Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Staff very friendly and helpfull, it is old hotel but you will no staying inside mostly and in good and safe location (student area), very close to subway so you can go anywhere easily.

Great value for a budget hotel experience, and a fantastic location.

Great location, cute hotel. I loved the breakfast down stairs, you get 10% off but pretty cheap and great food!

Very accommodating, 24hr front desk. Location is ideal in a very safe neighborhood. Offers traditional British lodging

Great location to parks and the tube. Area was quiet at night, but I could hear neighbors walking upstairs and closing doors (which wasn't too disruptive). My room was sufficient for me traveling solo and only there for a few days. The bathroom was a recent remodel and, though small, completely adequate. I dropped my bag off prior to check-in so that I could explore without that extra weight on day 1, which was nice. Hotel staff was super nice. Overall, a good experience and I would definitely stay there again!

horrible, room is very small, stairs too narrow. Had a hard time carrying lyggage to room. No airconditioning.

Very nice staff and very authentic British hotel. I found everything very charming and comfortable. Location was perfect to tube, straight shot to Heathrow and three blocks to st pancras station!

I can’t compare to any other London hotels for pricing/comfort ratio. But St Athans was a charming place to stay in a great location. The triple with en suite bathroom is tiny, however, with a bathroom like those found on boats. Bring your own soap and shampoo.

This "hotel" is a series of side-by-side, attached, typical English townhouses, with no less than 7 connecting doors between them (some for firewall purposes, I'm guessing). European hotel room sizes tend to be no larger than average American walk-in closets. This hotel is no different -- it's strictly a rooming house for the mid-twenties crowd, if they can afford it. We had a room with a rare "ensuite" bathroom, meaning, your own private bathroom attached to your room! So before you book make sure to ask, particularly if sharing a bathroom across the hallway or up/down the stairs is not your thing. Lastly, they will lie about WiFi in rooms; it does not exist! What you have instead is a Pentium 4 (circa 2005) desktop in the common lounge. Else be prepared to spend beaucoup money on your cell phone data plan to connect to the internet ...

20-24 Tavistock Place London England

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Russell Square and The British Museum
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas

Located in London City Centre, St Athans Hotel is adjacent to Cartwright Gardens and within a 5-minute walk of other popular sights like Russell Square. This 60-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a coffee shop/café, free in-room WiFi, and a computer station.


Dining

Start each morning with cooked-to-order breakfast, available for a fee from 8:00 AM to 1:00 PM. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

Guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Hair dryers are also included.


Property features

Guests staying at St Athans Hotel enjoy free WiFi in public areas, a computer station, and a TV in a common area. Self parking is available for GBP 25 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff that can help with securing valuables, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. This smoke-free hotel also has a reception hall.

Room options

Triple Room, Private Bathroom (outside room)

3 Twin Beds | Sleeps 3

Basic Quadruple Room, Multiple Beds, Private Bathroom (outside room)

1 Double Bed and 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Family Room, Multiple Beds, Private Bathroom (outside room)

1 Double Bed and 3 Twin Beds | Sleeps 5

Single Room, Private Bathroom (outside room)

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Guest reviews for St Athans Hotel

Everyone (9)
5
Everyone

Staff very friendly and helpfull, it is old hotel but you will no staying inside mostly and in good and safe location (student area), very close to subway so you can go anywhere easily.

By , from New York, NY on Mar 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 8, 2019

Dear Ariel, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you again. Kind regards

4
Everyone

Great value for a budget hotel experience, and a fantastic location.

By , from NYC, us on Nov 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2018

Dear Lennox, Thank you for your review. We are glad your stay was good and that the location was convenient for you. We hope we can welcome you again. Kind regards

5
Everyone

Great location, cute hotel. I loved the breakfast down stairs, you get 10% off but pretty cheap and great food!

By , from Chicago on Oct 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 29, 2018

Dear Amy, thank you for your review. We are glad your stay with us was good and hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kind regards

5
Everyone

Very accommodating, 24hr front desk. Location is ideal in a very safe neighborhood. Offers traditional British lodging

By , from Chicago, il on Oct 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 28, 2018

Dear Amy, Thank you for your review. We are happy your stay with us was good and hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kind regards,

4
Everyone

Great location to parks and the tube. Area was quiet at night, but I could hear neighbors walking upstairs and closing doors (which wasn't too disruptive). My room was sufficient for me traveling solo and only there for a few days. The bathroom was a recent remodel and, though small, completely adequate. I dropped my bag off prior to check-in so that I could explore without that extra weight on day 1, which was nice. Hotel staff was super nice. Overall, a good experience and I would definitely stay there again!

By on Sep 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 11, 2018

Dear guest, We are glad you had a good experience at St Athans hotel and we would like to thank you for taking a bit of your time to leave us such a nice review. We hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Alba

1

too hot, no sleep at all

Everyone

horrible, room is very small, stairs too narrow. Had a hard time carrying lyggage to room. No airconditioning.

By on Jul 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2018

Dear Guest, I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our hotel is based in a 200 year old Georgian building so space is somewhat limited (room sizes are displayed on our web-site). It was quite unfortunate that during your stay we experienced a heat wave with temperatures reaching over 35'C and even though we do not have air-con we do have a number of fans available for our guests. Kind regards.

5
Everyone

Very nice staff and very authentic British hotel. I found everything very charming and comfortable. Location was perfect to tube, straight shot to Heathrow and three blocks to st pancras station!

By on May 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2018

Thanks for your stunning review. Hope to see you again when in London. Kind Regards, Riccardo

4

friendly staff, charming character, tiny beds

Everyone

I can’t compare to any other London hotels for pricing/comfort ratio. But St Athans was a charming place to stay in a great location. The triple with en suite bathroom is tiny, however, with a bathroom like those found on boats. Bring your own soap and shampoo.

By on May 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2018

Thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you again to St. Athans Hotel. Your Sincerely, Riccardo

3

no wifi in rooms ... with disingenuous excuses!

Everyone

This "hotel" is a series of side-by-side, attached, typical English townhouses, with no less than 7 connecting doors between them (some for firewall purposes, I'm guessing). European hotel room sizes tend to be no larger than average American walk-in closets. This hotel is no different -- it's strictly a rooming house for the mid-twenties crowd, if they can afford it. We had a room with a rare "ensuite" bathroom, meaning, your own private bathroom attached to your room! So before you book make sure to ask, particularly if sharing a bathroom across the hallway or up/down the stairs is not your thing. Lastly, they will lie about WiFi in rooms; it does not exist! What you have instead is a Pentium 4 (circa 2005) desktop in the common lounge. Else be prepared to spend beaucoup money on your cell phone data plan to connect to the internet ...

By , from NewJersey on Jul 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 26, 2017

Thanks for the review - a few words on the Wifi - we have just literally changed our Wifi so all rooms should have a superfast connection right now. As for the PC in the guest lounge that is free for all to use - that's totally fine for emails and simple web surfing.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/London-Hotels-St-Athans-Hotel.h1613992-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /London-Hotels-St-Athans-Hotel.h1613992-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/London-Hotels-St-Athans-Hotel.h1613992-p2.Hotel-Reviews