Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I stay at Comfort Inn & Suites in various locations a lot. The hotel and rooms are always clean.. I especially love that there is a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker in the room. The bedding and pillows are also really nice.

Asked for a role away cot .had to asked. They acted promptly

The room could’ve been cleaner - hair on bedspread and bathroom floor. Easy check-in, and we enjoyed the happy hour. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

Good clean hotel with a great breakfast and staff..location is good also

Perfect for what we needed, a one night stay on our way home. Plenty of restaurants in the area.

Horrible experience!!! We woke up in the morning covered in flees!!! Wanted to have a nice birthday party sleepover at Comfort Inn and suites for my daughter and her friends and ended up with flee bites! Would never go back...I work at a hospital in the area and I will let everyone I know about my horrible experience at your establishment!!!

Bad smell in room . All other rooms booked . Ran out of breakfast food . Very hard uncomfortable beds . Noisy kids running in hallways unattended

WE ONLY STAYED ONE NIGHT. THE TEMPERATURE OF THE ROOM WAS VERY WARM WHEN WE ARRIVED BUT THE THERMOSTAT WAS EASY TO ADJUST AND BECAME VERY COMFORTABLE.

Waited 30 mins to check in because they said none of the room had been cleaned. It was 6:30 at night!

Overall this hotel was pleasant and clean. The Wednesday evening 5-7 pm cocktail time was well attended. Maybe some cut up carrot/celery/peppers would give vegetarians an option. When I booked on line it was primarily because of being pet friendly and I know Comfort Inns are clean. My disappointment was when I checked in and shared that we have a pet, the receptionist said that will be $35. Wow, my jaw dropped. I asked her why that wasn't indicated on the website as I have never paid that much for our dog. She said, I don't know. I encouraged her to share with her management that not letting the customer decide until they are checking in is less than honest. She is a receptionist and didn't really understand my concern. However, I always share with the people I purchase my services from, areas that I feel others would be thinking and appreciate as I would.

Our stay was fantastic. Our house flooded due to a plumbing issue and the hotel staff were very accommodating, matching the price to nearby hotels to help us out. The room was very clean, the breakfast was great, and they even had a weekly Wednesday dinner for all guests. Stay on Wednesday if you can!

This hotel was perfect for a weekend getaway to hangout with friends in Dover. Clean and good amenities like breakfast, pool, jacuzzi.

The staff at the front desk went out of her way to be helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Updated and modern. The only issue was that the room darkening drapes could not be drawn shut so we were awake when the sun came up. 3 hours after we had gone to sleep.

I found this hotel to be an excellent value; except for one thing. I was not made aware when I made my reservation that I would not be able to keep my room for the 3 nights I booked and paid for due to major renovations taking place. This was very upsetting. I was told by the hotel that I needed to contact where I made my reservations from. The hotel manager I spoke to did, however, finally accommodate me by moving me on my 3rd day there into the same type (priced) room I originally booked. It just was very inconvenient. I was there for a funeral..not a vacation or a business trip. So what does a traveler do? I say, stand firm with the hotel, who accepted your reservation.

Hotel was fine - only issue was the room type reservation ( Paid in full 9 months in advance ) was not honored - we were given a King room with rollaway for 3 people when we reserved 2 doubles. Hotel stated that internet reservations only guarantee a room - not the type.

Clean and cheep

The hotel looked great at first sight and was in a great location, however, I ended up stuck in a smoking room that was disgusting. The obvious thing, the room smelled like smoke, but if that wasn't bad enough there were cigarette butts in the ashtray and ashes on the window sill.

Hotel Dr Dover NH

Hotel highlights

  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Comfort Inn & Suites Dover-Portsmouth is located within a few miles (5 km) of The Children's Museum of New Hampshire and Woodman Institute. This 96-room hotel has conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

The 96 rooms have an array of amenities, including microwaves, coffee makers, and free newspapers. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls, ironing boards, and desks are other standard amenities. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

At Comfort Inn & Suites Dover-Portsmouth, guests have access to an indoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. If you drive, put free parking to good use. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and a computer station.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Suite, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Dover-Portsmouth

Everyone (9) Couples (5) Family (5) Friends (1) Other (2)
4
Everyone

By on Dec 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 15, 2020

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and happy to hear you enjoyed our cozy hotel. Hopefully we will see you again when your visiting the Dover, NH area. Kind Regards, Cynthia Ladd General Manager

5
Partner Couples

I stay at Comfort Inn & Suites in various locations a lot. The hotel and rooms are always clean.. I especially love that there is a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker in the room. The bedding and pillows are also really nice.

By on Jan 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2020

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Comfort Inn & Suites Dover - Portsmouth, N.H. We try to make it as comfortable as possible for our guests and it is so helpful that our room have microwaves and small refrigerators. Our bedding is soft and comfortable glad you had a good sleep. We offer complimentary breakfast, indoor pool and wifi. I hope you will choose to stay with us the next time your in the area. Sincerely, Cynthia Ladd

5
Everyone

By on Oct 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 14, 2019

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and so happy you enjoyed your stay and our great amenities. We offer a nice complimentary breakfast, indoor pool and wifi. Our location is perfect close to many businesses, local businesses as well as the seacoast of both New Hampshire and Maine. Sincerely, Cynthia Ladd General Manager

4
Family Family

Asked for a role away cot .had to asked. They acted promptly

By on Sep 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 30, 2019

Thank you for staying with us here at the Comfort Inn & Suites Dover- Portsmouth. Glad we were prompt at getting your cot to your room. Hope you were able to enjoy our nice amenities including our complimentary breakfast, indoor pool and wifi. Hope to see you again when your visiting New Hampshire. Sincerely, Cynthia ladd general Manager

4
Family Family

The room could’ve been cleaner - hair on bedspread and bathroom floor. Easy check-in, and we enjoyed the happy hour. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

By on Jul 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 22, 2019

We thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Comfort Inn & Suites Dover, N.H. It's always nice when our guests notice our friending and accommodating our staff is. We do offer nice amenities which include the daily complimentary breakfast as well as the Wednesday social hour with a complimentary meal. We hope to see you again when your traveling to New Hampshire. Kind Regards, Cynthia Ladd General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Dec 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey in regards to your recent stay with our property.

5
Everyone

Good clean hotel with a great breakfast and staff..location is good also

By , from New York on Sep 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 13, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, regarding your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely,

4
Everyone

Perfect for what we needed, a one night stay on our way home. Plenty of restaurants in the area.

By , from CT on Aug 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 9, 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,

1
Everyone

Horrible experience!!! We woke up in the morning covered in flees!!! Wanted to have a nice birthday party sleepover at Comfort Inn and suites for my daughter and her friends and ended up with flee bites! Would never go back...I work at a hospital in the area and I will let everyone I know about my horrible experience at your establishment!!!

By on Jul 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologize for your experience. Our front desk staff apologized and offered a room change right away, so you and your family could shower as you were checking out that day. In addition we refunded your money in full. We were very concerned when we hear your complaint, as we take great effort to ensure we have checked all our rooms thoroughly. This was brought to our attention on the morning of the departure date and not when you checked in. We also checked the adjoining rooms for any signs of any fleas and we found none. We also had the room checked and fumigated and have since cleaned the room after your departure. This leads us to believe that it may have come in after your check-in. Once again, your room was fully compensated as well as the appropriate people were contacted in regards to the fleas and it was promptly taken care of and there have been no further issues. Again, I do apologize and we hope you’ll give us another chance to provide you with a more memorable experience. Sincerely,

2

glade plug in very overpowering smell in room.

Everyone

Bad smell in room . All other rooms booked . Ran out of breakfast food . Very hard uncomfortable beds . Noisy kids running in hallways unattended

By , from cape cod on Oct 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 25, 2017

Dear Mary, Our apologies that your recent stay was not to your satisfaction. We are working to rectify some of the issues that you have mentioned. Again thank you for your feedback.

Comfort Inn & Suites Dover-Portsmouth

10 Hotel Dr, Dover, NH 03820
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Portsmouth-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-&-Suites-Dover-Portsmouth.h1097481-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Portsmouth-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-&-Suites-Dover-Portsmouth.h1097481-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Portsmouth-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-&-Suites-Dover-Portsmouth.h1097481-p2.Hotel-Reviews