Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Stains on the wall, sticky floor, large check-in queue, no hooks for towel or clothes in the bathroom. The breakfast was bad. One from two elevators got stuck, the stairs were dirty. And the fire alarm at 2 a.m. added negativity to the overall picture.

Its okay, clean

The air conditioner wouldn’t turn on, no type of reimbursement couldn’t even switch the room

Very clean and quiet. The staff is very nice I would recommend anyone if you visit North Carolina and the prices just right

Failed to let us know they didn’t have a generator while booking two rooms one for my 76 year old grandmother prior to booking for the hurricane. Didn’t come check on guest once power went out or nothing.

front desk was very nice and helped me with everything had a good experience, definitely will be coming back

Staff was friendly. That’s it. That’s all I liked about it. My room was dirty, comforter was full of stains and my bathroom wasn’t clean at all. The water backs up and there was dirt in the bottom of the tub. I went downstairs to get fresh linen and the response was, “Don’t sleep under the covers at hotels. We only wash the comforters once per week, if that.” What kind of foolishness is that? He decided putting me in another room would solve the issue, but how do I know that room has clean linen? I won’t stay here again. For $90 I shouldn’t have had to request clean linens.

Everything was good but there was a guest that that had there kid running around the halls

Was overall good. Breakfast was very good The staff was friendly and courteous

Very pleasant stay, comfortable bed, enough towels were already in the rooms and the staff was friendly.

I booked this hotel under the impression that it was pet friendly and found out once we got there from out of town that it was NOT pet friendly. The lady working ended up calling the manager and having to call the owner but they allowed us to pay the penalty fee to have the dogs there. If you're not pet friendly, that's fine but do not advertise that you are.

Lots of construction around. Not a good location. The pool closed at 9, way to early. The hotel itself needed a lot of updating. Overall it was ok.

Es un hotel remodelado y con instalaciones muy viejas, el inmueble huele a desinfectante y cuando se va esel olor empieza a oler a cigarro, pagué mucho por lo que recibí ($114dlls por la noche), si piensa pasar una noche, esta bien, pero mas de eso yo buscaría otro. Las camas estan chicas.

S College Road Wilmington NC

Hotel highlights

  • Close to University of North Carolina at Wilmington
  • Free self-serve breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located 1.1 mi (1.8 km) from University of North Carolina at Wilmington, Comfort Inn University is within a 10-minute drive of other popular attractions like New Hanover County Arboretum. This hotel has 146 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free self-serve breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

Comfort Inn University's 146 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 40-inch LED TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free weekday newspapers, free local calls, and ironing boards.


Property features

Renovated in 2016, Comfort Inn University offers a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, a seasonal outdoor pool, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking (2 Person Sofa Bed)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Comfort Inn University

Everyone (9) Couples (1) Family (4)
2
Family

Stains on the wall, sticky floor, large check-in queue, no hooks for towel or clothes in the bathroom. The breakfast was bad. One from two elevators got stuck, the stairs were dirty. And the fire alarm at 2 a.m. added negativity to the overall picture.

By on Jun 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 19, 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We are continuously improving upon our services and accommodations while addressing our policies and procedures for minimizing and attending to these situations. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to address our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

3
Family with small children

Its okay, clean

By on Apr 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2021

We appreciate your feedback about your recent experience in our hotel. We want you to know that your feedback and description of your experience at our hotel is of utmost importance to us. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

1
Family

The air conditioner wouldn’t turn on, no type of reimbursement couldn’t even switch the room

By on Mar 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 20, 2021

We appreciate that you've taken the time to share with us regarding our air conditioner as well as our room. We appreciate you for sharing your feedback as we continue to improve conveniences of our hotel for all of our guests.

5
Family with small children Family

Very clean and quiet. The staff is very nice I would recommend anyone if you visit North Carolina and the prices just right

By on Nov 27, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2020

It was our pleasure to provide you with such a wonderful experience. Please do come see us again very soon!

1
Everyone

By on Oct 10, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2020

We have high standards of hospitality and service and are always improving. We hope to see you again very soon!

2
Family with small children Partner Couples Friends

Failed to let us know they didn’t have a generator while booking two rooms one for my 76 year old grandmother prior to booking for the hurricane. Didn’t come check on guest once power went out or nothing.

By , from Wilmington Nc on Aug 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 6, 2020

Thank you so much for bringing to our attention the issues that you encountered with our facilities. Your comfort and convenience is our top priority, as always. We will address the maintenance task right away for the benefit of our future guests, which hopefully will include yourself.

5
Family with small children

front desk was very nice and helped me with everything had a good experience, definitely will be coming back

By , from garner, nc on Aug 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 4, 2020

We love hearing that we were able to provide you with such a wonderful experience. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional stay. We look forward to your next stay!

1
Everyone

Staff was friendly. That’s it. That’s all I liked about it. My room was dirty, comforter was full of stains and my bathroom wasn’t clean at all. The water backs up and there was dirt in the bottom of the tub. I went downstairs to get fresh linen and the response was, “Don’t sleep under the covers at hotels. We only wash the comforters once per week, if that.” What kind of foolishness is that? He decided putting me in another room would solve the issue, but how do I know that room has clean linen? I won’t stay here again. For $90 I shouldn’t have had to request clean linens.

By , from Wilmington, NC on Jul 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2020

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. I want to apologize for the housekeeping and maintenance issues that you experienced when staying with us.

4
Everyone

By on Jun 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 23, 2020

On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and for rating your experience.

4
Family with small children Family

Everything was good but there was a guest that that had there kid running around the halls

By , from Hickory. NC on May 26, 2020

Review comment responded on May 26, 2020

Thank you for your review and for your valuable feedback. We are glad to hear the your enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Wilmington-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-University.h8639-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Wilmington-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-University.h8639-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Wilmington-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-University.h8639-p2.Hotel-Reviews