Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Nice rooms, Great location and awesome prices Breakfast was great!!! Love that coffee Machine!! Only one complaint one of the front desk women was very rude about a reservation supposed to be done b4 12 not even joking by 12:02 this woman was knocking on our door telling my husband and child that they were going to have to go stand downstairs in the lobby until they had recieved the reservation. My husband had told the woman that we had made the reservation and ask nicely could u please give it 10 more minutes, she went back down to the front desk and then proceeded to call and call and call for at least 5 minutes straight. not to mention I have an infant child that was taking a nap at that time. This woman was very unfriendly..

A unique property design! Old school, but well maintained. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and our room was quite clean and comfortable.

Tucked away from Midlothian traffic, the room was spacious and quiet. Large hallways, so you are kept from the noises of other guests, allowing the time to work or just rest. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast dining area had plenty of tables for guests to comfortably start the day. Shopping close by, if you are in need of anything. Would recommend to my friends and peers.

I loved it. My husband was impressed with the beauty of the building. The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was nice. We highly enjoyed ourselves.

A great clean hotel with polite staff. A little dated decor but up to date technology and amenities.

I stayed at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn overnight for a college graduation. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I loved the decor --- felt castle-like and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great and I would definitely stay here again.

This is a nice, comfortable place to stay. The hotel has somewhat of a castle look with its stone and brick interior. Very different. The bed was super comfortable with nice bedding & plenty of pillows. Slept very well all 3 nights. Bathrooms looked fairly recently remodeled with a modern look. Attractive. The room was large. Had a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker & nice size flat screen tv. And the rooms were well-maintained. Breakfast was free and included hot items like eggs and make-it-yourself waffles. There was a good variety of cereals, fruit, muffins, bagels and of course tea and coffee. The dining room was a good size. Any of the staff we encountered were really friendly and helpful. It sits back off the Midlothian Turnpike a bit so you don't hear the traffic. It's near an Olive Garden and there's a nice indoor mall about 2 miles away and plenty of restaurants to choose from. If you don't want to stay right in Richmond this is a good choice at a good price.

Every staff member we encountered was really nice & helpful. Comfortable bed. Very clean. Looks like the bathrooms had been fairly recently renovated. Lots of choices on the free breakfast bar including eggs and waffles. Hotel reminds you of a castle, somewhat, with it's interesting brick & stonework inside. Nicely maintained. Sits back off the main drag which makes for a quiet setting. Plenty of things to do within steps of the hotel and on down a couple miles is a very nice indoor mall. Really good choice if you don't want to stay in downtown Richmond.

There were many areas of obvious patches throughout the hotel. Including a 3/4 inch bump under the carpet in our room. Another guest was quoted a rate $22 per night lower than what I prepaid through a discount site" Orb***". Overall clean and staff was very friendly but not worth what I paid, I would have been satisfied at the lower rate.

Was in town for training and needed a place to stay for one night. Hotel was ok for the price. I was booked in a smoking room and it smelled horrible. Hotel was full so I couldn't change rooms. Breakfast was lacking many healthy options. But the staff was very friendly and the room was clean.

It doesn't get any better than this! Spacious, clean room, friendly and helpful staff, a hot breakfast,, and a restaurant and nightclub for entertainment. And all of this at a moderate price that beats the competition. Looking forward to future stays at this hotel.

I needed to stay in the immediate area for the night and this hotel was the closest. I noted it had decent ratings and was cheaper than other hotels near by so I picked it. Overall it was a decent clean facility with no surprises. There are two main buildings and the main building with the office has a night club and is quite loud. Make sure you do as I did and select a room in the building away from the club. The manager was very accomidating to this request. For the price and location I am quite satisfied with the short stay.

Stayed one night studying for contractor's exam. Nice and quiet. Close to exam site.

Very clean room, pleasantly surprised. Very comfortable bed. Location is just far out enough to avoid the city rush.

We really enjoyed our stay. The complimentary breakfast was one of the best I've ever had at a hotel. The location was perfect with lots of places to shop and eat. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends. The decor was different but rather classy. Thanks for the warm hospitality. NRob- NJ

This stay was prabably my sixth time at the Best Western. It is always quiet which is priority number one to me. Secondly, It is clean and it comes with all of the amenities I need. Anything else that I could need, I just call the front desk and they will help me.

Checked in Hotel, went right to room, it was clean with lots of room. They have a club/dance floor & Bar & Grill so you can find something to do. In the morning you get free food, and drink, I liked that, the staff was very kind and helpful. The only issue I had was a smoker in the room next to me, the smoke made its way into my room, I was not happy about that, as well I was on the first floor and people were in the parking lot making lots of noise talking to each other. One thing I loved was the whirl pool bath & Shower, I am 6'4" and fit fine, sadly I was not sharing it with another.. The TV could have been bigger but the channel selection and remote control for the HAVC was great and everything was clean, loved the mounds of extra pillows and towels. Another thanks gos to this site who found what I wanted from the bath to being close to me. Very Happy!

I requested a non-smoking room when i made the reservation. When i arrived the room reeked of smoke. I asked to have my room changed. The second room was worse then the first. Very discouraging. the only positive point was that the hotel was 10mins from the business i was visiting.

The hotel was... alright. There were hardly guests there so it felt a little uncomforatable and vacant. The hotel is actually split into two separate buildings so I had to check in in the lobby and then drive around to the other building to go to my room which did not feel very safe. The night shift front desk staff was not friendly.

Midlothian Tpke Richmond VA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking
  • Fitness center
  • 24-hour business center

Located in North Chesterfield, Best Western Plus Governor's Inn is 1.9 mi (3.1 km) from Johnston-Willis Hospital and within a 15-minute drive of other popular attractions like Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. This 80-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free self parking, a fitness center, and a 24-hour business center.


Dining

For your convenience, a continental breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

Best Western Plus Governor's Inn's 80 rooms provide microwaves, coffee makers, and free local calls. 37-inch LCD TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include safes, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

At Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, guests have access to a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with sightseeing, directions, and local dining recommendations. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, a seasonal outdoor pool, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave (with Sofabed)

2 Queen Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Jetted Tub

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Governor's Inn

Everyone (4) Business (11) Couples (7) Family (14) Other (8) Friends (3)
5
Family Family

Nice rooms, Great location and awesome prices Breakfast was great!!! Love that coffee Machine!! Only one complaint one of the front desk women was very rude about a reservation supposed to be done b4 12 not even joking by 12:02 this woman was knocking on our door telling my husband and child that they were going to have to go stand downstairs in the lobby until they had recieved the reservation. My husband had told the woman that we had made the reservation and ask nicely could u please give it 10 more minutes, she went back down to the front desk and then proceeded to call and call and call for at least 5 minutes straight. not to mention I have an infant child that was taking a nap at that time. This woman was very unfriendly..

By on Mar 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding our hotel, Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. I am sorry to hear about the issue you had at our hotel. By telling us what you did not like about our hotel, it gives us an opportunity to fix the issue. I will definitely look into and address your concerns. I do apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced. Again, thank you for leaving your review for our hotel.

4
Everyone

By on Dec 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review for your stay with the Best Western Plus - Governors Inn! We truly value your feedback and hope that you stay with us again soon!

4
Everyone

A unique property design! Old school, but well maintained. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and our room was quite clean and comfortable.

By on Apr 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2019

Thank you for providing valuable feedback! Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. The staff works as a team to provide 100% Superior Customer Care and they really take pride in what they do. We will look forward to you staying with us again! On behalf our entire team at the Best Western Plus - Governor's Inn we would like to thank you for giving us an opportunity to exceed your expectations!

5

the quietness i needed.

Everyone

Tucked away from Midlothian traffic, the room was spacious and quiet. Large hallways, so you are kept from the noises of other guests, allowing the time to work or just rest. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast dining area had plenty of tables for guests to comfortably start the day. Shopping close by, if you are in need of anything. Would recommend to my friends and peers.

By , from Stanardsville on May 24, 2018

Review comment responded on May 24, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for our hotel, Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We do hope that you will return to see us again in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

5

beautiful building in a central location

Everyone

I loved it. My husband was impressed with the beauty of the building. The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was nice. We highly enjoyed ourselves.

By on Jan 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that you will return in the future for another visit. Thank you so much for leaving your review. Lori Gantz-Shelton, General Manager

5

comfortable stay

Friends

A great clean hotel with polite staff. A little dated decor but up to date technology and amenities.

By on Sep 29, 2015

5

great experience

Family

I stayed at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn overnight for a college graduation. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I loved the decor --- felt castle-like and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great and I would definitely stay here again.

By on May 11, 2015

4

very nice place to stay

Family

This is a nice, comfortable place to stay. The hotel has somewhat of a castle look with its stone and brick interior. Very different. The bed was super comfortable with nice bedding & plenty of pillows. Slept very well all 3 nights. Bathrooms looked fairly recently remodeled with a modern look. Attractive. The room was large. Had a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker & nice size flat screen tv. And the rooms were well-maintained. Breakfast was free and included hot items like eggs and make-it-yourself waffles. There was a good variety of cereals, fruit, muffins, bagels and of course tea and coffee. The dining room was a good size. Any of the staff we encountered were really friendly and helpful. It sits back off the Midlothian Turnpike a bit so you don't hear the traffic. It's near an Olive Garden and there's a nice indoor mall about 2 miles away and plenty of restaurants to choose from. If you don't want to stay right in Richmond this is a good choice at a good price.

By on Jun 12, 2014

4

good, solid hotel choice

Other

Every staff member we encountered was really nice & helpful. Comfortable bed. Very clean. Looks like the bathrooms had been fairly recently renovated. Lots of choices on the free breakfast bar including eggs and waffles. Hotel reminds you of a castle, somewhat, with it's interesting brick & stonework inside. Nicely maintained. Sits back off the main drag which makes for a quiet setting. Plenty of things to do within steps of the hotel and on down a couple miles is a very nice indoor mall. Really good choice if you don't want to stay in downtown Richmond.

By on Jun 8, 2014

2

average decent clean place to sleep

Family

There were many areas of obvious patches throughout the hotel. Including a 3/4 inch bump under the carpet in our room. Another guest was quoted a rate $22 per night lower than what I prepaid through a discount site" Orb***". Overall clean and staff was very friendly but not worth what I paid, I would have been satisfied at the lower rate.

By on May 6, 2014

Best Western Plus Governor's Inn

9826 Midlothian Tpke, Richmond, VA 23235
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Richmond-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Governor's-Inn.h12672-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Richmond-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Governor's-Inn.h12672-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Richmond-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Governor's-Inn.h12672-p2.Hotel-Reviews