Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Generator London

2.0 out of 5.0

Generator London

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Great location and they had bikes that we took to ride the city. Very helpful staff

Overall a great price for the location, but beware that the set up is very much like a student dormitory (shared bathrooms, hearing lots of people going in and out, bunk beds, etc). The rooms were small and fairly clean. Many amenities are not included unless you get a private room so be sure to check.

Very unempathetic staff and support!! Very disappointed by the way they responded - never gonna book again. It could have been the opposite of it, I might have preferred to choose it every time I visit London if the staff was cooperative.

Good location, friendly staff, and clean rooms for the price, but it lacks a lot of the amenities I've come to expect from a hostel, and the ones you get are generally going to cost you. There's no kitchen for guests to use, but instead there's a bar/cafe that serves food far more expensive than it's worth. Doing laundry will cost you quite a lot, especially for self-serve, and luggage storage is also expensive as well. All-in-all, this isn't a hostel to book if you're trying to watch your spending, but it's at least clean.

The toilets were blocked up on a daily basis. - Delicate plumbing. The urinals in the men’s toilet were closed off and were over flowing. The lift was out of order the majority of the time. They do have laundery facilities but the cleaners used it to clean buckets of very filthy rags. The smaller rooms are extremely hot. On the plus side there is a decent bar and lounge.

For being my first Hostel, I was a bit standoffish but it was actually a great. The staff, room and the hostel in general were amazing. I would definitely stay here again.

When I came back to my private room I found my wallet open with nearly $700 taken from it. It totally ruined my trip.

Water was cold in shower. Couple of toilet showers was not working. Otherwise was very enjoyable experience

Upon walking up to the hostel, a security guard was throwing out some drunk people that were fighting. It attracts a young and rowdy crowd, which they seem to amplify with an on site DJ booth and other amenities, such as pub crawls. If you are 20 years old and just out of Uni you might enjoy this, but anyone else outside this demographic the stay will likely be uncomfortable. The one elevator this hotel has was broken for at least the two days I was there. Even if it had been working, there are six floors of rooms, with literally hundreds and hundreds of people that stay here. To have the one elevator out of service is abominable they should warn beforehand. It seems that there are two bathrooms on each floor, one for men, one for women. Your women's/men's bathroom may be a considerable walk from where you are staying, on the opposite side of the building, through what it seems like 10 fire doors. It is not convenient. And you might arrive upon a large pile of vomit, as I did late at night from other patron's activities. This was thankfully cleaned up by the next morning. Mattresses are rubbery. The sink in the room dripped continually. There are few outlets so charging in room is limited. I could only manage one night here, even though I booked two. There are no refunds. You should be fully aware of what you are booking here-- cheap room in a good location. If you have a high tolerance for annoying people and rude patrons that share your room, you will be fine here.

Reasonable rates, but the room is too cramped. Close to virtually all the major sites such as the British museum. The staff were approachable. The hostel is safe and secure.

This hostel is nothing special. Rooms are small and walls are thin, however the price is good and the atmosphere is fun. Location isn't super central, but good enough that you can walk or take the metro most places. Would recommend for anyone on a budget.

ridiculous to say the least a million doors in the corridors (fire doors it seems) a single small lift which you have to wait for - if u unluckily get a room on the 5th or 6th floors the bar and restaurant are mediocre - just punk music - unpalatable meals the rooms have no service at all - my bed wasnot done even once in 6 days the bath has no place to keep soap/towel/clothes/etc the bath has no door - some flimsy shower curtains ! security guards keep soliciting for money overall - i was dying to leave this place never again

While the hostel looks wonderful and is very clean. We had its of issues with the service. You cannot get in without a key. So when I left my key my friend was able to get in, and I was stuck outside until they approved me. In addition, we had a private room. On the third night they rebooked our private room with us still in it. We were in the middle of changing when people walk into our private room. We were very upset, and the staff didn't really care. Luckily, we were in the room. I am just glad that they didn't send someone when we were gone or our stuff could have been stolen.

Location was great! Difficult to locate at night but when you did, close to transportation and a few museums. Staff pleasant so long as you didn't require anything other than a beer. Rooms were clean but extremely small for a family of four adults. Elevator (Lift) - only one for entire Hostel and barely room for three people with no luggage. Bathroom cleaned frequently, showers - no hot water and Laundry room - machines didn't work properly and wasn't sufficient for the 900+ people staying at the hostel.

You get what you pay for. I found the cheapest place I could find and that's what I got. I wasn't expecting the plastic coated mattress though. I forgot how annoying it is not to have a bathroom in your room. I expected to hear the bar every night, but I only heard it on karaoke night. Entertaining until about midnight, then pretty annoying. Easy to find from the train station, and only about a 7-8 minute walk from St. Pancras. All in all, I felt safe there, I felt safe leaving my stuff there while I was out, it was convenient and cheap, but I don't know that I would stay there again.

Great location. Most people staying there are young adults. The music in the bar goes till 3am. You can hear it, but neither I nor my 15 and 17 year old had trouble falling asleep. The bar, the cafe, and the lunchroom all had TV's, where we watched Euro cup football(soccer) matches. They also have a little shop where I bought shampoo. They have all you can eat breakfast for 4.5 pounds as of June 2012 and a dinner special with a beer for a couple of bucks more, laundry which I didn't try to use, wifi, which was spotty, but I did manage to get emails in and out most days. They are thinking about upgrading. They were upgrading a few rooms while I was there. They have computers which work, 1 pound per half hour. You can print for 10pence a page. They have lockers in the rooms which you can lock, but you need a padlock. They will sell you one. I rented a room with 3 beds, and just used the keycards. One was a bunk bed. They had a sink in the room. You can come and go 24/7. Mini tesco supermarket is 4 minutes walk at the Russel Square tube station. The beds are one star, but they have clean bedding, and we got towels, which we had replaced once, though I had to ask, and the person at the front desk didn't think they replaced them until I pointed out what I read on the sign on my door. The shared bathrooms were fine, but if you try to shower at the busiest time in the morning, and you are a woman, you might have to wait. I only stood behind one person waiting on 4 showers. If you've camped before, and it didn't bother you, you will be fine. One of them told me they have like 800 people staying there, so there are solutions at hand for common travel related things. The British Museum is awesome, free and walking distance. If you are there in the summer, and have not seen Queen Mary's garden in Regent's park, do. The Piccadilly line will get you to and from London Heathrow. Straight shot, no changes. It's not beautiful, or luxurious, but it is functional and maintained. Bottom line, I would stay there again, because it's ok, cheap, and in a great location, but it may not be the best for little kids, not that you couldn't, but they really are set up for 20 year olds. You can eat and drink the money you save.

I paid for one bed in a 4-bed room on internet. But when I checked in, the front girl gave me a bed in a TEN-bed room!!! Regardless I told her this is NOT what I paid for, she insisted that she cannot do anything about it. At last, I had to pay extra £20 to switch to a 4-bed room. The hall-way was shabby while the shower room was really clean. The bed sheet was wrinkled, like someone has used it already. Do watch your head if you are given a bottom bed.

We stayed for 5 days in a 4 bunk bedroom. Beds were OK, it got a bit hot at night. With windows open, the noise was minimum. Hallway noise was also minimum as we stayed in the 4th floor. Breakfast was OK, just cereal, toast with jam and coffee (not bad) some awful soda or juice. My only complain is the Breakfast room staff are not very proactive and lack any initiative. They just stand around and stare at you. One staffer saw a customer pouring coffee ina plastic cup and did not offer to get a regular coffee mug. They shouild be able to speak english at least. Other than that one incident, the stay was great. Would do it again. Great Location.

Though a clean and reasonably priced hostel, it was not a place to take children. But if I were a single college student that would be my choice to stay. Staff was friendly and always around.

Hostel is conveniently located to several tube lines and was both clean and inexpensive. Common (shared) bathrooms were plentiful and always clean. The room was rather small, but satisfactory. Continental breakfast is included. The bar downstairs did prove to be a little noisy at night, but it's to be expected in an 800 bed hostel. A wide variety of people, both nationalities and ages, were staying there. Would definitely recommend for people looking for a cheap, convenient place to stay.

37 Tavistock Place, Russel Square London England

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Russell Square and British Library
  • Free in-room WiFi
  • Onsite dining
  • Nightclub

Located in London City Centre, Generator London is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Russell Square and British Library. This 214-room hostel has a restaurant along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a nightclub.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hostel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to noon.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi.


Property features

Guests staying at Generator London enjoy a nightclub, an arcade/game room, and express check-out. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with luggage storage, securing valuables, and tours or tickets. Additional amenities include laundry facilities, a TV in a common area, and a reception hall.

Room options

6-bed Private Dormitory room ensuite

Twin 1 | Sleeps 1

8-bed Private Dormitory room ensuite

Twin 1 | Sleeps 1

1 Bed in a 6-Bed Dorm

Twin 1 | Sleeps 1

Shared Dormitory, Women only (10-12 Beds)

Twin 1 | Sleeps 1

Guest reviews for Generator London

Everyone (8) Couples (1) Family (9) Other (2) Friends (1)
4
Families

Great location and they had bikes that we took to ride the city. Very helpful staff

By on Jul 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2019

Hi there, Thanks for the lovely review! Seems like you really had a good time here with us and enjoyed our place! We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again! Regards, Generator Team

4
Families

Overall a great price for the location, but beware that the set up is very much like a student dormitory (shared bathrooms, hearing lots of people going in and out, bunk beds, etc). The rooms were small and fairly clean. Many amenities are not included unless you get a private room so be sure to check.

By , from Centreville, VA on May 24, 2019

Review comment responded on May 25, 2019

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to know from your rating that on the overall you spent a great time at Generator and we can't wait to welcome you back very soon! Best Regards, Bea Generator London

1
Everyone

Very unempathetic staff and support!! Very disappointed by the way they responded - never gonna book again. It could have been the opposite of it, I might have preferred to choose it every time I visit London if the staff was cooperative.

By on Apr 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2019

Hello! Thank you so much for leaving a review. We are very sad to hear your stay with us was disappointing, that's totally opposed to our standards, as you can see by many other positive reviews. Our staff is usually friendly and helpful so if you'd like to discuss this in more detail please do get in touch and we will investigate it further.

3
Everyone

Good location, friendly staff, and clean rooms for the price, but it lacks a lot of the amenities I've come to expect from a hostel, and the ones you get are generally going to cost you. There's no kitchen for guests to use, but instead there's a bar/cafe that serves food far more expensive than it's worth. Doing laundry will cost you quite a lot, especially for self-serve, and luggage storage is also expensive as well. All-in-all, this isn't a hostel to book if you're trying to watch your spending, but it's at least clean.

By on Nov 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 23, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your feedback is extremely important to us. We are glad to read that you were happy with the cleanliness and the location of the hostel, as these are two fundamental aspects for us . I am sorry that you were expecting a communal kitchen and this is not a facility that Generator offers. Our lifestyle brand encourages social interaction and exploring and experiencing our local area to the fullest, including some of the great restaurants and bars in the area. Our café is open from morning to night with great and affordable options, if you consider the market we are in. All our dishes are in fact prepared to order by our chefs using the freshest ingredients. Once again, thank you very much for leaving us your comment and we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back very soon, Best Regards, Guest Relations Team

2
Everyone

The toilets were blocked up on a daily basis. - Delicate plumbing. The urinals in the men’s toilet were closed off and were over flowing. The lift was out of order the majority of the time. They do have laundery facilities but the cleaners used it to clean buckets of very filthy rags. The smaller rooms are extremely hot. On the plus side there is a decent bar and lounge.

By on Jul 14, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2018

Hi there, we are disappointed that there were areas that did not meet your expectations but thank you for letting us know the areas we could improve. This has been shared with our team.

5
Everyone

For being my first Hostel, I was a bit standoffish but it was actually a great. The staff, room and the hostel in general were amazing. I would definitely stay here again.

By , from Los Angeles, CA on Jul 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 12, 2018

Dear Silvia, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel after your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. At Generator we always aim to deliver an awesome experience with great service and hospitality, making our guest feel at home. It really makes us happy when we read that a guest did enjoy our offerings and their expectations were met. We can only hope to see you again soon Kind Regards

1

staff stole from my room

Everyone

When I came back to my private room I found my wallet open with nearly $700 taken from it. It totally ruined my trip.

By , from Portland, OR, USA on May 10, 2018

Review comment responded on May 17, 2018

Hello, this is a very serious allegation and something that certainly needs to be investigated as there are several possibilities as to what happened. Please contact us directly to provide the details and an investigation can begin.

4

recommended

Everyone

Water was cold in shower. Couple of toilet showers was not working. Otherwise was very enjoyable experience

By on Dec 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 18, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you found the water in the shower was cold. Please be assured that I will investigate your comments further. Our aim is for our guests to feel relaxed and happy whilst with us so am very sorry that on this occasion we failed. I am happy to read that overall you had a nice stay and I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to our hostel soon! Regards,

1

disaster zone

Everyone

Upon walking up to the hostel, a security guard was throwing out some drunk people that were fighting. It attracts a young and rowdy crowd, which they seem to amplify with an on site DJ booth and other amenities, such as pub crawls. If you are 20 years old and just out of Uni you might enjoy this, but anyone else outside this demographic the stay will likely be uncomfortable. The one elevator this hotel has was broken for at least the two days I was there. Even if it had been working, there are six floors of rooms, with literally hundreds and hundreds of people that stay here. To have the one elevator out of service is abominable they should warn beforehand. It seems that there are two bathrooms on each floor, one for men, one for women. Your women's/men's bathroom may be a considerable walk from where you are staying, on the opposite side of the building, through what it seems like 10 fire doors. It is not convenient. And you might arrive upon a large pile of vomit, as I did late at night from other patron's activities. This was thankfully cleaned up by the next morning. Mattresses are rubbery. The sink in the room dripped continually. There are few outlets so charging in room is limited. I could only manage one night here, even though I booked two. There are no refunds. You should be fully aware of what you are booking here-- cheap room in a good location. If you have a high tolerance for annoying people and rude patrons that share your room, you will be fine here.

By , from Germany on Nov 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2017

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel after your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. At Generator we always aim to deliver an awesome experience with great service and hospitality, making people feel like they are “home away from home”. It really saddens me when I read that we didn’t meet a guests expectations and I am so sorry that this is the case with your visit. In regards to the issue with other guests, please rest assured this is not a common occurrence, the guests in question arrived drunk and were sick, they were immediately removed from the building and told they could not stay as this is not the behaviour we support as we understand it is not comfortable for our other guests or staff. I am sorry for the inconvenience with the lift being out of order as this is in no stretch of the imagination incredibly frustrating, not only for our guests but also for our team. A technician was called out immediately and unfortunately there was very little that we could do. If there are any issues with room location or other guests in the room our reception team are available 24hours a day and are happy to change rooms for our guests when required.

4

close to kingscross

Everyone

Reasonable rates, but the room is too cramped. Close to virtually all the major sites such as the British museum. The staff were approachable. The hostel is safe and secure.

By on Aug 24, 2016

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.