Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The hotel was in terrible shape. The fitness room was closed. They are renovating. The beds were incredibly small and I ultimately slept on the floor because my wife and I couldn't fit comfortably on the bed. I wasn't about to give the hotel another dollar to get a roll-away. And despite my complaints, the hotel management wasn't willing to address my concerns.

The hotel was currently under renovation. Even being under renovation it was a nice stay and a good vacation. The rooms were nice, comfortable, and clean.

The hotel is very inconsistent with temperature. There is constantly pockets of cold, drafty areas and overly heated areas. The hotel is also very old and smells musty and dusty. The staff was very slow and not very friendly either. The construction was a turn off and doesn't not seem conducive to holding large conferences, dispite the size.

This was the overflow hotel for our Conf. Comforter on my bed was stained with pink stuff like candy. Had to pay for packaged breakfast food. At least coffee was free. NOT a good start for the day. Plus construction smells permeated the halls and room.

Found the hotel very accessible to Busch Gardens, clean, and comfortable at a reasonable price!! Would like to have more night lighting in the hotel parking lot.

2 min from Busch gardens , beds were comfortable, they are in the middle of a remodel.

It was a very nice hotel and I highly recommend anyone to stay at Fort Magruder

Run from this place!! The hotel smells....carpets are dirty and old...I will never come back to this place!!

My fiancee and I recently took a weekend trip to Williamsburg and stayed at the Fort Magruder Hotel during our visit. The hotel served as a good launch pad for our adventures around Colonial Williamsburg. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Went there for a Veterans of the Battle of the Bulge Reunion. Because I had booked through an online travel site I did not receive any free breakfast coupons. The staff were very friendly, cheerful, personable and helpful. The hotel was recently renovated and the room was nice. Most of us were senior citizens and our hospitality room which was great was located at the far end of the hotel near the pool. Our banquet room was at the far end of the hotel at the other end. It was a lot of walking from our rooms. But if you are not having a banquet or hospitality room or using the pool it is not a problem. The hotel has a great buffet breakfast in the morning but the restaurant was not open for lunch or in the evening. There is a bar and a very limited menu of sandwiches but very limited seating for the size of the hotel. If you have a car there are loads of eating places about 5 miles away along Richmond Blvd. The hotel is very close to Williamsburg Olde Town as well as Bausch Gardens. Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown are less than a half hour away. It is ideally located.

We stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday and had a great time. The lobby is beautiful with lots of sitting areas and a cathedral ceiling that makes it seem even more spacious. The friendly staff made us feel welcome. Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and nothing was shabby. We had a junior suite that had a refrigerator and a microwave and it was worth it for the extra space. We had a dog and next time I would ask for a ground floor room so we could go directly outside from the patio. You can also ask for a room that overlooks the pleasant garden courtyard, although our room looked out on the parking lot. Location was great -- about a mile to the historic district. The food was good too and I would stay there and eat there again without any hesitation.

In our first room the screen door wouldn't shut and the staff was very polite and quick to get us a new room even though it was two double beds instead of one king. Location was unbeatable and the pool was very nice. Great price.

This is our second stay. The hotel was clean, in a good location, and is pet friendly. I like sitting on the balcony. The courtyard is beautiful in the spring. We spent a day at the Prime outlet, restocking our summer wardrobe. The beds were comfortable. We had to call the front desk to fix the heater. Ithey responded quickly, and was fixed in a very short time.

Great bed and very clean room. Very long check-in process and, because of that, not very friendly. Housekeepers and restaurant staff were very friendly. Food was very basic and you should always go out to eat or bring food in. About a 5 minute drive to both Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Due to the price and cleanliness, I would stay again if I was in the area.

The room is clean and the facility is new. I like the hotel overall except the bed is too soft.

We realy enjoied our stay here. The rooms are nice but nothing special. Very good for the price though. The location is excellent and convient to Colonial Williamsburg and the surrounding interstates.

This was a nice hotel, roomy and comfortable. It was a bit outdated and had a bit of an "old" smell to it. Other than that, a nice place to stay.

The staff was very friendly. Even though check in wasn't until 4 they allowed us to check in early...which was great after driving 13 hrs. The price was great, the room was clean and up to date.

Decent, but the hotel could use some work... The hotel had outdated rooms and seemed a little run down. In comparison to other hotels that would have cost the same the room was significantly smaller and breakfast was not included with the stay. With that being said, the hotel is in a prime location to visit Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Settlement, Go Ape Treetop Adventures, Ripley's Believe It or Not, Busch Gardens and Water World. Additionally, it has has a few things for the kiddos - a small arcade room and two pools - 1 indoor and 1 outdoor.

6945 Pocahontas Trail Williamsburg VA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool and indoor pool
  • Fitness center

Governor's Palace is within 2 miles (3 km) of Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center while other popular attractions such as Busch Gardens Williamsburg are within 3 miles (5 km). This 303-room, 3.5-star hotel has an outdoor pool along with an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi. It's in the historical district and also close to Water Country USA and Quarterpath Park.


Rooms

All 303 air-conditioned rooms feature refrigerators, coffee makers, and phones. Guests can expect free WiFi and 27-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds sport down comforters. Ironing boards and desks are other standard amenities.


Property features

Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center features an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. A stay here includes free parking. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this family-friendly hotel include free WiFi in public areas, 15 meeting rooms, and a conference center.

Room options

Standard King

King 1 | Sleeps 2

2 Doubles ADA Accessible

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

2 Doubles ADA Roll in Shower

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard King View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center

Everyone (8) Couples (22) Business (2) Family (30) Friends (3) Other (1)
1

i won't be staying there again.

Everyone

The hotel was in terrible shape. The fitness room was closed. They are renovating. The beds were incredibly small and I ultimately slept on the floor because my wife and I couldn't fit comfortably on the bed. I wasn't about to give the hotel another dollar to get a roll-away. And despite my complaints, the hotel management wasn't willing to address my concerns.

By on Jun 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2017

Dear guest, First and foremost, thank you for choosing Fort Magruder for your hotel accommodations. It really disappoints me to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologize that you were not able to access the fitness center during your stay. We recently had the floor redone in that area. As you are aware, we are currently undergoing renovations to improve the property. I will make sure management is aware of your concerns. If there is anything that you would like to discuss further, please do not hesitate to give me a call directly. We hope that after renovations, you come back and stay with us.

4

nice hotel located between busch garden & colonial

Everyone

The hotel was currently under renovation. Even being under renovation it was a nice stay and a good vacation. The rooms were nice, comfortable, and clean.

By , from Herndon, VA on Apr 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 23, 2017

Dear Brian, Thank you for staying with us during your trip to the Williamsburg area! I am glad that the hotel was in a convenient location for you. I am happy to hear that you found the rooms to be nice,comfortable and clean as well. I will make sure our staff is aware of your kind comments. We hope that you come back to visit us should your travel plans lead you back to the Williamsburg area.

2

not worth it

BusinessTravelers

The hotel is very inconsistent with temperature. There is constantly pockets of cold, drafty areas and overly heated areas. The hotel is also very old and smells musty and dusty. The staff was very slow and not very friendly either. The construction was a turn off and doesn't not seem conducive to holding large conferences, dispite the size.

By , from Manassas, VA on Feb 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 22, 2017

Dear Pamela, Thank you for staying with us during your conference. I sincerely apologize for the fluctuation in temperature in the building. Please know that our Engineering Department has been made aware of your concerns and are on top of it. Department Managers are working hard with the staff the make sure customer service standards meet our guest needs, please bare with us during this time as changes will be made and our customer service efforts will reflect this. As you are aware, we are currently making changes to the property to better service the needs of our guest. Renovations are expected to be completed very soon and we invite you back to experience the new and improved Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center after completion. Thank you again for your honest feedback.

3

not my choice.

Everyone

This was the overflow hotel for our Conf. Comforter on my bed was stained with pink stuff like candy. Had to pay for packaged breakfast food. At least coffee was free. NOT a good start for the day. Plus construction smells permeated the halls and room.

By , from Williamsburg, VA on Nov 10, 2016

4

comfortably close to busch gardens!!

Everyone

Found the hotel very accessible to Busch Gardens, clean, and comfortable at a reasonable price!! Would like to have more night lighting in the hotel parking lot.

By , from Hampton, VA on Oct 31, 2016

4

asked for a king got two doubles. all good though.

Everyone

By on Oct 31, 2016

3
Everyone

2 min from Busch gardens , beds were comfortable, they are in the middle of a remodel.

By on Oct 17, 2016

4

very nice atmosphere

Everyone

It was a very nice hotel and I highly recommend anyone to stay at Fort Magruder

By , from b on Aug 11, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back next summer and visit us again!

1

horrible!!!

Everyone

Run from this place!! The hotel smells....carpets are dirty and old...I will never come back to this place!!

By , from va on Jul 22, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2016

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were unhappy and we are diligently working to correct the issue you mentioned.

4
Families

My fiancee and I recently took a weekend trip to Williamsburg and stayed at the Fort Magruder Hotel during our visit. The hotel served as a good launch pad for our adventures around Colonial Williamsburg. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

By , from Arlington, VA on Jun 20, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2016

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We work hard to make our guests happy and I am glad we were able to do that during your stay. Please visit us again!