Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Terrible food, only 1 pool towel per day, gym had broken equipment, door key cards never worked

Yo us was great vacation all service next time again visiting to Cancun

Food is not good and drinks were made with low level alcohol, called for room service for water and bath towels at 12:30am it never showed up, went to spa and the massage was great but everything else forget it, pass on visiting this place.

Was pretty good except they don’t have elevators but is only 3 floors, room been cleaned everyday and they have wonderful staff to help you. Test for COVID 19 in site. Which is a plus.

El hotel es bonito, pero en cuestión de limpieza en los cuartos como las lámparas y los baños falta un poco, también después de las 11pm no hay nada para hacer no hay ponen música. Los empleados muy lindos y atentos. Tampoco hay buen wiskey.

Food and service was good. However, no coffee machine accommodation in the room. Such an inconvenience to leave the room without coffe. Towels are old and need no toiletries where available. We did call front office and they only prov

Clean and Friendly staff.

The first room was on the 1st floor and close to the pool. It had an operable but broken shower head and the toilet didn’t flush properly. I also couldn’t deal with a couple large bugs I saw crawling on the floor. I notified the front desk and they were very nice and accommodating. They switched my room to the 2nd floor. The room was clean, comfortable and appeared to be a little larger. I took a shower and the water started backing up, not draining properly. I let the front desk know and the maintenance man came right away and took care of it. The food at the Asian and Italian restaurants were pretty good. The grounds and pools were kept very clean, and the entertainment was okay. Overall the staff were great and very accommodating, the rooms were clean but in need of updating.

We loved everything about the property particularly the staffing. The guys at the swim up bar: Miguel, Rafa, Rocio, Alex. At the restaurant: Mijail, Willi, cheff Hugo, Sergio, Eliazar, Aby... Everybody was so friendly and kind. This was our second visit to the resort. We will certainly go back.

I really enjoyed this hotel, the staff and the cleanliness of both my room and the hotel amenities themselves. The Covid procedures put in place were excellent! The staff was attentive and kind and even in moments of having a temporary language barrier they took the time to find someone who could communicate effectively to ensure that customer and tourist demands are met. The food was good plenty to choose from and the drinks were great and strong if you like them that way. The area is safe and there’s plenty to do! Covid 19 tests which are required for return to the U.S. are done at the hotel once you chose the QR code and emailed three days before your needed return to the US Covid tests were done results given and utilized at the airport. I enjoyed my stay and will be back!

Overall property was excellent. Property was much smaller than I thought and the beach water had tons of seaweed which I know wasn’t their fault so that made it hard to swim but all in all it was a great place to stay

My son and I took a quick last minute vacation and we LOVED this resort. The food was great. Fernando at The Palms was the best waiter. He was very attentive, friendly, and had great customer service!!! Our room was great and always clean. The grounds were very clean and well tended to. The pools were amazing. The beach was pretty also however the seaweed was a bit much. There were crews cleaning it up as much as they could and they worked hard in the that heat. We were able to swim in the ocean and enjoy the beach because of them :) overall, it was great. We will definitely be going back.

Loved RIU Playacar. It's near downtown playa del carmen, you can walk or take a 10 minute taxi ride. Loved it. The ocean has alot of sea-weed and sometimes unswimmable. Ocean water not clear either. As for RIU itself, everything was near perfect. Will come back.

Best of the best, all staff super friendly food amazing, everything super perfect we enjoy this hotel.

.

It’s a clean property, great staff services, it is right for the price, lots of food

Great staff service. Good food.

Avenida Xaman Ha Manzana Lote Playa del Carmen QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in Playacar, Riu Playacar All Inclusive is within 2 miles (3 km) of popular attractions such as Quinta Avenida and Playa del Carmen Main Beach. This 396-room, 4-star property has 3 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and 4 restaurants.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free buffet breakfast, served each morning from 7 AM to 11:30 AM. Enjoy dining at The Palms, one of 4 onsite restaurants.


Rooms

All 396 rooms feature minibars, free bottled water, and ceiling fans. Guests can expect free WiFi and 22-inch TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes, phones, and ironing boards are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Riu Playacar All Inclusive have access to a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a children's pool. You can take advantage of free parking, along with limo/town car service. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with luggage storage, tours or tickets, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this all-inclusive property include a gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a free kid's club.

Room options

Double Room (B2C CAN)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Double Room (U)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Double Room (L)

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Double Room, Ocean View (B2C-US)

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Riu Playacar All Inclusive

Everyone (32) Couples (18) Family (13) Friends (4) Other (1)
1
Partner Couples

Terrible food, only 1 pool towel per day, gym had broken equipment, door key cards never worked

By on Nov 23, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 24, 2021

Dear Emily Jane, Thank you for writing a review of your stay at our hotel. We are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations with your room. Our team strives to make sure each guest has a pleasant stay, so we apologize this was not your experience. Please be assured, this is not the level of service we generally provide and it certainly does not meet our standards. For this reason, we appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using your feedback to make improvements, if necessary to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us so we can meet your expectations. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Playacar Online Reputation Manager

5
Friends

Yo us was great vacation all service next time again visiting to Cancun

By on Nov 22, 2021

2
Partner Couples

Food is not good and drinks were made with low level alcohol, called for room service for water and bath towels at 12:30am it never showed up, went to spa and the massage was great but everything else forget it, pass on visiting this place.

By on Nov 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2021

Dear Zef, Thank you for your feedback and the time you took to provide it. We are very sorry that you did not receive a good overall impression of us and that you were only able to award two out of five stars. Gastronomy is a key part of the guest experience here at the hotel, and our talented team of chefs always strive to offer a wide variety of local and international delights in order to please all palates. It makes us sad to hear that we were not able to conquer yours. However, please be assured that your criticism did not fall on deaf ears, as feedback from our valued guests is very valuable to us. It helps us to continuously review our standards and, where necessary, introduce appropriate measures for improvement. We hope that we will get a second opportunity from you in the future to show you that we have high standards of service and performance in our hotel and always do our best to make our guests' stay a pleasant one. With kind regards Hotel Riu Playacar Online Reputation Manager

5
Partner Couples

Was pretty good except they don’t have elevators but is only 3 floors, room been cleaned everyday and they have wonderful staff to help you. Test for COVID 19 in site. Which is a plus.

By on Oct 26, 2021

4
Partner Couples

El hotel es bonito, pero en cuestión de limpieza en los cuartos como las lámparas y los baños falta un poco, también después de las 11pm no hay nada para hacer no hay ponen música. Los empleados muy lindos y atentos. Tampoco hay buen wiskey.

By , from Philadelphia on Oct 18, 2021

3
Everyone

Food and service was good. However, no coffee machine accommodation in the room. Such an inconvenience to leave the room without coffe. Towels are old and need no toiletries where available. We did call front office and they only prov

By on Oct 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 22, 2021

Dear Monica, Thank you for the time you have taken to write us about your experience in our hotel. While we appreciate your comments on our gastronomic selection and our staff members´ accommodating service, we regret that your stay was not entirely perfect due to the inconveniences that you had suffered. Please note that the current lack of amenities is because of our strict anti-covid-19 protocols, which have been implemented to safeguard our guests and employees, however we will communicate all of your feedback with the responsible department for an appropriate follow up as we sincerely hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future and restoring your faith in us. Best regards, Hotel Riu Playacar Online Reputation Manager

4
Friends

Clean and Friendly staff.

By on Sep 22, 2021

5
Everyone

By on Aug 20, 2021

3
Everyone

The first room was on the 1st floor and close to the pool. It had an operable but broken shower head and the toilet didn’t flush properly. I also couldn’t deal with a couple large bugs I saw crawling on the floor. I notified the front desk and they were very nice and accommodating. They switched my room to the 2nd floor. The room was clean, comfortable and appeared to be a little larger. I took a shower and the water started backing up, not draining properly. I let the front desk know and the maintenance man came right away and took care of it. The food at the Asian and Italian restaurants were pretty good. The grounds and pools were kept very clean, and the entertainment was okay. Overall the staff were great and very accommodating, the rooms were clean but in need of updating.

By on Aug 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 10, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Although we are sorry for the maintenance issued you experienced in your rooms, we are glad to know that our staff was accomodating and offered you a room change and the necessary assistance. We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback regarding the food at the tematic restaurants, our well kept grounds and pools. We take good note of your words regarding our rooms in order to make the necessary adjustments and hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best regards, Hotel Riu Playacar Online Reputation Manager

5
Family Friends

We loved everything about the property particularly the staffing. The guys at the swim up bar: Miguel, Rafa, Rocio, Alex. At the restaurant: Mijail, Willi, cheff Hugo, Sergio, Eliazar, Aby... Everybody was so friendly and kind. This was our second visit to the resort. We will certainly go back.

By on Jul 28, 2021

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Riu-Playacar-All-Inclusive.h580668-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Riu-Playacar-All-Inclusive.h580668-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Riu-Playacar-All-Inclusive.h580668-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions