R & R was a disappointment ...

By on Mar 17, 2018

4

family friendly

Everyone

Everyone was very helpful and courteous. The oceanfront view from the 3rd floor room was perfect and the room was very quiet. It was very comfortable.

By , from Ithaca, NY on Mar 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 14, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon

4

huge room, cheap, close to the beach

Everyone

Staff at check in and out was flustered, and bathroom was not the best but the room was huge, clean and comfortable. It was close to the beach and had nice amenities

By on Mar 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 14, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize if your stay was anything less then exceptional. We hope you wil return to Compass Cove again soon

5

nice place for the money

Everyone

Clean place, very friendly staff! Only issue I had was that perhaps some security in the parking garage may be in order. I traveled alone, and there were people all over the parking garage day and night who weren’t hotel guests. i was approached several times, and while I have much compassion for people in need, it was a little alarming. Room was decently clean, and I’m ocd, so that says a lot. Overall good experience. Good bang for the buck.

By on Mar 9, 2018