Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Stayed overnight on a business trip. Stopped by the hotel early afternoon to arrange for a late check in, but nobody was available. Later, I was able to call and make arrangements and somebody was there to check us in at 2am. Hotel is undergoing renovations.

When I first booked the property it seemed like a great hotel. Upon arrival, I noticed that there was fire line tape around the majority of the building including the front entrance. Lighting around the property was quite slim which made me feel unsafe when I arrived. When I checked in to the hotel, I asked about the tape and was advised that there was recently a fire that happened to the hotel. If I would have known this then I would have cancelleed. Throughout the night I noticed that I had someone knocking on my door at all hours of the night and noticed that people were constantly walking around the hotel property. On the morning of the 15th, I had a house keeping member knock on my door and tell me that I had to leave and check out at 10:00 am. Check out was suppose to be 11:00 Am but this staff member was adament that I leave. I will NOT be returning and expressed my concern to the front desk but they did not seem to care.

Decent room and mattress but Hard to sleep with the AC on. Does not serve breakfast contrary to what is indicated upon reservation. There is, however a decent diner right across the street.

The room had several areas of carpet that was ripped, the on room safe was missing the piece to close it which made it inoperable, the oversized chair fabric was torn and upholstery was filthy. The bed spread and sheet on one of the beds had stains. It was changed out after bringing it to the front desks attention. 2 lamps didn’t work. This room show of been taken out of the hotels inventory. There was no comparable room available to be switched. Since I booked through Orbitz I was told the HJ manager that he couldn’t make an adjustment. He was not apologetic for the condition of the room which I stayed in for two nights.

Outdated, stunk, dirty XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

It was just ok. Dated, dingy rooms. Despite declaring my 7 year old’s son’s legitimately trained & registered service dog to Amanda upon check in who told me there was no need for me to fill out additional paperwork, we were totally locked out of our room on day 2 for “sneaking a dog in”. In addition, they tried to charge us $25/night plus a sizable pet deposit. I strongly feel this proprietor needs to educate himself and his staff on legitimate service animals. On our last day, despite having requested a late check out, housekeeping knocked on our door 5 times within an hour and a half. Of interest, it was between 9 and 10:30am so it was not a case of us checking out late & then needing to do a quick turnover. It was an ok room I guess. The breakfast was a typical cheap Wyndham continental breakfast, nothing special.

Overpriced, filthy, no phone in the rooms, horrible smell in rooms as they are smoking rooms.

Not bad for this price their furniture need update

The person at the counter was very helpful and courteous, it help us to get a good nice room. However, the place needs to set up se.rulea for the customer in general. 1- parking. Explain to the customer. No double parking and consider that other customers need parking as well. 2- no shirt, no shoes no service in the main office, there other customers with kids coming in.3- consider they are customer under and next to you, keep it down, is not a park is a place where you go to rest. Just to name a few. Roaches all over, room smell like wet, my chair looks like it was taken from a trift shop ( falling apart) microwave and fridge (very old and didn't work properly) however the staff that I encounter it was friendly and ready to helpful. Honestly I didn't feel safe in my own room because the individuals staying there. They where people, screaming, yelling, walking up and down smoking marijuana, knocking at my door, no respect or considering they are other people there. However the place near everything, shopping centers, restaurants, etc. If they where to implement rules and regulations, updates and pay attention as to who stay there, I will consider staying there again. Thanks.

Overall a good experience and stay. Room was clean.

My room smelled bad, lobby smelled bad. The coffee and breakfast bad. What looked like druggy people staying there.

Carpet was dirty and could not walk on it barefooted without your feet getting black from the dirt. I don't think it had been steam cleaned in years. Laundry room had 2 washers and 2 dryers but only 1 washer and dryer that worked. The washers and dryers were rusty and looked like they had been there for 20 years.

The property did not look anything like it did online. It was old, dated and pretty creepy. The system was down when we got there so none of our reservation could be reviewed. Housekeeping was not available all day to help replenish room items and we were very happy to leave. Would not stay here again.

The hotel is pet-friendly, which was important when evacuating for the hurricane. No-frills hotel. Fire alarm was missing from the room, looks like it was pulled off the wall and never replaced. Room was clean, but had a urine odor. Front desk gentleman was welcoming.

Place was a dump, not at all like the pictures. Stayed 1 night and left. Went somewhere else

Breakfast was poor. Air conditioning was not very cool

S Cleveland Ave Fort Myers FL

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Laundry facilities

Edison Mall is within 2 miles (3 km) of Howard Johnson by Wyndham Ft. Myers FL while other popular attractions such as Fort Myers Country Club are within 3 miles (5 km). This 111-room hotel has an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Rooms

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Ft. Myers FL's 111 rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include safes, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests of Howard Johnson by Wyndham Ft. Myers FL enjoy features like an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and free newspapers. There's free parking if you drive. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. This hotel also has laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Non-Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Howard Johnson by Wyndham Ft. Myers FL

Everyone (28) Couples (8) Family (6) Other (1)
3
Partner Couples Business Business

Stayed overnight on a business trip. Stopped by the hotel early afternoon to arrange for a late check in, but nobody was available. Later, I was able to call and make arrangements and somebody was there to check us in at 2am. Hotel is undergoing renovations.

By on Jan 17, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 19, 2022

We value your feedback and as we transition through the renovation process, comments like yours will help us to grow and improve. I am very sorry to hear of the miscommunication and inconveniences that you experienced in this regard. We hope you'll return someday to see how we have addressed and improved upon the issues that you have expressed, thanks to your valuable feedback.

2
Everyone

When I first booked the property it seemed like a great hotel. Upon arrival, I noticed that there was fire line tape around the majority of the building including the front entrance. Lighting around the property was quite slim which made me feel unsafe when I arrived. When I checked in to the hotel, I asked about the tape and was advised that there was recently a fire that happened to the hotel. If I would have known this then I would have cancelleed. Throughout the night I noticed that I had someone knocking on my door at all hours of the night and noticed that people were constantly walking around the hotel property. On the morning of the 15th, I had a house keeping member knock on my door and tell me that I had to leave and check out at 10:00 am. Check out was suppose to be 11:00 Am but this staff member was adament that I leave. I will NOT be returning and expressed my concern to the front desk but they did not seem to care.

By , from Belle Plaine on Dec 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 30, 2021

Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made . I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and for the inconvenience this caused you. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to our services to ensure we offer a better experience and overall impression of our facilities. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience and change your perception of our hotel.

3
Family Business Business

Decent room and mattress but Hard to sleep with the AC on. Does not serve breakfast contrary to what is indicated upon reservation. There is, however a decent diner right across the street.

By on Nov 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 8, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. This is certainly not taken lightly and has been forwarded to management for review. Providing our guests with a safe and enjoyable experience is of extreme importance to us. New rules have come to pass because of the Covid 19 restrictions and limited staffing. We are working hard to improve our provided services and hope you will return to experience them with a future stay.

1
Everyone

By on Apr 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 25, 2021

We really appreciate you taking the time to rate your experience with us. Please come stay with us again on your next visit to the area.

1
Everyone

The room had several areas of carpet that was ripped, the on room safe was missing the piece to close it which made it inoperable, the oversized chair fabric was torn and upholstery was filthy. The bed spread and sheet on one of the beds had stains. It was changed out after bringing it to the front desks attention. 2 lamps didn’t work. This room show of been taken out of the hotels inventory. There was no comparable room available to be switched. Since I booked through Orbitz I was told the HJ manager that he couldn’t make an adjustment. He was not apologetic for the condition of the room which I stayed in for two nights.

By on Mar 24, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 26, 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We are continuously improving upon our services and accommodations while addressing our policies and procedures for minimizing and attending to these situations. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to address our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

3
Everyone

By on Mar 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2021

We have high standards of hospitality and service and are always improving. We hope to see you again very soon!

1
Everyone

Outdated, stunk, dirty XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

By on Feb 16, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2021

Through feedback like yours we are able to address our weaknesses and to improve upon them and we thank you for taking the time to write. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can make sure no future guest experiences the same inconvenience. We hope that you will change your mind about giving us a second chance and that you will someday return to be impressed by the changes we've made.

4
Everyone

By on Oct 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to rate your experience. We would love to have the opportunity to provide you with an even superior experience so please come see us again soon!,

3
Family with small children Partner Couples

It was just ok. Dated, dingy rooms. Despite declaring my 7 year old’s son’s legitimately trained & registered service dog to Amanda upon check in who told me there was no need for me to fill out additional paperwork, we were totally locked out of our room on day 2 for “sneaking a dog in”. In addition, they tried to charge us $25/night plus a sizable pet deposit. I strongly feel this proprietor needs to educate himself and his staff on legitimate service animals. On our last day, despite having requested a late check out, housekeeping knocked on our door 5 times within an hour and a half. Of interest, it was between 9 and 10:30am so it was not a case of us checking out late & then needing to do a quick turnover. It was an ok room I guess. The breakfast was a typical cheap Wyndham continental breakfast, nothing special.

By on Mar 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 16, 2020

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We strive to deliver a superior guest experience, but it seems like your time with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for any shortcoming that you may have encountered during your visit, and we would like to know more about how we can make your next stay with us enjoyable. Your experience is important to us, and we hope to redeem ourselves with you, should you choose to stay with us again. I do hope you'll return and let us show you a far better experience.

1
Everyone

Overpriced, filthy, no phone in the rooms, horrible smell in rooms as they are smoking rooms.

By , from Ft Meyers, FL on Feb 24, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2020

I sincerely apologize for your experience; this is not the impression we want to leave our valued guests with. Thank you for bringing to our attention the smoke odor in your room, with your feedback we are able to deep clean and return the freshness of our accommodations. We are sorry there wasn’t a solution during your stay. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a superior experience the next time your travels bring you back to the area.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Ft. Myers FL

4811 S Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33907
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Fort-Myers-Hotels-Howard-Johnson-by-Wyndham-Ft.-Myers-FL.h5202-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Fort-Myers-Hotels-Howard-Johnson-by-Wyndham-Ft.-Myers-FL.h5202-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Fort-Myers-Hotels-Howard-Johnson-by-Wyndham-Ft.-Myers-FL.h5202-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions