Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Mission Point Resort

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The remodeled rooms in the straights are beautiful! We love Mission Point!

Pretty scenery and friendly staff. The restaurants were horrible.

Love the location of this property. Right on the water. Really enjoyed the putting course (specifically glow golf at night). Very convenient bike rental location. Loved the great lawn with all the Adirondack chairs.

The large lawn with chairs was beautiful to relax on, I wish the pool was heated. Chianti-a fine dining restaurant where we had 1 dinner was horrible. Wait staff was great, but service was very slow and the quality of food was very dissapointing

Jessica at the front desk was amazing the pool area needs attention and weeds pulled between tiles

Location is great but hotel is just old. I guess that’s everywhere on the island though.

Put us in a room over the laundry room. We don't run AC but 2 to 3 days a year when home. We like it fairly warm but this was just crazy. It was impossible to sleep for any of us. I spoke to the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do for us. Very disappointed.

It was neat, it was beautiful, we loved it there we went with our teenage daughters

This hotel is gorgeous and the location is great. However, you can hear everything through the walls... I mean everything. The walls are very thin, and we wake up to ever footsteps that we hear from the upper level. I can't believe how many times we woke up in the middle of the night, due to the squeaking and stomping from the people on top of us. It was the worst!

I enjoyed my stay. Good location, near downtown but not in the middle of the crowds.

Did not feel the welcoming hospitality I expected Staff just doing their job

Away from the congestion of downtown, which is nice if you want quietness. Great view and access to the water for relaxing. Rooms and hotel are in need of updating. Worst bed for comfort. Food in restaurants were good but seemed to offer the same. A flatbread offering would have went over big I would think. It was chilly the couple days we were there and would have been nice if they had the fireplaces running. They have several. Outdoor fire pits also would have been nice.

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed at this hotel during our honeymoon as well. The hotel was quiet at night. There was a standing AC unit in the room which we appreciated, because 20 yrs ago, there was not a unit and it was sweltering. We were disappointed that our hot tub time was dampered by their cleaning schedule (planned or not) and we were unable to return at another time to use it. All of the staff that we saw or spoke with were pleasant and helpful.

Hotel was clean and easily accessible! Close to the water. Convenient bike rentals on site.

Do to health problem we had to leave a day early. Front desk personnel where very helpful and understanding. However, we were disappointed in the room - extremely small, and the room with the view - was non existing do to a overgrown bush outside the window. If you pledge a room with a view you should make sure it exists. The waitress in the American Grill was awful. She took our order, gave us our food which took forever - we were 2 out of 8 people in the restaurant, then we never saw her again til we were finished and she wanted our money and her tip. Was very disappointed especially in how much we were paying.

The location was great! Grounds were beautiful! Room were a little dated but clean and comfortable! We would visit again!

We visited this hotel to celebrate our son's 1st birthday. They were super accomodating by letting us check in early so he could get his nap & enjoy the rest of his day. Savannah went out of her way to make sure our son's birthday was special & we are extremely appreciative of that.

Staff was wonderful I loved the open windows and doors. Beautiful views and landscaping. The horse drawn wagon from dockside couldn't have been better. I felt like I was walking back in time with the hotel fixtures and inside decor. Now the bad. The room door wouldn't close unless you grasped the door knob and lifted up and over to fit it into the frame. The bathroom was very small and you couldn't sit down or stand up straight from the toilet as the glass shelf over the sink was in the way. The bathroom sink was small and the faucet truncated to fit. This was a problem as the glass shelf over the sink blocked the sink so that you couldn't wash your face or brush you teeth over the sink and had to bend way down and twist sideways to spit in the sink or bang your head/face on the glass shelf.

One Lakeshore Drive Mackinac Island MI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Lake Huron and Fort Mackinac
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Mission Point Resort places you within a 10-minute stroll of popular attractions such as The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly House & Insect World and Richard & Jane Manoogian Mackinac Art Museum. This 3.5-star resort welcomes guests with 241 rooms and conveniences like a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

This resort is home to 3 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the 2 coffee shops/cafés. Buffet breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 32-inch a flat-screen TV with cable channels. The bathroom offers hair dryers and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include a coffee maker, free local calls, and a ceiling fan.


Property features

Guests of Mission Point Resort enjoy a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a health club. Transportation is made easy with an area shuttle for a fee. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with concierge services, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this spa resort include 2 spa tubs, an outdoor tennis court, and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Lake View (Main Lodge)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Family Suite (Straits Lodge)

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Double Room, Garden View (Straits Lodge)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Mission Point Resort

Everyone (27) Couples (18) Business (2) Family (15) Friends (4) Other (1)
5
Everyone

By on Aug 15, 2019

5
Family with small children

The remodeled rooms in the straights are beautiful! We love Mission Point!

By on Aug 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 5, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind words about our Straits Lodge renovation are appreciated. It's wonderful to have you as a part of our Mission Point family and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mackinac Island soon!

4
Families

Pretty scenery and friendly staff. The restaurants were horrible.

By , from Oakland county, Michigan on Jul 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2019

Hi Irene, thank you for taking the time to share details about your stay. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable visit with us though we do certainly apologize for the experience that you had in our restaurants. We will share your comments with our Executive Chef and food & beverage team to ensure that they are addressed ASAP. We appreciate you letting us know about the problems that you experienced since when we are made aware, we can do what we can to ensure they improve for future guests. We do hope to see you again soon on Mackinac Island!

4
Families Family with small children

Love the location of this property. Right on the water. Really enjoyed the putting course (specifically glow golf at night). Very convenient bike rental location. Loved the great lawn with all the Adirondack chairs.

By on Jul 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is really wonderful to see that you enjoyed your visit with us, particularly glow golf! We look forward to welcoming you back to Mackinac Island again soon!

4
Family with small children

The large lawn with chairs was beautiful to relax on, I wish the pool was heated. Chianti-a fine dining restaurant where we had 1 dinner was horrible. Wait staff was great, but service was very slow and the quality of food was very dissapointing

By on Jul 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share details about your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and definitely agree - relaxing on the Adirondack chairs is one of our favorite pastimes! We will be sure to also pass along your comments about Chianti to our Executive Chef and food & beverage team. We certainly do apologize that the experience you had was disappointing but appreciate you bringing the concerns to our attentions so that we can address them. We hope to see you again soon on Mackinac Island!

4
Families

Jessica at the front desk was amazing the pool area needs attention and weeds pulled between tiles

By on Jul 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2019

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share details about your visit with us. We will be sure to pass along your comments about Jessica to our front desk team! We'll also relay your concerns to our grounds team about the weeds at the pool area. With an 18 acre property, they are always working to improve our guest experiences so we appreciate your comments. Thank you and have a good week!

3
Family with small children

Location is great but hotel is just old. I guess that’s everywhere on the island though.

By on Jul 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2019

Hi Zack, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and share these comments. We do pride ourselves on the historic nature and charm of our hotel as Mackinac Island is a National Historic Landmark. We hope to see you again soon!

1
Families

Put us in a room over the laundry room. We don't run AC but 2 to 3 days a year when home. We like it fairly warm but this was just crazy. It was impossible to sleep for any of us. I spoke to the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do for us. Very disappointed.

By on Jul 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share details about your stay. Given that we strive for excellent experiences, we certainly apologize that we fell short in your case. Unfortunately, when the hotel is sold out, as it commonly does during our peak summer season, we simply aren't able to move folks to different accommodations. We do appreciate you sharing these comments with us as when we are made aware of issues that arise, we can of what we can to ensure a better experience in the future. Thank you and enjoy your weekend!

5
Families

It was neat, it was beautiful, we loved it there we went with our teenage daughters

By on Jul 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a rating! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - we agree, Mackinac Island is just beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

3
Everyone

This hotel is gorgeous and the location is great. However, you can hear everything through the walls... I mean everything. The walls are very thin, and we wake up to ever footsteps that we hear from the upper level. I can't believe how many times we woke up in the middle of the night, due to the squeaking and stomping from the people on top of us. It was the worst!

By , from Holland MI on Jan 12, 2019

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.