Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

My daughter was not let into the hotel at all with an existing reservation I made for her. Orbitz reservation and the hotel website showed $150 security deposit requirement. When she arrived , very rude receptionist told her that they need $300 security deposit. My daughter didn't have a credit card and they refused to contact me and get my card info so she could stay. She showed the receptionist deposit requirements on their own website and that lady was very rude overall and said they just didn't update the site and that's it. She also appeared racist to my mixed daughter. My daughter called me crying several times not knowing what to do and she needed to look for another place to stray. Terrible experience

"You get what you pay for" is an appropriate saying for this place. It was a bit dirty and being on the main road it's also noisy. They will only clean your room every other day. Towels are in poor shape. The diverter on the shower is broken so you have to be very careful when adjusting the temp. I'll probably spend a little more going forward and not deal with this worn out place.

This is a great location walking distance to bars and restaurants. The hotel does not have an elevator, the room is large but not very clean

We got a corner room and I loved all the windows it had! Really cool older building.

Booked a room through orbit because I was working late and didn’t want to drive the two hours home. I have a pretty serious commute and wasn’t going to make it home. I got held up at work longer than I thought I would and when I finally made it to the Alpha the desk manager told me we’re closed at 10 go away. So I’m 150miles away from home and I have nowhere to sleep. Thanks Orbit.

Needed a room last minute while on vacation. Booked it and couldn't show up until 11. Desk clerk wasn't friendly and said office closed at 10:30. It says that nowhere on the orbitz booking. I have had no problem checking in any time of day at any hotel before this. But it was a unique hotel room sorta like a suite or efficiency apartment. I was worried the bathroom was shared but our room was private. Very few very tight parking spots. Not much walking distance that I saw. Fairly clean and had couch and satellite tv. Did not see an elevator so walk up to 3rd floor. But good deal for orbitz price being in the city

Big spacious room and great location But not very clean and the smell of marijuana and cigarrettes permeated through the hallways and in the room itself

The Room is Good it’s nice to stay in Alpha inn, it is easy to book/reserve the Room.

Has pool, but it was never open, its only there for them to say they have it. The shampoo and soap were really bad, the soap was really dry and then crumbled on its first use but at least there’s a Walgreens across the street so that takes care of that. Room service was done the same way I straighten out my blankets in the morning when im in a rush, not the best job, so if cleanliness is your priority, you might want to consider that. Parking is limited and its first come first serve, so if you have a car try to drop it off in the afternoon-evening and then you can take uber/bus around town. The hotel is right off the golden gate, so while you do have bus lines right at the sidewalk which is great, there is traffic noise throughout the night. All in all, if you can deal with the cons, its definitely not the worst spot to stay in, I personally found it bearable but I only returned to my room to sleep and left early again to keep exploring. On a final note, the cleaning ladies were friendly and even cleaned my room the one day that I left a little later around 14:00.

The interior of the room was clean and comfortable. The layout of room good, the bathroom was great. The only downside was the exterior of the property. They need to clean it on a daily basis, for three days there was a pile of poop in parking area along with odor of urine and poop.

i wasnt not expecting so much for what i paid. i liked it.

Incredibly rude and bizarre owner. There’s plenty of other motels within range of this area.

I always choose this hotel but this time I will never came back . I Always do my reservations by orbitz and pay it too. At check in they ask me me for a card for security deposit and I always give my debit card but this time the lady ask me for a credit card and I told her that I don’t have one and that I always give my debit card and she keep arguing with me that is only credit card . I told her I always use this card here before and she said she didn’t care . My point is that if is only credit card why they didn’t told me that before? My room was already pay ! You should put your people to follow the same rule so things like this don’t happened to people like me that I don’t have time lose to look for another hotel because your lady didn’t let me do the check in just because I didn’t got a credit card.

Decent place for the price. Parking is tite, so try not to bring a truck, and if you do like I did. Come early and have a good spotter.

Was only thing available parking was horrible to find

Basic motel. Clean spacious room and nothing fancy. Good if you need a place to crash for a night or two. It's conveniently located on motel row near the Golden Gate Bridge (there are numerous motels on this section of Lombard Street). You save on parking fees by staying in these motels (although this one, I hear, is a bit short on parking, and so it's first-come-first-served); we got the last spot available the night we stayed here. There's no breakfast included, but there are many nice places to eat on Chestnut St, very close-by. You can get hot coffee / tea and some fruit juices in the small lobby of the hotel.

Lombard Steet San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Presidio of San Francisco and Palace of Fine Arts
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located in Marina District, Alpha Inn & Suites is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Presidio of San Francisco and Palace of Fine Arts. This 28-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

The 28 rooms have coffee makers and desks. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Free toiletries are also available.


Property features

Guests of Alpha Inn & Suites have access to free WiFi in public areas. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. Front-desk staff can help with tours or tickets, and provide local restaurant recommendations.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Alpha Inn & Suites

Everyone (26) Couples (3) Family (7)
1
Friends

My daughter was not let into the hotel at all with an existing reservation I made for her. Orbitz reservation and the hotel website showed $150 security deposit requirement. When she arrived , very rude receptionist told her that they need $300 security deposit. My daughter didn't have a credit card and they refused to contact me and get my card info so she could stay. She showed the receptionist deposit requirements on their own website and that lady was very rude overall and said they just didn't update the site and that's it. She also appeared racist to my mixed daughter. My daughter called me crying several times not knowing what to do and she needed to look for another place to stray. Terrible experience

By on May 5, 2021

Review comment responded on May 10, 2021

Hey there, We apologize for the unexpected incident that brought your daughter inconvenience, and we will definitely investigate this matter further with our team to ensure that it does not happen again. We believe some confusion led to this misunderstanding, and we are genuinely sorry for the discrepancies your daughter faced. We take guest feedback very seriously, and we have forwarded your inputs to management for review. We will reach out to you for further information. Best Regards, Customer Care Team

4
Everyone

By on Dec 31, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 31, 2020

Dear Guest, We appreciate the awesome feedback that you provided. It's great to be on the receiving end of such a wonderful rating and we hope you had an exceptional stay with us. Do let us know if you have any suggestions on how we can make things even better for our guests. We look forward to your next visit! Best Regards, Customer Care Team

3
Everyone

"You get what you pay for" is an appropriate saying for this place. It was a bit dirty and being on the main road it's also noisy. They will only clean your room every other day. Towels are in poor shape. The diverter on the shower is broken so you have to be very careful when adjusting the temp. I'll probably spend a little more going forward and not deal with this worn out place.

By , from Morro Bay Cal on Oct 26, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 27, 2020

thank you

1
Everyone

By on May 12, 2020

Review comment responded on May 12, 2020

Dear guest, We are disappointed if one of our guests leaves with less than first rate experience. Our aim is to provide a clean, comfortable and pleasant place to stay. We sincerely apologize that our hospitality and attention to details left something to be desired, this is very unlike us. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please feel free to connect if there is anything we can do to help. We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality. Best Regards, Customer Care Team

3
Partner Couples

This is a great location walking distance to bars and restaurants. The hotel does not have an elevator, the room is large but not very clean

By on Feb 17, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 17, 2020

Thank you

4
Partner Couples

We got a corner room and I loved all the windows it had! Really cool older building.

By on Sep 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 14, 2019

Dear guest, We are delighted to have provided you with suitable accommodation for your trip here. We appreciate your kind rating, and we hope to welcome you back again before long.

1
Business Business

Booked a room through orbit because I was working late and didn’t want to drive the two hours home. I have a pretty serious commute and wasn’t going to make it home. I got held up at work longer than I thought I would and when I finally made it to the Alpha the desk manager told me we’re closed at 10 go away. So I’m 150miles away from home and I have nowhere to sleep. Thanks Orbit.

By on Sep 11, 2019

4
Everyone

Needed a room last minute while on vacation. Booked it and couldn't show up until 11. Desk clerk wasn't friendly and said office closed at 10:30. It says that nowhere on the orbitz booking. I have had no problem checking in any time of day at any hotel before this. But it was a unique hotel room sorta like a suite or efficiency apartment. I was worried the bathroom was shared but our room was private. Very few very tight parking spots. Not much walking distance that I saw. Fairly clean and had couch and satellite tv. Did not see an elevator so walk up to 3rd floor. But good deal for orbitz price being in the city

By on Aug 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 21, 2019

Thank you

3
Family

Big spacious room and great location But not very clean and the smell of marijuana and cigarrettes permeated through the hallways and in the room itself

By on Jul 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay at our hotel. While it is good to hear that you had a reasonable stay, we are sorry for the issues that you encountered that marred your time with us. We hope to remain your hotel of choice in this area, and to give you a better stay on a future visit.

5
Family

The Room is Good it’s nice to stay in Alpha inn, it is easy to book/reserve the Room.

By , from San Diego on Jul 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 4, 2019

Thank you

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Alpha-Inn-&-Suites.h14669-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Francisco-Hotels-Alpha-Inn-&-Suites.h14669-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Alpha-Inn-&-Suites.h14669-p2.Hotel-Reviews