Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

One of the worst hotel. Its water is terrible. I couldn’t even clean the soap. No tissues, the towels feel so rough, the sheets are not even clean! And the hotel charges an additional 3.9% fees by paying credit card, which mens you mush pay if you booked online! Won’t stay there again.

No refrigerator or microwave as advertised. The pool didn’t look open, or cleaned in quite a while. The room has a no smoking sign, but used to be a smoking room. You can tell by the old school smoke eaters mounted on the walls, and the terrible sinus infection if your allergic to stale smoke smell.

Would not allow early check out. I understand that I could not cancel first day, but that would not allow us to cancel 2 nd day. NOT the way to do business . I will not book with them again!

I was in the area for a day of training. I did not want to drive a total of six hours plus 8 hours of training so decided to stay the night in the area. Magnuson was mid price out of the three hotels I found. Although map app had me at a wrong location, friendly gas station workers aided me with the correct location. Check in woman was really friendly and welcoming. If ever in the area again, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Nothing like what the internet said. No breakfast. Luke warm coffee and the bar restaurant and pool were closed due to mechanical problems and they said renovating restaurant. Wouldn't stay there again. Not a good value for the money. But bed was clean and comfortable.

Tracy, at front desk, was the best in customer service I've seen in years. She is so dedicated to her employer and the customer to her is golden!

The hotel was old and not very inviting. The pool was closed for mechanical reasons. The staff was very nice. Looked like they have tried to update with new bedding. It was clean. Room stunk so bad of smoke we had to go buy lysol! Was worth about half of what we paid!

We selected this hotel because it was a very convenient location with respect to our visit to Howell. We were only needing a room for one night and didn't need other amenities like a pool or complementary breakfast which is good since these were not available at this location at this time. The property is undergoing some renovations. Our room was clean and comfortable. I considered it a good value and will probably stay there again.

The hotel room was alright. It had decent amenities like ironing boards/iron, tv with limited channels, ac/heater, "internet", towels and everything was fairly clean. The staff on the other hand seemed to be a bit lacking. They were nice and all but they would keep forgetting things like turning the AC on and when I had issues with the internet even after following the guides in the rooms they didn't really know how to fix it. The door to the room was finicky and you had to do the magic opening trick to get the door open. The pool looked like it had radioactive waste in it. Given that it really was just a place to hang out and sleep for a couple days I would go back but it's nothing spectacular.

The hotel is in a good location for the business I had to conduct. Even though the hotel is old, the rooms are in great shape, very clean, and quiet. The staff was helpful. I just wish there was a low cost breakfast option included in the price.

We planned to stop here to split up our drive from Traverse City, MI area back to Columbus, OH. There was a balloon festival in the area we wanted to take our 2 young boys to, so finding a room on short notice wasn't easy. Although the rooms and front desk indicate no smoking, the room smell was like an ashtray, and we made the mistake of letting our 9 month old son crawl on the floor as after we picked him up he had black on his hands and knees. We checked out and drove the rest of the way home that night. Please don't stay at this hotel.

Desk clerk did not want to give a receipt for expense account because room was booked on a travel site, said the travel site would give receipt. Used wash cloth was draped over tub rail. First hotel in this price range with no continental breakfast, only a pay restaurant. Would look for someplace else next time in the area.

was nice just simple was very ok.!-service was good-not very special but it worked for us ok.

Since I was there for only an overnight event, I returned to the smae hotel as the previous year. To my surprise, I received back my new jacket that I had left the year before. This kind of honesty has to be recognized. I'll return there again next year.

The Best Western in Howell was a disappointment. The room smelled to the point of making us sick to our stomachs. We turned on the a/c and it helped. The carpeting was dirty and bed linens not very fresh. Bathroom was clean and well maintained. There were several vehicles in the parking lot with flat tires that made us wonder if that happens to guests who could not pay?! We were told there would be complementary coffee and danish, but didn't see any. We left a day early because we just didn't want to stay there any longer. We also had to pay a $20 a day fee for our small poodle that was not "advertised". Will not be staying here again.

Got a good night's rest and moved on.

I think the towels in a hotel should be free of spots and hard places. When we tried to open the door it took three plus times and a good shove to open the door.

Pinckney Rd Howell MI

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Business center
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

Magnuson Hotel Howell/Brighton places you within a 15-minute drive of popular attractions such as East Crooked Lake and St. Joseph Mercy Brighton Health Center. The 59 rooms at this hotel include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Rooms

All 59 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 39-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free local calls and ironing boards.


Property features

Renovated in 2017, Magnuson Hotel Howell/Brighton offers free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and laundry facilities. You'll find RV, bus, and truck parking. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with securing valuables and dry cleaning/laundry. This smoke-free hotel also has a TV in a common area.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Allergy Friendly

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Allergy Friendly

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Magnuson Hotel Howell/Brighton

Everyone (3) Couples (4) Business (2) Family (6) Friends (2) Other (1)
4
Everyone

By on Sep 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 23, 2020

It is wonderful to know that your stay was pleasant. We love hearing that you appreciated our friendly service and amenities while visiting. Your feedback is helpful, and I thank you for taking the time to share. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. KP

1
Family

One of the worst hotel. Its water is terrible. I couldn’t even clean the soap. No tissues, the towels feel so rough, the sheets are not even clean! And the hotel charges an additional 3.9% fees by paying credit card, which mens you mush pay if you booked online! Won’t stay there again.

By on Aug 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 26, 2019

Kathleen B. Yan, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. we do not understand what went wrong with your stay as you did stay on 8/17/2019 you had no problem and you stayed on 8/23/2019 at check out everything was great. The water is not terrible it the well water with a softener that is what you feel when you take a shower. We are sure the towels are soft as we have not had a complaint about the towels, but that is good you have told us about the towels we will look into it. We have in convention fee for credit card use that the 3rd Party does not collect that is why we have to collect the fee at the hotel and that applies to everyone who uses a credit card to pay.

2
Family

No refrigerator or microwave as advertised. The pool didn’t look open, or cleaned in quite a while. The room has a no smoking sign, but used to be a smoking room. You can tell by the old school smoke eaters mounted on the walls, and the terrible sinus infection if your allergic to stale smoke smell.

By on Jul 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 18, 2019

We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for your inconvenience. Just for your information, we do have a refrigerator and microwave in all the rooms. They are located under the TV cabinet with doors. We would have to tell you if you just gave us a phone call in the lobby. As MI law all the rooms are nonsmoking, We are sorry that you felt the room was smoking, we would have change the room for you. Thank you for staying with us.

1

sucks

Everyone

Would not allow early check out. I understand that I could not cancel first day, but that would not allow us to cancel 2 nd day. NOT the way to do business . I will not book with them again!

By , from michigan on Sep 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 28, 2016

Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your experience at our property. We rely on guest feedback as this will allow us tot improve wherever possible. I apologize for not meeting your expectations. Hope you will give us an another chance to serve you better.

5

pleasantly surprised!

Everyone

I was in the area for a day of training. I did not want to drive a total of six hours plus 8 hours of training so decided to stay the night in the area. Magnuson was mid price out of the three hotels I found. Although map app had me at a wrong location, friendly gas station workers aided me with the correct location. Check in woman was really friendly and welcoming. If ever in the area again, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

By , from Michigan on Mar 15, 2016

Review comment responded on May 19, 2016

Thank you for choosing Magnuson Hotel Howell/Brighton. I am very happy to hear that you liked our newly renovated room. I apologize for the down side of the breakfast. We are under construction and hope to have breakfast area and restaurant open soon. Hope to see you again.

1

not what we expected at all

Couples

Nothing like what the internet said. No breakfast. Luke warm coffee and the bar restaurant and pool were closed due to mechanical problems and they said renovating restaurant. Wouldn't stay there again. Not a good value for the money. But bed was clean and comfortable.

By on Sep 30, 2015

4

a real find!

Couples

Tracy, at front desk, was the best in customer service I've seen in years. She is so dedicated to her employer and the customer to her is golden!

By on Sep 29, 2015

2

family trip

Family

The hotel was old and not very inviting. The pool was closed for mechanical reasons. The staff was very nice. Looked like they have tried to update with new bedding. It was clean. Room stunk so bad of smoke we had to go buy lysol! Was worth about half of what we paid!

By on Sep 22, 2015

3

nice clean room at a competitive rate

Family

We selected this hotel because it was a very convenient location with respect to our visit to Howell. We were only needing a room for one night and didn't need other amenities like a pool or complementary breakfast which is good since these were not available at this location at this time. The property is undergoing some renovations. Our room was clean and comfortable. I considered it a good value and will probably stay there again.

By on Aug 20, 2014

3

decent with some problems

Other

The hotel room was alright. It had decent amenities like ironing boards/iron, tv with limited channels, ac/heater, "internet", towels and everything was fairly clean. The staff on the other hand seemed to be a bit lacking. They were nice and all but they would keep forgetting things like turning the AC on and when I had issues with the internet even after following the guides in the rooms they didn't really know how to fix it. The door to the room was finicky and you had to do the magic opening trick to get the door open. The pool looked like it had radioactive waste in it. Given that it really was just a place to hang out and sleep for a couple days I would go back but it's nothing spectacular.

By on Oct 9, 2013

Magnuson Hotel Howell/Brighton

1500 Pinckney Rd, Howell, MI 48843
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Howell-Hotels-Magnuson-Hotel-Howell/Brighton.h8134648-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Howell-Hotels-Magnuson-Hotel-Howell/Brighton.h8134648-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Howell-Hotels-Magnuson-Hotel-Howell/Brighton.h8134648-p2.Hotel-Reviews