Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Barking dogs, broken elevator, several ice machines not working, towels like sandpaper. Needs some cleaning/TLC/renovation! Parking, location & beach were okay.

Too expensive for what we got. They used the best pictures to advertise the place. When we got there, the main restraunt was closed and but the website did not indicate that. We never got patio chairs even after asking three separate times(All the other rooms had patio chairs) The elevator was broken every morning and we had to tell the lobby. No one would pick up in the lobby when we called from the room. We had to pay a separate "resort fee" but didn't have any speical accomidations. The beach was public and the pool did not have a key entrance so random people were in the pool. Overall, I paid too much for what we got.

On the beach

It was close to the lake!

Inside, the room was immaculate, the floors were new, and the walls, ceiling, and bathroom in good repair. We liked it, and we liked our unobstructed lake-front views. The age of the property was nicely hidden. We were on the 2nd floor in rooms 202 and 203. The tiki bar was right outside our window to the right, but the noise was never a problem. A wedding reception occurring to the left of our rooms, however, was noisy. There were rooms far closer to the din, and we thanked our lucky stars we weren't in them. Outside our room, the property was slightly dumpy. Not a lot but just enough to let you know you're not at the Ritz. The exterior steel stairs outside our room were somewhat rusty, and various steps were slightly out of alignment. The walkways on the upper floors needed a freshening. The green spaces were few. Checking in was HORRIBLE. I stood in line for 40 minutes in an enclosed space with anti-maskholes. For the first 20 minutes, there was only 1 person checking in everyone, and she was as slow as the sloth teller in Zootopia. Kind but slow. I just wanted to scream. Finally, a manager showed up and started checking in guests at the other window. He wasn't much faster. Back in the day, I used to work the front desk of hotels, and I know how efficient and quick they could make their process but won't for some reason. There wasn't even a sense of urgency or an acknowledgement that the line coiled all over the lobby. Customer service desperately needs to be improved.

I love that the beach is within walking distance but I hated that there was not enough parking for guests.

The best part of this hotel was how it was right on the beach. We could go back and forth from our room to the beach within a couple of minutes. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. This hotel was great for the price. We will definitely be returning.

andrew was kind enough to let me check in early. the staffs here are very friendly...i had the partial lake view on 2nd floor. couldnt really see the lake but it was nice relaxing at the balcony. not too from most of the places i wanted to go. wished the room and the bathroom was little bigger

None

Cleaning can be better, trash outside needs to be picked up. Rooms were dusty and carpet not vacuumed.

Great location. Poor room condition, old building, very uncomfortable beds and useless coffee machine. Not worth at offered price.

Did not have a parking spot. We had to park across street!

Location....service...onsite restaurant...it was awesome!

Lake Tahoe Blvd South Lake Tahoe CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free uncovered self parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Marina
  • 24-hour business center

Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe places you within 2 miles (3 km) of popular sights like Heavenly Gondola and The Shops at Heavenly Village. This 3.5-star resort has 262 guestrooms and offers conveniences like 2 restaurants, a marina, and free self parking.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including Sidelines Sports Pub, which specializes in American cuisine.


Rooms

All of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe's 262 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including patios, iPod docks, and private yards. Guests can expect to find LCD TVs with cable channels. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls are also available.


Property features

Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe features a marina, a conference center, and a 24-hour business center. A stay here includes free parking. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with luggage storage and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this beach resort include a seasonal outdoor pool, coffee/tea in a common area, and a microwave in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, Partial Lake View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Premium Room, 1 King Bed, Beach View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Partial Lake View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Everyone (28) Couples (8) Family (16)
3
Family

Barking dogs, broken elevator, several ice machines not working, towels like sandpaper. Needs some cleaning/TLC/renovation! Parking, location & beach were okay.

By on Jul 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 15, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as it helps us improve guest satisfaction for future guests.

2
Friends

Too expensive for what we got. They used the best pictures to advertise the place. When we got there, the main restraunt was closed and but the website did not indicate that. We never got patio chairs even after asking three separate times(All the other rooms had patio chairs) The elevator was broken every morning and we had to tell the lobby. No one would pick up in the lobby when we called from the room. We had to pay a separate "resort fee" but didn't have any speical accomidations. The beach was public and the pool did not have a key entrance so random people were in the pool. Overall, I paid too much for what we got.

By on Jul 10, 2021

5
Everyone

On the beach

By on Jul 10, 2021

4
Family with small children

It was close to the lake!

By on Jul 9, 2021

4
Family

Inside, the room was immaculate, the floors were new, and the walls, ceiling, and bathroom in good repair. We liked it, and we liked our unobstructed lake-front views. The age of the property was nicely hidden. We were on the 2nd floor in rooms 202 and 203. The tiki bar was right outside our window to the right, but the noise was never a problem. A wedding reception occurring to the left of our rooms, however, was noisy. There were rooms far closer to the din, and we thanked our lucky stars we weren't in them. Outside our room, the property was slightly dumpy. Not a lot but just enough to let you know you're not at the Ritz. The exterior steel stairs outside our room were somewhat rusty, and various steps were slightly out of alignment. The walkways on the upper floors needed a freshening. The green spaces were few. Checking in was HORRIBLE. I stood in line for 40 minutes in an enclosed space with anti-maskholes. For the first 20 minutes, there was only 1 person checking in everyone, and she was as slow as the sloth teller in Zootopia. Kind but slow. I just wanted to scream. Finally, a manager showed up and started checking in guests at the other window. He wasn't much faster. Back in the day, I used to work the front desk of hotels, and I know how efficient and quick they could make their process but won't for some reason. There wasn't even a sense of urgency or an acknowledgement that the line coiled all over the lobby. Customer service desperately needs to be improved.

By on Jun 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 26, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as it helps us improve guest satisfaction for future guests.

3
Family

I love that the beach is within walking distance but I hated that there was not enough parking for guests.

By on Jun 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 26, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to review our property, we hope to see you again soon.

5
Everyone

By on Jun 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 4, 2021

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Family

The best part of this hotel was how it was right on the beach. We could go back and forth from our room to the beach within a couple of minutes. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. This hotel was great for the price. We will definitely be returning.

By on Jun 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 20, 2021

Thanks for the review, we're glad you enjoyed the location and property.

5
Everyone

By on Jun 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 20, 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review!

4
Everyone

By on Jun 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 14, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to review the property and glad you enjoyed your stay.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Beach-Retreat-&-Lodge-at-Tahoe.h21435-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Beach-Retreat-&-Lodge-at-Tahoe.h21435-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Beach-Retreat-&-Lodge-at-Tahoe.h21435-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions