Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Super nice resort, Dive staff and bartenders and waiters are as good as may be found anywhere. Show was excellent. Beach is superior. Gym is small and overused by employees. WiFi is terrible in the room better in the main areas. Over all very nice.

The property is in an excellent area, with a beautiful beach but the food and service leaves alot to be desired. It really comes down what ur expecting to get at this hotel. Ive stayed at 5 other all inclusive resorts and i have to say this one had the worst food and service of them all. We upgraded to the premium package, which was supposed to include premium drinks and a stocked fridge. But they would run out of premium liqour daily, and fridge never got stocked with any beer, even after asking for it. They even make it difficult to get bottled water. I was told the most i could get stocked daily were 4 bottled waters, and if i need more i could ask for some at the bar. Also, there is no service at the beach and you have to walk to the bar to get your own drink. It really is a classic example of "you get what you pay for". If u just want to do a quick getaway and save some money, then this maybe the spot for you, but i probably will not return anytime soon.

Good size resort but food sucks. Good thing we were close to the main strip for restaurants

the staff was rude and unaccommodating. treated us like we were inconveniencing them by being there. room smelled like mildew, fridge was dirty, and there were rodent feces by our spa tub. personal items were stolen if left poolside for any amount of time. arbitrary rules about which bars you could order from and the buffet was less than appealing and overpriced. save yourself the hassle, don’t book here.

The staff and the service made it perfect ! They are amazing . Jesus from the check in area , paulino from the kitchen , gabby from the tours all amazing loving people . Thank you for making my vacations enjoyable

Great time place is amazing! Totally recommend food, services was great very clean and staff was very nice. Beaches are super clean would definitely go back .

Resort was beautiful, food was limited, and breakfast was horrible.

I dont like the service. We was 17 people and they dont want to be together in the restaurants, the people talks really bad to you.

I really liked the jungle theme of the resort. The food was very good and the staff was super friendly.

All rooms are so close to the beach that’s my favorite thing about this resort, also so close to La Quinta Avenida, The resort had a feel of a beautiful rainforest 💚💚 We loved it and we can’t wait to go back !! Tadeo the Pool bartender was amazing & Gladys from the ChulaVista restaurant was so sweet and super nice, all th workers there were SUPER friendly and nice 🙏

Everything was just great, especially the ocean. The food was awesome, the ocean was awesome.

We are very pleased to have chosen The Reef Playacar for our family vacation this year!!! Some of the reviews made us hesitant, but we couldn't have been happier! The grounds, including the landscaping and amenities, were very well maintained. The staff was wonderful and inviting. The drinks were plentiful. The food options were nice. The two dinner restaurants Botticelli (Italian) and Terraza Grill (Mexican) were phenomenal. We ate at each restaurant a couple times and loved it! Chula Vista, the buffet restaurant, seemed to cater to all guests from around the world but you are able to find something to enjoy. One nice thing about the location of this property is the proximity to Quinta Avenida (5th Ave). A $6 Taxi ride allows you to sample some of the authentic food of the region. The rooms were nice and yes, the beds were firm yet quite comfortable. FANTASTIC experience all around. We will definitely book the Reef Playacar again if we visit Playa in the future.

This property is awful, I will never stay in any of the Reef Resorts again. The upgrade is a HUGE Joke don't stay here don't waster time or money. 2 restaurants, and hard to get a drink at the bar. They try to upcharge you on every little thing. Very disappointed and will never go back. Switched our room , Ac was broke and dirty with bugs.

Ave. Xaman-Ha Playa del Carmen QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Quinta Avenida and Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in Playacar, The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive is within a mile (2 km) of popular sights such as Quinta Avenida and Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal. This 198-room, 3.5-star resort has a marina, a full-service spa, and 3 restaurants.


Dining

This resort is home to 3 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Entertain your taste buds with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café.


Rooms

All 198 rooms feature balconies, refrigerators, and free bottled water. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch LED TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include ceiling fans, safes, and phones.


Property features

Guests of The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive have access to a marina, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool. Free parking is available if you drive. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach resort include a children's pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Superior Room, Balcony, Garden View

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Premium room, balcony, garden view

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive

Everyone (37) Couples (18) Family (15) Friends (1)
5
Family

Super nice resort, Dive staff and bartenders and waiters are as good as may be found anywhere. Show was excellent. Beach is superior. Gym is small and overused by employees. WiFi is terrible in the room better in the main areas. Over all very nice.

By on Mar 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 11, 2021

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your preference and for sharing your review about your stay in our facilities. It is great to know you had an excellent time and that you especially appreciated the attention of our staff and the beach. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager

2
Family Friends

The property is in an excellent area, with a beautiful beach but the food and service leaves alot to be desired. It really comes down what ur expecting to get at this hotel. Ive stayed at 5 other all inclusive resorts and i have to say this one had the worst food and service of them all. We upgraded to the premium package, which was supposed to include premium drinks and a stocked fridge. But they would run out of premium liqour daily, and fridge never got stocked with any beer, even after asking for it. They even make it difficult to get bottled water. I was told the most i could get stocked daily were 4 bottled waters, and if i need more i could ask for some at the bar. Also, there is no service at the beach and you have to walk to the bar to get your own drink. It really is a classic example of "you get what you pay for". If u just want to do a quick getaway and save some money, then this maybe the spot for you, but i probably will not return anytime soon.

By on Mar 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 2, 2021

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your preference and for taking the time to share your feedback. It is regrettable to know that your expectations were not met regarding the service and food offerings, nevertheless we are glad to know you enjoyed our location and beautiful beach. We appreciate your observations as they help us identify improvement areas, rest assured they will be shared with the corresponding department managers. It is a pity to know you probably will not return soon, but sincerely hope you give us another opportunity in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager

2
Family

Good size resort but food sucks. Good thing we were close to the main strip for restaurants

By on Mar 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 2, 2021

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef Playacar to spend your vacations and for sharing your feedback. We deeply regret knowing that you did not like our food offerings. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager

1
Partner Couples

the staff was rude and unaccommodating. treated us like we were inconveniencing them by being there. room smelled like mildew, fridge was dirty, and there were rodent feces by our spa tub. personal items were stolen if left poolside for any amount of time. arbitrary rules about which bars you could order from and the buffet was less than appealing and overpriced. save yourself the hassle, don’t book here.

By on Jan 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 6, 2021

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef Playacar as your vacation destination and for sharing your feedback. We deeply regret that your stay was not as you expected and that you left with a poor impression of our service and facilities. Furthermore, we offer you a sincere apology for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the corresponding departments for them to take the necessary corrective measures. We will not attempt to excuse the occurrences that happened during your stay, but we do sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to offer you a more charming experience. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager

1
Everyone

By on Dec 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 28, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef Playacar as your vacation destination. We regret knowing by your score that your stay was not up to your expectations. We hope we can change your impression in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager

5
Friends

The staff and the service made it perfect ! They are amazing . Jesus from the check in area , paulino from the kitchen , gabby from the tours all amazing loving people . Thank you for making my vacations enjoyable

By , from Miami on Oct 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 29, 2020

Dear Lucy, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review and for giving us the opportunity to welcoming you the past days. We are glad to read that you were provided with our courteous, outstanding service. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service and to provide unique experiences. Your satisfaction is our reward; we really appreciate the time you took to provide us your positive feedback and would be happy to welcome you here again. Kind regards,

3
Everyone

By on Oct 10, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for writing this review about your stay with us. We are saddened to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel and we regret that we were not able to meet your expectations. In the future, we hope to have an opportunity to host you for a stay that truly exceeds your expectations. Kind regards,

5
Everyone

By on Sep 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 5, 2020

Dear guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review and for giving us the opportunity to welcoming you the past days. We hope to welcome you back to The Reef Playacar. Kind regards,

5
Partner Couples

Great time place is amazing! Totally recommend food, services was great very clean and staff was very nice. Beaches are super clean would definitely go back .

By on Sep 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 5, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your vacation with us. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are glad that you received our excellent service. We will share your comments with our staff, positive feedback as yours encourages us to work harder to offer exceptional service every day. Your satisfaction is our reward; we really appreciate the time you took to provide us your positive feedback and would be happy to welcome you here again. Kind regards,

4
Everyone

Resort was beautiful, food was limited, and breakfast was horrible.

By , from Philadelphia pa on Jul 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2020

Dear Wen, Thank you for sharing your feedback. It helps us to identify the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We do regret that we did not meet all your expectations during the time you spent with us. In the future, we hope to have an opportunity to host you for a stay that truly exceeds your expectations. Kind regards,

The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive

Ave. Xaman-Ha, Playa del Carmen, QROO 77710
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-The-Reef-Playacar-Resort-&-Spa---Optional-All-Inclusive.h794331-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-The-Reef-Playacar-Resort-&-Spa---Optional-All-Inclusive.h794331-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-The-Reef-Playacar-Resort-&-Spa---Optional-All-Inclusive.h794331-p2.Hotel-Reviews