Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I will never stay there again. Hallway floors were trashed, hair in the tub, toilet backed up and ran constantly. The sink had sewage or something black bubbling up, there was mold in the fridge, and didn't get clean towels until 2 AM!!! The breakfast wasn't good either.

TV didn't work and men came on two separate occasions(days), promising that it would be replaced, but never happened.

I enjoyed my say..would stay there again.. thank you

Stayed here one night after flying in. Standard 2-3 star experience. Dated building, need for fresh paint here and there, skimpy towels bit clean and safe.

Not a pleasant experience. There was what appears to be mold between the tiles on the bathtub wall. There was no remote in the room. There was debris on the floor and in the couch when we got there. We were there for 2 nights. Housekeeping did not come the 2nd day. Had to call for washcloths and towels. Stiains on pillowcase and bed cover. Would not recommend. Plenty of other hotels to choose from in the area.

We arrived late, we called in advance to say we would be late. When we arrived we were told the room was given to someone else with the same name, and there were no more rooms available. However, we waited a while since it was 1:00 a.m. By 2:00 they found a room that was in the back. the t.v. didn't work so a technician worked on it for 20 minutes. The technician was the nicest person we met of the hotel staff.

Checkin and staff were good, when we got to our room all the lamps were unplugged, had to move somethings to plug them in. By moving things it showed that the room had NOT been swept or vacuumed in a very long time, disgusting!! The entire cover on the heater/ac unit fell to the floor two times during the nite scareing the crap out of us, this is Detroit after all!! Could have been a very nice hotel with attention to a deep cleaning!

I was on a business trip to Detroit for eight days and the hotel accommodations were excellent considering the price.

The hotel is based around a large atrium. A nice retreat in the pool for vacationers and it sounds like the kids have fun. From about 10am to 10pm it will be filled with Kids yelling Marco - Polo and the rooms are not well soundproof. The hotel is ok and I use it when its in the $55 range and have used it probably 3x.

Close to the airport, good shuttle service, nice front desk but substandard housekeeping. Returned to hotel at 6 pm after being out during the day and the room was not cleaned ( checked to make sure I hadn't put the do not disturb sign ). Overall appears understaffed.

Unfortunately, my wife and I only stayed there for a few hours on a very cold Detroit night. But, as soon as we walked into the lobby and were greeted so pleasantly by the Front Desk staff, we knew we would enjoy our time there. The surroundings, the decor, the sumptuous garden centre court, carpeted walkways, intimate lighting and tasteful furnishings...and that was before we even saw the room. The room itself was cozy yet spacious, firm clean bedsheets, decent-sized bathroom with thoughtful accessories, working appliances and warm carpeting....the glitch was a television reception that was a bit fuzzy (and that was Super Bowl night). All for a fair Orbitz price. We really wish that we could have stayed much longer and if we're in that area again, we will. Thank you for the opportunity to share a great, short experience. - Mr. Mrs. David

We thought that we would be ok with the Wyndham name...nada. The room was drafty, especially in the windows area. When the heat was going there was a load humming noise in the ceiling. There was no heating vent in the bathroom. We booked double occupancy but, there was (1) bath towel (2) hand towels and (1) face towel (never experience that during any stay any where. The only good thing that resulted in a 2 for room comfort was a very comfortable bed.

Just stayed overnight before a flight, but it was really nice. Only issue ( and not the actual hotel's fault) the restaurant had an employee no show and got really far behind and it was a bit of a wait for our food.

I arrived really late. The shuttle was prompt and the driver was helpful and nice. My check-in was quick and easy. They had everything ready and even called to make sure I was satisfied with my room. I was happy to learn it was more than a continental breakfast and the staff in that area was very helpful too. Love that there's and indoor and outdoor pool. Easy to find and quite.

It was not a terrible hotel but it needs work. Bathroom fixtures were broken. The room was cleaned ever day and the staff was friendly.

Have not stayed at Wyndham Gardens before that looked like this...looked old hotel. Room were spacious & bed was comfortable. Carpet outdated & some areas of hotel looked like they combined 2 different hotels into 1. Not sure I would stay there again.

There was no free parking and shuttle to the airport like advertise. The room was set at 55 degree. Very unhappy!

Did not like it but is was a place to lay my head.

Nice hotel for the price. Decent pool, just wish it was heated.

I expected more of the Wyndham name. The cleanliness of the carpets was much to be desired. I didn't want my children barefoot in the room.

9191 Wickham Rd Romulus MI

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located 2.7 mi (4.3 km) from Gateway Golf Club, Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport is within a 15-minute drive of Yankee Air Museum. This 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 226 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. It's adjacent to the airport and also within a 20-minute drive of Henry Ford Museum.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay. Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport's 226 rooms are air-conditioned and provide coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Desks are also included.


Property features

Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport features an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free airport shuttle (available 24 hours). The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry and luggage storage. Other amenities at this family-friendly hotel include a sauna, free WiFi in public areas, and 3 meeting rooms.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking (Atrium)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking (Atrium)

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport

Everyone (26) Business (19) Couples (14) Family (36) Other (6) Friends (1)
1

horrible!

Everyone

I will never stay there again. Hallway floors were trashed, hair in the tub, toilet backed up and ran constantly. The sink had sewage or something black bubbling up, there was mold in the fridge, and didn't get clean towels until 2 AM!!! The breakfast wasn't good either.

By on Jul 20, 2017

3

expected better

Everyone

TV didn't work and men came on two separate occasions(days), promising that it would be replaced, but never happened.

By , from Tampa on Jul 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 13, 2017

Please accept our sincere apologizes for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I have taken your comments to the appropriate department for corrective action. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

4
Everyone

I enjoyed my say..would stay there again.. thank you

By on Jul 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2017

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate all feedback given and always use it to ensure the best possible service for our guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

3

older facility but near the airport and got a good

Everyone

Stayed here one night after flying in. Standard 2-3 star experience. Dated building, need for fresh paint here and there, skimpy towels bit clean and safe.

By , from Massachusetts on May 23, 2017

Review comment responded on May 26, 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you in the future!

1

dirty and in need of upgrade

Everyone
Dirty bathroom

Not a pleasant experience. There was what appears to be mold between the tiles on the bathtub wall. There was no remote in the room. There was debris on the floor and in the couch when we got there. We were there for 2 nights. Housekeeping did not come the 2nd day. Had to call for washcloths and towels. Stiains on pillowcase and bed cover. Would not recommend. Plenty of other hotels to choose from in the area.

By , from Maryland on May 10, 2017

Review comment responded on May 12, 2017

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

3

close to the airport.

Everyone

We arrived late, we called in advance to say we would be late. When we arrived we were told the room was given to someone else with the same name, and there were no more rooms available. However, we waited a while since it was 1:00 a.m. By 2:00 they found a room that was in the back. the t.v. didn't work so a technician worked on it for 20 minutes. The technician was the nicest person we met of the hotel staff.

By , from Houston, TX on Mar 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 20, 2017

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We offer our apologies regarding the issues you experienced during your stay. We are always taking our guest's concerns seriously and making the necessary improvements to ensure a quality experience. We hope you will allow us another chance in the future to better accommodate your needs.

2
Everyone

Checkin and staff were good, when we got to our room all the lamps were unplugged, had to move somethings to plug them in. By moving things it showed that the room had NOT been swept or vacuumed in a very long time, disgusting!! The entire cover on the heater/ac unit fell to the floor two times during the nite scareing the crap out of us, this is Detroit after all!! Could have been a very nice hotel with attention to a deep cleaning!

By , from St. Johns Mi. on Mar 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We would like to offer our apologies that you were unhappy with your accommodations during your stay. We will work hard to fix these issues. Your kind words regarding our staff are greatly appreciated. It is our hope that you will return to Wyndham Garden Detroit Metro Airport in the future so we have another opportunity to show you the amount of pride we take in customer satisfaction.

4

nice hotel close to the airport.

Everyone

I was on a business trip to Detroit for eight days and the hotel accommodations were excellent considering the price.

By , from New York visiting Detroit on Mar 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2017

Dear Sabur, Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review! We are always happy to hear when our guests have an excellent experience while staying with us. It was a pleasure having you as a guest here at Wyndham Garden Detroit Metro Airport. We hope you will return in the future.

3

stay in a room away the pool

Everyone

The hotel is based around a large atrium. A nice retreat in the pool for vacationers and it sounds like the kids have fun. From about 10am to 10pm it will be filled with Kids yelling Marco - Polo and the rooms are not well soundproof. The hotel is ok and I use it when its in the $55 range and have used it probably 3x.

By , from Denver on Feb 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 24, 2017

We apologize that you had an unpleasant experience while staying with us. Your feedback is essential in making positive changes here at Wyndham Garden Detroit Metro Airport to ensure guest satisfaction. We hope you will return in the future to give us another chance to better serve your needs.

2

convenient but disappointing

Everyone

Close to the airport, good shuttle service, nice front desk but substandard housekeeping. Returned to hotel at 6 pm after being out during the day and the room was not cleaned ( checked to make sure I hadn't put the do not disturb sign ). Overall appears understaffed.

By , from NYC on Feb 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 23, 2017

We apologize that you had an unpleasant experience while staying with us. Your feedback is essential in making positive changes here at Wyndham Garden Detroit Metro Airport to ensure guest satisfaction. We hope you will return in the future to give us another chance to better serve your needs.