Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We decided at the last minutes to take an overnight trip to the beach. I was very impressed with our room. It was clean and exactly what we thought it would be. The beds were very comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was wonderful after a long day at the beach and walking the boardwalk. We’ll definitely stay again and recommend to our friends!

They put us in a room next to the weight room. All you heard were treadmills and weights being dropped. It was dirty and smelled. Parking is horrible. Blood stains on beds also.

The location is fantastic if you like being in Downtiwn OC and the room was clean, pleasant and fresh. Bring slippers! The floors are tile.

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Right on the boardwalk, convenient to many restaurants, shops and games.

Arrived at the hotel and was met with a smiling employee. He was able to get us a room facing the ocean and made us feel like we were welcomed.

Nasty lady at the front desk named LAUREN (blonde one), she got mad because I didn't want to check in and I was asking for a refund! the fire alarm went off for about 3 hours straight! The lobby was full of people complaining, kids were crying a really mess at 1 in the morning ! NEVER AGAIN Somebody told me they been having this problem for a while! And the front desk people at the night shift should find another job because they don't know how to treat costumers.

Only stayed one night, but the room was clean, spacious, and very close to the beach.

Nice hotel, but the pool and bar werent in main hotel location. Had a difficult time getting luggage Carr to the main lobby and had to go all ye way around the parking lot to the sidewalk just to get my luggage to the hotel. Extremely frustrating. If my children were younger, I would have left. Very inconvenient.

Great location, so convenient. Walking distance to the beach, to the restaurants. We couldn't ask for more.

Place was outdated and dirty! Floors were not cleaned, tiles missing in bathroom.. I put my future mother in law in this hotel and they were totally grossed out. I felt horrible and almost switched them to another hotel but it was only one night. For $250 it was not what I expected.

Not friendly!!, The front desk people it see like they hate there job .

Could be cleaner i.e. Floor and bathroom. There were ants. Daily room service took out trash, replenished towels and made bed. . . Could have swept floor (tile floors) Awesome location but parking tight.

Parking - pay to park if more than one car (would have been nice to know prior to arrival) - FAIL Directions to overflow parking upon checkin - gate locked - FAIL WiFi Connection to all devices - Entire Stay didn't work in room but worked in lobby- FAIL Bed Linens upon check in - dirty - FAIL Room Door Lock - Didn't lock had to wait until 8 PM to go anywhere the first day because that's how long it took for them to come. Easy fix. - FAIL Balcony Door Lock Broken - told maintenance wouldn't care if I didn't have a toddler I didn't want to get out, he proceeded to show her how to work the lock after he fixed it...thanks but no thanks - FAIL Front Desk Staff - Friendly but failed to follow up on issues as they occurred - NEUTRAL Housekeeping - Clean room other than initial issue of having dirty sheets, took personal belongings out of the closet - FAIL Pool Decks - Not maintained on daily basis. Broken ladder, slippery from sand/water mixture, gutters need major cleaning, broken furniture, rooftop bar/restaurant closed, people using pool bathroom for drug use - FAIL Follow up for any issues as they were occurring - FAIL

My only complaint is that the AC wasn't up to par. It worked but not like it should.

Yes the hotel was right on the boardwalk but the pools were dirty, loads amount of hair floating in both pools and we tried to go 3 different times each day and we asked for the pools to be cleaned, my son did get pink eye the one time we did get in before we noticed all of the hair. The rooftop pool was also very small and the other pool wasnt much bigger. The hotel room didn't have good water pressure in the shower and the bathroom door wouldn't lock, it was broken. We had 2 queen beds in The room but The second bed was so close to The sliding glass door you had to crawl across the bed to get off of it...2 kids slept in that bed. The elevator was very slow, not much parking at all. We will not stsy here again and definitely don't recommend it.

Good hotel. Biggest problem was parking. Hotel parking lot was full so was the extra parking across the street. We finally found a parking space and didn't move the car until we checked out.

Clean rooms, good service, close to the beach and boardwalk.

First of they moved the front desk from the front to the back of the property. It's was very confusing to find. Then when you do there's not enough space for but maybe one car to check in at a time. There's no where near enough parking spaces. The front desk staff was very nice. They did let us check in early. The rooms are OK. The beds weren't that comfortable. They hadn't cleaned out the fridge from the previous people. The 2 pools were nice and so was the workout room. Are stay was OK, but next time we will stay somewhere else.

Stayed here about 5 years ago and the hotel wasn't too bad but this time around it just looked old and a little run down. My friends and I stayed in a suite and while the beds were clean the floor was pretty dirty as well as there were scuff marks on the walls and the couch was destroyed. I would stay again only if the rooms are updated.

Good location rooms are clean but they can do better no body want to see hair on the bathroom floor or on the bed sheets

5th Street on the Boardwalk Ocean City Ocean City MD

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • 2 outdoor pools

Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites places you within a 10-minute stroll of Ocean Bowl Skate Park and Midway Shopping Center. This 132-room hotel welcomes guests with 2 outdoor pools, a restaurant, and free in-room WiFi. It's on the beach and also a short walk from Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum and Jolly Roger at the Pier.


Dining

This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites's 132 air-conditioned rooms provide balconies, sofa beds, and microwaves. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 42-inch LCD TVs with cable channels and DVD players. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Refrigerators, stovetops, and coffee makers are also standard.


Property features

Renovated in 2017, Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites offers 2 outdoor pools, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with concierge services, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include a TV in a common area and an ATM.

Guest reviews for Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites

Everyone (34) Couples (28) Family (48) Friends (15)
5

day trip to the beach

Everyone

We decided at the last minutes to take an overnight trip to the beach. I was very impressed with our room. It was clean and exactly what we thought it would be. The beds were very comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was wonderful after a long day at the beach and walking the boardwalk. We’ll definitely stay again and recommend to our friends!

By , from boonsboro, md on Apr 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 19, 2018

Thanks for staying with us at the Tidelands Caribbean Hotel & Suites! We are pleased you enjoyed one of our suites.We hope to see you again!

1

not the best hotel

Everyone

They put us in a room next to the weight room. All you heard were treadmills and weights being dropped. It was dirty and smelled. Parking is horrible. Blood stains on beds also.

By on Apr 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 12, 2018

We sincerely apologize for your negative experience and will strive to provide a better service in the future. Hope you can give us another chance.

4

accommodating and a comfortable

Everyone

The location is fantastic if you like being in Downtiwn OC and the room was clean, pleasant and fresh. Bring slippers! The floors are tile.

By , from Baltimore on Apr 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 12, 2018

Don, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tidelands Caribbean Hotel & Suites. We glad you had a great time and enjoyed our Oceanfront Boardwalk location with close proximity to all shopping and dining. We can't wait to see you back!

5
Everyone

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Right on the boardwalk, convenient to many restaurants, shops and games.

By , from MD on Mar 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2018

Thanks for staying with us at the Tidelands Caribbean Hotel & Suites! We hope to see you again!

4

great view. friendly staff.

Everyone

Arrived at the hotel and was met with a smiling employee. He was able to get us a room facing the ocean and made us feel like we were welcomed.

By , from Northern Kentucky on Sep 13, 2017

1

fire alarm went off for 3 hours straight

Everyone

Nasty lady at the front desk named LAUREN (blonde one), she got mad because I didn't want to check in and I was asking for a refund! the fire alarm went off for about 3 hours straight! The lobby was full of people complaining, kids were crying a really mess at 1 in the morning ! NEVER AGAIN Somebody told me they been having this problem for a while! And the front desk people at the night shift should find another job because they don't know how to treat costumers.

By , from NJ on Sep 10, 2017

4
Everyone

Only stayed one night, but the room was clean, spacious, and very close to the beach.

By on Sep 6, 2017

3

hotel accommodations aren't together, inconvenient

Everyone

Nice hotel, but the pool and bar werent in main hotel location. Had a difficult time getting luggage Carr to the main lobby and had to go all ye way around the parking lot to the sidewalk just to get my luggage to the hotel. Extremely frustrating. If my children were younger, I would have left. Very inconvenient.

By on Sep 2, 2017

5

perfect location

Everyone

Great location, so convenient. Walking distance to the beach, to the restaurants. We couldn't ask for more.

By , from VA on Sep 2, 2017

2

dirty

Everyone

Place was outdated and dirty! Floors were not cleaned, tiles missing in bathroom.. I put my future mother in law in this hotel and they were totally grossed out. I felt horrible and almost switched them to another hotel but it was only one night. For $250 it was not what I expected.

By , from colorado on Aug 23, 2017