Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Western Inn

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Owner Allan & his wife are really great. Very good value and comfort. I'd stay any time.

The beds are old, very uncomfortable and should have been replaced years ago. Mattresses are all stained up and worn out. The housekeeping is not good. It is doubtful that the sheets were changed. Upon turning back the sheets we found a toenail, Tootsie Roll wrapper, and paper receipt. The laminate on the counters is coming unglued. If we hadn't reserved this via a third party with which we couldn't get a refund, we would never have stayed. We will never stay in this motel again.

I always have a good experience with the staff at this hotel. The staff is very nice and accommodating. I have been coming here for around 15 years almost every year, and don't have any major complaints. The cons here are that the hotel is in dire need of revamping the rooms. The fixtures are tired and old. I would say that some of the plumbing fixtures are barely functional. The TVs are pretty recent, but the rooms haven't changed in the entire time I've been coming here, and it's starting to show. The contanental breakfast is sub par, but there is a decent restaurant across the street.

Could use updated tvs but room was spacious and clean.

Pretty standard hotel. The staff was quick, personable, and knew their stuff. The room my daughter and I had was clean and had no issues. We only stayed one night, so not sure of the cleaning staff except how it looked upon arrival. Very well priced. Pool was nice and warm, though a little disappointed there was no hot tub as stated -- but they're mostly being taken out so I didn't have my hopes up too high. Would stay again for a night, but it doesn't have the full amenities I'd look for in a longer stay.

I cannot say enough good about Western Inn Council Bluffs! The staff, including Allan and Kallie, were not only efficient upon check-in but friendly and helpful. Freshly baked chocolate chip cookies are offered every evening. The breakfast hours are from 5:30 to 10:30 am in a very relaxed atmosphere, no rushing. Hot dogs and even homemade soup were also available in the evening. No in-room coffee but it was a short trek to get some in the morning. Fresh coffee is available 24 hrs It was very clean, good housekeeping and we slept well. My only regret is not finding this place sooner!

I had a very comfortable two-night stay. This is an older hotel, but it's been spiffed up - everything was clean and worked well (the A/C, the TV, the shower, the hair dryer, etc.), and the bed was comfy. It's located conveniently close to the major interstate, but not noisy. Of interest to families, it's pet-friendly and has a nice pool.

You get what you paid for i guess. First up, television/cable wasn't working, it took time for me to figure out, I restarted the cable box behind the tv for it to work. Second, breakfast, very basic, no eggs, no pan cakes. Third, bed sheets appeared to be wrinkled. Got me thinking, if it was really new and got replaced. Pool? Probably okay.

The first thing that made things start well was the manager. He was conversant, didn't mind a wide range of topics, and informative in his welcoming us. A few days there and he continued with the same great demeanor.

Good room size near restaurants; great pool; friendly staff and complimentary snacks; reasonably priced; friendly to dogs!

Really worn out hotel; paid way too much. Would stay here again if its the only hotel available for one nite. Breakfast was pleasing and basic. Beds, sheets, pillows, carpet, furniture all worn out and needs updating. We paid way too much for this very basic, very worn hotel. A/C barely worked. Should pay around fifty bucks for this hotel but paid triple that. I do not recommend unless its the only place in town.

Hotel was just a motel. It was over priced. Furniture and TV were old. Soap and shampoo were very quality.

This hotel has always been clean and great prices. I've used it to visit family and when we come up for deer hunting in Iowa. Staff have always been great.

We stayed there for 6 days in October. The staff was amazing. The rooms clean. Each day breakfast was free and plentiful. Hot coffee, juices, milk, biscuits and gravy, cereal, Danish, donuts, cereal and more! 5:50 at night... HOT DOGS. Later on BBQ, Pit Beef and BBQ chicken. Indoor pool? WARM. Nice attentive staff! FREE AND FAST WIFI Will go again.

It was a very good stay and i will recomend it to family and friends that might pass through council bluffs

Old hotel. They still use keys for the rooms. Clean rooms. Free hot dogs and cookies in the afternoon and a basic breakfast in the morning.

As a young family with 3 children I felt very disrespected when I checked into this hotel. I reserved the room for myself, my husband, and 2 children because we were in town for a funeral and 1 or 2 of my kids wanted to stay with their aunt and cousins. When we walked through the front door with our belongings the front desk lady yelled at me because I had more children then I said... She could have at least ASKED if I had made a mistake in my reservation. She was VERY rude and I will never stay there again while in town.

Have stayed at this hotel numerous times. Very friendly staff, great location for our needs. Chocolate chip cookies and hot dogs for snacks. Great breakfast! Swimming pool is awesome!

Clean, easy access off highway, could use new pillows, good value for a great price for an overnight stop

My husband and I stayed in this hotel on Christmas Eve in order to visit family in the area. The staff was very nice, as always, and we really appreciate that they always have fresh chocolate chip cookies, hot dogs, and occasionally extra snacks (this time it was chicken teriyaki). The value for the price is unbeatable. The only reason I gave only three stars on the cleanliness is due to the fact that there was some sort of stickiness on the carpet in the room (appeared to be like an old piece of gum? Not sure). We have stayed here before and would stay there again.

1842 Madison Ave. Council Bluffs IA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Western Inn is located within a few miles (5 km) of RailsWest Railroad Museum and Squirrel Cage Jail. This 51-room hotel has conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. It's also near Union Pacific Railroad Museum and Bayliss Park.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay.


Rooms

Western Inn's 51 air-conditioned rooms provide free local calls and desks. Guests can expect TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

Guests of Western Inn enjoy an indoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee in a common area. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. Additional amenities include express check-out, free newspapers, and a TV in a common area.

Room options

Standard Single Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Western Inn

Everyone (11) Couples (13) Business (4) Family (18) Other (2) Friends (1)
4

owner allan & his wife are really great. very good

Everyone

Owner Allan & his wife are really great. Very good value and comfort. I'd stay any time.

By , from CA on Sep 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 20, 2017

Jeff,Thank you for staying with us. We do work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We look forward to having you as our guest on your next visit.

1

below average location and facilities

Everyone

The beds are old, very uncomfortable and should have been replaced years ago. Mattresses are all stained up and worn out. The housekeeping is not good. It is doubtful that the sheets were changed. Upon turning back the sheets we found a toenail, Tootsie Roll wrapper, and paper receipt. The laminate on the counters is coming unglued. If we hadn't reserved this via a third party with which we couldn't get a refund, we would never have stayed. We will never stay in this motel again.

By , from Michigan on Sep 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 13, 2017

We are sorry that you did not have a good experience in our facility. If you had notified the front desk, we would have moved you to a different room immediately or worked with you to get refund so if you chose to go somewhere else. We will address the issues that you encountered immediately to remedy the problems.

3

hotel is right off the interstate next to stores

Everyone

I always have a good experience with the staff at this hotel. The staff is very nice and accommodating. I have been coming here for around 15 years almost every year, and don't have any major complaints. The cons here are that the hotel is in dire need of revamping the rooms. The fixtures are tired and old. I would say that some of the plumbing fixtures are barely functional. The TVs are pretty recent, but the rooms haven't changed in the entire time I've been coming here, and it's starting to show. The contanental breakfast is sub par, but there is a decent restaurant across the street.

By , from Champaign, IL on Aug 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We'll work hard to fix the issues you've brought to our attention.

5
Everyone

Could use updated tvs but room was spacious and clean.

By on May 21, 2017

Review comment responded on May 23, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We are in the process of updating our TVs, but some rooms do still have the older style.

3

not bad. good price.

Everyone

Pretty standard hotel. The staff was quick, personable, and knew their stuff. The room my daughter and I had was clean and had no issues. We only stayed one night, so not sure of the cleaning staff except how it looked upon arrival. Very well priced. Pool was nice and warm, though a little disappointed there was no hot tub as stated -- but they're mostly being taken out so I didn't have my hopes up too high. Would stay again for a night, but it doesn't have the full amenities I'd look for in a longer stay.

By on May 17, 2017

Review comment responded on May 19, 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience when you were here.

5

clean and convenient

Everyone

I cannot say enough good about Western Inn Council Bluffs! The staff, including Allan and Kallie, were not only efficient upon check-in but friendly and helpful. Freshly baked chocolate chip cookies are offered every evening. The breakfast hours are from 5:30 to 10:30 am in a very relaxed atmosphere, no rushing. Hot dogs and even homemade soup were also available in the evening. No in-room coffee but it was a short trek to get some in the morning. Fresh coffee is available 24 hrs It was very clean, good housekeeping and we slept well. My only regret is not finding this place sooner!

By , from Michigan on Apr 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 11, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience while staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to having you as our guests soon.

4

good reasonably priced hotel option near omaha

Families

I had a very comfortable two-night stay. This is an older hotel, but it's been spiffed up - everything was clean and worked well (the A/C, the TV, the shower, the hair dryer, etc.), and the bed was comfy. It's located conveniently close to the major interstate, but not noisy. Of interest to families, it's pet-friendly and has a nice pool.

By , from Westchester, NY on Apr 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2017

Thank you for staying with us, Jeanne! Our staff strives to provide our guests with a friendly, comfortable stay. Thank you for letting us know we succeeded.

2

uncomfortable feeling

Everyone

You get what you paid for i guess. First up, television/cable wasn't working, it took time for me to figure out, I restarted the cable box behind the tv for it to work. Second, breakfast, very basic, no eggs, no pan cakes. Third, bed sheets appeared to be wrinkled. Got me thinking, if it was really new and got replaced. Pool? Probably okay.

By on Jan 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2017

We're sorry you were unhappy. We'll work hard to fix the issues you experienced. Please allow us to assure you that the sheets are changed and inspected between every guests. Thanks for letting us know.

4

local hotel close to family back home

Families

The first thing that made things start well was the manager. He was conversant, didn't mind a wide range of topics, and informative in his welcoming us. A few days there and he continued with the same great demeanor.

By , from Colorado on Jan 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion of our hotel and staff. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

4

council bluffs great option

Everyone

Good room size near restaurants; great pool; friendly staff and complimentary snacks; reasonably priced; friendly to dogs!

By on Sep 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 23, 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.